Congratulations To Limerick

Marvelously joyous scenes today.

A truly great Irish sporting moment.

A historic day for Limerick GAA and all their fans and again what fantastic scenes at the end of the game.

Caps off what was probably one of the greatest Hurling Championships of all time.

Hope it's a great week in Limerick city and beyond.. enjoy!

It's going to be some homecoming!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/08/2018 20:36:55    2134511

Thank you Jim Bob.
I'm going to see Limerick play for years but never saw an all ireland win. Have had some terrible days following the hurlers.
Today is indescribable. So happy it's unreal.
Real bucket list moment

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1064 - 19/08/2018 21:07:58    2134527

Replying To jimbodub:  "Marvelously joyous scenes today.

A historic day for Limerick GAA and all their fans and again what fantastic scenes at the end of the game.

Caps off what was probably one of the greatest Hurling Championships of all time.

It's going to be some homecoming!!"
Congratulations to Limerick. I hope they enjoy their year as much as we did here in Galway. Nobody can begrudge them their win. Better team by far on the Day. But Galway hurling alive and well. Proud of our great all Ireland winning team. Enjoy Limerick.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 19/08/2018 21:08:57    2134528

Congrats to Limerick!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2127 - 19/08/2018 21:23:43    2134534

Replying To skillet:  "Thank you Jim Bob.
I'm going to see Limerick play for years but never saw an all ireland win. Have had some terrible days following the hurlers.
Today is indescribable. So happy it's unreal.
Real bucket list moment"
I know exactly how you're feeling!

Feel about 5 stone lighter right?

You can let go of all those bad days now..

Enjoy your night and enjoy revisiting the footage on YouTube over and over again

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/08/2018 21:24:57    2134536

Fantastic stuff, well done Limerick and enjoy, commiserations to Galway.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 19/08/2018 21:25:50    2134537

Well done Limerick! Fully deserved!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7865 - 19/08/2018 21:28:09    2134542

Who are the begrudgers red thumbing the messages of congrats to Limericks? Oddballs.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 19/08/2018 21:28:42    2134545

Well done Limerick and All associated with this team. 45 years is too long for any county to go without an All Ireland in their main sport.

But shades of Offaly......1994 came to mind but were banished, thankfully and this without any disregard towards Galway, you contributed brilliantly to a wonderful game.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1066 - 19/08/2018 21:35:57    2134546

It was great to see history made - fair play to them.
They even made sure to make it exciting for the neutral by pretending they were going to throw it away again - not this Limerick team!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 19/08/2018 21:36:42    2134547

Congrats Limerick, great win, great Summer

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 19/08/2018 21:40:24    2134548

Replying To jimbodub:  "Marvelously joyous scenes today.

It's going to be some homecoming!!"
Some celebrations alright Jimbo.. Gonna be some homecoming.

Limerick beat the last three All-Ireland champions Galway, Tipperary and Kilkenny, the reigning Munster champions Cork and last year's All-Ireland runners-up Waterford to win Liam MacCarthy.
They certainly did it the hard way. Fully deserved.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/08/2018 21:46:39    2134550

Congrats Limerick, genuinely delighted for ye. PS who's the sad act giving all the thumbs down on this thread?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/08/2018 21:59:14    2134554

Amazing emotional win for Limerick, hats off and enjoy the long winter. Galway will be back and the team to beat next year, for me Canning was awesome today, a true great of the greatest game. But well done Limerick.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 19/08/2018 22:04:49    2134559

Brilliant stuff. Well done Limerick.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/08/2018 23:37:42    2134585

Somebody should tell our lads that you really should start playing before injury time.. My God we turned up bad at a lot of Finals, but today took the biscuit. I am not going to argue that Limerick were not the best team and as I previously said wish them the best, but Galway were diabolical for 65 Minutes. We nearly beat them with 10 minutes of hurling at our best. Worst one we ever lost.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 20/08/2018 00:49:41    2134592

Congratulations Limerick. By far the better team today. We were hammered by a point! We will give it another go next year and we won't be too far away. You have to laugh at the down thumbers whoever they are. Just as well for their sakes that they can't be identified because otherwise they'd be shown up for the small and bitter minded people that they are.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 20/08/2018 01:53:27    2134598

Congrats to Limerick. The long wait is finally over and this team is a credit to the county and marvellous champions. Enjoy the celebrations for the rest of the year.

Hard to luck to Galway, they were great champions last year and show why with the late surge at the end of the game.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 20/08/2018 03:35:31    2134601

Replying To jimbodub:  "I know exactly how you're feeling!

Feel about 5 stone lighter right?

You can let go of all those bad days now..

Enjoy your night and enjoy revisiting the footage on YouTube over and over again"
Ha ha!! Exactly..the absolute misery of the last 40 years washed away.

Have had about 3hours sleep cos I'm lying in bed watching every clip I can find on YouTube... Unreal.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1064 - 20/08/2018 06:26:39    2134609

I'd say congrats Limerick but there's probably no point as there's none of them here. They're all away on cloud nine. But what a sport this game of hurling is. Limerick fully deserving of their win yesterday but yet again a game in which there was only a puck of a ball between teams in the end. Immensely proud of our lads who in a year that they never really got firing on all cylinders still managed to get close to another title.
Nothing else to add other than....Limerick All Ireland Champions 2018 !

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 20/08/2018 07:53:04    2134612