Galway Vs Clare Hurling Semi Final

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yeah there's only one ball out there and he keeps winning his place on the team despite a good bench of guys so I assume he's doing something right, ha ha."
Right so the team has been named and once again J Cooney is in the starting 15, so we will see what he does because it's time he got the finger out and delivered a big performance!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2200 - 04/08/2018 16:18:59    2128945

Good luck with the ref today, lads ;)

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 05/08/2018 08:56:04    2129219

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Good luck with the ref today, lads ;)"
And good luck to both teams today in what should be another fantastic game of hurling and I'll go for Galway to win by 6pts or more :)

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2200 - 05/08/2018 11:08:04    2129280

Here's to another classic. If we are to lose our All Ireland crown this year then let it be to the Banner

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 05/08/2018 12:47:06    2129322

Cheers, lads. Here's to another great game, and a bit of craic afterwards :)

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 05/08/2018 13:10:11    2129331

Really looks like referee is purely there as a spectator.
Cannot be up with play all the time .

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/08/2018 15:05:10    2129375

Match a bit too helter skelter and scrappy to be a classic but shaping up for another exciting finish.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/08/2018 15:20:57    2129384

Hard fought one point win for Galway. Of course Horgan just had to play another minute onto the 5 minutes injury time just to give Clare one last chance to equalise.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/08/2018 15:42:08    2129390

Clares wides!! Unreal. They should have won. Had Galway by the neck in the second half.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 05/08/2018 15:42:38    2129391

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Good luck with the ref today, lads ;)"
Hi Veronica.. My God! What a two teams.. I wont brag.. it could have gone either way.. My heart is damaged.. So proud of our lads.. you threw everything at us. You have a young team. Hard luck

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 05/08/2018 15:43:38    2129392

Well done Galway today and hard luck Clare your still a good team and you gave it everything. Come on Galway for two in a row!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2200 - 05/08/2018 15:50:34    2129398

No classic by any means but it was still a great match. The Final will be one to watch!

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 05/08/2018 15:51:03    2129399

Replying To ballydalane:  "Match a bit too helter skelter and scrappy to be a classic but shaping up for another exciting finish."
It is over and done with now! Galway buzzing preparing for a load of Finals and Semi finals in all ages and genders... Anyone looking for excitement head west. What a bunch of lads! The walking wounded we are calling them. The Banner made every attempt at come backs but they never got ahead.. We are tough boys.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 05/08/2018 15:52:21    2129401

By the skin of your teeth, lads, by the skin of your teeth. Bit disappointed now but well done, on reaching another final. Hats off to both teams but especially so proud of all associated with the Clare set-up. A lot of sound Galway lads posting here, but to the ones who are not - looks like you are not as good as you think you are. The way I see it, Limerick will prove themselves to be a great team in time but this final will depend on how fragile the Galway mindset is after this reality call.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 05/08/2018 15:58:41    2129405

Clare will be sick , well done Galway some how you's won.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2018 15:59:53    2129406

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "By the skin of your teeth, lads, by the skin of your teeth. Bit disappointed now but well done, on reaching another final. Hats off to both teams but especially so proud of all associated with the Clare set-up. A lot of sound Galway lads posting here, but to the ones who are not - looks like you are not as good as you think you are. The way I see it, Limerick will prove themselves to be a great team in time but this final will depend on how fragile the Galway mindset is after this reality call."
In fairness, the one thing Galway showed in both games was a strong mindset and resilience. We were second best for a lot of the 2nd half but got stuck in and eked it out.
Key players with injuries but they refused to lie down.
Shane O'Donnell is a magician at times. There was talk he might miss next year due to his studies in the US. I hope they can sort it out as he's a joy to watch (apart from when he's tearing through the Galway defence).

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 05/08/2018 16:18:07    2129417

Replying To skillet:  "Clares wides!! Unreal. They should have won. Had Galway by the neck in the second half."
A Clare team that blew ye completely out of the water when ye played!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2200 - 05/08/2018 16:22:10    2129419

Replying To katser:  "A Clare team that blew ye completely out of the water when ye played!!"
Katser
Hardly a great argument. Cork comfortably beat Clare twice, yet we beat Cork easily in the finish. Past games and results are of little significance.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 05/08/2018 16:29:33    2129425

Our football people complain that the pundits and commentators blow up hurling over the top. May be sometimes. This was a close match not a classic. My god the number of times the word "sweeper " is used is gone through the roof. It seems an eternity since Derek McGrath and his team were called all sorts of things because of the same said sweeper system. First practiced by Eddie's team but never mentioned then. The only difference three were used to sweep behind the half backs.
Anyway back to the game. It never scaled the heights of last weekend games. In my opinion if Galway play like this again Limerick will wipe them out.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 05/08/2018 16:29:53    2129426

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Hi Veronica.. My God! What a two teams.. I wont brag.. it could have gone either way.. My heart is damaged.. So proud of our lads.. you threw everything at us. You have a young team. Hard luck"
Cheers, Sammy! Enjoy the build-up to the final! The enjoyment these lads give us is unbelievable. They do all the work, make all the sacrifices, but we too live and die with them. I really hate these hurlers-on-the-ditch who knock players who are having a lull in form, or still finding their feet, and gorge themselves on those who are riding the crest of a wave. Right now I am hurting, especially for the lads. What with hurling being so competitive now (which is great!!), and with the boys' mileage building up (and O'Donnell away next year maybe just maybe mcGrath will recapture his form, but O'Donnell is something extra special) it will be hard for us to get back next year. A battle of both our near neighbours for the final - GREAT but also OUCH!!! :)

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 05/08/2018 16:48:21    2129432