Kerry V Kildare

Does Jack fancy another shot of being handed the keys to the Kingdom?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/08/2018 20:07:08    2129029

I would imagine they dont want Jack back poor since he went in with the u21's. Pat O'Shea????

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 04/08/2018 20:10:43    2129031

Replying To jacktheDub:  "My god do Kildare know how to kill themselves they had a very poor Kerry team coming up to half time and Flynn and hyland decide to have a Brain fart although young and Clifford exaggerated it big time young went down holding his head which Flynn didn't make contact with and the pull on Clifford jersey didn't warrant his reaction. The 2 maynooth lads really handicapped there team today what was donnellan thinking off. Very poor year for the aristocrats."
The rule is striking or attempting to strike, and unfortunately Flynn had to walk, Clifford got mauled off the ball and still got 2:06, what a young lad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2018 20:11:56    2129032

Bye bye Kerry. They should have been gone a week ago in Clones. Monaghan have to steady their heads now. Two ulster teams in the last four. Says a lot about ulster football.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 04/08/2018 20:14:21    2129035

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "It's half a summer since we said 'Bye Bye' to Cork. Even my own county were in the championship longer. For the size of the county and number of clubs that's pretty abysmal."
How long did you stay in the hurling championship?

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 04/08/2018 20:43:07    2129052

Fitzmaurice is gone, hail to the Chiefe.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/08/2018 20:58:06    2129066

Replying To PyatPree:  "How long did you stay in the hurling championship?"
At least we know our limitations, a lot of langers thought they were in the senior final before playing Limerick :)

We've a 50/50 record against ye in hurling 1915 to Laois and 2010 to Cork.Not bad for a small county. Rebels my a*se!

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 21:02:32    2129070

Monaghan and Galway were the 2 best teams in the group and earned their place in the semis.

But to the kick Kerry when they're down brigade, one thing. Like Kilkenny they'll be back, and sooner than Kilkenny given their underage dominance.

It's lovely to see an under dog triumph but a bit of respect for great GAA counties they topple wouldn't go amiss.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 21:09:22    2129077

I would hope Cian O'Neill stays in charge. If he looks at it he's had a few lessons in the past two years but the trajectory is good. Some of the decisions made by players have been cruel with the decisions by the cavanman against Galway being quite pivotal, like who would have cried if it was yellow?
Some new players coming through and we should look at Monaghan as a fine template on what consistency can bring.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 04/08/2018 21:12:10    2129081

Replying To jonno:  "I would hope Cian O'Neill stays in charge. If he looks at it he's had a few lessons in the past two years but the trajectory is good. Some of the decisions made by players have been cruel with the decisions by the cavanman against Galway being quite pivotal, like who would have cried if it was yellow?
Some new players coming through and we should look at Monaghan as a fine template on what consistency can bring."
Hope he does. Still think Kildare have a bright future and i wouldn't begrudge their fine supporters.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 21:16:51    2129084

Replying To jonno:  "I would hope Cian O'Neill stays in charge. If he looks at it he's had a few lessons in the past two years but the trajectory is good. Some of the decisions made by players have been cruel with the decisions by the cavanman against Galway being quite pivotal, like who would have cried if it was yellow?
Some new players coming through and we should look at Monaghan as a fine template on what consistency can bring."
He would be mad to go with the U20 group coming through.

I'd expect two or three of Dublin group to be brought through the seniors and the Kildare U 20s hammered the Dublin team.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 04/08/2018 21:17:39    2129085

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "At least we know our limitations, a lot of langers thought they were in the senior final before playing Limerick :)

We've a 50/50 record against ye in hurling 1915 to Laois and 2010 to Cork.Not bad for a small county. Rebels my a*se!"
Wow looks like a touched a nerve, come back when your county supports both and stop attacking a county that does. Not sure why the rebel nickname offend, lol

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 04/08/2018 21:39:31    2129092

Replying To PyatPree:  "Wow looks like a touched a nerve, come back when your county supports both and stop attacking a county that does. Not sure why the rebel nickname offend, lol"
No nerve hit at all. Just laughing at you saying bye bye Kerry when ye left the building a long time ago! I don't like the begrudging neighbour attitude, never did.

The 13 year famine must be getting to ye. Lol!

You got the Rebel nickname from the War of Independence and well earned. But it has been overplayed as Cork city decked out in Blue White and Red with union Jacks, more than any other irish city for Queen Victoria's visit in 1900. Big difference between the city and Skibbereen where fenianism was strong. The nickname doesn't offend, true in cases but not the full story.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 21:54:17    2129098

Replying To PyatPree:  "Wow looks like a touched a nerve, come back when your county supports both and stop attacking a county that does. Not sure why the rebel nickname offend, lol"
P.s. My county supports both better than Cork for it's numbers!

Leinster hurling and football finals played in the last 35 years. We're at our lowest in hurling at the moment but usually ranked 9 or 10th. We've well punched above our weight in both codes. You've 6-7 times our population. Go figure.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 21:57:45    2129103

Yeah it has been a massive turn around since the Carlow game.

Give some of the fringe players and the under 20's a run in the O'Byrne Cup and then aim for promotion from Division 2 which is a very realistic goal.

Galway and Monaghan are up there with the best of the chasing pack, and a bit further ahead of us in their development and we've proven that we're not to far off that level.

Tonight, again was a good competitive game for half an hour. It was always going to be an uphill battle after going down to 14 and having Hylo go off on top of Kerry being gifted 2 goals, but they gave it a go and there's definitely a lot there to build on going forward.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 04/08/2018 21:58:31    2129106

Laois senior hurlers last win over Cork was in the league in February 1999. Not so long ago. You know very little about hurling's roots in the western part of Laois.

Beaten by Kilkenny 2-14 to 2-12 with a last minute Denis Byrne goal which should have been blown up for a Laois free out the field in 1995. Also 3 point loss to Kilkenny in 1998. Lost by a goal through the side net of the Offaly team who won the 1981 all-ireland hurling final. Played in the Leinster Final the same year in football, also 1985, 1991, 2003-5, 2007 and this year in recent memory.

Fine tradition for a small county.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 22:02:44    2129110

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "P.s. My county supports both better than Cork for it's numbers!

Leinster hurling and football finals played in the last 35 years. We're at our lowest in hurling at the moment but usually ranked 9 or 10th. We've well punched above our weight in both codes. You've 6-7 times our population. Go figure."
Me saying bye bye kerry isnt begrudgery its just rivalry, happens in all sports, i dont hate kerry, i like going to kerry, i work with a lot of kerry people, but when it comes to sport there no love loss between us, as for your rebel theory, thats only one theory, the other is the uprising with likes of Collins, Kent, McSwiney and MacCurtain

P.S its an 8 year wait for an All Ireland if you use both codes together, Remember 2010?

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 04/08/2018 22:19:33    2129120

really disappointed with Killian Young, thought he was bigger than that . His totally over the top reaction is what got Flynn sent off , a really terrible decision by the ref and probably changed the course of the game.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 04/08/2018 22:22:46    2129123

blatant dive by moran for the penalty.
i hate seeing that

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 04/08/2018 22:27:39    2129131

Replying To PyatPree:  "Me saying bye bye kerry isnt begrudgery its just rivalry, happens in all sports, i dont hate kerry, i like going to kerry, i work with a lot of kerry people, but when it comes to sport there no love loss between us, as for your rebel theory, thats only one theory, the other is the uprising with likes of Collins, Kent, McSwiney and MacCurtain

P.S its an 8 year wait for an All Ireland if you use both codes together, Remember 2010?"
In fairness Pyat it's a bit rich saying bye bye to the Kerry footballers with the state Cork football is in. Rivalry is grand but you haven't a leg to stand on with that one.. this year :) Ok point taken, 2010, and we'll earned.

Those men were active 1917 on. Cork didn't rise 1916. War of Independence as I said.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 04/08/2018 22:50:25    2129140