Dublin's New Style

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah I agree with this. Positions mean little with this Dublin team. Some analysts don't get it when it comes to our forwards for example. We're being criticised for a lack of scores from our forwards but scoring is only one of many jobs that they are being tasked with. Tackling and pulling players out of position to make space for our backs to plough through the opposition's defence is as important. The Tyrone game showed this up big time. McCarthy, McCaffrey, Philly, Howard all bursting through for crucial scores while our forwards hit the sidelines to open up the space. Mannion tracking back to make tackles that Gerry Hargan would have been proud of. Everyone is a defender and everyone is a forward when they cross the halfway line. The tactics are multi-dimensional. It requires huge levels of fitness, multi-skilled players and I'm sure weeks of practice and planning to get everyone on the same page. It certainly has the analysts baffled because O'Se called us out for having 15 behind the ball against Donegal while Brolly called us out for having 9 up and going toe to toe with Tyrone. Adaptability is the key word."
I think some Dubs are getting as bad as some of our Northern friends in that any bit of critique is instantly rejected , no one is doubting the work etc energy levels and inter positional changing or if they are they are few and far between, it goes without saying you don't get to stay on the pitch under him if at the very least aren't giving maximum effort , we're I would take issue lads in giving 100%are still capable of being shy on confidence, we have been clinical in front of goal not from previous high impeccable standards

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/08/2018 17:55:19    2128328

Dublin should make Jimmy McGuinness mayor as the team that Gilroy built and Gavin took on would not be what they are except for him, the way he has copied the 2012 team plan of a joy to watch , if you think I am being cold in what I am saying don't worry wrap Gavins Blanket defence around you to keep you warm....

:-)

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 02/08/2018 14:06:18    2128490

BB
Bernard's Back

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/08/2018 17:47:38    2128793

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I saw something in the paper over the weekend where John O'Leary made a comment that Dublin should stop "fluting" about with the ball & right enough they seem to have changed their attacking style completely this year.

Up to now it was thrilling all out attack with teams being cut open from all angles but this year there has been a definite change in approach with them being much more patient & recycling the ball over & back until an opening becomes available. Neither would we have seen the "keep ball" we saw against Donegal in previous years.

Now before the usual suspects start jumping up & down, may I say that Dublin are perfectly entitled to play any way they want & if a version of Donegal circa 2012 works for them then that's fine by me. I'm just curious as to why they have taken this approach.

Is it because flair players like Bernard & Diarmuid are no longer there or is there something else going on? It seems to be working fine for them but there is no doubt that it is not as thrilling to watch as before."
Is this the first year you have seen Dublin recycle the ball Muckrosshead, when they have taken a lead in a game against a defensively set up team.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 04/08/2018 00:40:46    2128852

Dublin are gradually becoming the boring blues just like their manager's boring interviews!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 04/08/2018 08:37:23    2128868

The Dubs are gradually becoming as boring and cynical as their manager's interviews.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 04/08/2018 09:57:23    2128874

Replying To baire:  "Dublin are gradually becoming the boring blues just like their manager's boring interviews!"
You're a poet and you don't know it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 04/08/2018 10:08:20    2128878

Replying To baire:  "Dublin are gradually becoming the boring blues just like their manager's boring interviews!"
Nearly as boring as your posts.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 04/08/2018 12:38:48    2128906

Replying To AthCliath:  "Is this the first year you have seen Dublin recycle the ball Muckrosshead, when they have taken a lead in a game against a defensively set up team."
Name me a team that doesn't set up defensively nowadays when they don't have the ball especially against Dublin?

I was just making an observation that in years gone by Dublin would have put teams to the sword once they got on too but that policy seems to have changed.

Many of us are secretly glad to see this change but I enjoyed the swashbuckling style of Dublin especially if Donegal weren't at the receiving end of it!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/08/2018 20:40:35    2129051

Replying To baire:  "The Dubs are gradually becoming as boring and cynical as their manager's interviews."
That doesn't say much for Galway, eh??

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/08/2018 20:51:22    2129059

Replying To baire:  "The Dubs are gradually becoming as boring and cynical as their manager's interviews."
I think you're right. Dublin are a very good side but the sum of all the parts rather than outstanding, brilliantly skillful individuals. They are a very mechanical side who know what they have to do and do it well without the Gooch, Canavan, Joyce touch. Dublin are the mirror image of their manager and that's not meant as a put down, it's just how I and many others honestly see it. Unless you were a Dublin fan you wouldn't queue up to watch them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 04/08/2018 20:55:50    2129061

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "That doesn't say much for Galway, eh??"
Absolutely. It should be called hand pass ball, not football. Give me the Galway or Dublin hurlers any day.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 04/08/2018 23:24:33    2129158

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think you're right. Dublin are a very good side but the sum of all the parts rather than outstanding, brilliantly skillful individuals. They are a very mechanical side who know what they have to do and do it well without the Gooch, Canavan, Joyce touch. Dublin are the mirror image of their manager and that's not meant as a put down, it's just how I and many others honestly see it. Unless you were a Dublin fan you wouldn't queue up to watch them."
Who would you queue up to watch if not the top scoring Dubs? An Ulster team? Me thinks not.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/08/2018 03:45:24    2129204

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think you're right. Dublin are a very good side but the sum of all the parts rather than outstanding, brilliantly skillful individuals. They are a very mechanical side who know what they have to do and do it well without the Gooch, Canavan, Joyce touch. Dublin are the mirror image of their manager and that's not meant as a put down, it's just how I and many others honestly see it. Unless you were a Dublin fan you wouldn't queue up to watch them."
There's an element of truth in what you say , it's team before me , we certainly don't have a replacement for Connolly on the eye , that said four players that I could watch all day and most would have as best in their positions McCarty McCaffrey Cluxton and Fenton

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 05/08/2018 08:27:51    2129212

So essentially what you are saying is this...

The best teams win things even if they don't have the best individual players....in games where you play as a team to win, rather than an individual. You know what UM? I actually think you might be on to something big here. Stop the press. This NEEDS more highlighting.

For the record...

Dublin are a great team, not a very good one. We've been told good teams win all irelands, great ones win them back to back. we're going for 4 in a row. broken unbeaten records and can vary how we play to suit whatever we are up against. revolutionised the game. awesome team and to do that without any brilliantly skilful individual players as you say, well, just adds to the greatness doesn't it really ??

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/08/2018 09:22:24    2129228

Must say, you're very good at this sort of stuff.
Many others would be delighted to see us lose but I bet they'd be only too glad to have a few of these so called mechanical players you mention.
I'm not in the slightest bit surprised though at the amount of people who cannot wait for us to be beaten as that is the norm when great teams are on a roll.
It was the same when Kk were on 4 in a row and I remember hearing people saying how much they wanted them beaten. And beaten they were as will happen eventually to Dublin and then it will be someone else's turn. Doesn't take away from their achievements or greatness though no matter how much you or others dislike it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 09:41:19    2129239

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Must say, you're very good at this sort of stuff.
Many others would be delighted to see us lose but I bet they'd be only too glad to have a few of these so called mechanical players you mention.
I'm not in the slightest bit surprised though at the amount of people who cannot wait for us to be beaten as that is the norm when great teams are on a roll.
It was the same when Kk were on 4 in a row and I remember hearing people saying how much they wanted them beaten. And beaten they were as will happen eventually to Dublin and then it will be someone else's turn. Doesn't take away from their achievements or greatness though no matter how much you or others dislike it."
Haha ulsterman is harmless. A master troll if you will and has been since forever and I'm on HS a long time.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 05/08/2018 10:09:00    2129249

Replying To Jackeen:  "Haha ulsterman is harmless. A master troll if you will and has been since forever and I'm on HS a long time."
Absolutely, and that's fine.
Have to laugh when I read some of the stuff that is posted. It's par for the course though I suppose.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 10:16:53    2129254

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Must say, you're very good at this sort of stuff.
It was the same when Kk were on 4 in a row and I remember hearing people saying how much they wanted them beaten. And beaten they were as will happen eventually to Dublin and then it will be someone else's turn. Doesn't take away from their achievements or greatness though no matter how much you or others dislike it."
Dublin i have no doubt will win the 4 in
a row and maybe 5 U got to give credit
where its due one of the best teams ever
to grace a football pitch they have it all they
know how to win games the reality of it
i dont see anyone beating them in the near
future

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 05/08/2018 11:24:24    2129292

Replying To wfkerry:  "Dublin i have no doubt will win the 4 in
a row and maybe 5 U got to give credit
where its due one of the best teams ever
to grace a football pitch they have it all they
know how to win games the reality of it
i dont see anyone beating them in the near
future"
Ye will always be there or thereabouts so you probably know where I'm coming from.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 11:47:57    2129298