Monaghan V Kerry

Replying To footballfirst:  "Dublin can't not top the group.

If they lose they'll have 4 points
If tyrone win they'll have 4 but Dublin win head to head
If donegal win they'll have 4 but Dublin win head to head
Roscommon can only get to 2 points"
Oh it goes on head to head, I thought it went on points difference. My mistake if so,makes sense!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2018 20:51:00    2125407

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "This will not be popular but it was certainly young Clifford that was doing most of the off the ball stuff. Right from before the throw-in he went straight to it. It took 30 minutes but eventually Deegan took the easy decision to hand out 2 yellows. Look at duffys jersey it was torn to shreds! he did dish out his fair share but was not the prime instigator.
There were a lot of other poor calls against Monaghan too, oconnells clean tackle on obrien (point from free), peter crowleys clean lift off the ground and of course the widespread holding of monaghan players' jerseys on second half kickouts.
We are no angels hey, but there were 2 teams in it yesterday"
I think any fair neutrals will easily say Monaghan got the majority of their decisions in their favour. Thats the feeling i got that we didnt get our fair share of the decisions but i could be wrong.

Both sets of supporters can list 10 or 20 examples of fouls given or not given which they can contest so I dont think there is much point in going in that direction.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 23/07/2018 20:52:37    2125408

ye i thought kerry were very cynical especially in the 2nd half pulling and dragging i think they didnt have the pace for the monaghan runners for the kickouts and decided to hold them instead awfull stuff from the aristocrats of football

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 23/07/2018 20:53:25    2125409

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "This will not be popular but it was certainly young Clifford that was doing most of the off the ball stuff. Right from before the throw-in he went straight to it. It took 30 minutes but eventually Deegan took the easy decision to hand out 2 yellows. Look at duffys jersey it was torn to shreds! he did dish out his fair share but was not the prime instigator.
There were a lot of other poor calls against Monaghan too, oconnells clean tackle on obrien (point from free), peter crowleys clean lift off the ground and of course the widespread holding of monaghan players' jerseys on second half kickouts.
We are no angels hey, but there were 2 teams in it yesterday"
You have won the award for post of the week.
A 19 year old in first year at senior was the instigator.. priceless.
Anyone at the game knows what he received off the ball and anyone who wasn t wouldn't believe your suggestion anyway it makes no sense what's so ever.
You lads gave us the welcome you'd expect in Clones, Lads going to shake hands at the start getting a few belts, no bother with that put don't play this two teams at it simply rubbish.
I'll tell you this the crack with the football's was very unsporting if that's how you go about your games it's not sporting at all.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2018 21:07:48    2125416

Cannot understand anyone complaining too much about the Ref. Monaghan had game won but threw it away at end conceding the goal. They then had an excellent opportunity to win the match with the last attack but proceeded to make two poor decisions (player in good position to shoot and player hand passing ball incorrectly to teammate 4 or 5m away.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/07/2018 21:27:11    2125430

Replying To prideof85:  "ye i thought kerry were very cynical especially in the 2nd half pulling and dragging i think they didnt have the pace for the monaghan runners for the kickouts and decided to hold them instead awfull stuff from the aristocrats of football"
This is hilarious.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/07/2018 21:27:22    2125431

Just a question how did Donaghy escape red for the wreckless elbow which caught O'Connell in the face. Kerry where holding non stop in the middle of the field in the second half, the two kerry players coliding with each other, Monaghan about to gain possesion, Deegan blows whistle and hops the ball. Kerry win throw in and score from it. Donaghy running infront of Beggan, frees should have been brought forward 13 metres. Walshe wrongly punished for playing the ball away on the ground, leads to kerry goal. Donaghy lying in the square when balls hit the net.

Im not for one minute having it Deegan ran with Monaghan.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 23/07/2018 21:31:39    2125434

Why is it all the refs are against Kerry ?
Can't understand it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 23/07/2018 21:39:27    2125439

Replying To westkerry:  "You have won the award for post of the week.
Anyone at the game knows what he received off the ball and anyone who wasn t wouldn't believe your suggestion anyway it makes no sense what's so ever.
You lads gave us the welcome you'd expect in Clones, Lads going to shake hands at the start getting a few belts, no bother with that put don't play this two teams at it simply rubbish.
I'll tell you this the crack with the football's was very unsporting if that's how you go about your games it's not sporting at all."
I think kerry gave as good as they got. Took kerry awhile to understand ulster football. But fair play to kerry to come back to draw.

Think the sense of ocassion got to us in monaghan (leading kerry with 10 minures to go).

Cannot see either team lifting sam this year but at least in kerry you are building a new ream.

Hopefully some day we will beat you.

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 23/07/2018 21:40:00    2125440

Replying To Bernardo:  "I think kerry gave as good as they got. Took kerry awhile to understand ulster football. But fair play to kerry to come back to draw.

Think the sense of ocassion got to us in monaghan (leading kerry with 10 minures to go).

Cannot see either team lifting sam this year but at least in kerry you are building a new ream.

Hopefully some day we will beat you."
Like 2007 Bernardo the game was there for Monaghan.
I think given a population of 60000 Monaghan are doing fantastic and boxing above their weight and that's not being condescending.
Kerry gave as good as they got but let's be honest we didnt instigate any of it, Now a team of young lads against the Wyles etc it would be fairly daft of a young lad to do that.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2018 21:51:43    2125445

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Just a question how did Donaghy escape red for the wreckless elbow which caught O'Connell in the face. Kerry where holding non stop in the middle of the field in the second half, the two kerry players coliding with each other, Monaghan about to gain possesion, Deegan blows whistle and hops the ball. Kerry win throw in and score from it. Donaghy running infront of Beggan, frees should have been brought forward 13 metres. Walshe wrongly punished for playing the ball away on the ground, leads to kerry goal. Donaghy lying in the square when balls hit the net.

Im not for one minute having it Deegan ran with Monaghan."
Donaghy did not catch o'connell in the face with an elbow. Thought the ref was a bit more leniant towards monaghan but very little in it,he was poor enough for both teams!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 23/07/2018 21:52:44    2125446

Replying To westkerry:  "You have won the award for post of the week.
I'll tell you this the crack with the football's was very unsporting if that's how you go about your games it's not sporting at all."
First, agree with you on throwing the footballs in. Bad form.

I stand by what I said re Clifford. He had nothing to lose going after Kieran Duffy yesterday because he rightly calculated that everyone would assume it was him as the young lad getting the treatment. A beneficiary of lazy assumptions if you like. What difference does it make that he's 19? He was picked for the senior team so that's what he is.
He left his mark in Clones on the scoreboard, and on his marker too.
There is no place for off the ball stuff in the game but in this instance it definitely cut both ways.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 23/07/2018 21:54:37    2125448

Replying To westkerry:  "Like 2007 Bernardo the game was there for Monaghan.
I think given a population of 60000 Monaghan are doing fantastic and boxing above their weight and that's not being condescending.
Kerry gave as good as they got but let's be honest we didnt instigate any of it, Now a team of young lads against the Wyles etc it would be fairly daft of a young lad to do that."
I think we are in agreement-ulster football has alot of physcial stuff. Thats what i meant by it took kerry time to get use to ulster football

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 23/07/2018 22:09:22    2125453

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "First, agree with you on throwing the footballs in. Bad form.

I stand by what I said re Clifford. He had nothing to lose going after Kieran Duffy yesterday because he rightly calculated that everyone would assume it was him as the young lad getting the treatment. A beneficiary of lazy assumptions if you like. What difference does it make that he's 19? He was picked for the senior team so that's what he is.
He left his mark in Clones on the scoreboard, and on his marker too.
There is no place for off the ball stuff in the game but in this instance it definitely cut both ways."
David can handle himself but let's behonest forwards generally dont start off the ball stuff it has no benefit for them but it certainly benefits a back.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 23/07/2018 22:10:16    2125454

Replying To westkerry:  "David can handle himself but let's behonest forwards generally dont start off the ball stuff it has no benefit for them but it certainly benefits a back."
I kind of disagree westkerry, 2 yellows in the first few minutes will usually make things easier for the forward. he can choose to back out if the physical stuff after that but the defender must walk on eggshells for the rest of the game. you would be disappointed if at least 1 or 2 of your teams forwards didnt try it on to be honest. but hey, we will call it a draw!

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 23/07/2018 22:23:06    2125460

Replying To westkerry:  "David can handle himself but let's behonest forwards generally dont start off the ball stuff it has no benefit for them but it certainly benefits a back."
Haha how does it not benefit the forward? Who do u think will be more likely to get a second yellow?

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 23/07/2018 22:34:14    2125468

Replying To Donegalman:  "This is hilarious."
were you at the match

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 23/07/2018 22:51:12    2125479

Extra ball seemed to appear every time Kerry went to take a quick kick out or free near their own goal, don't understand why ref did not address this issue.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 23/07/2018 22:56:54    2125485

Duffy was getting pulled and dragged by Clifford from the very start. When Duffy got the yellow. Clifford backed off, the job was done and Duffy had to be very careful from then on. Advantage to Clifford. It's an old forwards trick done by a young forward

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 23/07/2018 23:21:42    2125502

Clifford was aggressive yesterday as he was in the league match. You are on the right track with the point you make about forwards. Being a marquee forward he has a long hard road in front of him. Its hard enough (ask Mc Manus or the Gooch) without having a reputation of being easy to get at (ask D Connolly). Might be slated for saying this but he will soon be seen as a legitimate target to rough up (if not already). Compare him to Sean O Se, who do you think will be targeted of the two going forward. Times we live in I'm afraid
Someone needs to calm the lad down soon

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 23/07/2018 23:24:53    2125504