Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

Replying To perfect10:  "well in an example of crass irony,it is the galway official and his umpire who cost waterford the game with the worst decision an umpire has ever made!!!!
having seen galway supporter coming onto the field at the u21,i can only imagine what would have happened if an umpire had made a similar call which cost them the game v kilkenny for example!"
Do you mean the Galway Manager Tony Ward? It wasn't a supporter and while it wasn't his best moment, a manager can talk to a referee if he so wishes.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 31/07/2018 16:35:46    2127922

Replying To jj72:  "You make me laugh... a big conspiracy against galway. Ref was fine yesterday. Take off your maroon tinted glasses and you will see that. You can look through every game and you will find frees missed or incorrectly given. In general James Owens got most things right yesterday. I suppose it was purely down to James Owens that galway lost a 9 point lead nothing to do with the galway team..."
I'm glad. You need a laugh now & again. Even Kildare lads commentating on hurling referees.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 31/07/2018 16:59:52    2127934

Look refs make mistakes and so do players and managers. It is understanding that people get heated up if they believe it cost their team the game. Use some balance. Did a decision in any game, actually cost you the game anymore that Johnie dropping the ball in the goal mouth, pulling down the forward and giving away a penalty etc.etc.
The referee did not cost Galway the game. The officials did cost Waterford the game this year because the team that scores the most win. Simple. However Derek did not whine. Pauric Mahony showed class and yes Austin Gleeson came out this week and said "It was my fault. I should not have fumbled the ball thinking about the next step of what I was going to do with it. " The same Austin Gleeson that has been vilified over and over without people knowing his character. My advice to the Galway fans take a lesson from our guys and move on. We have taken a lesson from them after been as bad as everyone else for moaning.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 31/07/2018 18:09:34    2127967

Replying To Canuck:  "Look refs make mistakes and so do players and managers. It is understanding that people get heated up if they believe it cost their team the game. Use some balance. Did a decision in any game, actually cost you the game anymore that Johnie dropping the ball in the goal mouth, pulling down the forward and giving away a penalty etc.etc.
The referee did not cost Galway the game. The officials did cost Waterford the game this year because the team that scores the most win. Simple. However Derek did not whine. Pauric Mahony showed class and yes Austin Gleeson came out this week and said "It was my fault. I should not have fumbled the ball thinking about the next step of what I was going to do with it. " The same Austin Gleeson that has been vilified over and over without people knowing his character. My advice to the Galway fans take a lesson from our guys and move on. We have taken a lesson from them after been as bad as everyone else for moaning."
I'm not talking about mistakes, Canuck. I'm talking about biased officials, who favor one side over another.

In fact, so called 'bad' referees don't bother me at all. The probability is that they'll be bad for both sides, and if they are, then that's OK imo. That's fair.

Biased refereeing is a much more infuriating fact of GAA life. I'm talking about referees/umpires who for whatever reason decide they're going to help one side over another on a particular day. I'm not whinging about mistakes. I'm whinging about bias, or perhaps what I perceive to be bias.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 31/07/2018 19:09:36    2127987

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I'm glad. You need a laugh now & again. Even Kildare lads commentating on hurling referees."
jj72 seems to know a bit about hurling which is more than we can say about you

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 31/07/2018 19:52:10    2128003

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I'm glad. You need a laugh now & again. Even Kildare lads commentating on hurling referees."
jj72 seems to know a bit about hurling which is more than we can say about you

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 31/07/2018 20:17:57    2128009

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I'm not talking about mistakes, Canuck. I'm talking about biased officials, who favor one side over another.

In fact, so called 'bad' referees don't bother me at all. The probability is that they'll be bad for both sides, and if they are, then that's OK imo. That's fair.

Biased refereeing is a much more infuriating fact of GAA life. I'm talking about referees/umpires who for whatever reason decide they're going to help one side over another on a particular day. I'm not whinging about mistakes. I'm whinging about bias, or perhaps what I perceive to be bias."
Do you really think the referee starting out and took the game biased against Galway ? Were y'ere guys biased against us ? I don't think do. I certainly hope not or the affection I have for Galway is not well founded. Funny the only thing I picked up on was the final whistle in normal time went as I believe Galway were about to score. However time was up and that was his prerogative to blow it. If he did not he would probable be criticized for allowing a score after time up. You know like Cork's winning penalty in the under 21 last year against us. We just had to suck it up.
My suggestion for time is very simple but people jump on it. Put the games back to 30 minutes with a clock that only runs when the ball is in play. Yes it will take longer but that is the cost to taking out may be what you call bias. When the hooter goes the game is over no matter where the ball. If the ball is struck and a score is got it must cross the scoring line before time expired. All penalties should be reviewed because of the impact of a wrong decisions. It can be done in the time the guy is farting around placing the ball.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 31/07/2018 20:33:19    2128011

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I'm not talking about mistakes, Canuck. I'm talking about biased officials, who favor one side over another.

Biased refereeing is a much more infuriating fact of GAA life. I'm talking about referees/umpires who for whatever reason decide they're going to help one side over another on a particular day. I'm not whinging about mistakes. I'm whinging about bias, or perhaps what I perceive to be bias."
Whinging is the word mate.... Why not try posting about next weekends game and leave the God forsaken whining go.. It's fairly ridiculous at this stage.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 31/07/2018 21:24:55    2128025

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The whinging here is extreme.

I genuinely though the ref had a great game. We can nit pick here there and every where but the tackle on Kelly at the end, albeit soft was a free. You cannot throw a arm across an opponent and shoulder him front on. I've seen lads accusing Kelly of diving. Are you for real?

Galway are adopting he Davy Fitz mentality of ""everyone is out to get us". How many neutrals who have very little interest in the outcome only in seeing a good game have said they thought the ref did well? Surely they are in the best position to judge.

Another lad claims that Clare got 6-9 points from dodgy decisions. This is the funniest out of the lot. On the balance of general play, did Galway appear like they deserved a 6-9 point win? Absolutely not. Ye are going to whinge your way out of the championship if ye keep this up.

Since ye are so hell bent on whinging I will have one of my own. Cannings sideline after half time was a free to Clare for a high tackle. The ref didnt give it. Surely there is a conspiracy against Clare?"
You have a short memory I suggest. Do you remember 1998? The biggest whingefest of all time came from Clare.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 31/07/2018 21:40:47    2128032

Replying To Miami305:  "Do you mean the Galway Manager Tony Ward? It wasn't a supporter and while it wasn't his best moment, a manager can talk to a referee if he so wishes."
wrong.he has no right to come out hurling abuse at a referee.
i will remind you again,the worst howler of a decision all year was made by a galway official.waterford showed a bit of class which seems to be lacking in galway.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 31/07/2018 22:23:11    2128048

While I didn't love the ref I have no problem with the match ending in a draw. My reasons are selfish: 1. I love both teams, 2. More hurling for me to watch and enjoy, 3. Both teams were awesome and deserved another chance.

Hon Galway!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2125 - 31/07/2018 22:30:49    2128058

Replying To perfect10:  "wrong.he has no right to come out hurling abuse at a referee.
i will remind you again,the worst howler of a decision all year was made by a galway official.waterford showed a bit of class which seems to be lacking in galway."
Lad if Galway lost that u21 game there would have been world war 3 that fella was a disgrace so he was.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 31/07/2018 23:08:35    2128070

Replying To Barnowl94:  "You have a short memory I suggest. Do you remember 1998? The biggest whingefest of all time came from Clare."
Haha.

Firstly, that was 20 years ago so I dont think saying you have a short memory applies. I can barely remember yesterday.

Secondly, dont even compare Clare in 1998 to the whinge-fest going on here over nothing. Not one county in Ireland wouldn't have a moan and rightly so if what happened Clare in 98 happened their team. its laughable that you could even try to bring 98 into this conversation, especially as it was one of your own at the center of all the controversy.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2480 - 01/08/2018 06:05:29    2128102

For those who think Galway supporters went overboard re their criticism of the U21 final between Galway and Wexford this is how Brian Gavin, a retired referee, commented on the ref's performance, Irish Examiner, 9/7/ 2018:

"I can't go without commenting on last Wednesday's Leinster U21 final, which will go down as one of the greatest games of hurling in a long time. That is despite a poor performance by referee John O'Brien. When he sits down to analyse his game, he will realise it left much to be desired.

John was so hard on Galway it beggared belief. Had they lost, you wouldn't have been surprised if a fan or two came down from the stand and made a beeline for John.

Is somebody going to go through with John the rights and the many wrongs of what he did in Portlaoise? If so, is John prepared to take the constructive criticism? You'd hope the answer is yes to both questions because games of this magnitude deserve better.

The players deserve better".

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 01/08/2018 08:38:12    2128119

Replying To Tadhgmacda:  "Why do you feel the need to defend Owens? Is it because he's from wexford?"
Absolutely not. I am defending him because I felt he did a good job on a game which was 100mph, I have never been a referee nor would I have the balls to do it, he is human not robot.
Think about it - a referee is sprinting up the field after a ball which can be 50-60-70m away from him, and people expect him to get every decision right?
Come off it.

Lad if Galway lost that u21 game there would have been world war 3 that fella was a disgrace so he was.
bud14 (Galway)

No wonder there is no referees coming out of Galway. Galway got a point very early on and anybody in the stand that night will tell you it was about 2-3ft wide, should Wexford have caused WW3 because that was a disgrace too? Should Waterford have caused WW3 as perfect10 pointed out above? Being very selective on the replies here lads........

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 01/08/2018 08:44:11    2128120

I back Galway for replay.
Joe Canning is playing and of the 2 teams, Galway can improve more on their drawn game.
McInerney will be a loss but Galway have adequate cover.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/08/2018 08:47:02    2128123

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Absolutely not. I am defending him because I felt he did a good job on a game which was 100mph, I have never been a referee nor would I have the balls to do it, he is human not robot.
Think about it - a referee is sprinting up the field after a ball which can be 50-60-70m away from him, and people expect him to get every decision right?
Come off it.

bud14 (Galway)

No wonder there is no referees coming out of Galway. Galway got a point very early on and anybody in the stand that night will tell you it was about 2-3ft wide, should Wexford have caused WW3 because that was a disgrace too? Should Waterford have caused WW3 as perfect10 pointed out above? Being very selective on the replies here lads........"
If we had WW3 last Saturday evening, we'd have been in great shape anyway with 'our military' out in force at Croker. I thought I was at the Superbowl there for awhile. Were our fighter jets at the air show in Bray or Foynes, I wonder? It needed a military flyover really, to complement the 'flag show'. I hope there's no army deafness claims after Saturday. That PA system in Croker is way too loud in spots.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 01/08/2018 11:48:05    2128182

As a neutral and I am one no issue with the ref , some you win some you lose , but micro managing a draw is like a broken pencil pointless, this post should be about the game past and future and not hi-jacked about the refs performance , looking forward to it felt Clare could win the last day if they clicked , think they may have left their chance behind them , just a feeling nothing else

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/08/2018 14:10:05    2128240

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Haha.

Firstly, that was 20 years ago so I dont think saying you have a short memory applies. I can barely remember yesterday.

Secondly, dont even compare Clare in 1998 to the whinge-fest going on here over nothing. Not one county in Ireland wouldn't have a moan and rightly so if what happened Clare in 98 happened their team. its laughable that you could even try to bring 98 into this conversation, especially as it was one of your own at the center of all the controversy."
I listened to the commentary of the final Clare v Offaly game in Thurles on Clare FM and it was the maddest , funniest and most tragic thing I ever heard. Ye all went nuts that summer.
One of our own at the centre of it? Really?
I didn't see Jimmy Cooney losing control of himself and flaking all around him before a ball was thrown in.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/08/2018 14:24:27    2128248

Replying To Damothedub:  "As a neutral and I am one no issue with the ref , some you win some you lose , but micro managing a draw is like a broken pencil pointless, this post should be about the game past and future and not hi-jacked about the refs performance , looking forward to it felt Clare could win the last day if they clicked , think they may have left their chance behind them , just a feeling nothing else"
Agree. Lets gear up for another great game between two great teams. Take off the x-ray glasses before the ball is thrown in. Not wanting to stone the referee to death in Eyre square throw him over the Cliffs of Moher.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 01/08/2018 14:27:42    2128250