Monaghan Vs Tyrone

I assume if this requires a replay were back at HQ on Saturday 18th, as the Hurling is the following day ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 09/08/2018 09:38:42    2131123

To be honest im going to the semi final as a happy man, regardless of the result. Id like to see a Tyrone win naturally but if we don't win that's ok and good luck to the farney in the final. Reason being is that Tyrone unlike Down, Armagh have stuck it out at the top level. Year in and year out we are up there playing against the best at the end of the summer. We cant ask for more and if another Sam comes are way then that's the icing. We didn't fade into obscurity unlike Armagh and Down...and Derry even after their All Irelands. We're still there and credit to the management team for that.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 09/08/2018 10:04:32    2131131

Monaghan are in no mans land in Ulster. Let's hope we ruthlessly beat the red hands and make a statement. Hup the farney

MonsFreshPrince (Monaghan) - Posts: 83 - 09/08/2018 10:30:13    2131139

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "To be honest im going to the semi final as a happy man, regardless of the result. Id like to see a Tyrone win naturally but if we don't win that's ok and good luck to the farney in the final. Reason being is that Tyrone unlike Down, Armagh have stuck it out at the top level. Year in and year out we are up there playing against the best at the end of the summer. We cant ask for more and if another Sam comes are way then that's the icing. We didn't fade into obscurity unlike Armagh and Down...and Derry even after their All Irelands. We're still there and credit to the management team for that."
Like myself, I will be cheering on Tyrone if we fail to win, Would never let a minority cloud my judgement. Word of warning Re your dig at Armagh, Down and Derry. Your prolonged success is a credit to your underage systems. Tyrone have not appeared in a minor quarter final since 2013, which included a lot of this present crop, losing mostly in the first round, that's a five year gap (and counting). Donegal and Derry have taken over somewhat in that period in Ulster. I would say Derry have the potential to challenge your Ulster dominance, if they can just get their house in order, they have a better pick than most going forward

This is not to mention Kerry, Dublin, Kildare, Galway and Mayo nationally and even Cavan, Meath and ourselves are stepping up recently. The clock keeps ticking

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/08/2018 10:53:47    2131147

Replying To yaladya:  "Funny you should mention that because when Meyer went down "injured" he was over the sidelines and off the field of play and when the camera focused back on him 30 seconds later he was lying inside the sideline on the field of play! Hmm I wonder how that happened ?"
This young lad got badly injured. Won't be playing on Sunday. This is not a case of cynicism. We wish him well. He's a good footballer.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/08/2018 11:03:19    2131154

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Like myself, I will be cheering on Tyrone if we fail to win, Would never let a minority cloud my judgement. Word of warning Re your dig at Armagh, Down and Derry. Your prolonged success is a credit to your underage systems. Tyrone have not appeared in a minor quarter final since 2013, which included a lot of this present crop, losing mostly in the first round, that's a five year gap (and counting). Donegal and Derry have taken over somewhat in that period in Ulster. I would say Derry have the potential to challenge your Ulster dominance, if they can just get their house in order, they have a better pick than most going forward

This is not to mention Kerry, Dublin, Kildare, Galway and Mayo nationally and even Cavan, Meath and ourselves are stepping up recently. The clock keeps ticking"
I don't want to pick holes in your post lad but we did win the all Ireland U17 championship last year. Our U17 are the 2017 inaugural all Ireland champions, so underage looking ok. And guess who played a blinder in that final, the son of Peter The Great - Darragh Canavan - https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/902098435431514112?lang=en

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 09/08/2018 11:16:47    2131158

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I don't want to pick holes in your post lad but we did win the all Ireland U17 championship last year. Our U17 are the 2017 inaugural all Ireland champions, so underage looking ok. And guess who played a blinder in that final, the son of Peter The Great - Darragh Canavan - https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/902098435431514112?lang=en"
You should be grand so.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/08/2018 12:38:21    2131188

This is going to be a mad old game

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 09/08/2018 13:30:34    2131210

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "To be honest im going to the semi final as a happy man, regardless of the result. Id like to see a Tyrone win naturally but if we don't win that's ok and good luck to the farney in the final. Reason being is that Tyrone unlike Down, Armagh have stuck it out at the top level. Year in and year out we are up there playing against the best at the end of the summer. We cant ask for more and if another Sam comes are way then that's the icing. We didn't fade into obscurity unlike Armagh and Down...and Derry even after their All Irelands. We're still there and credit to the management team for that."
Down played in a more recent Senior All Ireland Final than Tyrone if I'm not mistaken. With all of Down's problems this shows how far away from the top level Tyrone have been.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 09/08/2018 15:55:23    2131262

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "You should be grand so."
I think you're right.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/08/2018 16:34:16    2131273

Good on Tyrone .....fair play !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 09/08/2018 23:47:21    2131403

Tyrone team named to start.
1 N Morgan
2 M McKernan
3 R McNamee
4 R Brennan
5 T McCann
6 F Burns
7 P Harte
8 C Cavanagh
9 P Hampsey
10 M Donnelly
11 N Sludden
12 C McShane
13 M Bradley
14 R Donnelly
15 C McAliskey

16 M O'Neill
17 L Brennan
18 M Cassidy
19 H Loughran
20 C McCann
21 D McClure
22 A McCrory
23 HP McGeary
24 K McGeary
25 P McNulty
26 R O'Neill

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 10/08/2018 06:48:33    2131420

Replying To yaladya:  "Funny you should mention that because when Meyer went down "injured" he was over the sidelines and off the field of play and when the camera focused back on him 30 seconds later he was lying inside the sideline on the field of play! Hmm I wonder how that happened ?"
I never cease to be amazed at the number of clowns on here.

Meyler is not selected for Sunday, and the talk is that he chipped a bone in his foot and is out for the rest of the season.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 10/08/2018 09:07:48    2131433

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "I never cease to be amazed at the number of clowns on here.

Meyler is not selected for Sunday, and the talk is that he chipped a bone in his foot and is out for the rest of the season."
Wishing him well.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 10/08/2018 09:30:40    2131440

I've been reading through a lot of the comments sighhs! Lads come on , i hope Tyrone win on Sunday and I believe they will , if we don't then I will be cheering on Monaghan in the final . I am a Tyrone man and a supporter all my life , but I am also a Ulster man , I am proud knowing one Ulster team will be in the final this year , I wish our neighbours and fellow Ulster gaels Monaghan all the best Sunday , may the best team win , tir eoghain abu .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 10/08/2018 09:36:22    2131443

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Like myself, I will be cheering on Tyrone if we fail to win, Would never let a minority cloud my judgement. Word of warning Re your dig at Armagh, Down and Derry. Your prolonged success is a credit to your underage systems. Tyrone have not appeared in a minor quarter final since 2013, which included a lot of this present crop, losing mostly in the first round, that's a five year gap (and counting). Donegal and Derry have taken over somewhat in that period in Ulster. I would say Derry have the potential to challenge your Ulster dominance, if they can just get their house in order, they have a better pick than most going forward

This is not to mention Kerry, Dublin, Kildare, Galway and Mayo nationally and even Cavan, Meath and ourselves are stepping up recently. The clock keeps ticking"
errrr.....a minor all-ireland title last year??...

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 10/08/2018 22:22:26    2131638

Replying To Kildare30:  "This is going to be a mad old game"
Ha ha, I think you're right, an awful lot at stake here for many reasons.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 11/08/2018 01:38:16    2131657

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "errrr.....a minor all-ireland title last year??..."
????

Kerry won the minor all ireland title last year

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 11/08/2018 04:49:55    2131660

If Monaghan win tomorrow will there be a serious attempt at a pitch invasion? 88 years since ye last won a semi-final, I think ye should go for it, I will be right behind yis.

Dermoot (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 11/08/2018 08:58:50    2131670

Tyrone love Croke Park was the message from Sean Cavanagh during the week.
I argue this Tyrone team wilts in Croke Park.
Since Tyrone last won the All Ireland in 2008, they have beaten teams they would expect to beat, but everytime it came to Mayo,Dublin,Kerry or Cork, they were eliminated.

Tyrone record in Croke Park since 2009 is as follows.
2009 Kildare win, lose to Cork
2010 Lose to Dublin
2011 Roscommon win, lose to Dublin
2013 Meath and Monaghan win, lose to Mayo
2015 Sligo and Monaghan win, lose to Kerry
2016 Lose to Mayo
2017 Armagh win, Lose to Dublin
2018 Roscommon
Yes Tyrone have won matches the expected to win,
Monaghan version 2018 is way more advanced than the 13 or 15 model.

This Current Tyrone team can steam roll a lesser team in Croke Park, but the fact speak for themselves when they meet better opposition in HQ the fold.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 11/08/2018 09:21:36    2131675