Monaghan V Kerry

Well done Monaghan ye played a savage game and we're left in limbo and I'm burnt alive :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2018 18:35:25    2124792

The handpass at the end is even a bigger killer than the goal, they'd broken free a simple handpass and it's a tap over point and somehow he butchered it. Sickener for Monaghan that could be the difference between an all Ireland final appearance or going out next game , tiniest of margins. Out of Kerry's hands now but as good as they are they get some luck as-well. Clifford how did that ball go into the net there's 5 players on top of him unreal finish.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2018 18:40:21    2124795

Replying To arock:  "Kerry were today and are a very poor team. Hard luck to Monaghan I really like their attitude and style of play they deserved to win that game. As for Kerry maybe 2020 will be the start of something good."
Monaghan blew it big time....
Even after Kerry scored the goal, Monaghan had an unbelievable chance to win it.
Sick for them.

Wouldnt it be great it Monaghan and Galway drew .????? Both qualify for the semi's then..... ;o)
Have a feeling though that Monaghan will regret not winning today's game.
They were easily the better team today.

Hopefully kerry keep Fitz there for another few years - he is doing a wonderful job....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/07/2018 18:43:13    2124800

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder what sort of attitude Galway will have

They are already in a semifinal..

Would it be in their interest to start their strongest side and go full belt?"
Glaway will want to avoid Dublin so would go for the win I'd imagine.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2018 18:47:06    2124803

Can't believe the Monaghan lad didn't chip it over from 30 yards in the last second. If he didn't want to shoot he had a free man coming on the outside too. Instead he plays a woeful pass into traffic. Jesus wept. With Mayo gone I suppose we need someone else to shoot themselves in the foot.

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 22/07/2018 18:47:32    2124804

Replying To Pantani:  "Can't believe the Monaghan lad didn't chip it over from 30 yards in the last second. If he didn't want to shoot he had a free man coming on the outside too. Instead he plays a woeful pass into traffic. Jesus wept. With Mayo gone I suppose we need someone else to shoot themselves in the foot."
Thought Monaghan player should have kicked a point, instead his attempted pass was cleared, and we know the rest. Had Monaghan won, they reach the semi finals, and Kerry are out. Think Kerry's season may have been resurrected today. They play Kildare at home, and if tney win, and Monaghan lose to Galway, depending on score difference, Kerry could teach the semi finals.
If Monaghan avoid defeat v Galway they are in the last 4.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 22/07/2018 19:02:42    2124807

Replying To Fionn:  "Monaghan blew it big time....
Even after Kerry scored the goal, Monaghan had an unbelievable chance to win it.
Sick for them.

Wouldnt it be great it Monaghan and Galway drew .????? Both qualify for the semi's then..... ;o)
Have a feeling though that Monaghan will regret not winning today's game.
They were easily the better team today.

Hopefully kerry keep Fitz there for another few years - he is doing a wonderful job...."
I agree I think all the regrets are Monaghan's, Kerry surely cannot play any worse than they have been playing - maybe it is the kick up the backside they need. But yeah Monaghan will feel they left that behind.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 22/07/2018 19:09:30    2124810

Replying To Damothedub:  "Wayno1 is entitled to his opinion, he doesn't speak for Dublin , Monaghan screwed up but they are an experienced side and I don't think they will dwell to long on it , they have s coach I respect and I'd expect he will be preaching the glass is half full all week"
Monaghan didn't screw up. That's the problem with some of today's opinions. You expect perfect games from amateur teams,bar the one professional outfit that is Dublin :),and that's unrealistic and unfair. Both teams gave us a great game today and Monaghan will feel disappointed to have conceded that goal at the end. Both teams gave it their all and it was a great tussle. A bit of guile and experience from the big Tyrone :) man set up the young hot shot Clifford at the end who continues to show why there is such hype around him. A great finish with barely room to thread a needle.!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 22/07/2018 19:37:08    2124823

woeful miss pass at the end and real lack of composure with some shots earlier .how many times was a second ball on the pitch for a kerry kickout? another tactic I presume in todays game.

rollingboh (Dublin) - Posts: 8 - 22/07/2018 19:37:41    2124824

Delighted for Kerry. They deserved something out of the game. I thought the ref was very sure on Kerry and some of the diving by Monaghan players was embarrassing.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 22/07/2018 20:21:56    2124839

Sick, frustrated, disappointed and angry - that's the general feeling among Monaghan fans and players alike after todays result, and I emphasise result. However, I refuse to be pessimistic, as I really don't think there is any reason to be. We don't tend to do self pity and I think we will be a very dangerous wounded animal in two weeks in a game we have to get at least a draw in to make the semi-finals. A draw will do. It is in our own hands unlike Kerry who are dependent on Galway to win. Fancy it already

I also refuse to allow K Donaghy take the credit for Kerry's result today. He was like a bumping car at a grand prix, did nothing but disrupt and sometimes in a cynical manner. Even the goal was all about Clifford's finish, not to mention the point he scored previous to it. Kerry can thank the young lads (and good luck to them) for keeping them in the game especially in the first half when the more established players did not turn up.

Salthill and Ballybofey in two weeks time, that's where it's at

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 22/07/2018 20:33:51    2124844

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder what sort of attitude Galway will have

They are already in a semifinal..

Would it be in their interest to start their strongest side and go full belt?"
Galway will be playing to win. Beat Monaghan and we finish top of the group and face Tyrone or Donegal in the semis. We'd fancy our chances against either of them. Come second and we face Dublin. If, and I say IF, we're going to get beaten by Dublin I'm willing to bet any amount the team would rather it happen in the AI final assuming we get that far.

That said, is it my imagination or is Dublin's lead ahead of the rest of the counties growing slimmer... Dublin winning the AI is perhaps less a certainty than people thought a few months ago, though they are still clearly the team to beat.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 22/07/2018 20:43:56    2124850

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Monaghan didn't screw up. That's the problem with some of today's opinions. You expect perfect games from amateur teams,bar the one professional outfit that is Dublin :),and that's unrealistic and unfair. Both teams gave us a great game today and Monaghan will feel disappointed to have conceded that goal at the end. Both teams gave it their all and it was a great tussle. A bit of guile and experience from the big Tyrone :) man set up the young hot shot Clifford at the end who continues to show why there is such hype around him. A great finish with barely room to thread a needle.!"
Sport broken down is simple, put yourself in a position to win and bring the baby home , great teams even struggling do it , Kilkenny do it , great Kerry teams do it , and Dublin do it , Monaghan put themselves in a position to do it but didn't , as for the professional shi7 comment, I'm sure the thirty Dublin lads that are all getting up for work tomorrow will laugh not with you but at you Five of which I know and what they do in a week , don't confuse our county board being run professionally and our players , it makes you either of two things bitter or ignorant, coin flip

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/07/2018 20:50:18    2124855

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Monaghan didn't screw up. That's the problem with some of today's opinions. You expect perfect games from amateur teams,bar the one professional outfit that is Dublin :),and that's unrealistic and unfair. Both teams gave us a great game today and Monaghan will feel disappointed to have conceded that goal at the end. Both teams gave it their all and it was a great tussle. A bit of guile and experience from the big Tyrone :) man set up the young hot shot Clifford at the end who continues to show why there is such hype around him. A great finish with barely room to thread a needle.!"
seanie_boy If Tyrone were in the same position last night as Monaghan were today and with the same outcome i.e. not taking the shot on and giving a bad handpass, that you'd be walking away from the game thinking ye had messed up? Honest question.

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 22/07/2018 20:53:02    2124857

Replying To festinog:  "Galway will be playing to win. Beat Monaghan and we finish top of the group and face Tyrone or Donegal in the semis. We'd fancy our chances against either of them. Come second and we face Dublin. If, and I say IF, we're going to get beaten by Dublin I'm willing to bet any amount the team would rather it happen in the AI final assuming we get that far.

That said, is it my imagination or is Dublin's lead ahead of the rest of the counties growing slimmer... Dublin winning the AI is perhaps less a certainty than people thought a few months ago, though they are still clearly the team to beat."
Yes, I think Dublin are not as potent this year as in other years but seem to be more about getting a lead then going into game management mode rather than going for the jugular....so far. It'll be interesting to see if we get clinical in the semi-final (if it's possible)

dubdec99 (Dublin) - Posts: 180 - 22/07/2018 21:04:01    2124865

How did we get anything out of that? Not for the first time we've robbed Monaghan of a victory, they must be devastated - by far the better team and if they had taken a few more chances would have been out of sight.
Very disappointed with how poor we played AGAIN I don't know what's gone wrong since the Munster final.
Anyway we're still alive, even if it's us on life support at this stage. We have something to play for down in Killarney but are relying on a Galway favour now, not ideal but with 1min to go today I'd defo have taken it!!!
This Super 8 stuff is some rollercoster!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/07/2018 21:09:00    2124869

Replying To dubdec99:  "seanie_boy If Tyrone were in the same position last night as Monaghan were today and with the same outcome i.e. not taking the shot on and giving a bad handpass, that you'd be walking away from the game thinking ye had messed up? Honest question."
Off course....but as I was pointing out there are no perfect teams with perfect outcomes.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 22/07/2018 21:21:29    2124879

Replying To rollingboh:  "woeful miss pass at the end and real lack of composure with some shots earlier .how many times was a second ball on the pitch for a kerry kickout? another tactic I presume in todays game."
Not so. The balls bounce off the terracing or advertising boards in clones, purely down to the distance between them and the pitch. Big problem in this ground and is an issue every game. No conspiracy involved.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/07/2018 21:21:58    2124880

Round 2 matches were miles better than round 1, as I said before round 1 games provincial champs should be at home, round 2 qualifiers home, round 3 neutral venues.
1 question I have to ask about today's game, did Kerry put on 7 subs, Ger Canning said in the 2nd half Kerry are making their 4th substitution, they brought on 2 more subs that made 6, a blood sub happened and then that was reversed when the bloodied player was able to come back onto the pitch, after that the TV cameras showed a Kerry player standing waiting on the side line looking like he was about to come on, I was waiting to see who came on and who came off, I didn't see anything but am wondering if that player came on or just waiting on the side line for the game to end, so the question is did Kerry put on 7 subs?

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 22/07/2018 21:25:14    2124884

Replying To Damothedub:  "Sport broken down is simple, put yourself in a position to win and bring the baby home , great teams even struggling do it , Kilkenny do it , great Kerry teams do it , and Dublin do it , Monaghan put themselves in a position to do it but didn't , as for the professional shi7 comment, I'm sure the thirty Dublin lads that are all getting up for work tomorrow will laugh not with you but at you Five of which I know and what they do in a week , don't confuse our county board being run professionally and our players , it makes you either of two things bitter or ignorant, coin flip"
More like finger flip.....guess you didn't see the smiley faces inserted to indicate the jovial nature of my post. I only put 2 in there. I'm on record congratulating the great success of the recent Dublin teams and have only admiration for those lads

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 22/07/2018 21:25:48    2124886