Congratulations To Limerick

Lads that pic of the Limerick fan crying with joy nearly welled me up just shows what a fantastic game we have, fantastic fans we have and what a win like this does for a hurling mad county like Limerick.
I hope Waterford get their day soon.Hurling is the best game ever to exist in this universe.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/08/2018 19:00:26    2134988

Replying To WildPundit:  "Lads that pic of the Limerick fan crying with joy nearly welled me up just shows what a fantastic game we have, fantastic fans we have and what a win like this does for a hurling mad county like Limerick.
I hope Waterford get their day soon.Hurling is the best game ever to exist in this universe."
"Hurling is the best game ever to exist in this universe."

What better games exist in other Universes?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 20/08/2018 21:04:33    2135011

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Hurling is the best game ever to exist in this universe."

What better games exist in other Universes?"
Star gazing perhaps what do u think?

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/08/2018 22:11:13    2135044

Replying To jimbodub:  "And?

Man I've got Norman, Saxon, Anglo, Nordic and Irish blood in me.. god knows where else is in there!

Are you pure blood Limerick? :)

It's taken 100's of thousands of people to create your good self chief..

All from Limerick?

Fairly shallow gene pool if so buddy...

Sort of a Shelbyville buzz.. if you catch my drift?

Although Ive only been born and raised in one county.

Dublin, Rotunda. 1979."
LOL

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 20/08/2018 22:43:10    2135063

Goes without saying congrats, hopefully a new generation spawns from this , hope it's not a once off and another 40 odd years , at the scenes today in the Gaelic grounds the signs are good

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/08/2018 22:54:14    2135067

Replying To WildPundit:  "Lads that pic of the Limerick fan crying with joy nearly welled me up just shows what a fantastic game we have, fantastic fans we have and what a win like this does for a hurling mad county like Limerick.
I hope Waterford get their day soon.Hurling is the best game ever to exist in this universe."
Amen to that.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 21/08/2018 01:01:41    2135108

Replying To WildPundit:  "Star gazing perhaps what do u think?"
As the first Limerick fan to respond I would extend my countys sincere thanks to all of you, and specially Galway people, who have extended their congratulations. Croke Park was massive on Sunday, but the old city last night was out of this World. Never to be forgotten

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4323 - 21/08/2018 06:22:09    2135115

Well done Limerick - some banter with the Limerick lads on the Hill, ye know who ye are!

Delighted for Limerick fans anyway, ye deserved to win that game by about 8-10 points. Lad a work said this morning its was the biggest 1point hammering he'd ever seen, hard to argue with that.

Enjoy the celebrations

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 21/08/2018 11:01:14    2135173

And if I may add Galway people humble in defeat as when they win so fair play to them as well. As heartbroken as they are they too have left many an all-Ireland behind like Limerick.

Galway and Limerick will take some stopping next year.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/08/2018 12:05:32    2135206

Cloud 9

Childhood dreams do come true.

Simply amazing.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/08/2018 13:43:28    2135256

As an Irishman wee always shout for the underdog and on Sunday it was no different. Congrats to Limerick. This year was the best hurling Championship. Long may it last.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/08/2018 14:16:48    2135279

Replying To slayer:  "Cloud 9

Simply amazing."
Fair fecks Slayer!

A long since suffering HS poster

Not anymore!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/08/2018 14:24:16    2135284

Huge congratulations to Limerick. The better side won and deservedly so after the route they had to take to lift the cup. My heart is sore, but not broken because I can smile at the delight I see on the people of Limerick. Enjoy the celebrations. It's great to see a famine ended. (Hopefully Waterford pick up Liam soon too.)

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 21/08/2018 14:59:49    2135299

Have a read.

http://slayergaa.blogspot.com/2018/08/all-we-have-ever-wanted-since-we-were.html

It means so much.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/08/2018 15:03:26    2135303

Replying To slayer:  "Have a read.

http://slayergaa.blogspot.com/2018/08/all-we-have-ever-wanted-since-we-were.html

It means so much."
That is class Slayer you echo the feeling of many Limerick men , women and children.

When its a dark November night turn on the Sky box or the DVD and watch the game again.
I know I did in 2001 , 2010 & 2016.
Winter will be short.

Just make sure the lads come back from the holiday as I'd say JP is gonna give them one hell of a break away!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 21/08/2018 15:17:34    2135310

Replying To slayer:  "Have a read.

It means so much."
A very good read!

Nicely put together

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/08/2018 15:57:18    2135327

Replying To slayer:  "Cloud 9

Simply amazing."
I don't post or read on here any more, but I had to come on here to congratulate yourself, oldtourman, blackspot91, etc on a fabulous day for Limerick on Sunday. Decent people who I debated with for many years on here after years and years of heartbreak, finally get over the line.
I said after the match that you would be happy men.
I was nothing short of delighted to see Limerick win, seeing Ciaran Carey being interviewed after the match genuinely brought a tear to my eye. The best hurler ever to not win a Celtic Cross.
Enjoy the celebrations. I hope our day will come again.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/08/2018 15:57:44    2135328

Great scenes in Limerick last night....I am very happy for ye. I really hope we get to experience that feeling some day.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 21/08/2018 17:36:30    2135369

Replying To Pinkie:  "I don't post or read on here any more, but I had to come on here to congratulate yourself, oldtourman, blackspot91, etc on a fabulous day for Limerick on Sunday. Decent people who I debated with for many years on here after years and years of heartbreak, finally get over the line.
I said after the match that you would be happy men.
I was nothing short of delighted to see Limerick win, seeing Ciaran Carey being interviewed after the match genuinely brought a tear to my eye. The best hurler ever to not win a Celtic Cross.
Enjoy the celebrations. I hope our day will come again."
Thanks Pinkie, a sportsman to your fingertips.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4323 - 21/08/2018 20:56:20    2135435

Replying To skillet:  "Thank you Jim Bob.
I'm going to see Limerick play for years but never saw an all ireland win. Have had some terrible days following the hurlers.
Today is indescribable. So happy it's unreal.
Real bucket list moment"
from Offaly, but Limerick and Wexford were always my "other" teams as a child late 1970's onwards..for both, they just happened to have good sides at the very same time Kilkenny and Cork were also comming strong, there was no round robbin or anything, so baring a replay it was all or nothing and some great Limerick teams (and Wexford) were gone due to sheer hard luck in some instances...I am a bit older now with children so the mind is as good as it was;) but remember players like Mike Riordan, Anthony Carmody, the great Frankie Carroll, Danny Fitzgerald, who could forget Mike Houlihan, Ciaran & Pa Carey, Dave Clarke, Stephen McDonagh, Ollie and Niall Moran, Andrew O'Shaughnessy, Mark Foley he was one of the best wing backs I seen (as good as Brian Whelehan and I dont say that lightly) Ray Sampson, all the Tobins that always seemed to pop up with great goals for some reason...Stephen Lucey, Brian Begely and Brian Geary, Damian and Mike Reale, Brian and Mossy Carroll (not sure if they were around in 1973 but they had lots of lean days in my time watching Limerick...Joe McKenna was there in 73 I know but early 1980's he seemed to be a household name (and Offaly man I might add)...GerHegarty..Joe Quaid and Tommy, Timmy Houlihan & Albert Shanahan...I remember Paddy Kelly knocking over free's, one of the best free taker I seen on his day...Leonard Enright and Pat Hartegen..I know I might be jumping from one generation to another but by God Limerick had some mighty mighty hurlers and were fierce unlucky over the years and a few League titles kept ye going mid 1980's..1987 Munster semi final draw against Cork, Pa Carey had a blinder, Ciaran Kingston levelled it for Cork with last puck of game...I listened to the match out in the field on a red transistor radio with my late father surrounded by the cattle!! John Fenton got his famous goal in the replay, a greater fround goal never seen and probably never will be equalled...Limerick went through a tough 45 years...loosing to us Offaly in 1994, and Limerick in 1996 (could have won both games..should have)..Enjoy your day Limerick, as a neutral I was delighted for ye on Sunday, as per the list above, ye produced some outstanding hurlers who were so unfortunate not to win over the years gone by..well done and in Offalys absence win a few more hopfully.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/08/2018 22:00:59    2135462