Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah here sky sports gave Padraig Mannion motm, come on Duggan was motm all day long his point alone deserved the award but he did so much more than that when they went 9 down it was him who took the fight to Galway.

By the way I've been saying for years Clare are a Croke Park team the open spaces suit their players so much more than any other side. Tony Kelly what a player."
Thank god the replay's in Thurles so. :)

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 28/07/2018 21:29:23    2127098

Galvin in fairness made a huge difference when moved back as sweeper, for me it was between him and Duggan for motm. Duggans point was outrageous, took few hits and surrounded by Galway players and still pointed

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 28/07/2018 21:41:09    2127102

Replying To ballydalane:  "9 points up after 10 minutes and let Clare back into it, 12 points up against Kilkenny and let them back to within a point. Galway just can't seem to kill teams off early when they have the game by the scruff of the neck and it may cost them now if McInerney and Canning are out or not fully fit next week. But what a match, couldn't ask for better entertainment."
Sure you are right, but you still have not beaten us after all your great comebacks and yee got 3 chances. But I agree Clare will be Overwhelming Favourites for replay. No team can lose their best 2 or 3 players and expect to win.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 28/07/2018 22:14:43    2127110

Obviously hurling is not a big game in Monaghan but I want to commend both Clare and Galway on the game today. Absolute class. Such a promotion for the product that is Hurling and GAA.

MuineachanAbu (Monaghan) - Posts: 640 - 28/07/2018 22:36:08    2127118

Galway midfielders played too many elaborate hand passes, when they should have just hit the ball. John Coen missed golden chance at the end of normal time to win it. That said ref pulled John Coen up for over running, when it was not true- Clare went up from free and levelled. Poor reffing imho. Galway have good panel, and can win next Sunday. But they need the goals again, put Jason Flynn on from start to replace Joe C if he is injured. Come on Galway- we can beat the Clare banner boys!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 28/07/2018 22:40:49    2127122

Galway midfielders played too many elaborate hand passes, when they should have just hit the ball. John Coen missed golden chance at the end of normal time to win it. That said ref pulled John Coen up for over running, when it was not true- Clare went up from free and levelled. Poor reffing imho. Galway have good panel, and can win next Sunday. But they need the goals again, put Jason Flynn on from start to replace Joe C if he is injured. Come on Galway- we can beat the Clare banner boys!

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 28/07/2018 22:40:49    2127123

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Galway and Clare will meet in Semple Stadium next Sunday in the All-Ireland hurling semi-final replay with a 2 pm throw-in.
I feel totally deflated after today. I am afraid it is the end for us this year. We absolutely threw it away. Missed too many Goalscoring chances. We should have held on to the lead at the end. Missed a golden chance to win it in normal time. Too many injuries now. JC out plus a few more."
Galway have a good panel. Clare will be difficult to beat, but we are the better hurlers. Also hopefully the ref will not ride us again like he did today.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 28/07/2018 22:43:27    2127124

I would have given MOTM to Galvin or Daithi Burke. Hanbury had some moments too as did Duggan. Too many heroic performances.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2125 - 28/07/2018 22:49:22    2127126

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Sure you are right, but you still have not beaten us after all your great comebacks and yee got 3 chances. But I agree Clare will be Overwhelming Favourites for replay. No team can lose their best 2 or 3 players and expect to win."
Well, it is the worst Kilkenny team of the Cody era, a team of Galway's quality shouldn't even be brought to a replay and letting 12 point leads slip against them (albeit winning in the end).

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 28/07/2018 23:46:53    2127138

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Sure you are right, but you still have not beaten us after all your great comebacks and yee got 3 chances. But I agree Clare will be Overwhelming Favourites for replay. No team can lose their best 2 or 3 players and expect to win."
I wouldn't be taking Ballydalane's post so personally. Ye're making heavy work of games you should be beating well. In many ways it's a compliment. This Galway side should be trying to be a great one. The obvious comparison to make with a great team is KK in the late 2000s. That game would be over after 17 min if that KK team met one that made as jittery a start as Clare.

Boasting about beating a very moderate Kilkenny team is only bull Bull! The present Galway team needs to become more ruthless to become a great team. They should have it in them. Too many big lulls in their games. And only for that very moderate KK team you probably would have been beaten today, they kept coming at ye, despite their limitations.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 29/07/2018 00:01:11    2127141

Just watched the game now and it was brilliant, I can't wait to watch the replay next Sunday. Hopefully RTÉ show it instead of Dublin v Roscommon dead rubber.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/07/2018 00:29:17    2127144

Great stuff. Was at Madness tonight and the Lightning Seeds played warm up. David Baddiel said they were watching the hurling before they came on and that he "didn't know the rules, but it was f*****g intense"!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/07/2018 01:28:35    2127145

Sorry I don't know why I said David Baddiel, maybe its because he looks like him a bit. Anyway, the 'lead singer' said it :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/07/2018 01:32:22    2127146

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Bold talk."
I thought Burke did really well on Conlon but Conlon still scored another 4 points from play. Surely he is the frontrunner for hurler of the year.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2482 - 29/07/2018 02:30:03    2127149

The game was great but lets give credit to the referee who has robbed us in the past. Today he was among the stars. May be a little suspect blowing the whistle at the end of normal time as Galway were about to score but in general an A+,

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2018 04:47:20    2127156

galway seem to be struggling to kill off teams,clare seem to like handing out 9 point leads.
but crucially,galway learn more for the replays.....if they get mac and canning back they will win it.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 29/07/2018 09:05:27    2127166

Replying To ke40:  "Galvin in fairness made a huge difference when moved back as sweeper, for me it was between him and Duggan for motm. Duggans point was outrageous, took few hits and surrounded by Galway players and still pointed"
Galvin for me was motm.
While Glynn had a great game, I think galway have a problem when he plays. They're far too inclined to bomb balls down on him and it's not suiting the rest of the forward line. Whelan lives totally off scraps when he's playing. They need to find a balance there. The direct ball down the middle played into Galvins hands.
I feel sorry for Conor Cooney. For me he was Galway's best forward last year but he's being moved around now and in and out of the team.
If mcinerney is out then who moves to 6? Mannion or even David Burke? If both he and canning are out you could argue he's a bigger loss given that no one else has played there since he was given the 6 jersey. Whoever moves there will likely be moving from a.different position rather than directly from the bench, which weakens possibly two areas. This is Galway's biggest test now with clare growing in confidence with every game

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 29/07/2018 09:19:37    2127168

Replying To tiobraid:  "Galvin for me was motm.
While Glynn had a great game, I think galway have a problem when he plays. They're far too inclined to bomb balls down on him and it's not suiting the rest of the forward line. Whelan lives totally off scraps when he's playing. They need to find a balance there. The direct ball down the middle played into Galvins hands.
I feel sorry for Conor Cooney. For me he was Galway's best forward last year but he's being moved around now and in and out of the team.
If mcinerney is out then who moves to 6? Mannion or even David Burke? If both he and canning are out you could argue he's a bigger loss given that no one else has played there since he was given the 6 jersey. Whoever moves there will likely be moving from a.different position rather than directly from the bench, which weakens possibly two areas. This is Galway's biggest test now with clare growing in confidence with every game"
You're giving a sweeper who had no one to Mark motm over Duggan who was marked but caught ball all game scored all his frees bar 1 worked tirelessly all game and scored one of the greatest points the game has ever seen?

Roll on today guaranteed to be another classic come on limerick

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/07/2018 10:00:55    2127178

Replying To Canuck:  "The game was great but lets give credit to the referee who has robbed us in the past. Today he was among the stars. May be a little suspect blowing the whistle at the end of normal time as Galway were about to score but in general an A+,"
I'm glad to see a neutral's opinion on it as the Galway lads are going mad. I personally thought he had a very good game and cannot see what all the fuss was about.

The time added to injury time was totally warrented given the stoppages in injury time.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2482 - 29/07/2018 10:28:10    2127186

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Just watched the game now and it was brilliant, I can't wait to watch the replay next Sunday. Hopefully RTÉ show it instead of Dublin v Roscommon dead rubber."
Those matches are on at different times so there won't be any clash in coverage.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 29/07/2018 10:29:03    2127187