Are Dublin Really "Saving Football"?

Replying To legendzxix:  "I have answered this question already. The existence of 4 administrative areas is enough to re-classify the region as a province. Cork and Galway have less than 4.

My suggestion for the split was the city and three counties. Some Dubs didn't think that split would be fair. I offered an alternative of North, South, East and West that would include the city in each quadrant."
Keep digging and give my regards to Crocodile Dundee when you surface on the other side. :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2018 23:44:14    2135787

Replying To legendzxix:  "I have answered this question already. The existence of 4 administrative areas is enough to re-classify the region as a province. Cork and Galway have less than 4.

My suggestion for the split was the city and three counties. Some Dubs didn't think that split would be fair. I offered an alternative of North, South, East and West that would include the city in each quadrant."
Your lost on HS , with your close biblical quest for fairness you should hit Brussels, do us a favor if you could and sort brexit while you passing and if you meet up with Kermit or miss piggy say hello to the rest of your kin the muppets

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 23:44:54    2135788

I've a splitting headache reading this region muck :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/08/2018 02:48:22    2135801

A lot of Dubs are hopping up and down like Kermit the Frog at the reality that the province belongs in the Railway Cup! :-D

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 23/08/2018 10:12:13    2135837

Lads, ye still don't get it. The lad is wining ye up.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/08/2018 10:23:27    2135841

Yeah lads move on from the region rubbish.

Dublin are Dublin, it isn't going to change anytime soon and I really think any true Gael would actually want it to change.

This Tyrone team aren't going through legal channels to get Dublin reclassified and thrown out of the championship.

They are training their hardest to knock these lads off their perch. It won't be easy and they likely won't do it but if they were to it'll be all the sweeter for them.

A true champion won't make excuses they'll want the opportunity to beat the best.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 23/08/2018 10:36:29    2135847

Replying To Whammo86:  "Yeah lads move on from the region rubbish.

Dublin are Dublin, it isn't going to change anytime soon and I really think any true Gael would actually want it to change.

This Tyrone team aren't going through legal channels to get Dublin reclassified and thrown out of the championship.

They are training their hardest to knock these lads off their perch. It won't be easy and they likely won't do it but if they were to it'll be all the sweeter for them.

A true champion won't make excuses they'll want the opportunity to beat the best."
Ulster v Dublin... it'd be an interesting battle.

Same goes for;
Connaught v Dublin
Munster v Dublin
Leinster v Dublin

The Railway Cup can make it happen.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 23/08/2018 10:57:39    2135857

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ulster v Dublin... it'd be an interesting battle.

Same goes for;
Connaught v Dublin
Munster v Dublin
Leinster v Dublin

The Railway Cup can make it happen."
Would it not be Ulster, Connaught, Munster and Leinster against *the* province ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/08/2018 11:24:06    2135872

Replying To avonali:  "Why do Dubs even bother jumping to the bait put out there by the likes of legend?? He thinks he's a right gas man, scoffing into his sleeve with his continual reference s to 'the Region' and 'The Province' etc etc ad nauseum. He's a WUM lads - he's got feck all else to do now that Kerry have fallen back into the chasing pack, perhaps for ever. I would engage with this poster whatsoever as his only agenda seems to be anti- Dublin."
To be fair, I think he's going for the RD award for most thumbs down in a single thread. I reckon he's nearly there at this stage.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 23/08/2018 11:49:22    2135884

No
They are not

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 23/08/2018 11:51:34    2135887

It'll be interesting to see how the years progress and whether Dublin do ever wane. I think it's unlikely they got everything in place to have sustained success.

There are huge challenges for the GAA brought by Dublin's dominance. What can they do to ensure counties can stay in touch.

The big problem for me is how do you get counties to get their best players turning out for them.

With that in mind the GAA has to get its calendar sorted.

I also believe that club championship action should be scheduled within the intercounty season and that players should have to return to train with their clubs.

The National League has to not be squashed into February and March. All county players need to be given a proper season.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 23/08/2018 13:35:59    2135929

Replying To waynoI:  "Would it not be Ulster, Connaught, Munster and Leinster against *the* province ?"
Dublin.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 23/08/2018 13:47:25    2135935

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "To be fair, I think he's going for the RD award for most thumbs down in a single thread. I reckon he's nearly there at this stage."
When I moved the conversation onto the provinces advanced sports science and following the process of dark arts meticulously, Dubs moved the conversation back to the Railway Cup.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 23/08/2018 13:49:57    2135936

Replying To legendzxix:  "The province have supreme athletes. When it comes to sports science, they've brought it to a whole new level.

Mentally they are very strong, they stick to the process.

The manager on the sideline is as cool as ice. If something isn't tight in the first half, the message gets across at half-time and the situation is rectified.

When it comes to footballing ability, I've yet to consider them top two in any given year but their supreme athleticism, mental strength, dirty tricks and tactical changes to any given danger consistently gets them over the line in tight situations."
Agree 100%; lots of compliments in what you say, but you will still be attacked for not attributing Dublin's success primarily to their being footballing geniuses. On a separate point, a recent stat I read showed that around 96% of all new jobs are in Dublin. I've lost count of the number of GAA people i know from all over the country who are now all living and married in Dublin and now raising future Dubs fans and players. It's sad, and it's difficult to compete with that sort of centralised neoliberal economics which sees the rest of the country primarily as an unimportant labour pool for the capital.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/08/2018 14:20:27    2135955

Replying To essmac:  "Agree 100%; lots of compliments in what you say, but you will still be attacked for not attributing Dublin's success primarily to their being footballing geniuses. On a separate point, a recent stat I read showed that around 96% of all new jobs are in Dublin. I've lost count of the number of GAA people i know from all over the country who are now all living and married in Dublin and now raising future Dubs fans and players. It's sad, and it's difficult to compete with that sort of centralised neoliberal economics which sees the rest of the country primarily as an unimportant labour pool for the capital."
The GAA should be speaking up on behalf of rural Ireland. They are entitled to an opinion on it as it is affecting GAA communities.

It can't be good for Dublin people either to be squeezed out of the housing market by people down the country moving to the capital.

The cities in the south and west need further development and investment.

Dublin Region becoming a province is a reflection of the imbalance that has taken place.

Water is to be brought from the river Shannon to the capital. Dublin airport is to get a new terminal.

There needs to be a motorway from Limerick to Cork. Cork and Shannon airports should get development and investment along with cities.

Back on GAA ground, Dublin has become a province and the Railway Cup will have to reflect this.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 23/08/2018 16:19:04    2136016

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes and you have acknowledged the existence of four local councils within this adminstrative region previously. In fact at one point you suggested that Dublin should be split based on these councils but of course you forgot that Cork has two of these councils and so too does Galway. You've since tried to backtrack by suggesting a geographical split. You are now backtracking on your claims that Dublin's supreme fitness gives them an edge, instead now pointing to their recovery regime. Maybe some form of astrophysics only known to the Dublin coaching staff is behind this supreme athleticism that you seem to be in such awe of but I doubt it. A brave team, Mayo, a county with a pooulation less than that of Kerry, have gone toe to toe with Dublin over three AI finals in the space of 5 years losing each by a point. They have certainly matched Dublin in the "supreme athlete" stakes. Arguably Tyrone have too. Perhaps these teams all have the secret ingredients to generate supreme athletes, or maybe, and more likely, they just work harder on their fitness. Counties, where expectations are high and past successes have become a burden, will always seek out excuses for their present underachievements."
For the record: my detailed response wasn't allowed. Enjoy the buildup to the final.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7857 - 24/08/2018 10:03:00    2136180

Replying To legendzxix:  "The GAA should be speaking up on behalf of rural Ireland. They are entitled to an opinion on it as it is affecting GAA communities.

It can't be good for Dublin people either to be squeezed out of the housing market by people down the country moving to the capital.

The cities in the south and west need further development and investment.

Dublin Region becoming a province is a reflection of the imbalance that has taken place.

Water is to be brought from the river Shannon to the capital. Dublin airport is to get a new terminal.

There needs to be a motorway from Limerick to Cork. Cork and Shannon airports should get development and investment along with cities.

Back on GAA ground, Dublin has become a province and the Railway Cup will have to reflect this."
The Limerick Cork motorway is a very good idea. In the UK the second city isn't really Birmingham. It's the greater Liverpool, Manchester, Leeds catchment area.

The problem is beyond the GAA though. It would take a governmental vision to counter the drift to Dublin.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 24/08/2018 10:58:27    2136194

Replying To legendzxix:  "For the record: my detailed response wasn't allowed. Enjoy the buildup to the final."
I wonder why. Anyway, I'm hoping to enjoy the post build-up more than the build-up. More history awaits this record breaking Dublin team. I hope they do the four in a row because they deserve it, yes THEY not us the fans, although it's a nice side effect, but this bunch are legends on the pitch and gents off it. So I hope they do it for themselves. But if they don't then their record and successes will speak for themselves, the greatest panel to have played the game to date. Enjoy the game! Up the regional Dubs!!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/08/2018 21:59:43    2136437

Replying To Joxer:  "I wonder why. Anyway, I'm hoping to enjoy the post build-up more than the build-up. More history awaits this record breaking Dublin team. I hope they do the four in a row because they deserve it, yes THEY not us the fans, although it's a nice side effect, but this bunch are legends on the pitch and gents off it. So I hope they do it for themselves. But if they don't then their record and successes will speak for themselves, the greatest panel to have played the game to date. Enjoy the game! Up the regional Dubs!!"
They deserve it why?
So there all great lads off the field so what we all can say that about our own lads.
Greatest panel to have played the game how do you work that out? O Gara and MDMcG can hardly solo the ball they our shocking players to watch nobody would show a kid these players to base there game on.
Football has changed its about fitness and athletes hence why MDMcG plays I've nothing against dublin but please football has changed this team our the fittest but that does not mean they have brilliant players all over the pitch.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 25/08/2018 00:37:35    2136452

Replying To Joxer:  "I wonder why. Anyway, I'm hoping to enjoy the post build-up more than the build-up. More history awaits this record breaking Dublin team. I hope they do the four in a row because they deserve it, yes THEY not us the fans, although it's a nice side effect, but this bunch are legends on the pitch and gents off it. So I hope they do it for themselves. But if they don't then their record and successes will speak for themselves, the greatest panel to have played the game to date. Enjoy the game! Up the regional Dubs!!"
They deserve it why?
So there all great lads off the field so what we all can say that about our own lads.
Greatest panel to have played the game how do you work that out? O Gara and MDMcG can hardly solo the ball they our shocking players to watch nobody would show a kid these players to base there game on.
Football has changed its about fitness and athletes hence why MDMcG plays I've nothing against dublin but please football has changed this team our the fittest but that does not mean they have brilliant players all over the pitch.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 25/08/2018 00:40:32    2136453