Congratulations To Limerick

well done limerick,you dont do things easy but sure if it was easy everybody would be doing it!
enjoy the winter,if indeed their is one!
lamenting how far wexford are off winning it again today.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/08/2018 08:54:57    2134620

Replying To ballydalane:  "Congrats Limerick, genuinely delighted for ye. PS who's the sad act giving all the thumbs down on this thread?"
Jeez I got 5 Thumbs down for being nice! I think I better go back to being my nasty old self again. Lol....Lol

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 20/08/2018 08:56:42    2134622

It's been said numerous times already in this thread, but I want to repeat the same. A huge congrats to Limerick on very well earned and well deserved All-Ireland.
The emotion and relief in their fans at the final whistle was something else. It's fantastic for the people of Limerick city and county but also great hurling.
Disappointment on our side for sure, but we didn't deserve it on the day. The lads are a great representatives of our county and will be back.
A great year in terms of excitement topped off by the most deserving winner.
Looking at next year, we have 7 teams at least who can genuinely believe they can win the All-Ireland, which is a fine place to be.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 20/08/2018 08:59:12    2134623

Congrats to Limerick, delighted for ye and what a team ye have, From Wexford.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 20/08/2018 09:15:29    2134627

Delighted that Limerick got over the line. My heart was ready to break for them when Joe Canning was eyeing that last free up. Limerick where the better team yesterday and deserved to lift Liam after a fantastic year of hurling. Let's hope next year brings us more of the same regarding quality of games. A great championship that was truly wide open. Reminded me of the 90s era for hurling.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 20/08/2018 09:54:19    2134634

Replying To skillet:  "Ha ha!! Exactly..the absolute misery of the last 40 years washed away.

Have had about 3hours sleep cos I'm lying in bed watching every clip I can find on YouTube... Unreal."
Ha.. class chief!

Brilliant stuff

Looking forward to seeing the home coming footage reckon it'll be an epic one

My mother is from Limerick, moved to Dublin many decades ago when she was a young girl but she was still delighted yesterday!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/08/2018 10:24:49    2134643

I knew they'd win it from way back , well done limerick outstanding stuff.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2018 10:35:12    2134645

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I knew they'd win it from way back , well done limerick outstanding stuff."
You were spot on

Hopefully your football final prediction is as accurate :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/08/2018 11:03:14    2134652

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I knew they'd win it from way back , well done limerick outstanding stuff."
funnily i heard way back a prediction from cyril farrell maybe,or nickey english or somebody,that it would be a wexford limerick final.
unfortunately,one team turned up this year,the other didnt.
but sure look,roll on 2019.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/08/2018 11:15:46    2134660

Huge congratulations to Limerick most of my family are green and white my mum is ecstatic. She was 12 the last time they won in 1973.
From way back you could feel something was different about this team. They were my prediction on a thread here to win the AI and I even mentioned it to a few of my Limerick work colleagues who have failed to turn up to work this morning and why not. Only about 100 cars in the car park of where there are normally a few hundred.
The few that have turned up are looking worse for wear but you know what go and enjoy it while it lasts. These days dont come around too often. Well maybe with Limerick team they are a few more AI's in the bag.
its no surprise to some of us who know the Limerick hurling scene at Schools , Universities and County Championship that these players were some of the best in the country at their level for past few years and I think they are a modest and honest bunch and more importantly they gentlemen judging by their interviews all year with the media. Well spoken and that's a credit to them and their families.
They gave Tipp , Cork , Kilkenny and Galway their respect but once the ball was thrown in they took center stage with no fear and showed awesome skill in every game they played.
Galway in a sense I feel were a bit leggy but Limerick took advantage and controlled the game from start to finish.
Roll on 2019.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 20/08/2018 11:28:06    2134664

Great second half - very nail biting - many congrats to Limerick - when they showed the team before the game and their ages I went wow this team is going to be around for many years. Hard luck to Galway - what a comeback and worthy champions in 2017 - they will no doubt be back. Hurling is in great shape at the minute - what a product!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 20/08/2018 11:42:14    2134679

Congrats to Limerick, great to see a long-running duck being broken.

Hard luck to Galway, beaten by the better team in the end, but showed what they are capable of in the last ten minutes or so. They will be back again, no doubt.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/08/2018 12:05:45    2134691

Well done Limerick, I was in nappies in 1996 (in spite of the user name) so can't say I remember the heart break we inflicted on you.
Absolutely thrilled to see another famine end.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1734 - 20/08/2018 12:19:45    2134698

Its Limericks day and well done to them the celebrations of an All Ireland win are magic so enjoy

from a heartbroken Galway fan

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 20/08/2018 12:31:09    2134703

Replying To heartbroken:  "Its Limericks day and well done to them the celebrations of an All Ireland win are magic so enjoy

from a heartbroken Galway fan"
Galway went down swinging like true champions

Galway won't be far away over the next few years and with plenty of young talent on the way, it probably won't be long until Galway are back on top

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/08/2018 13:23:53    2134727

Fair play to Limerick, congrats and enjoy the coming days, weeks, and months.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 20/08/2018 13:35:12    2134746

Well done to john Kiely, his back room team and his players on winning a thrilling All Ireland final! The excitement generated in those last ten minutes will live for a long time with us who watched it! Great composure again shown by the team. Ye had your match up's perfect and ye tackled like demons and fully deserved the win. No doubt the celebrations will be monumental!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 20/08/2018 15:07:10    2134848

Replying To heartbroken:  "Its Limericks day and well done to them the celebrations of an All Ireland win are magic so enjoy

from a heartbroken Galway fan"
I'm heartbroken too but on the bright side our Minors have won 3 of the last 4 years including back to back and our Under 21 team is loaded so the conveyor belt of good guys should continue. Hopefully it will translate to more Senior success. I'd like to win at least one more while Canning is still there.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2127 - 20/08/2018 15:21:09    2134859

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ha.. class chief!

Brilliant stuff

Looking forward to seeing the home coming footage reckon it'll be an epic one

My mother is from Limerick, moved to Dublin many decades ago when she was a young girl but she was still delighted yesterday!"
You're only a half Dub so..

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 20/08/2018 15:43:55    2134876

Replying To Westfester:  "You're only a half Dub so.."
And?

Man I've got Norman, Saxon, Anglo, Nordic and Irish blood in me.. god knows where else is in there!

Are you pure blood Limerick? :)

It's taken 100's of thousands of people to create your good self chief..

All from Limerick?

Fairly shallow gene pool if so buddy...

Sort of a Shelbyville buzz.. if you catch my drift?

Although Ive only been born and raised in one county.

Dublin, Rotunda. 1979.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/08/2018 16:24:05    2134906