Irish But Never Held A Hurl?

Replying To omahant:  "Would those KK 17 today even get a chance ?
Are footballs legal in your parts ?"
Cheap begrudging comment. Water off a ducks back to KK folk. They don't bother with a lesser game or comments from lessers.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 31/07/2018 22:34:06    2128060

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Cheap begrudging comment. Water off a ducks back to KK folk. They don't bother with a lesser game or comments from lessers."
If you can't laud you own game without running down another, you're no better than the meath fella.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 31/07/2018 23:03:47    2128068

Replying To Soma:  "Just looking at comments on the excellent weekend of entertainment we had and saw a number of Irish people say they loved the games but never usually watch hurling and some never even held a hurl. I appreciate everyone has different interests but on such a small island it amazes me how little contact some have with a native sport that is such a huge part of many people's lives. I wonder are there many on here who grew up without a hurl, or who have kids that do not own a hurl? If nothing else it's a fairly cheap toy and hitting the ball to a friend or against a wall can pass many hours. From ancient times people on the island have been hitting balls with a stick to pass the time, I'd say most kids would still enjoy it even if they never went near a hurling club."
We call it a hurley mate, not a hurl.

70_laps (Limerick) - Posts: 31 - 31/07/2018 23:47:54    2128075

It's a great country isn't it, the soccer crowd can't stand the GAA, the hurling crowd can't stand the footballers and vice versa in general is the feeling I'm getting, there's a million or so people in the northeast who can't stand any of us, try uniting that lot. God help us.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2758 - 31/07/2018 23:51:47    2128077

Replying To Royalace:  "Gerrys thoughts did nothing but lose him respect of a large portion of the GAA community in the county. Meath football will be a force again I'm sure but the McEntees will be well gone."
Are you still trolling me on twitter? You got rid of royalking pretty quickly after everyone turned on u.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/08/2018 00:06:03    2128079

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "'whack it anywhere ball'

You're entitled to your opinion but that statement of yours above is pure ignorance. One example, Shane Dowling's peripheral vision to flick the ball to the left in a glut of players at just the right pace to setup Aaron Gillane for a goal chance for Limerick on Sunday. The subtleties of the game are lost on you...and your family."
Do not dare say anything about my family unless u say it to my face. Which of course u wouldn't, or if u did, trust me u would need a Hurley and it wouldn't do u any good. It's a c#ap game enjoyed by hombres for the most part who give it a bad name and who don't get out much.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/08/2018 00:10:37    2128080

Replying To royaldunne:  "Do not dare say anything about my family unless u say it to my face. Which of course u wouldn't, or if u did, trust me u would need a Hurley and it wouldn't do u any good. It's a c#ap game enjoyed by hombres for the most part who give it a bad name and who don't get out much."
Do not dare say anything about my family unless u say it to my face. Which of course u wouldn't, or if u did, trust me u would need a Hurley and it wouldn't do u any good. It's a c#ap game enjoyed by hombres for the most part who give it a bad name and who don't get out much.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 13699 - 01/08/2018 00:10:37 2128080

Jakers,,, it's all very serious in this thread... I don't agree with you saying that it's a crap game but at least you know it's a hurley, that at least.

70_laps (Limerick) - Posts: 31 - 01/08/2018 00:26:47    2128084

Replying To omahant:  "Would those KK 17 today even get a chance ?
Are footballs legal in your parts ?"
Yes, football is more accessible to youngsters in Kilkenny now then it was when I was growing up in the 80s and 90s. All schools take part in cumann na mbunscoil football championships, wasn't an option in the school I went to or certainly not one that ever occurred to me at the time.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 01/08/2018 03:39:47    2128096

Jaysus boys, simmer down. royaldunne, though some of his comments were a little silly regarding hurling, hates the sport. So what if he does? And BliainanÁir, do you not think you are being a little over defensive and sensitive about hurling? Just because some lad from Meath, a football county, thinks hurling is sh*te.
I myself adore the game.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 01/08/2018 04:43:59    2128100

Replying To royaldunne:  "I am not against those who like hurling, that is their preference. However I have no interest in it , it bores me to tears. I'll give you a example I have used many times on here before. 09 all ire quarter finals Meath underdogs beat mayo in one of the best matches to Been played in Crocker. Had the whole family up, fantastic game, it was a double header. Hurling semi final afterwards, I know it was kilkenny but off top of my head can't think of who they were playing, I said to herself and kids ahh sure we will stick around and watch this. By halftime one of my girls turned to me and said if I made her watch anymore she was gonna call child line. It was horrendous, and brought down the fantastic day that it had been. If a hurling match was in my back field, I wouldn't watch it. I don't like cricket either, should we all like what we told to? I haven't said anything to anyone about their love of a game I find boring and irrelevant, so leave me to my football, horse racing, and F1, those are my main sports. How is it so hard for 'hurling men' to understand that others don't share their enthusiasm, or care about it. I have often said on here my liking for Galway football after Meath (Down too) but I don't care about their hurlers , actually if they had a darts team I would be as blasé. However I will watch their footballers with pure delight."
If ever there was a post that makes an irrefutable case for separate hurling and football boards to be set up in every county, and for the sports to be completely run independently of each other, this is it! There are people at county board level in every football-dominated county who share this depth of distain for hurling. Presumably there are people at county board level with an equal distain for football in hurling dominated counties.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 01/08/2018 06:27:08    2128105

Replying To 70_laps:  "We call it a hurley mate, not a hurl."
Where I come from we have always and ever called it a "hurl". By the way, are you from the UK or UK-based with the " mate" bit?

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 01/08/2018 06:30:45    2128106

Replying To royaldunne:  "Do not dare say anything about my family unless u say it to my face. Which of course u wouldn't, or if u did, trust me u would need a Hurley and it wouldn't do u any good. It's a c#ap game enjoyed by hombres for the most part who give it a bad name and who don't get out much."
So RD now that you have finally let the mask drop , why did you come on here and fill us all a load of BS , long summer couldn't help yourself

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/08/2018 07:07:17    2128109

Replying To royaldunne:  "Are you still trolling me on twitter? You got rid of royalking pretty quickly after everyone turned on u."
Not me don't have the time and that's a bit weird to be honest. Don't post on here much and in general I admire your enthusiasm for Meath football but being someone involved in a dual club I see the effort being put into hurling in Meath by dedicated people and your ignorant comments on the game were getting up my nose that's all.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 01/08/2018 07:19:00    2128110

Hey... It's a hurl not a hurley...

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 01/08/2018 08:17:49    2128114

Hey... It's a hurl not a hurley...

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 01/08/2018 08:18:39    2128115

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Where I come from we have always and ever called it a "hurl". By the way, are you from the UK or UK-based with the " mate" bit?"
"Hurl" is a verb, not a noun. Limerick man here. I'm just be friendly when I use the word mate.

70_laps (Limerick) - Posts: 31 - 01/08/2018 10:41:30    2128165

Did you ever have a well off cousin who has everything? while you struggle for most things yet you have a decent voice/skill and that cousin hates you for that? That is exactly the way a cohort of of the Gaelic Football fraternity view and behave towards hurling. I guess it is just human nature.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 01/08/2018 11:16:26    2128173

Replying To 70_laps:  ""Hurl" is a verb, not a noun. Limerick man here. I'm just be friendly when I use the word mate."
Where I come from and any part of the country I've been it's a 'hurl' colloquially. Lads bring the hurls for a puck around etc.

Hurley was the polite description of someone working in Rte or from the D4 region.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 01/08/2018 12:07:52    2128190

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Where I come from and any part of the country I've been it's a 'hurl' colloquially. Lads bring the hurls for a puck around etc.

Hurley was the polite description of someone working in Rte or from the D4 region."
Was always a hurl for us too.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 01/08/2018 12:44:51    2128203

Replying To m_the_d:  "If you can't laud you own game without running down another, you're no better than the meath fella."
I think it's a lesser game, gaelic football. On the evidence of recent years, absolutely.

I also think gaelic football is a great game, when played properly. It has amazingly skilled practitioners.

In my comment i was giving a short answer to a smart derogatory comment about 'football being legal' in Kilkenny.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 01/08/2018 12:57:11    2128208