Limerick V Galway

Replying To waynoI:  "well done limerick. chuffed for limerick.

good teams win all irelands .. great teams win themore back to back. Galway couldn't do it and u til a team does they can't be compared to great kilkenny teams of the past.

Thank God that's over anyway, as the saying goes.. leaving the best til last with the Dubs and Tyrone in a fortnight.

Different codes i know but shows how brilliant the dublin footballers are for their hunger to win tight tight games against very good kerry and mayo teams over the years. They are going for 4 in a row and even if we don't do it I won't allow that be forgotten. :) (bait thrown)"
This thread is for Limerick and Galway game. Why are you harping on about how good Dublin are and having a sneaky little pop at Galway. Best til last? The muck is being left til last.

Fairplay Limerick, enjoy the week.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 19/08/2018 19:17:48    2134484

Congrats to Limerick had it all to prove and did, terrific young team who can go on if they want it.

Bad luck Galway, absolute privilege watching Joe Canning though isn't it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/08/2018 19:20:03    2134486

Congrats to our great neighbours in Limreick. It would have been an all time injustice had Galway pinged one to the net on that last attack.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 19/08/2018 19:36:32    2134489

Replying To Rockies:  "Joe Canning has cemented his position as an All time hurling great.
Best player i have ever seen...including Christy ring, D.j Carey, Shefflin etc"
You saw Christy Ring play in his prime? What age are you?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 19/08/2018 19:39:59    2134491

Replying To skillet:  "Unbelievable to win,
to be honest I feel numb at the moment. This is the fifth time I've left Croke park after a final, first time only a baby in1980, and to win is beyond description.

Re 10mins extra time, if ever a ref played for a draw it was today..
When Galway scored there point on the 8th min to go one behind that should have been it.

Thank God we held out....Luimnigh abú
All ireland champions 2018:)"
Limerick absolutely deserved the win but ref got stoppage time correct. 8 mins added plus the stoppages during those 8 mins

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/08/2018 19:40:17    2134492

Congratulations Limerick. It's wonderful to see Liam going to a county who haven't won it for 45 years; (like last year when Galway won it after a 29 years). They played great hurling throughout. On personal level, I backed Limerick to win the AI at 11/1 before the Championship started, and though I lose more bets then I win, it was good to see this one come in.

It's been a glorious year of hurling where there's not been much between the main 5 or 6 contenders. I'm looking forward to next year already.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 19/08/2018 20:01:01    2134495

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Limerick had it all to prove and did, terrific young team who can go on if they want it.

Bad luck Galway, absolute privilege watching Joe Canning though isn't it."
Brilliant final and super tension at the end.

Well done to Limerick. Better team by far on the day in my opinion, and brought great hunger and intensity to the game.

Fair play to Galway for not giving up and fighting to the end - but Limerick fully deserved to be All Ireland Champions.

This game had everything.

Enjoy the celebrations.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/08/2018 20:02:38    2134496

Limerick ye broke my heart in the semi final but after the comeback ye made, i was delighted today to see ye win back to back massive games well done enjoy the celebrations it is most definitely deserved

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 19/08/2018 20:05:56    2134498

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You saw Christy Ring play in his prime? What age are you?"
He didn't say he 'saw him in his prime'.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/08/2018 20:26:48    2134507

Replying To skillet:  "Unbelievable to win,
to be honest I feel numb at the moment. This is the fifth time I've left Croke park after a final, first time only a baby in1980, and to win is beyond description.

Re 10mins extra time, if ever a ref played for a draw it was today..
When Galway scored there point on the 8th min to go one behind that should have been it.

Thank God we held out....Luimnigh abú
All ireland champions 2018:)"
Wrong, the ref was 100% correct to play well over a minute beyond the additional 8 minutes there were plenty of stoppages within these 8 minutes too many refs blow as soon as the added time is up. Delighted it didn't matter though fair play to limerick well deserved what a summer of hurling!

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 19/08/2018 21:04:04    2134521

When Canning netted that free (what an incredible strike by the way) was anyone else thinking Johny Dooley and 1994 all over again? It certainly crossed my mind. I usually shout for Galway but I'm glad Limerick won because to lose in those circumstances again would have been too much for any county to bear.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/08/2018 21:23:53    2134535

good teams win all irelands .. great teams win themore back to back. Galway couldn't do it and u til a team does they can't be compared to great kilkenny teams of the past.

Thank God that's over anyway, as the saying goes.. leaving the best til last with the Dubs and Tyrone in a fortnight.

Different codes i know but shows how brilliant the dublin footballers are for their hunger to win tight tight games against very good kerry and mayo teams over the years. They are going for 4 in a row and even if we don't do it I won't allow that be forgotten. :) (bait thrown)"
Your lack of class on a thread that has got precisely zero to do with either Dublin or football is hard to forget too. Such self serving rubbish. This is Limerick's day and how they deserve it. Congratulations Limerick, brilliant performance. Enjoy everything tonight, this week and this year brings. Great stuff.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 19/08/2018 21:26:16    2134539

Replying To kildare73:  "Your lack of class on a thread that has got precisely zero to do with either Dublin or football is hard to forget too. Such self serving rubbish. This is Limerick's day and how they deserve it. Congratulations Limerick, brilliant performance. Enjoy everything tonight, this week and this year brings. Great stuff."
Not one of his better posts alright....

Has to be one of the best ever Hurling Championship this year. Wonderful entertainment.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/08/2018 21:49:21    2134552

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You saw Christy Ring play in his prime? What age are you?"
Old enough to have watched 1956 All Ireland. Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard starred that day.
The game is a lot faster and more skillful now.
Canning to me, is the complete hurler...a ball winner, scoregetter, unbelievable strength and has never delivered a foul stroke.
Great game today, Limerick deserved the win.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 19/08/2018 21:56:12    2134553

Replying To Rockies:  "Old enough to have watched 1956 All Ireland. Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard starred that day.
The game is a lot faster and more skillful now.
Canning to me, is the complete hurler...a ball winner, scoregetter, unbelievable strength and has never delivered a foul stroke.
Great game today, Limerick deserved the win."
Fair play. Great to have seen so many great hurlers and hope you're in good health.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 19/08/2018 22:00:35    2134556

It has been a fantastic hurling championship a few tweaks and it will be epic summers every year. Over the match Limerick were the better team Galway almost made an incredible comeback. The game itself was poor first half, better second and unbelievable last ten minutes I have ever witnessed in sport. Nothing can top that.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 19/08/2018 22:01:36    2134557

Great finish to the match, I'm far from an expert on hurling but I thought the ref was very good to Galway in the closing stages, I thought Limerick had won a free in, not given and Galway go straight up the other end and get their first goal,
saying that I suppose there should have been a free out to Galway in the lead up to Limericks first goal, very exciting finish, it's a fantastic game, I'd love to and watch Joe Canning live sometime, class act, might head south for a league game next season. Delighted for Limerick because they have waited so long for an All Ireland, Galway will be contenders again next year though for sure.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 19/08/2018 22:09:36    2134560

Replying To TheUsername:  "Congrats to Limerick had it all to prove and did, terrific young team who can go on if they want it.

Bad luck Galway, absolute privilege watching Joe Canning though isn't it."
well said , congrats limerick by far the better team, enjoy the celebrations. no complaints from me.

jj19 (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 19/08/2018 23:47:02    2134586

Had you many pints ?That's such an off the wall, error stewn post that it's embarrassing. Wonderful hurling championship, poor final, great finish, Limerick worthy winners.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1658 - 20/08/2018 00:37:59    2134589

Great stuff out of Limerick; great intensity throughout, and well deserved winners.
Very proud of the Galway lads out there today, and Canning, well, there's just no way to overstate that man's worth.

Sorry to see the hurling over, in what was one of the most enthralling championships I've ever followed. Well done to all the counties for the skill levels, drama and commitment it takes to play hurling at this level. We're all richer for ye're efforts.

Enjoy the well-earned win my Limerick friends; I've too many friends from down that way to resent ye the win.

And on a final note; Cuimhnigh ar Luimneach will take on a whole new meaning in Galway training sessions next year!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/08/2018 01:10:51    2134594