Limerick V Galway

Jesus wayno really...

What an epic year of hurling just concluded with a super entertaining final. The munster championship next year is going to be blockbuster stuff. There have been just so many top class matches it's hard to even comprehend. It's like we're all dreaming or something. That concludes the gaa for another year. Can't wait for next season.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 20/08/2018 03:58:11    2134603

Replying To ballydalane:  "When Canning netted that free (what an incredible strike by the way) was anyone else thinking Johny Dooley and 1994 all over again? It certainly crossed my mind. I usually shout for Galway but I'm glad Limerick won because to lose in those circumstances again would have been too much for any county to bear."
thought the same.
my reaction was "oh no not again for limerick".

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/08/2018 08:52:31    2134618

Great to see a team face the ghosts of 94' by conceding two late goals, but still having the guts to get the scores to get them over the line.

Brilliant end to the best championship since the late 90s. Isnt it always great craic when Kilkenny and Tipp are rubbish?

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 20/08/2018 08:55:23    2134621

What a win. Absolutely fantastic and the fact that they won such a high quality championship gives it more currency. Congratulations Limerick and hard luck Galway, you'll be back next year. Lining up to be some competition next year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/08/2018 09:00:45    2134624

What an absolute bonkers game to finish off the greatest ever season of Championship hurling in my lifetime.

Limerick won but somehow went over 30 minutes in the 2nd half without scoring a point! Between Gillane's free at about 44 mins and Mulcahy's insurance point after about 76 mins they scored 2 goals but no point! Madness that!

The late comeback from Galway though is masking the fact that they had a complete nightmare system's failure on the biggest day of the year. Having just about done enough on previous days a lot of us were expecting Galway to lift their performance for the final but instead they really regressed. Their defending all three of Limerick's goals was awful stuff.

For the 1st goal there were 5 Galway defenders around Mulcahy when the ball goes to ground and not one of them could stop the ball trickling over the line, pure panic stuff! The 2nd McInenery just drops the ball under minimal pressure and the 3rd was criminal altogether!

Fair play to Limerick for taking their chances when they were presented them though but those 2 second half goals were crucial for Limerick because they were struggling badly to score in the second half themselves so Galway's two Christmas presents were timely!

However the Galway comeback showed serious character and Limerick themselves showed the balls to not give in. I thought when Canning stitched the free that Limerick were gone but fair play to Mulcahy for sticking the insurance point!

Delighted for Limerick as they've been excellent this year and are fully deserving of their title. It's a hurling mad place so for it's brilliant that they've lifted the hoodoo at last. These lads are young enough to win another as well. Same as Galway.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 20/08/2018 11:12:44    2134656

I feel the Galway players pain , we were second to everything yesterday and it will go down to a bad day at the office. when the dust settles management and players need to analyse what went wrong why were we so flat ?

Its Limericks day and well done to them the celebrations of an All Ireland win are magic so enjoy

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 20/08/2018 12:29:42    2134702

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Jesus wayno really...

What an epic year of hurling just concluded with a super entertaining final. The munster championship next year is going to be blockbuster stuff. There have been just so many top class matches it's hard to even comprehend. It's like we're all dreaming or something. That concludes the gaa for another year. Can't wait for next season."
Bit of a laugh chief don't be so serious ...

Ps ... end of the gas year ?? We all know you'll be bet into the football final praying for a Tyrone win

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 13:15:29    2134720

Replying To kildare73:  "Your lack of class on a thread that has got precisely zero to do with either Dublin or football is hard to forget too. Such self serving rubbish. This is Limerick's day and how they deserve it. Congratulations Limerick, brilliant performance. Enjoy everything tonight, this week and this year brings. Great stuff."
Wow .. such a lack of sense of humour

Totally tongue in cheek as the little >> :)at the end would suggest ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 13:17:03    2134723

Replying To eoinog:  "Had you many pints ?That's such an off the wall, error stewn post that it's embarrassing. Wonderful hurling championship, poor final, great finish, Limerick worthy winners."
Again, the tongue in cheek nature of my post is clearly lost on you, I didn't see the game intact, so can't comment really other than to congratulate the winners Limerick

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 13:18:37    2134725

Sorry to be negative about Limerick's win- but 19th August 2018 will go down in Galway hurling history as a black black day.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 20/08/2018 15:07:01    2134847

Replying To galwayford:  "Sorry to be negative about Limerick's win- but 19th August 2018 will go down in Galway hurling history as a black black day."
It should to be honest. Opportunities to add to the Roll of Honour against a non 'Big Three' county don't come around all that often for Galway. They've had 2 in a row of these finals now and really could've taken advantage yesterday I think.

I don't think Limerick's level of performance should have been good enough to win an All-Ireland Final but it was. Galway really imploded yesterday, a total breakdown in performance in my opinion.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 20/08/2018 15:23:55    2134861

Replying To waynoI:  "well done limerick. chuffed for limerick.

good teams win all irelands .. great teams win themore back to back. Galway couldn't do it and u til a team does they can't be compared to great kilkenny teams of the past.

Thank God that's over anyway, as the saying goes.. leaving the best til last with the Dubs and Tyrone in a fortnight.

Different codes i know but shows how brilliant the dublin footballers are for their hunger to win tight tight games against very good kerry and mayo teams over the years. They are going for 4 in a row and even if we don't do it I won't allow that be forgotten. :) (bait thrown)"
Gob------.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 20/08/2018 15:39:38    2134873

Replying To galwayford:  "Sorry to be negative about Limerick's win- but 19th August 2018 will go down in Galway hurling history as a black black day."
And so it continues.Galway's shocking record in All-Ireland senior hurling finals.On average,they win only one out of every five they contest.Five titles.Twenty senior Final losses.Galway were very poor yesterday and still only lost by a point.They need a few new players.A goalkeeper,a mobile,fast and atlhletic centre back and a couple of forwards who don't keep hitting wides.They started yesterday 14 of the 15 players who started the 2017 Final.I think winning teams need to introduce a couple of new players each year to freshen things up.Well done Limerick but Cork and in particular Clare must have had big regrets watching yesterday's Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2167 - 20/08/2018 15:45:54    2134877

Of course it will. The same as Limerick had black days in 74 80 94 96 and 07. Anytime you lose an All Ireland Final is that.
Both Limerick and Galway know that Limerick were 10 points the better team on the day. The Limerick wide count was unacceptable whereas Galway wides mostly came from intense defensive pressure on the strike.
Galway will stew over this defeat for the winter and their reaction to it will determine if they are the great team that they promised to be.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 20/08/2018 15:55:32    2134887

Replying To Westfester:  "Gob------."
go out and celebrate your first all ireland in 45 years and get off hoganstand ya lemon. I was only joking and I did congratulate you guys.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/08/2018 16:03:48    2134892

Replying To endgame:  "And so it continues.Galway's shocking record in All-Ireland senior hurling finals.On average,they win only one out of every five they contest.Five titles.Twenty senior Final losses.Galway were very poor yesterday and still only lost by a point.They need a few new players.A goalkeeper,a mobile,fast and atlhletic centre back and a couple of forwards who don't keep hitting wides.They started yesterday 14 of the 15 players who started the 2017 Final.I think winning teams need to introduce a couple of new players each year to freshen things up.Well done Limerick but Cork and in particular Clare must have had big regrets watching yesterday's Final."
Galway already have a mobile, fast, athletic centre-back in 2017 all star no6 Gearóid McInerney. Just 'recovered' from a calf injury suffered 3 weeks ago, he didn't enhance his reputation yesterday.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 20/08/2018 16:36:01    2134910

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Galway already have a mobile, fast, athletic centre-back in 2017 all star no6 Gearóid McInerney. Just 'recovered' from a calf injury suffered 3 weeks ago, he didn't enhance his reputation yesterday."
McInerney was very poor yesterday but probably shouldn't have been started by Management.Felt he was overrated in 2017.He's big and powerful but lacks the pace and mobility for a modern number 6.Do you agree Pope with the rest of my post.Under the new system,it's going to be hard to reach an All-Ireland hurling final.More games and more risk of injury and suspensions.Galway basically blew a huge chance yesterday against an inexperienced Limeruck team who had never been there before and it may be some time before the Tribesmen get as good a chance again.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2167 - 20/08/2018 17:18:36    2134925

I read your post on the Galway forum where you were elaborated a bit on it being such a black, black day.... whining that Galway shouldn't lose to Limerick as...... we're a 'non GAA County !!!!

Please, help me out here. How are we non GAA? Is it somehow an insult to lose to us?
We've more senior All irelands than you. Does that help your angst a bit.
I'm at the homecoming in the Gaelic grounds right now. Team not due for hours but 1000s here already.plenty here for a non GAA County..

Bit of dignity in defeat wouldn't be a bad idea.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 20/08/2018 17:22:00    2134926

Replying To waynoI:  "go out and celebrate your first all ireland in 45 years and get off hoganstand ya lemon. I was only joking and I did congratulate you guys."
Agree, if Wexford ever get up those steps in my lifetime (don't remember 1996) I won't be seen on here for a fortnight!

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 20/08/2018 17:25:14    2134933

Replying To waynoI:  "Wow .. such a lack of sense of humour

Totally tongue in cheek as the little >> :)at the end would suggest .."
Maybe you need to get your "sense of humour " checked out because nobody got the joke. Just looked like a cheap way of getting Dublin mentioned in something that has nothing to do with them. Sounded a bit desperate but since I stick in a >>>>:) you won't have a problem with me saying that.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 20/08/2018 17:33:27    2134939