Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

Replying To Canuck:  "Not even close to what Glynn did in the final before the ball was thrown in and got away with it. He should have been off before a ball was struck. No one but you thinks Conor Gleeson did anymore that gave a flick back in reaction to a stick buried in his guts. Yes a sendable off offence and that is why there is no value in trying to be subjective on refs calls. We were glad that it was Galway who beat us last year and avoided using any crutches for our loss take from y'ere win. However that good will is running out because you have done nothing only whining this year. Even when ye are winning. God help us if Limerick win."
We got 6 frees the last day Canuck, and lads wondering why we're struggling to close out games. Even the Doc is whinging now, and last week he was in your camp, agreeing with tiobraid that we were whingers. We'll stop whinging, believe me, when we get a fair shake. Hopefully, that'll be on August 19th.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 07/08/2018 17:51:27    2130535

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Who is saying that Galway are an ageing team, etc?
Its almost as if Galway are expecting everybody to bow down to them as All-Ireland champions and Canning's interview hinted at the same.
I don't ever recall Kilkenny/Cody/Shefflin in their pomp going on with that sort of nonsense.
Between this nonsense, and the endless pages of moaning about referees, Thurles, etc, you are not showing yourselves in a good light lads!"
Wexford posters seem to have a big problem with Galway success. Is there a background to this?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 07/08/2018 17:55:09    2130536

Replying To munsterchamps:  "so if galway loose the final it means they are in decline.......or could if have anything to do with beaten by a good team. my honest opinion about galway is they are a good very good team but on a par with most of the other top counties....last year they just about beat a tipp team by a point in the semi that havnt been going well since 2016 ...and beat waterford by 4 in the final in a game that was in the balance until 8 or 9 minutes to go. so people saying that galway are not going as good at last year is a bit mind boggling. there is nothing between the top 5 or 6 counties."
If there's 'nothing' between the top 5or6 counties, Galway's record of 13 championship games unbeaten, two years unbeaten, is all the more remarkable. They'll lose that inconsistency tag soon Galway, if they're not careful.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 07/08/2018 17:58:47    2130538

Its almost as if Galway are expecting everybody to bow down to them as All-Ireland champions and Canning's interview hinted at the same.
I don't ever recall Kilkenny/Cody/Shefflin in their pomp going on with that sort of nonsense.
Between this nonsense, and the endless pages of moaning about referees, Thurles, etc, you are not showing yourselves in a good light lads!"
Don't know how you can read haughtiness or arrogance in Cannings comments. He was having a go at people within Galway who he says questioned their character. Now I have no idea who these people were cos I'm not aware of any Galway person questioning the team's character in the media but Joe obviously must have experienced it somewhere. It's not surprising that when players are interviewed that they never say anything interesting and just stick to the bland when members of Joe Public out there, such as yourself, proceed to read stuff into what they say which is not there.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 07/08/2018 18:10:04    2130547

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "If there's 'nothing' between the top 5or6 counties, Galway's record of 13 championship games unbeaten, two years unbeaten, is all the more remarkable. They'll lose that inconsistency tag soon Galway, if they're not careful."
I agree it is a remarkable unbeaten record. Obviously the new format makes comparisons moot but what was Kilkenny's longest unbeaten run in their glory years?
Also the inconsistency tag has been discarded a few years ago.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 07/08/2018 19:09:21    2130565

Replying To neverright:  "Wexford posters seem to have a big problem with Galway success. Is there a background to this?"
They bought into the Davey hype but now after zero trophies in two years they realise they"ve been sold a pup.
Thats my guess.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 07/08/2018 19:33:39    2130574

See StoreyTash that is the problem I am having with my second favourite team. This moaning and groaning especially from your marquee player is a sign of weakness and cracks in the armoury. It used to be about no meaningful games and were accepted by Leinster. Then no home games. Now all the referees are again Galway. You know the old saying. People in glass houses should not throw stones. We received some of those rocks from Galway officials not so long ago. Their still decent people and hopefully will settle down by the 19th.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 07/08/2018 19:47:56    2130577

Replying To Canuck:  "See StoreyTash that is the problem I am having with my second favourite team. This moaning and groaning especially from your marquee player is a sign of weakness and cracks in the armoury. It used to be about no meaningful games and were accepted by Leinster. Then no home games. Now all the referees are again Galway. You know the old saying. People in glass houses should not throw stones. We received some of those rocks from Galway officials not so long ago. Their still decent people and hopefully will settle down by the 19th."
O'Donnell took 12 or more steps for the first goal, and had overcarried before he was fouled. Just sayin!! Couple that decision, with Galway getting a total of 6 frees in the entire duration, and Clare getting double that amount. We're not making it up Canuck. It is what it is!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 07/08/2018 20:57:19    2130605

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "O'Donnell took 12 or more steps for the first goal, and had overcarried before he was fouled. Just sayin!! Couple that decision, with Galway getting a total of 6 frees in the entire duration, and Clare getting double that amount. We're not making it up Canuck. It is what it is!!"
You are being very unfair to Shane O Donnell there. I watched it a few times and if he did overcarry it was marginal. There was a lot of good stickwork involved plus some very poor defending.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 07/08/2018 21:35:11    2130620

Replying To Westfester:  "You are being very unfair to Shane O Donnell there. I watched it a few times and if he did overcarry it was marginal. There was a lot of good stickwork involved plus some very poor defending."
I agree, very unfair to say he took 12 steps!!! Class goal though

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 07/08/2018 21:42:40    2130625

Replying To Westfester:  "You are being very unfair to Shane O Donnell there. I watched it a few times and if he did overcarry it was marginal. There was a lot of good stickwork involved plus some very poor defending."
Yes agree with you. SOD was trying to break free from the fouling so any over carrying seems to be what refs deem as advantage to break free from the foul. Id rather that then endless frees. Great goal and only issue I have was the Galway defending, or lack of it.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 08/08/2018 10:39:32    2130754

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Don't know how you can read haughtiness or arrogance in Cannings comments. He was having a go at people within Galway who he says questioned their character. Now I have no idea who these people were cos I'm not aware of any Galway person questioning the team's character in the media but Joe obviously must have experienced it somewhere. It's not surprising that when players are interviewed that they never say anything interesting and just stick to the bland when members of Joe Public out there, such as yourself, proceed to read stuff into what they say which is not there."
Totally agree. People are critical of Jim Gavin & the Dubs (and other teams) for their terribly boring interviews but when you see the reaction to fairly harmless stuff said by Joe (basically just defending himself & his teammates) it's hard to argue with their approach. Why open themselves up to unnecessary grief.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 08/08/2018 11:14:15    2130770

Replying To Miami305:  "Yes agree with you. SOD was trying to break free from the fouling so any over carrying seems to be what refs deem as advantage to break free from the foul. Id rather that then endless frees. Great goal and only issue I have was the Galway defending, or lack of it."
That is bs, Miami.

An 'advantage' is not a licence to foul the ball. SOD carried about 6 steps, before Daithi Burke fouled him, and 6 more to get around him, before playing the ball. The correct call was free out for overcarry. If referee 'didn't see' the initial overcarry, the second best call was not to allow SOD to proceed for 12 steps, before playing the ball, and going on to score. By the time he'd taken 12 steps, the world and it's mother could see it was an obvious overcarry, but Horgan still chose to pass it off.

Maybe this is the way champion teams are always refereed, and we're only getting used to it. Cody got so tired of it on one occasion, that he was suspended for using the word criminal.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 08/08/2018 11:51:16    2130791

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "O'Donnell took 12 or more steps for the first goal, and had overcarried before he was fouled. Just sayin!! Couple that decision, with Galway getting a total of 6 frees in the entire duration, and Clare getting double that amount. We're not making it up Canuck. It is what it is!!"
Comparing the number of frees awarded to either team never tells the full story, you need to look at what wasn't awarded when it should have been. I think nearly everyone, even those in the 'let-it-flow' camp like myself, thought that Horgan took it to ridicilous levels at times and the most glaring example was the multiple fouls on Mannion forcing him to handpass the ball away to no-one while on the ground, but it is not correct to say that Clare did not suffer in the same way on mutliple occasions.

One similar and blatant example was 55 minutes in, Canning chasing Malone out of defence, in front of the referee, grabs his arm as he tries to handpass the ball, then does it again as he tried to handpass a second time, causing him to spill it losing possession and in the same sequence of play Glynn slaps down on Galvins hand with the hurl as he attempts to hand pass it, leading to no free and a sideline to Galway. (Glynn then runs into Galvin's chest who is half his size to add insult to injury)

In general, in my opinion, Galway are the team that will suffer most if they encounter a finicky referee trying to prove a point, they have adopted a very robust approach to tackling, by running into the man chest first with arms outstretched, then wrapping the man up. It won't happen this year since Owens is refereeing the final but Galway peoples prayers for 'fairness' etc. may prove their undoing. I will say as a Kilkenny supporter, that more you win, the quicker the media and everyone else, is to excuse any decisions and even dismiss any discussion of, decisions that wrongly go against your team and the more likely it is that you'll encounter a referee trying to prove a point

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 08/08/2018 11:55:20    2130794

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That is bs, Miami.

An 'advantage' is not a licence to foul the ball. SOD carried about 6 steps, before Daithi Burke fouled him, and 6 more to get around him, before playing the ball. The correct call was free out for overcarry. If referee 'didn't see' the initial overcarry, the second best call was not to allow SOD to proceed for 12 steps, before playing the ball, and going on to score. By the time he'd taken 12 steps, the world and it's mother could see it was an obvious overcarry, but Horgan still chose to pass it off.

Maybe this is the way champion teams are always refereed, and we're only getting used to it. Cody got so tired of it on one occasion, that he was suspended for using the word criminal."
The problem is what you are "just saying" about steps is factually incorrect.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 08/08/2018 14:48:22    2130857

Replying To Westfester:  "The problem is what you are "just saying" about steps is factually incorrect."
Really? How many steps does he take so, from securing possession, doing a full 360, rolling away from Hanbury once, struggling around Daithi Burke's foul, before tapping the ball as he cuts across Hanbury. How many steps? I make it easily TWELVE. Do you make it less?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 08/08/2018 14:59:21    2130861

Good lord. I never had Galway lads made out to be moaners but this thread is shocking. Ye won, fair play - now move on.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 09/08/2018 01:04:54    2131087

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That is bs, Miami.

Maybe this is the way champion teams are always refereed, and we're only getting used to it. Cody got so tired of it on one occasion, that he was suspended for using the word criminal."
The one thing we can control is how we defend, not what the referee will do, that is out of our hands. Perhaps we should focus on what we can control (our defending) and worry less about referees. Id hazard a guess 80% of the "analysis" since our two semi finals has been about referees. I really want to log on and read about HURLING!

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 09/08/2018 09:55:27    2131128

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Good lord. I never had Galway lads made out to be moaners but this thread is shocking. Ye won, fair play - now move on."
Your spot on LRH, can't believe they are still banging on. It's boring now at this stage

katser2 (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 09/08/2018 10:33:36    2131142

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Good lord. I never had Galway lads made out to be moaners but this thread is shocking. Ye won, fair play - now move on."
Ah come off it LRH.This is an internet discussion forum, thats what its for thrashing out the issues related to the game we all love.The ref's performance is almost always going to be discussed.It is a major concern that the standard of riffing seems to be very low at the moment. When I say reffing I am including the performance of linesmen and umpires.
The players and supporters deserve better.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 09/08/2018 12:11:23    2131177