Monaghan V Kerry

Replying To waynoI:  "Slept on it, And i still believe Monaghan bottled it.

Im probably more annoyed now than i was then.

But look, What it showed is that while Monaghan may still hold the cards and are still favorites to go through to the semi final, I think theyre a long, long way off winning an all ireland..

Every single one of Galway, Tyrone, Dublin, Kerry and Donegal go into added time yesterday with a 3 point lead and win that game 99.9 times out of 100. They waste time, they ACTUALLY keep switched on and hold on to possesion, or if they do concede the goal, they knock over the score right at the end there with their last attack and get it done.

Monaghan arent ruthless.

Some awesome talent in McManus and Beggan, But overall, collectively, theyre 6th favourites behind Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Tyrone and Donegal as it stands to win the all ireland and id be amazed if they do go through in 2 weeks if they go any further than that whoever they come up against."
Monaghan were pretty ruthless in Healy Park recently !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:10:59    2125521

Replying To Aibrean:  "Kerry once again undone by a referee.
Brolly in relation to Clifford: 'We saw what was happening to him off the ball...
O Rourke: 'Most of the decisions all day went against Kerry....
Brolly: 'Tomás O Sé wanted to make Deegan man-of-the-match....
Senan O Connell agreeing with O Rourke's comment above said 'Monaghan bullied Kerry..

Donaghy was obviously fouled while somehow managing to get his right hand to the ball; had Clifford not scored would Deegan have given a penalty??"
Donaghy nearly took the head of a Monaghan player....way worse that Flynn and he got a straight red....look at the play back... definite sending off !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:16:12    2125524

Replying To footballfirst:  "Can't let that go unchallenged.

Off the top of my head.......

O'Connell with a text book tackle in the first half to win the ball cleanly (kind of tackle we coach the kids to make). Free in and point to O'Se
Free for off the ball tackle giving Kerry a close in free. There was nothing in it - he did give Monaghan a similar one in the 2nd half so we can call this quits
2 Kerry lads collide on the sideline and Monaghan come away with he ball. Ref blows up play rightly to check if they are okay but then inexpicably throws the ball in. Kerry win it and work it down for a point
The well documented handling on the ground by Walsh that was incorrectly blown for a free. Goal came directly from this.

That's 3 referring mistakes that led directly to 5 points and I haven't even mentioned him bottling out of the Donaghy decision which was a red or nothing. Yellow is a cop out. Can you find me 5 points in the other direction ?"
Well said !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:18:42    2125526

Replying To westkerry:  "Wasn't a red card."
Stonewall Red Card ...watch it again !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:24:52    2125528

Replying To Bernardo:  "I think we are in agreement-ulster football has alot of physcial stuff. Thats what i meant by it took kerry time to get use to ulster football"
We played Kerry in 2012 and 2014 and there was hardly a card handed out in either game. This term ''ulster football'' is lazy and misleading.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 24/07/2018 01:35:05    2125529

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry people are naturally articulate and engaging and with a flair for the written and spoken word, both in Irish and English. Combine that with our brilliant history and tradition in Gaelic games and you can understand why media outlets want Kerry contributors.

I'm sure I've insulted all the rest of you now with that statement but the truth hurts ;D"
Telling lies in 2 languages then !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:42:17    2125530

Replying To westkerry:  "Your actually having a laugh, the consensus on the SG panel was that most of the tight calls went against us.
The Monaghan lads around me felt the same, We got very few favours from the ref which infairness we wouldn't expect away from home."
Tomas O'Se adamant that Flynn deserved red against Dublin yet fails to even mention Donaghy attempting to take the head off a Monaghan player....ref copped out there ...definite Red ....no way a yellow !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:47:47    2125531

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "At the end of the day Monaghan had that game won but couldn't put Kerry away, Kerry won the second half by 4 points, not bad going for a young team playing away from home in a cauldron like Clones, Monaghan are an experienced team with some great players but they just don't have that x factor needed to win the big games, Kerry would do much better against the Dubs in a semi final and I think the Dubs would much rather play Monaghan in the open spaces at home in Croker, Kerry are never beaten till the final whistle, ask any Mayo man. Great game and thank God the super 8's have come to life, big drama ahead in Salthill and Ballybofey."
We won 2 Ulster finals against Donegal...do these not count as big games .....and we would be very happy to meet Donegal in particular later on !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:53:02    2125534

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "I think any fair neutrals will easily say Monaghan got the majority of their decisions in their favour. Thats the feeling i got that we didnt get our fair share of the decisions but i could be wrong.

Both sets of supporters can list 10 or 20 examples of fouls given or not given which they can contest so I dont think there is much point in going in that direction."
You should have had 14 on the field for a considerable part of the 2nd half....Donaghy the culprit !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 01:58:15    2125536

Replying To westkerry:  "You have won the award for post of the week.
A 19 year old in first year at senior was the instigator.. priceless.
Anyone at the game knows what he received off the ball and anyone who wasn t wouldn't believe your suggestion anyway it makes no sense what's so ever.
You lads gave us the welcome you'd expect in Clones, Lads going to shake hands at the start getting a few belts, no bother with that put don't play this two teams at it simply rubbish.
I'll tell you this the crack with the football's was very unsporting if that's how you go about your games it's not sporting at all."
Yeah a 6ft 3/4 physically tough 19 year old was the instigator.......brilliant footballer & well able to look after himself physically !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 02:01:45    2125537

Replying To westkerry:  "You have won the award for post of the week.
A 19 year old in first year at senior was the instigator.. priceless.
Anyone at the game knows what he received off the ball and anyone who wasn t wouldn't believe your suggestion anyway it makes no sense what's so ever.
You lads gave us the welcome you'd expect in Clones, Lads going to shake hands at the start getting a few belts, no bother with that put don't play this two teams at it simply rubbish.
I'll tell you this the crack with the football's was very unsporting if that's how you go about your games it's not sporting at all."
A very rattled & deluded Kerryman !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 02:03:52    2125538

Replying To Donegalman:  "This is hilarious."
Why are so many Donegal men so bitter when it comes to Monaghan....beat you too often in important games ?

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 02:07:04    2125539

Replying To westkerry:  "David can handle himself but let's behonest forwards generally dont start off the ball stuff it has no benefit for them but it certainly benefits a back."
Forward .....get your attack in first...ref will assume defender is the instigator or at very least will book both players...how can forward lose !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 02:12:55    2125540

David can handle himself but I have never seen him act the maggot like is being suggested. His marker was at it all day and of course there was some retaliation. The great news is that the attention didn't throw him in the slightest and he just kept playing and doing what he does. His finish at the end was unbelievable under the circumstances, and with the number of bodies in his way.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/07/2018 11:02:11    2125584

Replying To Shelbourne:  "A very rattled & deluded Kerryman !"
The only thing rattled my man was the Farney Army on Sunday evening.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/07/2018 12:08:05    2125619

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Why is it all the refs are against Kerry ?
Can't understand it."
Is there any roll your eyes to heaven emoji on here you can use?
A Dub making any comment about referees given the succession of officials who have helped hand ye games in every major August/September Championship game of note since 2011.
My God, some neck...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/07/2018 12:25:57    2125629

Kerry folks should just be thankful that they are still in championship albeit their fate is yet to be decided by Monaghan.

DragHimDown (Monaghan) - Posts: 73 - 24/07/2018 12:38:44    2125639

Jaysus lads yes there was some off the ball stuff but could we really say that was in anyway a dirty game?
Being from Kerry I thought we got rode by the ref but other than that I don't have any great issue with what Monaghan did. The balls on the pitch stuff was ridiculous, but again its up to the officials to sort that carry on out.

Monaghan were at home, they are a team that has evolved in the environment of the Ulster championship, it was always going to be physical.
I would hate to think there is any animosity between Kerry and Monaghan fans though there seems to be some niggle between posters on here!
A bunch of us had great time with any Farney supporters we meet on Sunday and we mingled well both in the pubs and on the terrace before, during and after the game.
I don't think any Kerry supporter would have begrudged Monaghan a deserved win on Sunday, I think we all acknowledge they were the better team and this was really daylight robbery.
And while down here we are hoping and praying Galway do us a favour, if Monaghan get the result they need I doubt any fair-minded Kerry person will complain. We know you deserve to be in a semi-final far more than we do given how poorly we've been this past fortnight.
So while I want Galway to win to allow us reach the Semi's, if you get through it will be no more than you deserve and you'll have plenty of Kerry people wishing you well a week later!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/07/2018 12:39:31    2125640

Replying To westkerry:  "The only thing rattled my man was the Farney Army on Sunday evening."
Still rattled I see....we're in control of our destiny while you are reliant on Galway doing you a favour !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 24/07/2018 12:44:00    2125643

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Still rattled I see....we're in control of our destiny while you are reliant on Galway doing you a favour !"
Galway will be doing themselves a favour they'll have no interest in us.
You have to win in Salthill very big ask.
Make sure you bring the ball boys with you plenty of room behind those goals in Salthill.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/07/2018 12:58:46    2125655