Donegal V Roscommon

Replying To rossy15:  "I wouldn't get carried away ye were playing a very poor roscommon out fit"
I don't do carried away where Donegal are concerned my friend I just call it as I see it. So much so I get accused of being a cute hoor by some which is not actually the case. From a Roscommon perspective like last week the towel was thrown in far too early. Also despite having a fantastic beard u need to find a new goalkeeper that u can build a kickout strategy around.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 21/07/2018 20:26:20    2124360

Replying To panamasam:  "I don't do carried away where Donegal are concerned my friend I just call it as I see it. So much so I get accused of being a cute hoor by some which is not actually the case. From a Roscommon perspective like last week the towel was thrown in far too early. Also despite having a fantastic beard u need to find a new goalkeeper that u can build a kickout strategy around."
Ha ha we need alot more than a new goal keeper 'my friend'
Good luck to ye but ye managed to make us kinda alright so like I say I wouldn't get carried away even if like u say class did prevail but phew that u don't get carried away .....

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 21/07/2018 20:49:28    2124376

Surely mcstays hands on linesman will be rewarded with a severe punishment ala Connolly? Disgraceful.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/07/2018 20:54:24    2124380

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Was only slagging, a 6 month ban would have him back for the League! Hopefully he'll get nothing."
TV just showing McStay throwing the ball at the referee. Combined with manhandling the linesman he must be looking at a 3 month minimum ban.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 21/07/2018 20:57:50    2124381

Replying To panamasam:  "I don't do carried away where Donegal are concerned my friend I just call it as I see it. So much so I get accused of being a cute hoor by some which is not actually the case. From a Roscommon perspective like last week the towel was thrown in far too early. Also despite having a fantastic beard u need to find a new goalkeeper that u can build a kickout strategy around."
I don't know you how could question your post as getting carried away but there you go!! Donegal have some really talented footballers. Murphy was just excellent. I'm just delighted that the he plays for us, agree it was mniallais best game. The point off just left foot in the second half was some point and nearly got a great goal. Roscommon are not amazing but they won loads of ball from their kickouts in the second half and weren't near as naive as last week.
Really disappointing for eoghan ban pick up what looks a serious injury. And in fairness to mcmenamin he's getting better all the time.
Anyway all set for ballybofey in two weeks time in ballybofey. Should be great craic!!

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 693 - 21/07/2018 21:00:09    2124384

Beards aren't banned in Roscommon.Colm Lavin made a couple of good saves.I'd blame the lack of a coherent kick out strategy more on team management than on the goalkeeper.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 21/07/2018 21:02:24    2124385

Replying To rossy15:  "Ha ha we need alot more than a new goal keeper 'my friend'
Good luck to ye but ye managed to make us kinda alright so like I say I wouldn't get carried away even if like u say class did prevail but phew that u don't get carried away ....."
Actually ye have some very good players and the makings of a good team but u got no chance with so many non triers. Like I said I don't do carried away where Donegal are concerned as most consistent posters will suffice to that. Most importantly though we going in the right direction. I expect a close game with Tyrone but even if we lose we have had a good year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 21/07/2018 21:27:00    2124395

Replying To royaldunne:  "Surely mcstays hands on linesman will be rewarded with a severe punishment ala Connolly? Disgraceful."
I agree but he should have been sent to stand after been informed by linesman at half time. Ptherwise we are going see him banned because the ref seen it in replay. Its similar to andy moran incident and he deserves a ban full stop but the rules are bull and unless in match report there will be no ban

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 21/07/2018 21:50:13    2124404

Replying To royaldunne:  "Surely mcstays hands on linesman will be rewarded with a severe punishment ala Connolly? Disgraceful."
I agree but he should have been sent to stand after been informed by linesman at half time. Ptherwise we are going see him banned because the ref seen it in replay. Its similar to andy moran incident and he deserves a ban full stop but the rules are bull and unless in match report there will be no ban

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 21/07/2018 21:50:13    2124405

Ha ha at least no-one needed a garda escort out of the Hyde!

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 21/07/2018 21:53:33    2124407

i was away at the other end of the pitch but just before the whistle went for half time during the wee scrap i thought i saw one of the Roscommon players knee one of our lads in the face, now i might be totally wrong on this as i had a pretty bad view but surely if that's the case he deserves a ban?

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 21/07/2018 23:38:21    2124473

Replying To NaomhNaille:  "i was away at the other end of the pitch but just before the whistle went for half time during the wee scrap i thought i saw one of the Roscommon players knee one of our lads in the face, now i might be totally wrong on this as i had a pretty bad view but surely if that's the case he deserves a ban?"
You are totally wrong as you suspected yourself.Best of luck against Tyrone.It should be a great game in Ballybofey.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 21/07/2018 23:52:57    2124490

I'm pretty sure McStay was sent to the stands?

We won with a lot to work on. If we start like that against Tyrone we'll be in trouble. It took us about 10 minutes and then we were completely dominant. In saying that we still had some very very bad wides - won't get away with that against Tyrone.

But we had some outstanding performances which was encouraging and great to see Niall O'Donnell get on. Odhran and Michael Murphy were sensational. Main worry now is injuries with Eoghan Bans looking serious unfortunately.

The ref was very poor as well.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 21/07/2018 23:54:13    2124491

Good victory for Donegal, thought we played well enough but hit a lot of wides. Michael Murphy had an incredible game with Michael Langan and Odhran McNiallias also excellent.

Roscommon have some really terrific players and to be fair to them they stuck at it today. However their defence is a real problem, they have loads of men back but nobody tackling. I think with a better defensive structure they could be a really good side. Not sure McStay is the right man for the job.

Donegal move on to Tyrone in Ballybofey next day. I am sure Tyrone will be favourites but home advantage has got to be worth something. I think most Donegal fans would have bitten your hand off if offered this chance before the season started.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 22/07/2018 00:20:33    2124504

Replying To rossy15:  "Ha ha at least no-one needed a garda escort out of the Hyde!"
At least no one but their hands on a official in Pairc tailteann

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2018 01:07:11    2124511

Michael Murphy is a colossus! A man amongst boys this evening.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 22/07/2018 01:41:51    2124520

Replying To endgame:  "You are totally wrong as you suspected yourself.Best of luck against Tyrone.It should be a great game in Ballybofey."
Wrong about the player kneeing donegal player in the face but that player absolutely went in with the knee .

If the manager behaves like that then why won't the players

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 22/07/2018 08:10:21    2124539

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Wrong about the player kneeing donegal player in the face but that player absolutely went in with the knee .

If the manager behaves like that then why won't the players"
There was a kick to the face by a Donegal player in the incident watch it again. Disgraceful decisiok by the ref not to give a free in in the first place. Was a big benefit to Donegal having a Northern ref he gave them everything

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 22/07/2018 11:19:43    2124604

Both sides complaining about the referee not giving them anything, that's a first!

Roscommon were well beaten yesterday & all the referees in the world wouldn't change that.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/07/2018 12:24:28    2124626

Going to be a bit Bizzare for Roscommons next game. How do you prepare for a championship match when you are out of the championship

On a similar note if Galway and Monaghan win today - the Kerry v Kildare match becomes a post season challenge match

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/07/2018 15:35:36    2124687