Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

Replying To baire:  "Not taking away from the KK team you mention but they played against the worst Leinster teams of the same era and had often won the game after 20 minutes. Lets see how KK fare in the next five years. With the new structures the championship is going to be a lot more open and competitive."
In the last 20 years under Cody's management, Kilkenny have won 11 AI finals and 15 AI semi-finals. 21 of those 26 games were against teams from Munster. And you're saying their success is down to playing against "the worst Leinster teams"?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2476 - 30/07/2018 12:34:14    2127513

Replying To perfect10:  "am i reading this correctly?galway people think that a wexford referee tried to hand clare the game?
where are the abundance of top referees from galway?no wonder there are none.
was it james owens fault flynn missed that free?or that the players missed some bad wides?
galway were 9 points up and crusing,if they are pointing at the referee as to why they didnt see the match out you are deluded lads."
Not alone that, Perfect, but Owens tried to help Cork against us in the 2015 q-final as well. He also didn't give Galway any frees in the second half of the 2015 final, until KK had the game won. He also didn't disallow Alyward's goal in the recent Galway/KK match in Thurles, after the player had taken 25 steps or so before finishing, seemingly hoping to facilitate a KK recovery. He also didn't have an umpire to 'report it' who couldn't have been more than 6 feet away from it. Owens. and indeed his extended umpiring team has 'form' against Galway. I'll have to revisit the tape, but in attendance at Croker, I thought he was worth 6to9 points to Clare over the 90+mins, between handy frees that he gave Clare, and frees that Galway did not get. Throw in his suspicious whistling at 70+ mins, and it's no wonder we're paranoid. Incidently, what did you think of O'Brien at the recent U21 Leinster final, Perfect? Were we 'deluded' that night too?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 30/07/2018 12:50:34    2127519

I do think that GAA refs, football and hurling, from under-12 to a senior All-Ireland, try to engineer draws in close-run matches. We've all seen it, a losing team getting a few handy frees to bring them back into a match, a team one point down given one last attack to try and draw the match even if they're over the time allotted, a team getting a handy free at the death to draw a game. There was a touch of that on Saturday I thought, but every team benefits or suffers from it at some stage.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 30/07/2018 12:55:11    2127521

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Not alone that, Perfect, but Owens tried to help Cork against us in the 2015 q-final as well. He also didn't give Galway any frees in the second half of the 2015 final, until KK had the game won. He also didn't disallow Alyward's goal in the recent Galway/KK match in Thurles, after the player had taken 25 steps or so before finishing, seemingly hoping to facilitate a KK recovery. He also didn't have an umpire to 'report it' who couldn't have been more than 6 feet away from it. Owens. and indeed his extended umpiring team has 'form' against Galway. I'll have to revisit the tape, but in attendance at Croker, I thought he was worth 6to9 points to Clare over the 90+mins, between handy frees that he gave Clare, and frees that Galway did not get. Throw in his suspicious whistling at 70+ mins, and it's no wonder we're paranoid. Incidently, what did you think of O'Brien at the recent U21 Leinster final, Perfect? Were we 'deluded' that night too?"
Seems like Clare are in for some beating next Sunday then!

Amazing where some treads end up. I for thought the referee on Saturday did a fine job.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/07/2018 13:08:29    2127525

By god, theres a few Galway people embaraasing themselves here.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 30/07/2018 13:14:58    2127526

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Paudie, you're clearly informed in this area, and I wouldn't argue the nuts & bolts of the politics of it. But, if you think that no referees or their extended umpiring teams go out of their way to 'persecute' one team over another, you clearly haven't been around for as long as some of the rest of us."
You won last years All Ireland because you were the best team. You will win this year's if ye are the best team. We did not begrudge you winning but wished it was us. Neither did we make issue of refereeing. If you want to talk about umpiring before the ball was thrown in Glynn had hit both Coughlan and Connors with they looking on. Hand bag stuff ? Coughlan's thigh was beet red. Like I said ye were the best team and ye have a great team. However there are two other great teams left in the competition. Concentrate on them and stop your whining.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/07/2018 13:21:08    2127527

I don't think Owens is biased but after watching him for many years what I am 100% certain he does do is he "helps out" the team that is losing. The last day Clare were behind for 95% of the game so they got most of the decisions. When Galway finally went behind in extra time he awarded us a very soft free for a foul on Glennon. Twice the last day he gave Clare a chance to get a last gasp score before the whistle blew. Twice they got turned over in midfield and he immediately blew it up once Galway had the ball back and were about to attack themselves.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 30/07/2018 13:24:26    2127530

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "In the last 20 years under Cody's management, Kilkenny have won 11 AI finals and 15 AI semi-finals. 21 of those 26 games were against teams from Munster. And you're saying their success is down to playing against "the worst Leinster teams"?"
Where did I say that? I was talking about the Leinster championship, I didn't mention the AI.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 30/07/2018 13:45:45    2127539

Replying To Marooned:  "I don't think Owens is biased but after watching him for many years what I am 100% certain he does do is he "helps out" the team that is losing. The last day Clare were behind for 95% of the game so they got most of the decisions. When Galway finally went behind in extra time he awarded us a very soft free for a foul on Glennon. Twice the last day he gave Clare a chance to get a last gasp score before the whistle blew. Twice they got turned over in midfield and he immediately blew it up once Galway had the ball back and were about to attack themselves."
Galway were not behind, when Glennon got that free, so that might put a hole in your theory. Galway also couldn't buy a free in the second half of the 2015 final. No 'help out' that day, until the game was lost.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 30/07/2018 14:14:41    2127544

Replying To Canuck:  "You won last years All Ireland because you were the best team. You will win this year's if ye are the best team. We did not begrudge you winning but wished it was us. Neither did we make issue of refereeing. If you want to talk about umpiring before the ball was thrown in Glynn had hit both Coughlan and Connors with they looking on. Hand bag stuff ? Coughlan's thigh was beet red. Like I said ye were the best team and ye have a great team. However there are two other great teams left in the competition. Concentrate on them and stop your whining."
I'm not whining, just stating the obvious. We've won/drawn matches ourselves from 2012 to 2017, where Barry Kelly helped us out imo. Owens helped Clare on Saturday. So many Galway folk, including even MOD the manager says this, so it's ridiculous that 'neutrals' are on here claiming that the refereeing was balanced.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 30/07/2018 14:22:08    2127548

Replying To ballydalane:  "Firstly, Galway were brought into the Leinster Championship in 2009 to make the province more competitive but despite that, that Kilkenny team still managed to chalk up another 6 Leinsters and 5 All-Irelands, and secondly, the hammerings that Kilkenny team administered weren't just confined to the poor ould Leinster teams (as Limerick '07, Cork & Waterford '08, Cork '10 and Tipp '12 will testify).

Anyway, Galway had the game "won" after 15 minutes on Saturday, they were 9 points up and cruising."
When Clare changed to a sweeper system Galway did not counteract it and the game changed. We have seen lots of instances of teams being 6 -10 points up in hurling and the other team having their purple patch and bringing it back level or even winning the game. Cork were 6 points up with only 8 mins left, they were cruising too I suppose! KK gave hammerings to most counties but with the recent changes in the championship structure along with the strength and conditioning of the top 8 teams, it's likely such regular hammerings, by the same team, will be a thing of the past.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 30/07/2018 14:32:32    2127553

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I'm not whining, just stating the obvious. We've won/drawn matches ourselves from 2012 to 2017, where Barry Kelly helped us out imo. Owens helped Clare on Saturday. So many Galway folk, including even MOD the manager says this, so it's ridiculous that 'neutrals' are on here claiming that the refereeing was balanced."
I agree Ref gave us nothing! The free at the end of the game was a Joke, even the panel on Sunday game said it was a joke but not a surprise. There is only one way we will stop neutrals or anti-Galway people talking and that is with a Hurley on the pitch next Sunday. I believe we will win next Sunday. It is Clare who could not finish us off when we were the walking wounded. We went 9 points up early, means nothing. It is like a Horse going off on a sprint in the Grand National, it will be reeled back. It is the Galway staying Power that impressed me when Clare threw the Kitchen Sink at us and 5 of our All-Stars were on the Side Line. Clare's Big Day in Croke Park is over. Down to Thurles now for the real game and back down to Earth for Clare and the anti-Galway neutrals.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/07/2018 17:00:25    2127593

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "I'm not whining, just stating the obvious. We've won/drawn matches ourselves from 2012 to 2017, where Barry Kelly helped us out imo. Owens helped Clare on Saturday. So many Galway folk, including even MOD the manager says this, so it's ridiculous that 'neutrals' are on here claiming that the refereeing was balanced."
Galway had the winning of the game in their own hands during normal time, 3 points ahead with 5-6 minutes left, Clare drew the game, after going 2 points up in the second half of extra time. Galway went 1 point ahead at the close of extra time, but messed up a sideline and Clare got the equaliser. Nothing to do with the referee.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 30/07/2018 17:06:11    2127596

Replying To thelongridge:  "Galway had the winning of the game in their own hands during normal time, 3 points ahead with 5-6 minutes left, Clare drew the game, after going 2 points up in the second half of extra time. Galway went 1 point ahead at the close of extra time, but messed up a sideline and Clare got the equaliser. Nothing to do with the referee."
It rained at times during the 90+mins too. Nothing to do with the referee either. Your point is meaningless, if you catch my drift, and doesn't address the issue at all of Owens helping Clare over the 90+min duration.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 30/07/2018 18:07:42    2127605

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "I agree Ref gave us nothing! The free at the end of the game was a Joke, even the panel on Sunday game said it was a joke but not a surprise. There is only one way we will stop neutrals or anti-Galway people talking and that is with a Hurley on the pitch next Sunday. I believe we will win next Sunday. It is Clare who could not finish us off when we were the walking wounded. We went 9 points up early, means nothing. It is like a Horse going off on a sprint in the Grand National, it will be reeled back. It is the Galway staying Power that impressed me when Clare threw the Kitchen Sink at us and 5 of our All-Stars were on the Side Line. Clare's Big Day in Croke Park is over. Down to Thurles now for the real game and back down to Earth for Clare and the anti-Galway neutrals."
The anti-Galway neutrals must be a little confused with the whole thing!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/07/2018 18:19:48    2127609

Replying To thelongridge:  "Galway had the winning of the game in their own hands during normal time, 3 points ahead with 5-6 minutes left, Clare drew the game, after going 2 points up in the second half of extra time. Galway went 1 point ahead at the close of extra time, but messed up a sideline and Clare got the equaliser. Nothing to do with the referee."
While I didn't "love" the ref I agree with you in that Galway lost it (the win) on their own. I think Clare were the SMARTER team on the day. Galway did numerous dumb things to help Clare. Clare were great and didn't need such help but Galway just did dumb things like terrible puck outs, hurrying a sideline ball when they had the lead, etc. This and the numerous wides would help anyone stay in a match.

That being said I must commend Clare for 1. Not giving up and 2. Being faster to almost every ball.

Should be an awesome rematch and an awesome All Ireland no matter who gets through!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2125 - 30/07/2018 18:42:35    2127615

Assuming Canning couldn't play who would take his place?

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2125 - 30/07/2018 18:43:46    2127616

Ref this, Ref that.

Wawawawawa.

Ref was fine on Saturday. Gave Clare some soft frees (notably Kelly at the death), gave Galway some soft frees (Glennon and Joe pulling his own man down). It happens in every game of hurling ever played. And will happen again next weekend. Why do people continue to be so one eyed and blinkered about something that happens and will happen in every game. You'd swear none of yous had ever seen a field sport with a referee before!

Deal with it and stop crying.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 30/07/2018 18:58:09    2127620

Replying To Trump2020:  "While I didn't "love" the ref I agree with you in that Galway lost it (the win) on their own. I think Clare were the SMARTER team on the day. Galway did numerous dumb things to help Clare. Clare were great and didn't need such help but Galway just did dumb things like terrible puck outs, hurrying a sideline ball when they had the lead, etc. This and the numerous wides would help anyone stay in a match.

That being said I must commend Clare for 1. Not giving up and 2. Being faster to almost every ball.

Should be an awesome rematch and an awesome All Ireland no matter who gets through!!!"
It will be a novel pairing regardless of who wins on Sunday. Great to see different teams in the final.
Galway's passing and shooting were not good on Saturday.
Hopefully the replay will be just as exciting.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 30/07/2018 19:02:23    2127621

KK gave hammerings to most counties but with the recent changes in the championship structure along with the strength and conditioning of the top 8 teams, it's likely such regular hammerings, by the same team, will be a thing of the past.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 485 - 30/07/2018 14:32:32 2127553

Nonsense. Kilkenny's dominance of hurling over the last 20 years was not down to championship structure and strength and conditioning. The main reason Kilkenny dominated was down to the amount of hurlers of exceptional ability available during that period, hard work and a brilliant manager, county board, clubs, and backroom staff who honed the talent at hand.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2476 - 30/07/2018 20:02:56    2127638