Irish But Never Held A Hurl?

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Carrick hurling play in underage leagues and championships in Roscommon. They play adult league hurling in the Dermot Molloy hurling League which is run by Sligo afaik. There are teams from Sligo Leitrim and Mayo in it. They also play in the leitrim/longford league.
Longford Slashers also play underage in Roscommon and also in westmeath. They play in the Roscommon adult league.
Both club mentors tell me that life is made very hard for them by their respective county boards. The say that fixtures are regularly put on for the same nights making it a constant struggle."
Correct Dermot Molloy hurling league is in Sligo. I think I played in it meself maybe 11 years ago or so. Manor from Leitrim used to play in it as far as I remember. I played for a Sligo club for a while. Haven't been following the hurling much in Leitrim/Sligo recently at club level. Played challenges in Mayo and Donegal back in the day. Played for Tubbercurry once in a challenge when they were stuck. Enjoyed the hurling but I wasn't much good at it. When I was playing, hurling was much better organised in Sligo than in Leitrim. I don't remember much problems with fixtures to be honest. Played under floodlights in Tourlestrane a few times and it was well organised and enjoyable. I'm not sure if its going as well now. But I can imagine football takes first place with the county boards.

My father was always a hurling fan but he never played himself. He got me a hurl when I was young so thats where it started for me. We'd belt a tennis ball over and back a yard with a dog playing midfield. He was better than either of us :)

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 31/07/2018 17:22:25    2127945

Replying To ballydalane:  "The thing that annoys me about football fans, some at least, is the boasting about its geographical dominance over hurling, that this somehow proves its superiority over hurling. I mean, McDonald's is the most popular restaurant in the country, Love Island is the most popular show on television - popularity is certainly no indicator of quality.

Anyway, for all the multitudes of counties playing football, there's only one county can win the All-Ireland so what good does it do ye?"
McDonald's and Love Island comparison. Seems like you're saying football is more of a quickie while hurling is like long term relationship? Depends what you're after!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 31/07/2018 17:26:50    2127946

Replying To liam500:  "I train an u10 team in a non hurling county. There is one young lad on our team who has all the skills and utterly dominates every match we play. He also collects the cul cards and knows all the players names on the big inter county teams. It really saddens me that his future is limited because of where he lives. In soccer or rugby the sky would be the limit but not in the GAA. Any suggestions on what this lad could do?"
Maybe when it comes to secondary school in 2/3 years time he could go to a good hurling school in a nearby hurling county to keep him improving before going onto University and the Fitzgibbon cup. Keep up the good work with the kids giving them a go at this great game

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 31/07/2018 17:29:57    2127947

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Rugby is only played by a small percentage of the population but it's hugely popular spectator wise so why can't you judge Hurling by similar standards. There are only 10 teams in the League of Ireland premier division and many other countries top leagues so why beat hurling with that stick. Your county played in the Joe Mcdonagh cup this season. If there was a tiered system in football, and it is badly needed, what tier would Meath football be in?
Kids play soccer because it's all around them and easy to play. That is the reality. Sky sports and other media outlets are saturated with it and parents dream of Johnie playing for Utd. Football people forget that this is a dual sport organisation created to promote the Irish identity through our sports. They forget this and say that the two sports cannot blossom side by side due to resources etc while bringing their children to the local soccer club. How hypocritical is that? Yet it happens everywhere. I see people with their gaa club tops at the soccer club and they won't let their kids hurl because they have too much activities. That's the reality."
What I am referencing is that football is being held back in a football county because of the GAA's aim to promote both sports. That's the GAA's ethos. If they did not do that - hurling would be a dead duck in Meath and many other counties too. So in a way, I support that decision by the GAA.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 31/07/2018 17:31:09    2127948

Replying To liam500:  "I think theirin lies the nub of the problem. What's the point in a young lad in Cavan, Leitrim etc playing hurling in that the peak of his career might be a Lory Meagher cup appearance? I think really that there should be a route for exceptional young players in those counties to the top level."
Well that is a matter of opinion. I'm from Limerick but live in Roscommon. I coach my son's team and would be one very proud father to see him play in Croke Park and win an all Ireland hurling medal be it ring, Rackard or Meagher.
You talk about a system that's designed to meet the needs of am individual when this is a team sport. If a talented soccer player in Limerick wants to progress to their level and it's above limerick fc they move . Hurling is no different in that regard it's just frowned upon more. That would mainly be between the top counties though. A Wicklow player playing for Kilkenny should be celebrated imo if it ever happens.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2018 17:33:46    2127951

I'd be curious to see a poll of which game was deemed the best of the two, but participants must state if they played only football, only hurling or dual. Or indeed people who have never actually played either, but love sport.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 31/07/2018 17:35:55    2127952

Replying To ballydalane:  "The Hurling documentary on RTE 1 last night was a mixed bag. I'm be interested in the history and development of the game but the contributions from the talking heads were a little OTT. I think Loughnane said something along the lines of when you strike a ball cleanly, the vibration from the strike resonates up your arm, through your body and "into your soul"......I love hurling but that kind of sh1te wrecks my head."
That's more like what happens when you don't strike the ball cleanly...a right stinger

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 31/07/2018 17:40:01    2127953

Replying To Roger:  "What I am referencing is that football is being held back in a football county because of the GAA's aim to promote both sports. That's the GAA's ethos. If they did not do that - hurling would be a dead duck in Meath and many other counties too. So in a way, I support that decision by the GAA."
How is it being held back? This is the great myth or illusion created by football people. That every county are of a similar standard and every club is also of a similar standard.
I coach my son's u12 Hurling team here in Roscommon. He also plays on the u12 Football team. They play in division 1 and there are 6 teams in it. I'm sure every county is similar or at least are divided into divisions of 6 or 8. What's wrong with giving them a gaa season running from March or April to end of September with hurling game one week and football the next. Because here the u12 Football spring league ended in mid May and the summer championship hasn't started yet. All it takes is good will and organisation. Unfortunately both are lacking in many counties.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2018 17:55:13    2127959

My two cents worth...football people know that their sport is not the best game in the world and not even close . Hurling people genuinely believe their sport is. If football people had the same conviction and confidence about their sport as hurling people do, believe me, they would be letting the world know about it too...

murrax (Wexford) - Posts: 90 - 31/07/2018 18:00:18    2127964

Replying To liam500:  "I think theirin lies the nub of the problem. What's the point in a young lad in Cavan, Leitrim etc playing hurling in that the peak of his career might be a Lory Meagher cup appearance? I think really that there should be a route for exceptional young players in those counties to the top level."
Because the young lad loves hurling and loves his county. That's why Keith Higgins' first love is hurling. Can't be sure but I heard one time that Galway hurlers, his father's county, wanted him to to train with them. Same applied for great footballers like Mattie Forde and Declan Browne loving football and loving their county when a lot of good football counties would have been delighted to have them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 31/07/2018 18:09:59    2127968

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "That post is like one an Englishman would post. I'm not being anti English, or any nationality, but it shows a chasm in culture, a complete inability to get the game.

Myopic. There's a tone among some posters that we're a bit too sophisticated for the 'stick game'. Very like they have been anglicised."
And this is why hurling in Meath never took off. As Gerry mcentee said they should burn all the Hurley's in county.
Let me critique your condescending post. 1, I can trace my ancestors in this country back hundreds of years. 2, My name would also suggest that we originated in believe it or not Laois,
3, I gave hurling a chance, but I find it mind numbing and booring .
4, I'm open to all sports , I love handball (which is also a very native sport) and the only one that is international.
5, I adore football as the majority of country do, as attendees and viewing figures proves time and again, like it or not hurling is a minority sport, probably behind rugby now as well as soccer and of course the greatest game of them all FOOTBALL, .
I don't feel angloised by not liking hurling, I'd prefer to watch paint dry. That been said if you like it away you go. I won't call you backwards for liking a minority sport with no attraction to the majority of people

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/07/2018 18:29:49    2127975

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Because the young lad loves hurling and loves his county. That's why Keith Higgins' first love is hurling. Can't be sure but I heard one time that Galway hurlers, his father's county, wanted him to to train with them. Same applied for great footballers like Mattie Forde and Declan Browne loving football and loving their county when a lot of good football counties would have been delighted to have them."
Equally players have made the move too. Some because they couldn't make their own county teams and others because they believed they were moving to a higher level. They weren't always right either.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2018 18:46:40    2127981

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Because the young lad loves hurling and loves his county. That's why Keith Higgins' first love is hurling. Can't be sure but I heard one time that Galway hurlers, his father's county, wanted him to to train with them. Same applied for great footballers like Mattie Forde and Declan Browne loving football and loving their county when a lot of good football counties would have been delighted to have them."
Higgins is probably the best hurler I've seen at a lower level. He really is excellent.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2018 18:47:34    2127982

Replying To royaldunne:  "And this is why hurling in Meath never took off. As Gerry mcentee said they should burn all the Hurley's in county.
Let me critique your condescending post. 1, I can trace my ancestors in this country back hundreds of years. 2, My name would also suggest that we originated in believe it or not Laois,
4, I'm open to all sports , I love handball (which is also a very native sport) and the only one that is international.
5, I adore football as the majority of country do, as attendees and viewing figures proves time and again, like it or not hurling is a minority sport, probably behind rugby now as well as soccer and of course the greatest game of them all FOOTBALL, .
I don't feel angloised by not liking hurling, I'd prefer to watch paint dry. That been said if you like it away you go. I won't call you backwards for liking a minority sport with no attraction to the majority of people"
Ok I get it now, you are a WUM. Happy fishing.

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2018 18:49:49    2127983

Replying To murrax:  "My two cents worth...football people know that their sport is not the best game in the world and not even close . Hurling people genuinely believe their sport is. If football people had the same conviction and confidence about their sport as hurling people do, believe me, they would be letting the world know about it too..."
Nah, that's just not true.

Plenty of football men like their game just as much.

It's not as spectacular as hurling is to look at. I still really think football is a properly great sport particularly to play.

There's skill, athleticism, tactics, hard hits. The top footballers can do some amazing things.

It's been a relatively bad few years for football at intercounty level but I mean some of the Dublin Mayo games in recent years have just been so exciting.

Hurling played badly is muck to watch every bit as much as football is.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 31/07/2018 19:16:02    2127988

Replying To royaldunne:  "And this is why hurling in Meath never took off. As Gerry mcentee said they should burn all the Hurley's in county.
I don't feel angloised by not liking hurling, I'd prefer to watch paint dry. That been said if you like it away you go. I won't call you backwards for liking a minority sport with no attraction to the majority of people"
Gerry McEntee may have been a fine footballer in his day and hold a good profession, he's a very good man, evidenced with how he went out of his way to get Beano McDonald of Laois the best of treatment after his horrific leg injury against Tyrone in 2004. However even good men make very ignorant comments, and if he made that one it was ill judged and anti our native game.

I don't want to know about your ancestry. However when you state you'd prefer the worst Junior B match to any hurling game it's illogical. What joy one could get out of watching Fermanagh playing Monaghan above any of the great hurling games of the past few weeks is beyond me. Even men like Colm O'Rourke and many footballers, of past times especially, are not afraid to call a spade a spade. Many inter county football games are utter sh*te. Lateral, ponderous, slow, boring, they do little to lift the soul. Is the hand passing of a football such a thing to treasure and enjoy? Most Laois gaelic football people are tuning out of gaelic football games on tv but watch the hurling games.

I think you'd find the Battle of Thermopylae boring but would get excited looking at a game chess. It's not very gaelic to me! If your bored by the ultimate gaelic warrior sport it says more about you than the game. Junior B football matches in Meath must be some spectacle to beat what hurling provided at the weekend.

Gaelic Football is only popular as it's the only show in town in most counties and people follow their county and love the day out. Carlow people know they are playing dross in football, but a Leinster semi final is a novel day out for them. The worst aspect of this year is that the Dubs are starting to move from their attacking game to just playing out time. Mayo are gone, who were involved in most of the great games since 2011.

I think there's a lot of bitterness on here for gaelic football being shown up for what it has become. Tactics evolving etc is all bull when the end product is spontaneity and joie de vivre being knocked out of teenagers on development squads to adhere to 'the system'.

I have hurled and played gaelic football and for me there's a far greater thrill to be had from playing with that ash plant in your hand, deadening a ball at speed, whipping a ground stroke to the net, scoring on the run etc than anything in gaelic, bar the high catch perhaps. That ash plant from the ground becomes an extension of your hand and if you haven't the stick with you it's as if part of you is missing. Most who play or played both would agree with me.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 31/07/2018 19:29:43    2127992

What do you know of hurling in Meath. There are big numbers playing the game. 12 senior clubs all with second teams some with three. Hurling is gaining popularity in the county. The likes of Ratoath who for years had one mediocre junior team are now contenders for the senior. What right has Gerry McEntee to sow the boot into people putting the effort into they're sport throughout the county. The county team is obviously not great but I don't see the same numbers walking away from the panel as the football tea. Perhaps Gerry may address this.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 31/07/2018 19:40:07    2127995

Don't feed the troll lads.....based on some of his contributions on other threads simply trying to rise people........

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 31/07/2018 19:42:10    2127996

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Well that is a matter of opinion. I'm from Limerick but live in Roscommon. I coach my son's team and would be one very proud father to see him play in Croke Park and win an all Ireland hurling medal be it ring, Rackard or Meagher.
You talk about a system that's designed to meet the needs of am individual when this is a team sport. If a talented soccer player in Limerick wants to progress to their level and it's above limerick fc they move . Hurling is no different in that regard it's just frowned upon more. That would mainly be between the top counties though. A Wicklow player playing for Kilkenny should be celebrated imo if it ever happens."
Well done Tadg for getting involved.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/07/2018 19:44:51    2127997

With all due respect you do talk a lot of boll*x. I have read this forum since about 2010 and just signed up recently. I read a lot of your posts about Andy McEntee making Meath competitive against the Dubs in 2 years. You stated this with great authority. Now 2 years on he's done nothing of note bar lose the rag after this year's qualifier against Tyrone. Bit of a fascination with the McEntees going on here.

Meath football should rebound and it's the U17s and they're management who are starting this work.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 31/07/2018 19:48:55    2127999