Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

Replying To tiobraid:  "Fantastic second half from clare. I was convinced they had it with 10mins to go but fair play to Galway they never gave up.
Canning is having an excellent year this year...even with the odd free he misses
I thought David mcinerney made a lot of errors for three quarters of the game but his performance in the last 15 mins or so was out of this world. I spent the most part of the munster cship criticising O'Donnell but he was the one man who kept clare in that game again today. The clear man of the match. Unfortunately for Clare I think the loosing of the game was some erratic stuff from Kelly from start to finish. Clare are a young team though and they'll be back
Galway for me look below their best but they continue to win. I think they'll know though that they'll need a lot more for the final. There's question marks about one or two positions now. Hanbury again had a tough time and very unlike him, didn't even put in a tackle for either goal. They will need him at his best against Gillane.
Great final in store"
Galway are due to play a monster of a game. They show flashes then die out a bit. Should be a great final. Galway by 2 points.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 05/08/2018 23:07:02    2129753

Congratulations to Galway.

I am bitterly disappointed as I thought we had ye in the closing stages but lady luck turned against us with the Shanagher rebound hitting the post and Duggan failing to clear the defender from the free.

Well done and congratulations from your neighbours. We will be back next year you can be sure about that.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2482 - 06/08/2018 05:57:30    2129830

Replying To tiobraid:  "Fantastic second half from clare. I was convinced they had it with 10mins to go but fair play to Galway they never gave up.
Canning is having an excellent year this year...even with the odd free he misses
I thought David mcinerney made a lot of errors for three quarters of the game but his performance in the last 15 mins or so was out of this world. I spent the most part of the munster cship criticising O'Donnell but he was the one man who kept clare in that game again today. The clear man of the match. Unfortunately for Clare I think the loosing of the game was some erratic stuff from Kelly from start to finish. Clare are a young team though and they'll be back
Galway for me look below their best but they continue to win. I think they'll know though that they'll need a lot more for the final. There's question marks about one or two positions now. Hanbury again had a tough time and very unlike him, didn't even put in a tackle for either goal. They will need him at his best against Gillane.
Great final in store"
There's a reason why Hanbury didn't tackle on the goals. He was on a yellow card. Shane O Donnell should never have been able to waltz through like he did but he couldn't risk taking him out.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 06/08/2018 08:21:22    2129840

Replying To perfect10:  "the galway fans are only on the way home now so it'll be an hour before the moaning about the referee starts....."
The ref was terrible and most of his bad calls were hard on Galway.
If I were you I'ld be more concerned about the poor standard in my own county and wouldn't bother throwing digs elsewhere .

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 06/08/2018 09:37:39    2129866

Love everyone saying that the ref was awful, no consistency etc. etc. etc. Get out there a ref a game yourselves and see how you feel about it then!

The way the game is played at the moment, it is virtually impossible to referee a game at the moment. The speed of play and the (dare I say it) clinical fouling that goes on all over the pitch makes the ref's job undoable. He gets limited help from assistants and the umpires seem to be on a jolly rather than actually officiating the game.

What I am trying to say is that the ref is doing the best he can under enormous pressure of TV replays and wall to wall coverage of his errors, yet the same man has to get up the next day and go to his work! Lay off them and enjoy the games we have... Without the ref's we wouldn't have any games!

Termon (Tyrone) - Posts: 58 - 06/08/2018 09:49:53    2129876

Replying To Sheedy:  "No team can keep with us for the first 20mins but when we tire we tire. Clare were the better team late in the first half and second half. They just ran out of time. We are like a boxer holding on and refusing to hit the canvas.

Well done to the lads and we have a great chance of 2 in a row now.

The ref did a good job today. He was fair which is the main thing."
Seriously? I suggest you go to Spec-savers! Ref was poor.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 06/08/2018 09:50:16    2129877

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "By the skin of your teeth, lads, by the skin of your teeth. Bit disappointed now but well done, on reaching another final. Hats off to both teams but especially so proud of all associated with the Clare set-up. A lot of sound Galway lads posting here, but to the ones who are not - looks like you are not as good as you think you are. The way I see it, Limerick will prove themselves to be a great team in time but this final will depend on how fragile the Galway mindset is after this reality call."
What reality call? and fragile mind-set? The only people making Galway out to be something they aren't was the media. The fragile mind-set? I'm not sure what you mean but there is evidently little or nothing fragile about this Galway side. A fragile team would have succumbed to the KK comeback in LHF replay, would have wilted to Clare in the drawn semi final with men dropping to injuries like fly's and behind in extra time staring down the barrel.... and again yesterday when Clare really had them on the ropes they responded.

Lets be honest you can spin a narrative however you like, If it was Clare coming out the right side of it yesterday people would be saying the game "would stand to them"

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 06/08/2018 11:38:41    2129916

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "There's a reason why Hanbury didn't tackle on the goals. He was on a yellow card. Shane O Donnell should never have been able to waltz through like he did but he couldn't risk taking him out."
That's a fair point but as a back you never stop and let a man run past you without any effort. He planted his two feet on both....what if the shots were saved and he is standing static on the 21? I see where you were coming from but I feel he will need to improve a lot the next day.
For the record I think he's a top class corner back but below par the last two games

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/08/2018 11:41:56    2129917

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Cheers, Sammy! Enjoy the build-up to the final! The enjoyment these lads give us is unbelievable. They do all the work, make all the sacrifices, but we too live and die with them. I really hate these hurlers-on-the-ditch who knock players who are having a lull in form, or still finding their feet, and gorge themselves on those who are riding the crest of a wave. Right now I am hurting, especially for the lads. What with hurling being so competitive now (which is great!!), and with the boys' mileage building up (and O'Donnell away next year maybe just maybe mcGrath will recapture his form, but O'Donnell is something extra special) it will be hard for us to get back next year. A battle of both our near neighbours for the final - GREAT but also OUCH!!! :)"
"The enjoyment these lads give us is unbelievable." hear hear.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 06/08/2018 11:41:56    2129918

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Congratulations to Galway.

I am bitterly disappointed as I thought we had ye in the closing stages but lady luck turned against us with the Shanagher rebound hitting the post and Duggan failing to clear the defender from the free.

Well done and congratulations from your neighbours. We will be back next year you can be sure about that."
Very gracious, thank you. Can we all try and get away from the spitefulness and bickering on here? You wouldn't (I very much hope and presume) do it with a Limerick lad you might sit beside at the final, so why do it on here?
Hurling seems to become a side note and people would rather discuss a referee, I really don't understand it.

With your mention of the Duggan free, I guess that is the slight issue with hitting them at a low trajectory. Also credit to the Galway lad (maybe Aidan Harte) to keep the hurl up as lets be honest, 199 times out of 200 it sails over your hurl and you don't get a block on it.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 06/08/2018 11:52:52    2129923

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Seriously? I suggest you go to Spec-savers! Ref was poor."
did you ever referee yourself?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/08/2018 13:00:12    2129969

I v been of grid for a while but glad to be back with a gaillimh Abu day. It's true for JC everyone knocking Galway but Clare were not able to beat Galway. Clare s two goals were brilliant however Galway should have conceded the frees. when JC had a sniff at goal the free was conceded.

What surprised me most about yesterday's game is when the final whistle was blown and the fans ran onto the field a poor young Galway fan was knocked to the ground. Why didn't the ref come back out and award a free to clare. Maybe the CCC can have a look at this and see what sanctions they can impose on Galway ha ha. Seriously though Galway are not getting the 50/50 calls and this needs to be addressed.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 06/08/2018 14:18:10    2130031

Replying To perfect10:  "did you ever referee yourself?"
Did you? Did you read Brian Gavin's article in todays Examiner? The ref got several calls wrong yesterday, theres no denying that.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 06/08/2018 15:46:06    2130064

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Did you? Did you read Brian Gavin's article in todays Examiner? The ref got several calls wrong yesterday, theres no denying that."
You are correct. Sure your captain should be suspended for the final but ref only gave a yellow. Definitely a wrong call. Reckless elbow which could easily have badly injured young shanagher. D Burke is a lucky boy. Ps Brian Gavin made plenty incorrect calls in his day.

jj72 (Kildare) - Posts: 53 - 06/08/2018 20:27:35    2130155

Replying To jj72:  "You are correct. Sure your captain should be suspended for the final but ref only gave a yellow. Definitely a wrong call. Reckless elbow which could easily have badly injured young shanagher. D Burke is a lucky boy. Ps Brian Gavin made plenty incorrect calls in his day."
He sure did.Burke was indeed lucky to only get a yellow for that incident which occurred in the 75th minute and had no bearing on the result unlike most of the other bad calls.
Still hurting after Newbridge are you?

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 06/08/2018 20:36:32    2130162

Replying To Barnowl94:  "Did you? Did you read Brian Gavin's article in todays Examiner? The ref got several calls wrong yesterday, theres no denying that."
no.my work schedule doesnt allow.
but i am not the one whinging incessantly about how bad refereeing is.
yes indeed,was it a bad call to not send off your captain?or give conor whelan the free in he blatantly played for?
why doesn't galway produce more referees?most famous referees from galway were cooney and helebert.....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/08/2018 20:38:02    2130163

Well done and congratulations from your neighbours. We will be back next year you can be sure about that."
Fair play LRH.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 06/08/2018 20:41:25    2130165

Replying To perfect10:  "no.my work schedule doesnt allow.
but i am not the one whinging incessantly about how bad refereeing is.
yes indeed,was it a bad call to not send off your captain?or give conor whelan the free in he blatantly played for?
why doesn't galway produce more referees?most famous referees from galway were cooney and helebert....."
How would Galway producing referees have any affect on anything Galway!!! They can't even ref Galway games! Maybe we should send Cooney and Helbert to Wexford to bring some of your refs up to speed.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 06/08/2018 21:23:39    2130189

Good man LRH, I've always had time for the lovely Clare people. Ye gave us two great tough matches and pushed us all the way! I had predicted a Clare v Galway Final from the start but we got a semi final instead! We are sure to see more of this very good Clare team next year.

katser2 (Galway) - Posts: 41 - 06/08/2018 21:58:50    2130213

Replying To Trump2020:  "Happy to be in another final. Limerick will be tough to beat. Galway have two weeks to get healthy and I hope everyone is there from both teams.

I agree Galway will have to play better to beat Limerick, so would Clare or anyone else that would have gotten through.

Galway didn't seem to have the legs and got tired a lot faster than Clare did. I would guess this is due to all the hurling over the last few years. Clare were just fresher.

If you look at common opponents this year both Galway AND Limerick struggled to put Clare and Kilkenny away.

Should be a mighty final.

Hon Galway!"
Galway better get a very big lead as I would imagine that late in the game Limerick will be the faster fresher team.

WoodlawnPat (Galway) - Posts: 288 - 06/08/2018 22:08:55    2130220