Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

No team can keep with us for the first 20mins but when we tire we tire. Clare were the better team late in the first half and second half. They just ran out of time. We are like a boxer holding on and refusing to hit the canvas.

Well done to the lads and we have a great chance of 2 in a row now.

The ref did a good job today. He was fair which is the main thing.

Sheedy (Galway) - Posts: 107 - 05/08/2018 16:53:34    2129434

Replying To katser:  "A Clare team that blew ye completely out of the water when ye played!!"
Oh God help us...what age are you?
If that's your reasoning then the league match between us takes on way more significance than I thought..

Clare should have won in my opinion. They lost it through poor shooting and bad wides and should /could have had a 3rd goal.
If that game had gone to extra time again I think they would have won. Galway were knackered at the end.

us not turning up in cusack Park a couple of weeks ago is well, as relevant as us beating you in salthill.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 05/08/2018 17:00:28    2129438

the galway fans are only on the way home now so it'll be an hour before the moaning about the referee starts.....

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 05/08/2018 17:03:36    2129442

I think this years championship showed there's barely a puck of a ball between most of the top teams. How many draws and one point wins this year?
Really proud of the Galway lads today. Deserved winners, never fell behind once.

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 05/08/2018 17:05:06    2129444

Replying To perfect10:  "the galway fans are only on the way home now so it'll be an hour before the moaning about the referee starts....."
And justifiably so too!!

Both Mannions and Conor Cooney were blatantly fouled a few times and got nothing. The slightest infringement on a clare player and the whistle was in his mouth straight away.

He yellow carded John Hansbury over an incorrect line ball too. Fair enough I will admit David Burke was a lucky boy not to get a straight red in injury time with his tackle. But also Conor Cleary was on a yellow and pulled Joe Canning down a few mins later which should have resulted in a second yellow.

jkiamasnake (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 05/08/2018 17:18:22    2129449

Another fantastic game

Great to watch

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2018 17:22:12    2129455

Replying To skillet:  "Oh God help us...what age are you?
If that's your reasoning then the league match between us takes on way more significance than I thought..

Clare should have won in my opinion. They lost it through poor shooting and bad wides and should /could have had a 3rd goal.
If that game had gone to extra time again I think they would have won. Galway were knackered at the end.

us not turning up in cusack Park a couple of weeks ago is well, as relevant as us beating you in salthill."
Should have could have didn't so it's irrelevant. The real message here is Galway are still unbeaten and back in another All Ireland Final and I'm absolutely delighted with the opposition we have to play in the Final!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2207 - 05/08/2018 17:28:57    2129460

What was shanagher doing bringing the ball across his body towards the keeper on his left side. is his right side that bad that he couldnt tap the ball from 5 yards? a right sided shot there couldnt miss. Poor skill level

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 05/08/2018 17:39:19    2129473

Replying To katser:  "Should have could have didn't so it's irrelevant. The real message here is Galway are still unbeaten and back in another All Ireland Final and I'm absolutely delighted with the opposition we have to play in the Final!"
So are we

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 05/08/2018 17:46:31    2129481

LK know that that Galway performance will not beat them, essentially Clare lacked execution skills that LK have. Galway have a massive amount of work to do here.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 05/08/2018 17:51:36    2129486

Replying To perfect10:  "the galway fans are only on the way home now so it'll be an hour before the moaning about the referee starts....."
Didnt take you that long to start moaning... now we've won the game I can say that was as poor a display from ref as you'll see at this level

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 05/08/2018 17:55:44    2129493

Replying To Canuck:  "Our football people complain that the pundits and commentators blow up hurling over the top. May be sometimes. This was a close match not a classic. My god the number of times the word "sweeper " is used is gone through the roof. It seems an eternity since Derek McGrath and his team were called all sorts of things because of the same said sweeper system. First practiced by Eddie's team but never mentioned then. The only difference three were used to sweep behind the half backs.
Anyway back to the game. It never scaled the heights of last weekend games. In my opinion if Galway play like this again Limerick will wipe them out."
Kilkenny played with three sweepers??!! Ah here lad, have a lie down, the heat must be getting to you

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/08/2018 18:01:03    2129503

Replying To Sheedy:  "No team can keep with us for the first 20mins but when we tire we tire. Clare were the better team late in the first half and second half. They just ran out of time. We are like a boxer holding on and refusing to hit the canvas.

Well done to the lads and we have a great chance of 2 in a row now.

The ref did a good job today. He was fair which is the main thing."
The ref was fair? You must be joking! There were numerous blatant fouls on Galway players such as Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan and Padraig Mannion that weren't given. That is the second week in a row we came up against a clearly biased ref (this time from Tipp). Can we not get a ref from Ulster for any of these games who would not be so biased?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 05/08/2018 18:03:01    2129508

The ref was o.k. I have started watching the body language of the refs. How they communicate and exercise control over players who can read them like a book and push it as far as they can. Today Horgan was not as good as both officials last week. B+.
There was a lot of talk about helmet pulling last year. Before someone is seriously hurt with being dragged around the neck something needs to be done. I f you do it twice in a game a red. A record kept of these and a second yellow in the competition and you miss a game. This is how the helmet should have been dealt with also. Straight red cards are dangerous because a mistake can not be reversed (at least on the day) but unfortunately are needed.
Another exciting game but not a classic. Can't be all the time.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 05/08/2018 18:10:54    2129514

Happy to be in another final. Limerick will be tough to beat. Galway have two weeks to get healthy and I hope everyone is there from both teams.

I agree Galway will have to play better to beat Limerick, so would Clare or anyone else that would have gotten through.

Galway didn't seem to have the legs and got tired a lot faster than Clare did. I would guess this is due to all the hurling over the last few years. Clare were just fresher.

If you look at common opponents this year both Galway AND Limerick struggled to put Clare and Kilkenny away.

Should be a mighty final.

Hon Galway!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2124 - 05/08/2018 18:13:28    2129518

The wonder is that you waited this long after the match before taking a dig at Galway. If you think the referee was consistent, watch the game again. Then again, you probably think John Denton was a good referee.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 861 - 05/08/2018 18:14:02    2129519

The ref was fair? You must be joking! There were numerous blatant fouls on Galway players such as Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan and Padraig Mannion that weren't given.

How many blatant fouls on Clare players weren't given?

That is the second week in a row we came up against a clearly biased ref (this time from Tipp). Can we not get a ref from Ulster for any of these games who would not be so biased?

I think you're right. The only way to stop the incessant whining from Galway supporters about referees is to let them choose him. I'm sure Limerick (or any other county) wouldn't mind; but then you'd probably find something else to whine about.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 2094 - 05/08/2018 18:03:01

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2474 - 05/08/2018 18:53:32    2129565

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The ref was fair? You must be joking! There were numerous blatant fouls on Galway players such as Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan and Padraig Mannion that weren't given.

That is the second week in a row we came up against a clearly biased ref (this time from Tipp). Can we not get a ref from Ulster for any of these games who would not be so biased?

I think you're right. The only way to stop the incessant whining from Galway supporters about referees is to let them choose him. I'm sure Limerick (or any other county) wouldn't mind; but then you'd probably find something else to whine about.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 2094 - 05/08/2018 18:03:01"
Its getting really tiredsome this moaning about referees. I thought Horgan reffed the game better than last weeks ref. He gave a couple of decisions against us that I did not agree with but overall thought he did a reasonable job. If we lost today it certainly wouldn't have the refs fault.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 05/08/2018 19:02:09    2129573

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The ref was fair? You must be joking! There were numerous blatant fouls on Galway players such as Conor Cooney, Conor Whelan and Padraig Mannion that weren't given.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 2094 - 05/08/2018 18:03:01"
Its getting really tiredsome this moaning about referees. I thought Horgan reffed the game better than last weeks ref. He gave a couple of decisions against us that I did not agree with but overall thought he did a reasonable job. If we lost today it certainly wouldn't have the refs fault."
Agree 100%. We had around 4 pages of childish arguments about the ref after last week's game. Give it a rest.
I've yet to see a game of hurling or football in my life in which a ref hasn't made numerous mistakes. It's a very hard job.
If we're not given a few frees, it's not part of some great conspiracy.
Looking forward to the final. We'll need every day of the 2 weeks to recover for a young, hungry and talented Limerick team.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 05/08/2018 20:46:50    2129643

Fantastic second half from clare. I was convinced they had it with 10mins to go but fair play to Galway they never gave up.
Canning is having an excellent year this year...even with the odd free he misses
I thought David mcinerney made a lot of errors for three quarters of the game but his performance in the last 15 mins or so was out of this world. I spent the most part of the munster cship criticising O'Donnell but he was the one man who kept clare in that game again today. The clear man of the match. Unfortunately for Clare I think the loosing of the game was some erratic stuff from Kelly from start to finish. Clare are a young team though and they'll be back
Galway for me look below their best but they continue to win. I think they'll know though that they'll need a lot more for the final. There's question marks about one or two positions now. Hanbury again had a tough time and very unlike him, didn't even put in a tackle for either goal. They will need him at his best against Gillane.
Great final in store

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/08/2018 20:47:50    2129644