Monaghan V Kerry

Replying To westkerry:  "One ball kicked in and 3 came out a one point.
Yeah coincidence alright."
Funny thing though those extra footballs don't come onto the pitch when Monaghan are behind in matches, must just be coincidental though. it's hardly a tactic is it?

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 24/07/2018 19:01:13    2125852

Replying To TheHermit:  "Oh that Dublin wit, Wilde would be proud..."
I glad you approve.
Funny, you must have missed that free though.
I thought referees only gave other teams those.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/07/2018 19:29:13    2125858

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny thing though those extra footballs don't come onto the pitch when Monaghan are behind in matches, must just be coincidental though. it's hardly a tactic is it?"
Happened all through the match in the Athletic Grounds in Ulster Semi v Down, and Monaghan were losing that from the start. Also in Carlow in the qualifiers to name but 2 matches.

It seems it's only when Kerry are playing that these things become national issues !!!!!

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 24/07/2018 21:05:37    2125894

There is a simple solution to the ball issue in clones. Put up a net. If not it's only a matter of time before Monaghan or clones gaa are sued by someone who gets hit by a ball behind the goals.
We have seen this issue many numerous times in clones and it is a massive distraction for a team not used to it. It's hardly a tactic but it is definitely a home town advantage to anticipate this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2018 22:27:36    2125930

Well done to Monaghan. You played us off the park on Sunday apart from injury time.
The goal start made it very tough for us to get a handle on the game just like Donegal 1/4 final in 2012.

There some elation with the last minute goal by Clifford.
But over the last few days for me that elation has more or less subdued...I can't see Monaghan going to Galway and losing. Be it be a a win for Mon or a draw I think Kerry are gone.

I will leave my ranting against Fitzmaurice for another day.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/07/2018 14:29:25    2126113

RE the balls coming back onto the pitch to slow the kickout, For me, its a silly rule BUT if there is a second ball getting thrown on deliberately, or by accident onto the field, the way you deal with it for me is by letting the game go on.. The reason it happens is cause people know the game will be stopped.

My biggest frustration isnt that its bad sportsmanship or whatever the case may be, its that it slows the whole show and stops the game flowing, It delays everything and furthermore, for the most part its not like the ball is right on the middle of the pitch, why dont the umpires use common sense and just go and take the ball off the pitch themselves. Surely, i mean, surely it cant be rocket science. But instead you get umpires just looking at the ball and its often not more than a few mtrs from them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/07/2018 15:17:42    2126142

Replying To waynoI:  "RE the balls coming back onto the pitch to slow the kickout, For me, its a silly rule BUT if there is a second ball getting thrown on deliberately, or by accident onto the field, the way you deal with it for me is by letting the game go on.. The reason it happens is cause people know the game will be stopped.

My biggest frustration isnt that its bad sportsmanship or whatever the case may be, its that it slows the whole show and stops the game flowing, It delays everything and furthermore, for the most part its not like the ball is right on the middle of the pitch, why dont the umpires use common sense and just go and take the ball off the pitch themselves. Surely, i mean, surely it cant be rocket science. But instead you get umpires just looking at the ball and its often not more than a few mtrs from them."
I completely agree - the umpire situation is ridiculous. When it is raised, people say "Well it's not part of their duties". For goodness sake, if one of them can't jog 5 yards and move a ball back behind the line then there is something seriously wrong with them. Eventually, after countless disruptions to both sides on Sunday, one umpire moved the ball and the ironic cheer from the crowd was something to behold. It's baffling that they don't aid the goalkeeper and move it, if only for the good of the game as an entertainment spectacle.

SecretsOfFatima (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 25/07/2018 16:46:56    2126173

Replying To Donegalman:  "There is a simple solution to the ball issue in clones. Put up a net. If not it's only a matter of time before Monaghan or clones gaa are sued by someone who gets hit by a ball behind the goals.
We have seen this issue many numerous times in clones and it is a massive distraction for a team not used to it. It's hardly a tactic but it is definitely a home town advantage to anticipate this."
A young lad from Dublin wbo travelled up from Tipp got a broken wrist when he put his hand up to stop a ball heading for his younger brother in Omagh last week. Didn't the evening in hospital. Like why no nets....I don't get it.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/07/2018 17:25:31    2126193

Replying To waynoI:  "RE the balls coming back onto the pitch to slow the kickout, For me, its a silly rule BUT if there is a second ball getting thrown on deliberately, or by accident onto the field, the way you deal with it for me is by letting the game go on.. The reason it happens is cause people know the game will be stopped.

My biggest frustration isnt that its bad sportsmanship or whatever the case may be, its that it slows the whole show and stops the game flowing, It delays everything and furthermore, for the most part its not like the ball is right on the middle of the pitch, why dont the umpires use common sense and just go and take the ball off the pitch themselves. Surely, i mean, surely it cant be rocket science. But instead you get umpires just looking at the ball and its often not more than a few mtrs from them."
They'd have to get there zimmer frames out to do that, it would take too much effort for them. if it happens continuously the ref should give a 13 mt free in to the opposition, bet they'd stop throwing the balls on to the pitch then,

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 25/07/2018 18:36:59    2126214

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They'd have to get there zimmer frames out to do that, it would take too much effort for them. if it happens continuously the ref should give a 13 mt free in to the opposition, bet they'd stop throwing the balls on to the pitch then,"
Umpires are not allowed fetch or retrieve the ball, for the fear of potentially missing an off the ball incident. If an umpire did do it, the referee would be marked down on it by the assessor and potential not get games later in the season.
Hope that clears it up.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 25/07/2018 20:04:01    2126235

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hermit is cool like ice cream all right.

I bet everyone on here could guess what refs will be appointed for yer semifinal and final."
That explains the Licking then.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/07/2018 20:09:39    2126236

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "They'd have to get there zimmer frames out to do that, it would take too much effort for them. if it happens continuously the ref should give a 13 mt free in to the opposition, bet they'd stop throwing the balls on to the pitch then,"
It's something akin to a player who is being replaced towards the end of a game by the team holding a lead. Somebody using a zimmer frame would make it across the pitch in quicker. Maybe the ref should just lift him and dump him over the line. (Only joking of course, but your zimmer frame comment set me on this line of thought)

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/07/2018 20:19:17    2126238

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Funny thing though those extra footballs don't come onto the pitch when Monaghan are behind in matches, must just be coincidental though. it's hardly a tactic is it?"
It is really annoying. It must be to put keeper off his kick outs. I remember a team, can't think of who it was, but the water boy would run in front of the Monaghan kicker every time they were taking a free. It was a game in brefni and only seemed to happen when Monaghan had a free.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 25/07/2018 20:46:41    2126245

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Umpires are not allowed fetch or retrieve the ball, for the fear of potentially missing an off the ball incident. If an umpire did do it, the referee would be marked down on it by the assessor and potential not get games later in the season.
Hope that clears it up."
How absolutely ridiculous is that !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/07/2018 20:47:04    2126246

Replying To waynoI:  "How absolutely ridiculous is that !!"
I know & your allowed to handle the ball in Gaelic football - mad!!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/07/2018 21:24:08    2126255

The football being throwing in for the kick-outs was a scandal, but i was in the terrace and it was a group of 15 to 16 years old,s that were off their heads on drink that was the cause of this, nothing to do with tactics or members of the Monaghan team behind the goal. I in fact had to ask one of these so called supporters to rein it in as the abuse they gave young Clifford in the 1st half was a joke, now people will say think of the children but on this occasion i would sooner that they weren't there AND THERE WERE PLENTY OF CHILDREN LISTENING . Not once during the whole game did they support Monaghan but decided they would insult every Kerry player in front of them. Monaghan fans are far more better than this behavior, except for a few young ones but then again every county has them

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 25/07/2018 21:34:42    2126259

Replying To TheUsername:  "That explains the Licking then."
Ah mate, don't be like that mate, sure aren't we all mates, mate.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/07/2018 00:23:23    2126288

Replying To TheUsername:  "That explains the Licking then."
Ye do lick up to the refs alot alright that's probably why they love ye, that and the money of course.

Fair play to you for admitting though.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/07/2018 12:30:50    2126370

Replying To Donegalman:  "There is a simple solution to the ball issue in clones. Put up a net. If not it's only a matter of time before Monaghan or clones gaa are sued by someone who gets hit by a ball behind the goals.
We have seen this issue many numerous times in clones and it is a massive distraction for a team not used to it. It's hardly a tactic but it is definitely a home town advantage to anticipate this."
No nets in Healy Park either from memory

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/07/2018 14:51:49    2126443

Replying To DragHimDown:  "It is really annoying. It must be to put keeper off his kick outs. I remember a team, can't think of who it was, but the water boy would run in front of the Monaghan kicker every time they were taking a free. It was a game in brefni and only seemed to happen when Monaghan had a free."
Maxi Curran Donegal ?.......spends more time on the pitch than any player ...should be red carded every time !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/07/2018 14:57:39    2126446