Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

It will be an uphill task to win on Sunday for Galway hurlers. We may need a few goals ie 2 or 3, to win. Can we get them though? Jason Flynn will get one. Clare have their tales up, the GAA and James Owens handed them a huge lifeline. It is "mission impossible" for Galway? I think we may have to wait until 2019 unfortunately. We can and will win in 2019, and we will give it all on Sunday too. But this summer may not be a maroon one. Gaillimh abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 30/07/2018 20:48:40    2127654

galway supporters,you are nothing but a bunch of whingers.
every team,every day of the week,has decisions that go against them.
give it a rest.
why dont galway produce more hurling referees if there are so many experts at the job down there?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 30/07/2018 21:41:11    2127667

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "I agree Ref gave us nothing! The free at the end of the game was a Joke, even the panel on Sunday game said it was a joke but not a surprise. There is only one way we will stop neutrals or anti-Galway people talking and that is with a Hurley on the pitch next Sunday. I believe we will win next Sunday. It is Clare who could not finish us off when we were the walking wounded. We went 9 points up early, means nothing. It is like a Horse going off on a sprint in the Grand National, it will be reeled back. It is the Galway staying Power that impressed me when Clare threw the Kitchen Sink at us and 5 of our All-Stars were on the Side Line. Clare's Big Day in Croke Park is over. Down to Thurles now for the real game and back down to Earth for Clare and the anti-Galway neutrals."
I am not an anti Galway neutral and suspect neither are any of the other neutrals on here. We had an 21 championship game decided last year by a penalty that was outside the square with time already up. A championship game decided this year by a phantom goal ( Galway officials) . However we have learned not to whine about these decisions because it is only a crutch effecting players and the next performance. Your team and Clare made more mistakes that the ref on Saturday. Good luck to both teams in the replay and a second or third All Ireland to Galway if you are the best team. If not Clare or Limerick will make fine champions.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/07/2018 21:52:39    2127673

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "KK gave hammerings to most counties but with the recent changes in the championship structure along with the strength and conditioning of the top 8 teams, it's likely such regular hammerings, by the same team, will be a thing of the past.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 30/07/2018 14:32:32 2127553

Nonsense. Kilkenny's dominance of hurling over the last 20 years was not down to championship structure and strength and conditioning. The main reason Kilkenny dominated was down to the amount of hurlers of exceptional ability available during that period, hard work and a brilliant manager, county board, clubs, and backroom staff who honed the talent at hand."
Too busy dealing with the Present to be listening to the History Channel! You are worse than the Liverpool Supporters. When Structures changed and Galway was sent to Leinster, it was the beginning of the end for you. GAILLIMH GO DEO!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/07/2018 22:02:29    2127676

The whinging here is extreme.

I genuinely though the ref had a great game. We can nit pick here there and every where but the tackle on Kelly at the end, albeit soft was a free. You cannot throw a arm across an opponent and shoulder him front on. I've seen lads accusing Kelly of diving. Are you for real?

Galway are adopting he Davy Fitz mentality of ""everyone is out to get us". How many neutrals who have very little interest in the outcome only in seeing a good game have said they thought the ref did well? Surely they are in the best position to judge.

Another lad claims that Clare got 6-9 points from dodgy decisions. This is the funniest out of the lot. On the balance of general play, did Galway appear like they deserved a 6-9 point win? Absolutely not. Ye are going to whinge your way out of the championship if ye keep this up.

Since ye are so hell bent on whinging I will have one of my own. Cannings sideline after half time was a free to Clare for a high tackle. The ref didnt give it. Surely there is a conspiracy against Clare?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 31/07/2018 08:23:44    2127732

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "KK gave hammerings to most counties but with the recent changes in the championship structure along with the strength and conditioning of the top 8 teams, it's likely such regular hammerings, by the same team, will be a thing of the past.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 30/07/2018 14:32:32 2127553

Nonsense. Kilkenny's dominance of hurling over the last 20 years was not down to championship structure and strength and conditioning. The main reason Kilkenny dominated was down to the amount of hurlers of exceptional ability available during that period, hard work and a brilliant manager, county board, clubs, and backroom staff who honed the talent at hand."
Your days of sauntering through Leinster, coming fresh into an AISF and bragging at games about all your All Ireland medals are finished, get over it!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1805 - 31/07/2018 09:21:09    2127746

Replying To tiobraid:  "By god, theres a few Galway people embaraasing themselves here."
Agreed. Always going to have decisions go against you, As the auld lad says - you just shut up and go out and win the next ball.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 31/07/2018 09:39:17    2127751

Replying To thelongridge:  "It will be a novel pairing regardless of who wins on Sunday. Great to see different teams in the final.
Galway's passing and shooting were not good on Saturday.
Hopefully the replay will be just as exciting."
Galway's biggest problem was that after their usual lightening start, they sat back and started allowing Clare to completely dictate the pattern of the game. I'm loathe to criticise a man who finally brought Galway to an All Ireland after 29 long miserable years, but my god how he or his backrooom staff did not tell the players to push up on the Clare puckouts was staggerin? I think Clare won an incredible 22 out of 29 of their own puckouts in the second half, when they were literally waltzing out of defence, playing lovely tippy tappy passes with barely a challenge from Galway players. I think that Galway have definitely a lot more to learn than Clare from last Saturday, but have they the drive to go to the well one more time or even twice if they win on Sunday? Clare looked fitter, quicker and more eager for 75 mins of that game on Saturday, only Galway's refusal to die kept them in a game that Clare just may regret not winning, as they had Galway on the ropes for a lot of that game.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 31/07/2018 09:57:19    2127755

Replying To The_DOC:  "Agreed. Always going to have decisions go against you, As the auld lad says - you just shut up and go out and win the next ball."
Makes a change anyhow, from you embarrassing yourself on football threads, wondering why 'Galway don't get enough credit' from national media etc.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 31/07/2018 11:04:45    2127780

Replying To gilly2308:  "Galway's biggest problem was that after their usual lightening start, they sat back and started allowing Clare to completely dictate the pattern of the game. I'm loathe to criticise a man who finally brought Galway to an All Ireland after 29 long miserable years, but my god how he or his backrooom staff did not tell the players to push up on the Clare puckouts was staggerin? I think Clare won an incredible 22 out of 29 of their own puckouts in the second half, when they were literally waltzing out of defence, playing lovely tippy tappy passes with barely a challenge from Galway players. I think that Galway have definitely a lot more to learn than Clare from last Saturday, but have they the drive to go to the well one more time or even twice if they win on Sunday? Clare looked fitter, quicker and more eager for 75 mins of that game on Saturday, only Galway's refusal to die kept them in a game that Clare just may regret not winning, as they had Galway on the ropes for a lot of that game."
Good post.I couldn't believe the extent to which Clare were being allowed to take short puck outs time after time.Galway may need to freshen things up.When Kilkenny were winning All-Ireland's,Cody usually introduced one or two new players each year.Galway have the same team as last year bar the enforced goalkeeping change.Some players look stale.Joseph Cooney has been off form all Summer but still starts every game.Padraic Mannion is outstanding every day and he can become one of the all time great hurlers.I do think that if Galway beat Clare,Galway will beat Limerick in the Final.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 31/07/2018 11:14:59    2127783

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The whinging here is extreme.

I genuinely though the ref had a great game. We can nit pick here there and every where but the tackle on Kelly at the end, albeit soft was a free. You cannot throw a arm across an opponent and shoulder him front on. I've seen lads accusing Kelly of diving. Are you for real?

Galway are adopting he Davy Fitz mentality of ""everyone is out to get us". How many neutrals who have very little interest in the outcome only in seeing a good game have said they thought the ref did well? Surely they are in the best position to judge.

Another lad claims that Clare got 6-9 points from dodgy decisions. This is the funniest out of the lot. On the balance of general play, did Galway appear like they deserved a 6-9 point win? Absolutely not. Ye are going to whinge your way out of the championship if ye keep this up.

Since ye are so hell bent on whinging I will have one of my own. Cannings sideline after half time was a free to Clare for a high tackle. The ref didnt give it. Surely there is a conspiracy against Clare?"
Sums up how I felt about the entire match. Clare got a soft free but it was certainly no softer than the one Davy Glennon got a few years ago in the drawn All-Ireland, I bet Galway supporters were OK with that one?

Using the referee as a scapegoat when you throw away a 9-point lead is an excuse.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 31/07/2018 11:28:42    2127792

Back to work today after getting home to England last night after an amazing weekend in Dublin witnessing two great games.

I was truly looking forward to catching up to speed with the forum…. Instead all I have I read is bickering and moaning about the referee. Come on lads, is everyone serious? Why are we not having a good in-depth discussion about the fantastic skill and brilliantly coached teams on display that put on a show for the ages?!

To address the elephant in the room… the referee. He didn't shoot all our wides, he didn't let Shanagher catch the ball and bury it etc. Galway had the platform to win the game and we didn't take it. That is on us.
We all know the only team who talk about a ref are the ones who lost a game….

Anyway back to the Hurling which everyone seem incapable/unwilling to discuss. Clare massively struggles in the opening quarter. A lot of it seemed to stem from Tuohy's meltdown with the puck outs. To his credit, with a word in his ear from one of the Clare backroom team he sorted himself out and rode it out. The decision to drop Galvin in as a sweeper really paid dividends. Not only did he get on a huge amount of ball, but he also used it very smartly. Often it was a short 20/30 yard ball to hand. He got a well-deserved score too from a clever touch from Tony Kelly who batted it down into his path (if memory serves me correctly, still not watched the game back on TV)

I thought Galway were well on top in midfield as I had predicted before due to Cathal Malone usually struggling and being called ashore and this was again the case on Saturday. I felt we were a little too direct at times and would hope in the replay we introduce more of a variety into our game play. While the direct ball in, often over the shoulder and without looking worked great in the opening stages of the KK replay, it shouldn't be the only option. When you possess guys like Canning, Cathal Mannion and Conor Whelan who all have great vision it needs to be exploited. Conor Whelan seems to be living off scraps which is a great shame. You only have to look at the quality of the ball played into the Limerick full forward line yesterday to see what is possible. Canning needs to be protected in the replay from the incessant off the ball wrestling I would add.

It's amazing when you think over the last 4 years, and our 4 semi-finals in a row, only 1 single point separates all 4 scores, for and against us ('15 tipp 1 pt win, '16 tipp 1 pt loss, '17 tipp 1pt win, '8 clare draw). The margins are so fine and Clare had the chance to seal the game with the final shot but for a hook or block from Cathal Mannion I think? That was the game there and then in that moment. The same way it was on Sunday for Cork but for Nicky Quaids heroics.

I was hugely impressed with David Fitzgerald when he was introduced. The same way he was just as impressive when introduced against Limerick in Ennis when Seadna Morey went off with the dead leg. Surely he will be starting the next day? From a Galway perspective it looks like Cannning should be ok but GMac won't make it. P Mannion to go Centre back with Sean Loftus or killeen inserted on the wing?

Literally cannot wait for Sunday, even though I will find it just as stressful to watch given there's so much at stake!

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 31/07/2018 11:36:37    2127796

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "The whinging here is extreme.

Since ye are so hell bent on whinging I will have one of my own. Cannings sideline after half time was a free to Clare for a high tackle. The ref didnt give it. Surely there is a conspiracy against Clare?"
Owens is one off the poorest refrees in the country lad .

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 31/07/2018 11:48:57    2127803

Replying To bud14:  "Owens is one off the poorest refrees in the country lad ."
Is Galway a hot-bed of top referees we haven't heard of?

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1733 - 31/07/2018 12:18:33    2127819

Beidh bua ar foireann na Gaillimh Dé Domhnaigh seo thugainn.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 31/07/2018 13:12:15    2127843

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Is Galway a hot-bed of top referees we haven't heard of?"
Afraid not, as far as I know there's only one Galway referee on the Championsip refereees panel (Alan Kelly). Then again there's only 10 referees altogether on the entire hurling championship referees panel, with only Cork having more than one representative.

Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)
Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)
John Keenan (Wicklow)
Alan Kelly (Galway)
Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork)
Colm Lyons (Cork)
James McGrath (Westmeath)
Johnny Murphy (Limerick)
Paud O'Dwyer (Carlow)
James Owens (Wexford)

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 31/07/2018 13:24:43    2127847

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Is Galway a hot-bed of top referees we haven't heard of?"
we have to take it out of the referees hands(I think it was Joe Kernan when is was in charge of Armagh used to say the referee was another liability to be dealt with!!) Owens is the same referee (and umpires?) who could not count Ger Aylwards 20 steps for Kilkennys first goal in the reply. Time to move on and look forward to the reply.

lowandhard (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 31/07/2018 13:27:31    2127849

Replying To gilly2308:  "Afraid not, as far as I know there's only one Galway referee on the Championsip refereees panel (Alan Kelly). Then again there's only 10 referees altogether on the entire hurling championship referees panel, with only Cork having more than one representative.

Sean Cleere (Kilkenny)
Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)
John Keenan (Wicklow)
Alan Kelly (Galway)
Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork)
Colm Lyons (Cork)
James McGrath (Westmeath)
Johnny Murphy (Limerick)
Paud O'Dwyer (Carlow)
James Owens (Wexford)"
well in an example of crass irony,it is the galway official and his umpire who cost waterford the game with the worst decision an umpire has ever made!!!!
having seen galway supporter coming onto the field at the u21,i can only imagine what would have happened if an umpire had made a similar call which cost them the game v kilkenny for example!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 31/07/2018 15:05:25    2127892

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Makes a change anyhow, from you embarrassing yourself on football threads, wondering why 'Galway don't get enough credit' from national media etc."
Good man Pope, great match insight there as usual....eye roll

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 31/07/2018 15:47:17    2127910

Why do you feel the need to defend Owens? Is it because he's from wexford?

Tadhgmacda (Limerick) - Posts: 99 - 31/07/2018 16:28:55    2127921