Are Dublin Really "Saving Football"?

Replying To Joxer:  "You talking about Kerry's exploits in Munster here? I definitely don't consider them to be top two. Top five maybe, at a push. You've got the dirty tricks bit right, new set of jerseys required for the Dubs team at half time in Tralee last time we visited, but ice cool manager? Sure didn't he step down after being dismissed by a county whose fixation is on hurling? No not Cork, Galway."
We haven't been at the All-Ireland races at all. '14 was the first minor All-Ireland All-Ireland in 20 years. That gap said a lot about where the problems laid. Only ourselves to blame and internal responsibility taken.

Your province have a lot of strengths when it comes to sports science, tactical nous and the dark arts. The supreme fitness is there for all to see.

If a team is causing your province problems in the first half, the problem is often rectified during the interval. If a team is problematic on the final stretch, the supreme fitness and dark arts get the job done as the process is followed meticulously.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 21/08/2018 21:50:16    2135457

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "here we go...just the start of it all again...last year we had ex dublin players coming out to put pressure on the ref about mayo's physicality...now we have curran starting the "dublin holier than thou" drivel that we will no doubt be subjected to for the next week"
just want to correct two things MTM.

"here we go...just the start of it all again...last year we had ex province players coming out to put pressure on the ref about mayo's physicality...now we have curran starting the "province holier than thou" drivel that we will no doubt be subjected to for the next week"

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/08/2018 21:58:42    2135461

Replying To legendzxix:  "The province have supreme athletes. When it comes to sports science, they've brought it to a whole new level.

Mentally they are very strong, they stick to the process.

The manager on the sideline is as cool as ice. If something isn't tight in the first half, the message gets across at half-time and the situation is rectified.

When it comes to footballing ability, I've yet to consider them top two in any given year but their supreme athleticism, mental strength, dirty tricks and tactical changes to any given danger consistently gets them over the line in tight situations."
ah but the province will have it put up to them on sunday week by the red hand county

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/08/2018 22:02:09    2135463

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "ah but the province will have it put up to them on sunday week by the red hand county"
Well for that to happen, it will take our rural brethren getting the better of the urban province's supreme fitness, tactical nous and dark arts.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 21/08/2018 22:44:52    2135482

Replying To legendzxix:  "We haven't been at the All-Ireland races at all. '14 was the first minor All-Ireland All-Ireland in 20 years. That gap said a lot about where the problems laid. Only ourselves to blame and internal responsibility taken.

Your province have a lot of strengths when it comes to sports science, tactical nous and the dark arts. The supreme fitness is there for all to see.

If a team is causing your province problems in the first half, the problem is often rectified during the interval. If a team is problematic on the final stretch, the supreme fitness and dark arts get the job done as the process is followed meticulously."
Do you know what you do to get "supremely fit"? Ye take yer lads down to Banna strand and ye run them ragged. The Dubs were up at 4am in the depths of winter under Gilroy running the dunes in Dollymount and that regime set the tone of what was to come, lots of hard work and dedication. It doesn't take lots of money or population to become "supremely fit" it just takes application. Kerry once did it under a manager called Mick O'Dwyer. Micko made Superstar champion athletes like Pat Spillane and Jack O'Shea out of his players.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 21/08/2018 23:57:59    2135497

Replying To legendzxix:  "Well for that to happen, it will take our rural brethren getting the better of the urban province's supreme fitness, tactical nous and dark arts."
When did we become a province? I thought we were just a "region".

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 22/08/2018 08:41:29    2135514

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "When did we become a province? I thought we were just a "region"."
The bigger the threat ,the bigger the fear , the bigger his insult , if we are doing the drive for five we will be a continent. You can smell him shi77in himself

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 10:51:25    2135534

Replying To Joxer:  "Do you know what you do to get "supremely fit"? Ye take yer lads down to Banna strand and ye run them ragged. The Dubs were up at 4am in the depths of winter under Gilroy running the dunes in Dollymount and that regime set the tone of what was to come, lots of hard work and dedication. It doesn't take lots of money or population to become "supremely fit" it just takes application. Kerry once did it under a manager called Mick O'Dwyer. Micko made Superstar champion athletes like Pat Spillane and Jack O'Shea out of his players."
There's a lot more than that. Recovery is essential. The province are at the front end of monitoring their players to ensure they are not over trained and are getting the right recovery. Anyone from a sports science background might explain all this in more detail.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 22/08/2018 10:52:57    2135535

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "When did we become a province? I thought we were just a "region"."
Dublin Region is essentially a province. It is what it is.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 22/08/2018 10:54:13    2135537

Why do Dubs even bother jumping to the bait put out there by the likes of legend?? He thinks he's a right gas man, scoffing into his sleeve with his continual reference s to 'the Region' and 'The Province' etc etc ad nauseum. He's a WUM lads - he's got feck all else to do now that Kerry have fallen back into the chasing pack, perhaps for ever. I would engage with this poster whatsoever as his only agenda seems to be anti- Dublin.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 10:57:12    2135539

The area formerly known as "County Dublin" is now defined in legislation solely as the "Dublin Region" under the Local Government Act, 1991 (Regional Authorities) (Establishment) Order, 1993, and this is the terminology officially used by the four Dublin administrative councils in press releases concerning the former county area.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 22/08/2018 11:10:17    2135544

Replying To legendzxix:  "The area formerly known as "County Dublin" is now defined in legislation solely as the "Dublin Region" under the Local Government Act, 1991 (Regional Authorities) (Establishment) Order, 1993, and this is the terminology officially used by the four Dublin administrative councils in press releases concerning the former county area."
Yes and you have acknowledged the existence of four local councils within this adminstrative region previously. In fact at one point you suggested that Dublin should be split based on these councils but of course you forgot that Cork has two of these councils and so too does Galway. You've since tried to backtrack by suggesting a geographical split. You are now backtracking on your claims that Dublin's supreme fitness gives them an edge, instead now pointing to their recovery regime. Maybe some form of astrophysics only known to the Dublin coaching staff is behind this supreme athleticism that you seem to be in such awe of but I doubt it. A brave team, Mayo, a county with a pooulation less than that of Kerry, have gone toe to toe with Dublin over three AI finals in the space of 5 years losing each by a point. They have certainly matched Dublin in the "supreme athlete" stakes. Arguably Tyrone have too. Perhaps these teams all have the secret ingredients to generate supreme athletes, or maybe, and more likely, they just work harder on their fitness. Counties, where expectations are high and past successes have become a burden, will always seek out excuses for their present underachievements.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/08/2018 18:54:30    2135693

Replying To legendzxix:  "Dublin Region is essentially a province. It is what it is."
So you were wrong for two years calling us a region, well not your first time

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 19:54:01    2135703

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes and you have acknowledged the existence of four local councils within this adminstrative region previously. In fact at one point you suggested that Dublin should be split based on these councils but of course you forgot that Cork has two of these councils and so too does Galway. You've since tried to backtrack by suggesting a geographical split. You are now backtracking on your claims that Dublin's supreme fitness gives them an edge, instead now pointing to their recovery regime. Maybe some form of astrophysics only known to the Dublin coaching staff is behind this supreme athleticism that you seem to be in such awe of but I doubt it. A brave team, Mayo, a county with a pooulation less than that of Kerry, have gone toe to toe with Dublin over three AI finals in the space of 5 years losing each by a point. They have certainly matched Dublin in the "supreme athlete" stakes. Arguably Tyrone have too. Perhaps these teams all have the secret ingredients to generate supreme athletes, or maybe, and more likely, they just work harder on their fitness. Counties, where expectations are high and past successes have become a burden, will always seek out excuses for their present underachievements."
Absolutely spot on!!!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/08/2018 20:02:06    2135708

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes and you have acknowledged the existence of four local councils within this adminstrative region previously. In fact at one point you suggested that Dublin should be split based on these councils but of course you forgot that Cork has two of these councils and so too does Galway. You've since tried to backtrack by suggesting a geographical split. You are now backtracking on your claims that Dublin's supreme fitness gives them an edge, instead now pointing to their recovery regime. Maybe some form of astrophysics only known to the Dublin coaching staff is behind this supreme athleticism that you seem to be in such awe of but I doubt it. A brave team, Mayo, a county with a pooulation less than that of Kerry, have gone toe to toe with Dublin over three AI finals in the space of 5 years losing each by a point. They have certainly matched Dublin in the "supreme athlete" stakes. Arguably Tyrone have too. Perhaps these teams all have the secret ingredients to generate supreme athletes, or maybe, and more likely, they just work harder on their fitness. Counties, where expectations are high and past successes have become a burden, will always seek out excuses for their present underachievements."
Don't expect him to respond , but can I congratulate you on one of the best rebuttals on here for a long time , not just because your a Dub but because the individual you have pistol whipped has become boring tiresome and a one joke one trick pony an embarrassment to the lads from the kingdom that know the game and are true GAA heads

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/08/2018 20:25:52    2135715

Replying To Damothedub:  "Don't expect him to respond , but can I congratulate you on one of the best rebuttals on here for a long time , not just because your a Dub but because the individual you have pistol whipped has become boring tiresome and a one joke one trick pony an embarrassment to the lads from the kingdom that know the game and are true GAA heads"
And so say most of us!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/08/2018 20:52:01    2135723

Super post. But you know, I wouldn't subject his drivel to that kind of logical and factual analysis. This is plain old fashioned, loser begrudgery masquerading as a bit of 'devilment' , to rile up the oversensitive Dub. But you know , Legend's oul dross is a little more palatable than the cute hoorism and Yerra-speak that characterized the bad old days of Kerry domination.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/08/2018 21:12:37    2135734

great post.

but in fairness, you're just biting the bait he has thrown out for you.

in fairness to legendxzisx or whatever he calls himself, he is consistent no question, he catches more fish on here than the master ever did for example. He is incredible at it.

just ignore him. Or laugh it off the same way he will laugh off your post with some mad rebuttle

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/08/2018 21:19:02    2135738

I have answered this question already. The existence of 4 administrative areas is enough to re-classify the region as a province. Cork and Galway have less than 4.

My suggestion for the split was the city and three counties. Some Dubs didn't think that split would be fair. I offered an alternative of North, South, East and West that would include the city in each quadrant.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7856 - 22/08/2018 22:41:13    2135772

Replying To legendzxix:  "The province have supreme athletes. When it comes to sports science, they've brought it to a whole new level.

Mentally they are very strong, they stick to the process.

The manager on the sideline is as cool as ice. If something isn't tight in the first half, the message gets across at half-time and the situation is rectified.

When it comes to footballing ability, I've yet to consider them top two in any given year but their supreme athleticism, mental strength, dirty tricks and tactical changes to any given danger consistently gets them over the line in tight situations."
one word "muppet"

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/08/2018 23:34:09    2135782