Why Are Dubliners Choosing To Give The Greatest Dublin Team Ever A Miss

Replying To gotmilk:  "Just for the record this Dublin team has changed dramatically from when it started it's dominance. The title is misleading.

Anyway it wasn't the Dubs that were absent, it was the lads from the West."
Hiding in plain sight.

I wrote a thread about it but admin doesn't seem to want it through even in the Dublin forum.

The Dublin team is one of the youngest in the country.

For example

Dublin have and average age of 26, Kerry 24 and they are in "transition".

The team that won the AI in 2011 had an average of 27, here we are seven years later!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/08/2018 15:37:59    2133255

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ahh I see the reactionary revisionists are at it again!

Yes.. split Dublin even though it's been a hugely competitive decade?

Not one cake walk All Ireland in football this decade! Unlike the 00's wha !!

2010 - Dublin soundly beaten in Leinster

2011 - 1 pt win (off the back of a narrow s/f win)

2012 - Dublin soundly beaten

2013 - 1pt win (off the back of a classic s/f win)

2014 - Dublin soundly beaten

2015 - 3 pt win (off the back of a 2 game s/f saga)

2016 - 2 game All Ireland saga ends in 1pt win (off the back of ANOTHER s/f classic)

2017 - 1 pt win

Yes let's ignore how truly competitive this decade has been.

All in the vested interest of those that just want to see Dublin GAA broken up purely born out of their own inadequacy !

Dublin have been there to be beaten numerous times this decade in big games, for the large part those chances just weren't taken.

Answer = Split Dublin?

Cowardly talk lads. I can hear your knees knocking from here!

How the mighty have fallen indeed."
Good post. I think what's also apparent is various attempts to change the rules to limit the areas in which Dublin excel. We have had an attempt to stop the short kickouts because Cluxton has revolutionised this aspect of the game and Dublin have mastered it. The latest call is to reduce the number of subs as Dublin's bench is too strong. They shouldn't be allowed to bring on 5/6 handy fellas as the other bench is weaker. I've seen talk of limiting hand passes and not being allowed pass back into your own half, back court rule in basketball. This was because Dublin retained possession against Donegal and the naysayers took exception to it because it was Dublin. Pretty soon Dublin will be banned from playing any game in Croke Park. Next no doubt will come the next heave to split the county. And all of this on the basis of fine margin AI wins over the past 4 years. Kilkenny had it easy really when you think about it. They'd be playing with blindfolds at this stage if they were Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/08/2018 15:42:57    2133258

Replying To Miami305:  "to steal a line from todays guardian referencing Manchester city... "the problem with excellence is how commonplace it can quickly come to feel"

This seems very apt when talking Dublin football."
And your basing that on what?

One game?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2018 16:21:33    2133273

Replying To Miami305:  "to steal a line from todays guardian referencing Manchester city... "the problem with excellence is how commonplace it can quickly come to feel"

This seems very apt when talking Dublin football."
and yet the actualities of excellence couldn't be further from commonplace. for one example read snippets of the interview jack McCaffrey gave about his recovery from the cruciate, and the 'dark place' he had to go to in order to come out the other side and produce the kind of thing he did on saturday.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 14/08/2018 16:25:47    2133275

Replying To Joxer:  "Good post. I think what's also apparent is various attempts to change the rules to limit the areas in which Dublin excel. We have had an attempt to stop the short kickouts because Cluxton has revolutionised this aspect of the game and Dublin have mastered it. The latest call is to reduce the number of subs as Dublin's bench is too strong. They shouldn't be allowed to bring on 5/6 handy fellas as the other bench is weaker. I've seen talk of limiting hand passes and not being allowed pass back into your own half, back court rule in basketball. This was because Dublin retained possession against Donegal and the naysayers took exception to it because it was Dublin. Pretty soon Dublin will be banned from playing any game in Croke Park. Next no doubt will come the next heave to split the county. And all of this on the basis of fine margin AI wins over the past 4 years. Kilkenny had it easy really when you think about it. They'd be playing with blindfolds at this stage if they were Dublin."
Yes, this.

The idea of hobbling the strong vs. enabling the weaker is a logic which holds no water.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 14/08/2018 16:32:40    2133277

Replying To jimbodub:  "And your basing that on what?

One game?"
Maybe you misunderstand me, I am complementing Dublin's EXCELLENCE! I think we take it for granted how good they are. I am basing the excellence on 3 all Irelands in a row. They should be praised more (although I think we all run out of superlatives) instead all the negative connotations of their period of dominance which we all know about (split them, they have more money, more home games, blah blah blah)

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 14/08/2018 16:34:26    2133278

Replying To Miami305:  "Maybe you misunderstand me, I am complementing Dublin's EXCELLENCE! I think we take it for granted how good they are. I am basing the excellence on 3 all Irelands in a row. They should be praised more (although I think we all run out of superlatives) instead all the negative connotations of their period of dominance which we all know about (split them, they have more money, more home games, blah blah blah)"
Apologies.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2018 16:45:04    2133286

54 K at an All ireland semi where the result was on the predictable side is not a bad attendance.Especially when you take into account the extra games both counties had this summer.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 14/08/2018 16:49:09    2133290

Replying To Condorman:  "54 K at an All ireland semi where the result was on the predictable side is not a bad attendance.Especially when you take into account the extra games both counties had this summer."
Ah, give over. It was terribly low support from the home team. Only a grand return of a proper Railway Cup can provide Dublin a fair level of competition. Just the way it is and it's only a matter of time.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 15/08/2018 22:08:30    2133723

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ah, give over. It was terribly low support from the home team. Only a grand return of a proper Railway Cup can provide Dublin a fair level of competition. Just the way it is and it's only a matter of time."
100%. I couldn't agree more.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2018 22:33:56    2133727

Replying To legendzxix:  "Ah, give over. It was terribly low support from the home team. Only a grand return of a proper Railway Cup can provide Dublin a fair level of competition. Just the way it is and it's only a matter of time."
Well when you're making league, Leinster and AI finals in a year it takes its toll on the bank account. We've been on the road with this team since January. We probably had about 47,000 Dubs at the game. Decent Dublin support when you consider that the opposition haven't been contenders for over a decade. Some people waiting for the final.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/08/2018 23:38:29    2133734

Another excellent post from legendzxix. Not, pathetic, desperate or craven in the slightest.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 16/08/2018 00:56:56    2133739

Replying To Joxer:  "Good post. I think what's also apparent is various attempts to change the rules to limit the areas in which Dublin excel. We have had an attempt to stop the short kickouts because Cluxton has revolutionised this aspect of the game and Dublin have mastered it. The latest call is to reduce the number of subs as Dublin's bench is too strong. They shouldn't be allowed to bring on 5/6 handy fellas as the other bench is weaker. I've seen talk of limiting hand passes and not being allowed pass back into your own half, back court rule in basketball. This was because Dublin retained possession against Donegal and the naysayers took exception to it because it was Dublin. Pretty soon Dublin will be banned from playing any game in Croke Park. Next no doubt will come the next heave to split the county. And all of this on the basis of fine margin AI wins over the past 4 years. Kilkenny had it easy really when you think about it. They'd be playing with blindfolds at this stage if they were Dublin."
The short kickouts were banned because they are horrible to watch, nothing to do with stopping Cluxton. In fairness, increasing the number of subs when the black card was brought in was completely stupid and was always going to favour the bigger counties (not just Dublin).

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 16/08/2018 02:12:50    2133743

Are you still here

Wintering well is that way

<<<<<<

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/08/2018 06:50:42    2133747

Tis true, the whole world is out to get ye!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 16/08/2018 09:29:46    2133773

Doing a Kerry on it and not turning up for anything but the final the reason?
Well everyone is complaining the GAA is only about money so lower attendances it great tales money away from the GAA and everyone is happy! No?

One year and we think the sky is falling

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 16/08/2018 10:35:36    2133785

Replying To the_walls:  "Tis true, the whole world is out to get ye!"
They'll have to catch us first. They're still in our slipstream.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/08/2018 17:51:13    2133909

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "Another excellent post from legendzxix. Not, pathetic, desperate or craven in the slightest."
I was living in Dublin in 2001 when the split was first suggested. The Evening Herald had the map of Dublin split north and south with the likely makeup of both teams. I agreed with the split then and I agree with it now.

The Railway Cup should be a higher level of competition. Dublin in all fairness has become a province. It's a fair discussion to be had.

There are 3 county councils in Dublin. The capital city could probably field one team or north and south teams. That would be 4 or 5 teams entering the inter county championship with Dublin entering the Railway Cup.

The athleticism of Dublin is incredible. Someone from a sports science background might go more into detail on that. The Railway Cup is the only option really to provide a fair level of competition for that.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7853 - 16/08/2018 18:26:01    2133920

Replying To legendzxix:  "I was living in Dublin in 2001 when the split was first suggested. The Evening Herald had the map of Dublin split north and south with the likely makeup of both teams. I agreed with the split then and I agree with it now.

The Railway Cup should be a higher level of competition. Dublin in all fairness has become a province. It's a fair discussion to be had.

There are 3 county councils in Dublin. The capital city could probably field one team or north and south teams. That would be 4 or 5 teams entering the inter county championship with Dublin entering the Railway Cup.

The athleticism of Dublin is incredible. Someone from a sports science background might go more into detail on that. The Railway Cup is the only option really to provide a fair level of competition for that."
The population of Cork is about 550,000, probably more Cork people living in Cork than Dublin people living in Dublin in actual fact. There are more GAA clubs in Cork than Dublin also. It is also much larger in size, more akin to a province actually. They wave the white flag at Kerry in football as the Kingdom waltz by into the quarter finals of the AI every year. Can you layout your criteria for those counties that need to be split perhaps? Your endless meanderings on the subject might begin to make more sense then.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 16/08/2018 23:18:56    2133962

<<<<<<

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/08/2018 07:21:56    2133975