Damien Duff

I'm reminded of the saying I will allays be there when I need you ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/07/2018 22:49:12    2125942

Replying To MesAmis:  "All flak and negativity that the GAA are receiving over this issue are fully justified imo.

The GAA have invited all this negativity upon themselves with their ignorant, stupid, spiteful and crass stance on the Liam Miller match thus far.

Engaging in whataboutery over who is making the comments is stupid imo.

Whatever about Duff, the GAA deserve all the barbs coming their way right now."
100% agree..the amount of people looking to deflect from it instead of holding their hands up and admitting the gaa have been a disgrace over this and deserve the abuse..

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 24/07/2018 23:27:51    2125962

Replying To Greengrass:  "The fact that The FAI have been shockingly negligent when it comes to providing proper facilities for their players and supporters is entirely relevant . Theirs is a litany of abject failure. Once again the chickens are coming home to roost and the soccer fraternity is compromised by the awful failings of their administrative body. The GAA are not afraid. No association can ignore it's own rules . I believe a satisfactory resolution will be arrived at and the game will go ahead in Paurc Ui Chaoimh. Duff's rant was ignorant and very poorly informed. You need to calm down too."
its completely irrelevant in this case...if cork city had a 45k stadium like pauric ui chaoimh people would be giving out about a white elephant stadium that receives no use...turners cross is perfect for the attendance cork get..there is 0 use for a large soccer stadium in ireland outside the aviva..

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 24/07/2018 23:30:21    2125964

Replying To alano12:  "100% agree..the amount of people looking to deflect from it instead of holding their hands up and admitting the gaa have been a disgrace over this and deserve the abuse.."
GAA don't deserve any abuse and certainly don't need any lessons on community service from Duff, assuming all his appearance money for representing his country went to charity did it??? GAA have rules, the organisers knew this but instead of privately engaging with Horan etc indulged in megaphone politics which I'm not sure the actual family are comfortable with...........the GAA will do the right thing here but lets not avoid the elephant in the room namely the FAI mismanagement of soccer in the 26 counties.......

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 25/07/2018 09:20:14    2125995

Replying To Greengrass:  "The fact that The FAI have been shockingly negligent when it comes to providing proper facilities for their players and supporters is entirely relevant . Theirs is a litany of abject failure. Once again the chickens are coming home to roost and the soccer fraternity is compromised by the awful failings of their administrative body. The GAA are not afraid. No association can ignore it's own rules . I believe a satisfactory resolution will be arrived at and the game will go ahead in Paurc Ui Chaoimh. Duff's rant was ignorant and very poorly informed. You need to calm down too."
Lol you need to calm down too!!

I'm perfectly calm, People are losing their heads over the potential of a soccer game or the favorite phrase "foreign sport" being played on a gaa pitch, a charity soccer game, in 2018 and the main argument against it is that the FAI are crap! Sure we all know that, is that reason for not allowing it? The FAI are crap, who cares about the FAI, it's a great opportunity to show up the FAI for what it is if you were that way inclined

As for the rules It's own rules have already being ignored by offering the use of the conference facilities. Rule 5.1 states that all gaa property should be used for the purpose of or in connection with the playing of the games controlled by association excluding Croke Park. So all gaa property includes the conference facilities being offered so they have already broken their own rules by doing so.

I know my own club broke said rule many many times by allowing community events take place on the pitch and in our buildings which were not as per above but were helpful to the community.

Which brings us to rule 1.4 a where the association shall actively assist in promoting a community spirit through its clubs which is where you can bypass allowing the grounds to be used for community events and you know stuff like charity events.

An either way even if it's did find that rule 5.1 a was being breached the fine is discretionary.

The FAI are crap, so what? I could t care less about it but we have the opportunity to show them up for what they are

As brolly says it's exactly the sort of thing we should be promoting to show how great an organization we are not hiding behind archaic rules set at a time when this country and the world was indeed a very difference place and seeking legal advice as to how we can get away with not facilitating this kind of thing.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 25/07/2018 10:07:43    2126005

Replying To alano12:  "100% agree..the amount of people looking to deflect from it instead of holding their hands up and admitting the gaa have been a disgrace over this and deserve the abuse.."
Its the soccer folk who need to hole their hands up instead of blaming another organisation for decades of bad management and greed at the top -its supposed to be a big organisation yet they do not have one pitch outside Dublin which holds more than 15k. Duff making statements which would better describe himself-is the man a moron? Perhaps he should be looking inside his own organisation.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/07/2018 10:17:14    2126012

Replying To alano12:  "its completely irrelevant in this case...if cork city had a 45k stadium like pauric ui chaoimh people would be giving out about a white elephant stadium that receives no use...turners cross is perfect for the attendance cork get..there is 0 use for a large soccer stadium in ireland outside the aviva.."
Eh, no it's not irrelevant. It's precisely the reason we're in this position. Decades of mismanagement and neglect have led us to this point where essentially The FAI and soccer hasn't a pot to p**s in. Look at the grounds they have. Most of them are falling apart. They are incapable of holding an event of any consequence and hopelessly compromise the ambitions of the soccer fraternity. Once again the soccer fraternity are forced to extend the begging bowl. I'ts not the first time this has happened and it won't be the last .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 25/07/2018 10:48:24    2126025

Replying To Greengrass:  "Eh, no it's not irrelevant. It's precisely the reason we're in this position. Decades of mismanagement and neglect have led us to this point where essentially The FAI and soccer hasn't a pot to p**s in. Look at the grounds they have. Most of them are falling apart. They are incapable of holding an event of any consequence and hopelessly compromise the ambitions of the soccer fraternity. Once again the soccer fraternity are forced to extend the begging bowl. I'ts not the first time this has happened and it won't be the last ."
When did they last 'extend the begging bowl'? Are the FAI the organisation asking toa use the Pairc Ui Chaoimh facilities for this game?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 25/07/2018 10:56:16    2126026

Why are people so obsessed about how badly the FAI are being run?

I'm delighted that the running of the FAI is terrible, I'm delighted that the league if Ireland is dead on its knees, I'm thrilled that they don't have the facilities to cater for this sort of game outside of Dublin.

Long may it last imho as it cements the GAA as the leading sporting organization in the country.

Yet it seems people on here who keep referencing the FAI shambles as an excuse would prefer to see a stronger, better FAI with better facilities around the country just so the GAA won't be asked to host a charity soccer game or sorry foreign game!!

We should be welcoming this opportunity to show up the FAI with open arms. We should be using the event as an opportunity to showcase how great an organization the gaa, we should be having a meet and greet with top gaa players down at the game before people go in, have the Liam mc Cathy and Sam Maguire on show to get your picture taken, handing out gaa party packs for the kids, cul camps leaflets and info, fun gaa related events for kids etc.

We should be saying yes of course, come look and see how wonderful an organization we are, in marketing terms it's a golden opportunity to hit your opposition the hardest.

But no, can't be doing that, foreign games and all that, ye know, be wary of that lot sure get out that rule book and make sure this can't hsppen.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 25/07/2018 11:36:06    2126033

Replying To tearintom:  "Why are people so obsessed about how badly the FAI are being run?

I'm delighted that the running of the FAI is terrible, I'm delighted that the league if Ireland is dead on its knees, I'm thrilled that they don't have the facilities to cater for this sort of game outside of Dublin.

Long may it last imho as it cements the GAA as the leading sporting organization in the country.

Yet it seems people on here who keep referencing the FAI shambles as an excuse would prefer to see a stronger, better FAI with better facilities around the country just so the GAA won't be asked to host a charity soccer game or sorry foreign game!!

We should be welcoming this opportunity to show up the FAI with open arms. We should be using the event as an opportunity to showcase how great an organization the gaa, we should be having a meet and greet with top gaa players down at the game before people go in, have the Liam mc Cathy and Sam Maguire on show to get your picture taken, handing out gaa party packs for the kids, cul camps leaflets and info, fun gaa related events for kids etc.

We should be saying yes of course, come look and see how wonderful an organization we are, in marketing terms it's a golden opportunity to hit your opposition the hardest.

But no, can't be doing that, foreign games and all that, ye know, be wary of that lot sure get out that rule book and make sure this can't hsppen."
Calm down Tom. I agree with most of what you are saying. I never said that the rules should be used to,prevent this from happening. I said that I hope and believe the event will go ahead in Pairc Ui Chaoimh. I never used the term "foreign games" . Very few people have used that term. The organisers of the event handled things very poorly subsequent to their initial consultations with the Cork County Board. Instead of local politicians engaging in megaphone diplomacy over the airwaves John Horan should have been quietly contacted and a resolution would have been arrived at. I believe that is what will still happen. What I won't accept is the vitriolic, hate filled invective to which the GAA have been subjected. Duff's rant was ignorant of the facts, nasty and dripping with prejudice. They have to proceed carefully with this and frame their response carefully in order not to set a precedent that could be exploited in the future. These are our facilities there for the benefit of our games. You know just how litigious this country has become.
I don't agree with you in terms of the League of Ireland. I try to attend all of my own local clubs home games. I enjoy doing so and I would prefer to see the league thriving. My own local club is at the heart of the town and does great good for the morale of the people.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 25/07/2018 12:04:17    2126046

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Duff is a poor spokesman for his sport imo. Comes across as a slightly ill tempered little man, even in some of his 'punditry' work. I hope he has higher IQ than manners, because he has demonstrated zero manners in his latest 'contribution'. He's very 'anti GAA', which you get in certain soccer circles, but isn't an endearing aspect of him imo."
Couldnt agree more. He has an arrogant look about him and his punditry is hard to listen to at the best of times.
The FAI are the ones to blame here. They should have stepped in regardless of if its a charity game or not and negotiated with the GAA and not let this media circus develop.
A young man lost his life and has a family left behind - regardless of where it is played now, the game is tarnished.
I've regularly criticised the GAA over the years but I don't feel they're the main guilty party here.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 25/07/2018 12:27:06    2126054

Replying To tearintom:  "I don't know what the FAI has to do with any of this to be honest?

As for Damien duffs comments I completely agree with him, people need to get over themselves, oh he played soccer, he has no right to comment on anything gaa at all, ever.

It's 2018 ffs!

It's a charity game, who gives a flying..... if it's a game of lacrosse

What are people so afraid of? The gaa will still exist if a few lads kick a soccer ball around Páirc us chaoimh. Who cares if the FAI are a joke, this whole well you should be able to get your own stadium so your not using mine approach is beyond childish.

All the flak that gaa hq has been getting lately is 100% deserved imho."
Couldnt have said it better myself, and i see there is a lot of anti soccer people here judging by all the thumbs downs, GAA is a bit like the Catholic church these days with there dinosaur rules

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 25/07/2018 13:02:45    2126068

what has this got to do with the FAI? This is about the GAA and Damien Duff so i don't see why all the anti soccer people here are harping on about the FAI when it is totally irrelevant here

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 25/07/2018 13:32:54    2126082

Replying To NaomhNaille:  "what has this got to do with the FAI? This is about the GAA and Damien Duff so i don't see why all the anti soccer people here are harping on about the FAI when it is totally irrelevant here"
Not totally irrelevant and just cos you are calling out the FAI doesn't mean you are anti soccer.......I attended Scott browns testimonial were a proportion of funds went to Liam miller fund so I'm hardly anti soccer but I'm not prepared to sit back and allow people to use this tragedy as a stick to beat the gaa with especially when the FAI are nowhere to be seen in this despite the fact it's their responsibility to provide quality facilities in the large centres of population for their game(just like the gaa does) but has failed miserably hence why the gaa has to pick up the can

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 25/07/2018 14:08:58    2126104

Hold it in the Aviva between former Manchester Utd and Liverpool stars and raise a nice sum for both Liam Miller and Sean Cox funds.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/07/2018 14:15:46    2126109

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Not totally irrelevant and just cos you are calling out the FAI doesn't mean you are anti soccer.......I attended Scott browns testimonial were a proportion of funds went to Liam miller fund so I'm hardly anti soccer but I'm not prepared to sit back and allow people to use this tragedy as a stick to beat the gaa with especially when the FAI are nowhere to be seen in this despite the fact it's their responsibility to provide quality facilities in the large centres of population for their game(just like the gaa does) but has failed miserably hence why the gaa has to pick up the can"
Totally irrelevant.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 25/07/2018 15:16:42    2126140

Replying To PyatPree:  "Couldnt have said it better myself, and i see there is a lot of anti soccer people here judging by all the thumbs downs, GAA is a bit like the Catholic church these days with there dinosaur rules"
Swimming was like the Catholic church too it seemed, especially at the upper echelons of it!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3452 - 25/07/2018 16:06:32    2126156

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Totally irrelevant."
Keep saying that and you'll eventually convince yourself. You won't convince too many others though.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 25/07/2018 17:14:08    2126187

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Totally irrelevant."
Not irrelevant at all......you branding people anti soccer for having a different view in this, I'm pointing out that many aren't anti soccer at all and attend games in Scotland etc quite frequently but we aren't prepared to allow the anti gaa brigade make a crusade out of this without pointing out some alternative facts.......I remember Liam miller from his time at Celtic indeed was there to watch him on numerous occasions so I have every sympathy for the plight his family is in but I find it hard to stomach people like Duff who were paid to play for country (some sense of honour that) and are multi millionaires pontificating to a community based organisation like the GAA

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 25/07/2018 17:21:47    2126189

The GAA adheres to its own rules and gets lambasted. Over the top from Damien Duff. I'm sure the organisers and the GAA will reach an agreement and allow the game to go ahead at Pairc Ui Chaomh.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 25/07/2018 17:21:54    2126190