Donegal V Roscommon

A game both teams have to win to stand any chance of reaching the semi final.

Donegal got out of Croke Park unscathed which is something Roscommon can't say after their shellacking from an improving Tyrone team. The big question is whether Kevin McStay can rally his troops & sort out his back line because if he can't I can see only one result in this game.

Donegal by 5.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/07/2018 09:53:47    2121938

It's a nothing to lose game for us and abosolutely nothing to lose one for Ross. It could be a great game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/07/2018 10:41:59    2121958

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "A game both teams have to win to stand any chance of reaching the semi final.

Donegal got out of Croke Park unscathed which is something Roscommon can't say after their shellacking from an improving Tyrone team. The big question is whether Kevin McStay can rally his troops & sort out his back line because if he can't I can see only one result in this game.

Donegal by 5."
After what we saw yesterday I think yous'll have no bother in the Hyde.

Roscommon are wide open at the back and Donegal looked to have tightened up a bit back there.

When Donegal ran the ball at pace they caused Dublin a lot of problems and there's no reason to think they won't run through Roscommon and create a number of goal chances. If they take them they'll win comfortably imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 15/07/2018 10:50:01    2121960

I hope it's pissimg wet windy as hell makes handling and running at pace difficult or our defence is fooked.
That said Tyrone are a serious outfit hitting peak at the right time.
I actually think they'll beat the dubs in omagh.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 15/07/2018 11:57:41    2121990

If we beat Roscommon and Dublin win in Omagh it's going to make a proper quarter final of our game with Tyrone in Ballybofey, I've a feeling though Roscommon will be like a wounded animal and playing to restore pride next weekend so it's not going to be easy to win there.

Donegal by 2, Dubs by 2 also in Omagh.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 15/07/2018 12:27:24    2122006

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "If we beat Roscommon and Dublin win in Omagh it's going to make a proper quarter final of our game with Tyrone in Ballybofey, I've a feeling though Roscommon will be like a wounded animal and playing to restore pride next weekend so it's not going to be easy to win there.

Donegal by 2, Dubs by 2 also in Omagh."
yes and if roscommon beat donegal, and regardless of the result in omagh, it makes the game in ballybofey a dead rubber for donegal, making it an easy two points for tyrone

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 15/07/2018 12:41:58    2122009

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "yes and if roscommon beat donegal, and regardless of the result in omagh, it makes the game in ballybofey a dead rubber for donegal, making it an easy two points for tyrone"
If you think for one minute that Donegal would ever roll over for Tyrone in Ballybofey, dead rubber or not, the you really haven't been getting out much these last 10 years.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/07/2018 17:47:27    2122197

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "yes and if roscommon beat donegal, and regardless of the result in omagh, it makes the game in ballybofey a dead rubber for donegal, making it an easy two points for tyrone"
We've a proud record in Ballybofey so we'll be going hell for leather in that game regardless of what happens this coming weekend.

I think we can take a lot from the Dublin game, I felt defensively we were better than we have been most of the year (but with improvements still to be made). And our running game should hurt Roscommon. I think Ryan McHugh will have a much bigger role here. Hopefully we can come out with a win and the Dubs do us a favour in Omagh to make it a winner takes all in Ballybofey.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/07/2018 11:06:35    2122584

As usual, you're getting carried away with yourself.

If Roscommon beat Donegal this week, and Dublin beat Tyrone, that would leave the points after 2 games as follows:

Dublin 4
Tyrone 2
Roscommon 2
Donegal 0

That means that if Dublin beat the Rossies in round 3 and Donegal beat Tyrone, those 3 sides would all finish on 2 points, and each would have 1 win over the other 2 sides. The team who qualifies would then be determined by score difference. So, in other words, Tyrone v Donegal wouldn't be a dead rubber.

You really should settle yourself down - in beating Roscommon, Tyrone won a game against a yet another division 2 side. We haven't beaten a division 1 team in the championship in over 12 months, so let's chill the excitement until we at least do that.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 16/07/2018 11:35:30    2122602

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "As usual, you're getting carried away with yourself.

If Roscommon beat Donegal this week, and Dublin beat Tyrone, that would leave the points after 2 games as follows:

Dublin 4
Tyrone 2
Roscommon 2
Donegal 0

That means that if Dublin beat the Rossies in round 3 and Donegal beat Tyrone, those 3 sides would all finish on 2 points, and each would have 1 win over the other 2 sides. The team who qualifies would then be determined by score difference. So, in other words, Tyrone v Donegal wouldn't be a dead rubber.

You really should settle yourself down - in beating Roscommon, Tyrone won a game against a yet another division 2 side. We haven't beaten a division 1 team in the championship in over 12 months, so let's chill the excitement until we at least do that."
I think in that scenario it would largely be a dead rubber anyway as we would need to make up a huge scoring difference.

Lets hope for a Donegal win and a Dublin win to set up a winner takes all!

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 16/07/2018 12:00:13    2122623

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "As usual, you're getting carried away with yourself.

Dublin 4
Tyrone 2
Roscommon 2
Donegal 0

You really should settle yourself down - in beating Roscommon, Tyrone won a game against a yet another division 2 side. We haven't beaten a division 1 team in the championship in over 12 months, so let's chill the excitement until we at least do that."
Cavan are a division 1 side ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/07/2018 12:09:56    2122628

Replying To cavanman47:  "Cavan are a division 1 side ;)"
Really? What division did they play in this year?

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 16/07/2018 12:14:23    2122630

Dublin 4
Tyrone 2
Roscommon 2
Donegal 0

Head to head is the first criteria to decide between teams level on points. Points difference will then be used if the head to head was a draw.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 16/07/2018 12:23:44    2122637

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Head to head is the first criteria to decide between teams level on points. Points difference will then be used if the head to head was a draw."
Exactly - so if they all finished on 2 points having won one and lost one against each other, it would go to score difference, as I said

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 16/07/2018 12:26:38    2122639

Dublin 4
Tyrone 2
Roscommon 2
Donegal 0

2 dead rubber games it is for Roscommon unless Lazarus decides to head onto the field himself in the Dub game and hammer home 5 goals in the last five minutes. Similar situation for Kildare Id fear with Galway looking close to the finished article.

But sure as Mcconville says isn't the Super 8s great with the full crowd

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 16/07/2018 12:29:47    2122641

Ah lads if he can't bear us even in the Hyde ye don't deserve to be in a semi.
We are perfect for likes of Tyrone Donegal Dublin ye sit back wait for us to turnover and catch us on break we have no defensive set up its a free for all going forward and don't think of consequences.
Then when we fall 4 or 5 behind and the turnovers become more frequent we sulk and give up not even contemplating sticking at it or keeping it respectable.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 16/07/2018 12:32:32    2122644

Ah lads if ye can't beat us even in the Hyde ye don't deserve to be in a semi.
We are perfect for likes of Tyrone Donegal Dublin ye sit back wait for us to turnover and catch us on break we have no defensive set up, its a free for all going forward and don't think of consequences.
Then when we fall 4 or 5 behind and the turnovers become more frequent we sulk and give up not even contemplating sticking at it or keeping it respectable.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 16/07/2018 12:33:19    2122646

For Donegal it's simple. If I was Declan Bonner I'd be drumming home to the players the need to forget about permutations and other results. The highest priority for us is to go to the Hyde and beat Roscommon. Then, and only then should we check the Tyrone Dublin result. If Dublin do us a favour there well and good. We can then turn our attentions towards the royal rumble in Ballybofey. It won't matter a jot what Dublin do in Omagh if we take our eye off the ball and lose to Roscommon.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 16/07/2018 12:46:59    2122654

Even if we manage to beat Roscommon and Dublin beat Tyrone in Omagh, it will be a massive task to beat Tyrone in the final group match, it would be a real cracker of a match I have no doubt, just hope everything goes to plan this weekend, regardless anyway it's been a very successful championship campaign for this new team and the younger players will have learned a lot.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 16/07/2018 18:32:48    2122844

Dublin 4
Tyrone 2
Roscommon 2
Donegal 0

Roscommon are a Div 1 team, they were promoted before the championship started and so are Div 1 as are Cavan.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/07/2018 20:16:39    2122881