Monaghan Vs Tyrone

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Tyrone love Croke Park was the message from Sean Cavanagh during the week.
I argue this Tyrone team wilts in Croke Park.
Since Tyrone last won the All Ireland in 2008, they have beaten teams they would expect to beat, but everytime it came to Mayo,Dublin,Kerry or Cork, they were eliminated.

Tyrone record in Croke Park since 2009 is as follows.
2009 Kildare win, lose to Cork
2010 Lose to Dublin
2011 Roscommon win, lose to Dublin
2013 Meath and Monaghan win, lose to Mayo
2015 Sligo and Monaghan win, lose to Kerry
2016 Lose to Mayo
2017 Armagh win, Lose to Dublin
2018 Roscommon
Yes Tyrone have won matches the expected to win,
Monaghan version 2018 is way more advanced than the 13 or 15 model.

This Current Tyrone team can steam roll a lesser team in Croke Park, but the fact speak for themselves when they meet better opposition in HQ the fold."
I think both teams have advanced since then. I think the question is how well they have advanced since the Ulster championship meeting earlier this year. Makes for a great game. Good luck to both teams but hoping the Farney men can do it.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 11/08/2018 11:12:45    2131698

Replying To Dermoot:  "If Monaghan win tomorrow will there be a serious attempt at a pitch invasion? 88 years since ye last won a semi-final, I think ye should go for it, I will be right behind yis."
If Monaghan win it will be Croke Park Plan B all the way

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 11/08/2018 11:35:29    2131704

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Tyrone love Croke Park was the message from Sean Cavanagh during the week.
I argue this Tyrone team wilts in Croke Park.
Since Tyrone last won the All Ireland in 2008, they have beaten teams they would expect to beat, but everytime it came to Mayo,Dublin,Kerry or Cork, they were eliminated.

Tyrone record in Croke Park since 2009 is as follows.
2009 Kildare win, lose to Cork
2010 Lose to Dublin
2011 Roscommon win, lose to Dublin
2013 Meath and Monaghan win, lose to Mayo
2015 Sligo and Monaghan win, lose to Kerry
2016 Lose to Mayo
2017 Armagh win, Lose to Dublin
2018 Roscommon
Yes Tyrone have won matches the expected to win,
Monaghan version 2018 is way more advanced than the 13 or 15 model.

This Current Tyrone team can steam roll a lesser team in Croke Park, but the fact speak for themselves when they meet better opposition in HQ the fold."
Which category do Monaghan fall into? Are they a lesser team? To-morrow will tell the tale, whilst I wouldnt have agreed with all Big Sean said as last year, he is right, we do love playing in Croker, that's what it's all about, and I believe we'll ptove it tomorrow. Up Tyrone

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 11/08/2018 11:39:48    2131705

Replying To Dermoot:  "If Monaghan win tomorrow will there be a serious attempt at a pitch invasion? 88 years since ye last won a semi-final, I think ye should go for it, I will be right behind yis."
I wouldn't be at all surprised.

Wasn't I asking yer man Waynol for strategic advice on this regard only a few days ago.
He went uncharacteristically shy on me.
You can't rely on the Dubs.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 11/08/2018 11:45:09    2131706

I implore all Monaghan folk to ignore anything they have read from the Tyrone camp. I have never saw Tyrone put out so much to media and it's all got to do with putting doubt in the FARNEY army heads. From the moment the Monaghan team take to pitch to final whistle we need to lift the roof of Croker.....It's one thing the Tyrone team don't want. Twice as loud as Salthill. We owe it to our team.....small margins

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 11/08/2018 12:19:27    2131712

Replying To Dergforeeva:  "Which category do Monaghan fall into? Are they a lesser team? To-morrow will tell the tale, whilst I wouldnt have agreed with all Big Sean said as last year, he is right, we do love playing in Croker, that's what it's all about, and I believe we'll ptove it tomorrow. Up Tyrone"
Monaghan came of Ulster winning campaigns and Tyrone were waiting in the long grass. This Monaghan team had evolved so much in terms of playing style and experience.
Also the Tyrone teams of 13 and 15 contained so much more experience than the current team.
The go to man in both them wins won't be on the field tomorrow.
Sean Cavanagh loved playing in Croke Park as he claimed 3 all irelands. None of the Tyrone panel have tasted a win in Croke Park on semi final day (Cathal McCarron is injured so not included).

Donegal backs are not on the same level as the Monaghan defence. Remember Malachy very seldom gets his match ups wrong.

Tyrone will be represented on all Ireland final day,
I just hope it's my Ryan Porter and Leo McBride.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 11/08/2018 12:46:50    2131719

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "If Monaghan win it will be Croke Park Plan B all the way"
Good point. For the sake of the playing surface all neutrals should be supporting Tyrone ;)

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 11/08/2018 13:07:46    2131724

Replying To DragHimDown:  "I implore all Monaghan folk to ignore anything they have read from the Tyrone camp. I have never saw Tyrone put out so much to media and it's all got to do with putting doubt in the FARNEY army heads. From the moment the Monaghan team take to pitch to final whistle we need to lift the roof of Croker.....It's one thing the Tyrone team don't want. Twice as loud as Salthill. We owe it to our team.....small margins"
Yeah that's Mickey Harte's big fear going into the game "will the Monaghan crowd cheer loudly and put our timid wee boys off" - insert rolling eyes. But heh if it makes you feel like you can somehow influence the result who am I to ruin the illusion.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 11/08/2018 13:26:14    2131729

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Monaghan came of Ulster winning campaigns and Tyrone were waiting in the long grass. This Monaghan team had evolved so much in terms of playing style and experience.
Also the Tyrone teams of 13 and 15 contained so much more experience than the current team.
Sean Cavanagh loved playing in Croke Park as he claimed 3 all irelands. None of the Tyrone panel have tasted a win in Croke Park on semi final day (Cathal McCarron is injured so not included).

Donegal backs are not on the same level as the Monaghan defence. Remember Malachy very seldom gets his match ups wrong.

I just hope it's my Ryan Porter and Leo McBride."
For all that Sean and all them Tyrone teams did we will be eternally grateful but any of them players advice would be to the present team, go out and set your own legacy, I believe this present team will do that, them 2 will be in Croke Park in All-Ireland day alright, roaring on Tyrone!

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 11/08/2018 13:50:24    2131732

Replying To benched:  "Yeah that's Mickey Harte's big fear going into the game "will the Monaghan crowd cheer loudly and put our timid wee boys off" - insert rolling eyes. But heh if it makes you feel like you can somehow influence the result who am I to ruin the illusion."
Can you imagine how our poor minors will feel with a full stadium roaring at them and no support! But then again they're probably used to it by now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/08/2018 14:05:48    2131740

Tyrone' s finishing power of the bench is also mention a lot. Let's remember 60 minutes in the Ulster championship match in Omagh the scores are level at 1-13 to 16. Monaghan then score 5 points in a row. Tyrone get a flukey late goal to take the dirty look of it.

People are building Tyrone up on the back of the success of previous teams. No player on the field tomorrow will have won an all ireland medal or played in a final.
The southern media are blowing up Tyrone. Read what the Ulster media write.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 11/08/2018 14:53:19    2131751

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Monaghan came of Ulster winning campaigns and Tyrone were waiting in the long grass. This Monaghan team had evolved so much in terms of playing style and experience.

I just hope it's my Ryan Porter and Leo McBride."
Not quite true, as Colm Cavanagh was there in 2008 (he scored a point in the AI final that year).

Also, interesting that you mention Ryan Porter. 3 of the 4 semi-finalists have Tyrone men as their main physical trainer - Peter Donnelly with Tyrone, Ryan Porter with Monaghan, and Paddy Tally with Galway.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 11/08/2018 14:57:50    2131754

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Tyrone' s finishing power of the bench is also mention a lot. Let's remember 60 minutes in the Ulster championship match in Omagh the scores are level at 1-13 to 16. Monaghan then score 5 points in a row. Tyrone get a flukey late goal to take the dirty look of it.

People are building Tyrone up on the back of the success of previous teams. No player on the field tomorrow will have won an all ireland medal or played in a final.
The southern media are blowing up Tyrone. Read what the Ulster media write."
Eh colm cavanagh??

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 11/08/2018 15:20:48    2131769

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Not quite true, as Colm Cavanagh was there in 2008 (he scored a point in the AI final that year).

Also, interesting that you mention Ryan Porter. 3 of the 4 semi-finalists have Tyrone men as their main physical trainer - Peter Donnelly with Tyrone, Ryan Porter with Monaghan, and Paddy Tally with Galway."
Sorry Thomas I forgot about Colm. Great servant for Tyrone and in my opinion the vital cog.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 11/08/2018 15:23:45    2131770

This is not a vintage Tyrone team, it's not like it was 10 years ago. Massive credit goes to MH for taking this squad to another semi final. However Monaghan have had big wins in Croke Park this season which will help them. Add in the best forward in the country, a stronger more experienced squad of players and the fact a Monaghan team will never fear Tyrone, I predict by 5pm tomorrow Monaghan GAA will be preparing for an All Ireland final. If Tyrone do manage to win it I would put it down as an upset, this Monaghan team are good enough, I suspect they will deliver tomorrow.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 11/08/2018 15:39:51    2131773

Replying To benched:  "Yeah that's Mickey Harte's big fear going into the game "will the Monaghan crowd cheer loudly and put our timid wee boys off" - insert rolling eyes. But heh if it makes you feel like you can somehow influence the result who am I to ruin the illusion."
It's basic psychology. You get at a team through their supporters....ever heard of the 16th man????

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 11/08/2018 15:50:39    2131778

Football isn't as good now as it was in the noughties when Tyrone were at their peak, Dublin are going to walk to an All Ireland title this year, Tyrone will beat Monaghan and the media will swoon about Tyrone again for a few weeks in the build up to the final but the truth is they won't bother the Dubs. the whole thing is getting a bit boring.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 11/08/2018 16:47:07    2131791

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Football isn't as good now as it was in the noughties when Tyrone were at their peak, Dublin are going to walk to an All Ireland title this year, Tyrone will beat Monaghan and the media will swoon about Tyrone again for a few weeks in the build up to the final but the truth is they won't bother the Dubs. the whole thing is getting a bit boring."
Wouldn't be so boring if your beloved Donegal were still in it !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 11/08/2018 17:52:16    2131816

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Wouldn't be so boring if your beloved Donegal were still in it !"
You'll be finished tomorrow too so don't worry yourself, at least the Donegal fans would fill the place and bring a bit of atmosphere.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 11/08/2018 18:10:11    2131820

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You'll be finished tomorrow too so don't worry yourself, at least the Donegal fans would fill the place and bring a bit of atmosphere."
Put itself away for the winter there lad.....you think you would be happy with the Anglo Celt cup we gifted you. The least you can do is show a little bit of appreciation

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 11/08/2018 18:36:03    2131832