Cork V Tyrone

Replying To Dermoot:  "Two poor teams, whichever makes it through to super 8 will be well beat by Dubs and Donegal. Alot of complaining about Tyrone's negative system but they don't have the quality to play like the Dubs or Kerry or Mayo or Donegal. But they are horrible to watch, so boring. Even when winning Ulster last year, boring, boring. But it's the way football has gone, boring. Paint by numbers, everybody doing the exact same thing, over and over for 70 minutes. So it's not just Cork supporters suffering serious apathy towards county team, alot of Tyrone people couldn't care whether team win or lose tomorrow. But at least Cork have hurling to follow. All we in Tyrone will have to shout for is whoever England play in world cup."
Not sure where the fear of Donegal comes from. Tyrone beat them regularly in recent times. Donegal minus Paddy McBrearty are not a potent force.
Should be Kerry versus Dublin in All Ireland Final
Tyrone should beat Cork today...but who knows with Cork. Depends on what team will turn up.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 07/07/2018 11:26:45    2119308

Replying To seanie_boy:  "What a load of cr@p. Maybe you should have read what the present Cork manager thinks of the style Tyrone play instead of listening to the naysayers and begrudgers like Brolly etc. The best team in Ireland at counter attacking at pace and turning teams over etc,is his opinion on this Tyrone team. I'm not saying they're the best in the country but they are a good team and can and I hope will do better. But sure you keep being a sheep and we'll cheer the lads on regardless. Some of you Tyrone boys forget when we were grateful for Ulster championship success never mind all Ireland's. Now 2 Ulsters in a row is a poor showing. Wise up is what yez need to do."
And Seanie that is a fair point in that pre 2003 Tyrone celebrated Ulster titles big time. I think though on a broad level there is the belief that Mickey has outstayed his welcome and is stagnating Tyrone football. Naturally he will always be remembered for what he has achieved. Maybe of course the footballers are not there like the golden era and Mickey is only working with the hand he is dealt with. On today I would be fearful of Cork if they had a full hand to pick from but Colm O'Neill and Sean Poster are serious losses. There is someone else injured who I can't recall so 1/5 of your first choice missing significant particularly if the depth is not there.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 07/07/2018 12:19:14    2119314

Replying To Dermoot:  "Two poor teams, whichever makes it through to super 8 will be well beat by Dubs and Donegal. Alot of complaining about Tyrone's negative system but they don't have the quality to play like the Dubs or Kerry or Mayo or Donegal. But they are horrible to watch, so boring. Even when winning Ulster last year, boring, boring. But it's the way football has gone, boring. Paint by numbers, everybody doing the exact same thing, over and over for 70 minutes. So it's not just Cork supporters suffering serious apathy towards county team, alot of Tyrone people couldn't care whether team win or lose tomorrow. But at least Cork have hurling to follow. All we in Tyrone will have to shout for is whoever England play in world cup."
Not sure how you could describe Tyrone as a poor team. Ok things haven't been going great this year but if they can get over Cork then they ae back in business in the Super 8's. Tyrone have serious potential if they can get all their players fit. Maybe Dublin is a step too far but they shouldn't be afraid of Donegal or the winners of the Roscommon/Armagh match.

I take your point about the style of play but wouldn't say its boring, its just a bit one dimensional, always running the ball. In fairness to MH Tyrone did kick the ball into Richie Donnelly against Cavan but need to do it more. Best of luck to both teams today and whoever wins we will see you in the mecca of football Ballyofey lol.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 07/07/2018 12:36:16    2119319

Replying To kiloughter:  "And Seanie that is a fair point in that pre 2003 Tyrone celebrated Ulster titles big time. I think though on a broad level there is the belief that Mickey has outstayed his welcome and is stagnating Tyrone football. Naturally he will always be remembered for what he has achieved. Maybe of course the footballers are not there like the golden era and Mickey is only working with the hand he is dealt with. On today I would be fearful of Cork if they had a full hand to pick from but Colm O'Neill and Sean Poster are serious losses. There is someone else injured who I can't recall so 1/5 of your first choice missing significant particularly if the depth is not there."
Powter not Poster but am sure ye get my gist.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 07/07/2018 12:41:25    2119324

Cork were well off the pace v Kerry and with their injuries as well it's difficult to see anything other than a Tyrone win. There is no way they'll match Tyrone's work rate.

That said, Cork beat a good Tipp side well so who knows. Hoping for a good game whoever wins.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/07/2018 13:10:58    2119331

Replying To seanie_boy:  "What a load of cr@p. Maybe you should have read what the present Cork manager thinks of the style Tyrone play instead of listening to the naysayers and begrudgers like Brolly etc. The best team in Ireland at counter attacking at pace and turning teams over etc,is his opinion on this Tyrone team. I'm not saying they're the best in the country but they are a good team and can and I hope will do better. But sure you keep being a sheep and we'll cheer the lads on regardless. Some of you Tyrone boys forget when we were grateful for Ulster championship success never mind all Ireland's. Now 2 Ulsters in a row is a poor showing. Wise up is what yez need to do."
Lad, my opinions are all my own, based on how bored I have been at Tyrone matches the past few years. Yep, great to be winning Ulster. 2016 final against Donegal, bored. You could programme a robot to play in a game like that. Both teams making the same moves over and over for 70+minutes, only for Murphy missing a last minute free, Tyrone wouldn't have won. Last year, every game was over after 20 minutes. If Tyrone were in front they won, if they were behind they were beat. Same this year so far, will be the same today. Like I said, boring. But you feel free to go watch them and enjoy yourself, we are all different.

Dermoot (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 07/07/2018 14:17:22    2119344

Why does this guy have to listen to the Cork manager or Joe Brolly or anyone else for that matter?

Maybe he made up his own mind and based his opinion on what he has seen over this past number of years. Its called independent thought. You should try it sometime.

And you have the nerve to call him a sheep lol!

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 07/07/2018 14:21:16    2119345

Replying To Dermoot:  "Lad, my opinions are all my own, based on how bored I have been at Tyrone matches the past few years. Yep, great to be winning Ulster. 2016 final against Donegal, bored. You could programme a robot to play in a game like that. Both teams making the same moves over and over for 70+minutes, only for Murphy missing a last minute free, Tyrone wouldn't have won. Last year, every game was over after 20 minutes. If Tyrone were in front they won, if they were behind they were beat. Same this year so far, will be the same today. Like I said, boring. But you feel free to go watch them and enjoy yourself, we are all different."
Fair enough. Don't want to get into a big argument before the game. I just disagree. I think there's plenty positive things in Tyrone's play and we maybe lack a bit up front. If we can bring on lads like Lee Brennan,David Mulgrew Cathal Mc Shane,Richie Donnelly,with Ronan O' Neil,Mc Aliskey and Sludden and others then we'll not be far behind any team. We have a great defensive set up and a great running and countering attacking ability with Harte,McCann Mattie etc. I see plenty positives and hope we can make super 8s today.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/07/2018 16:16:00    2119353

Replying To Wally:  "Why does this guy have to listen to the Cork manager or Joe Brolly or anyone else for that matter?

Maybe he made up his own mind and based his opinion on what he has seen over this past number of years. Its called independent thought. You should try it sometime.

And you have the nerve to call him a sheep lol!"
Any kind of independent thought would acknowledge the positive side of Tyrone's play if even still calling out the mistakes and sometimes predictable nature of the way they play. I agree that should change and I'd like to see them play a bit more freely as individuals etc. anyway let's hope we get a win today. All the best to lads and Mickey. today

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/07/2018 16:20:39    2119356

Tyrone poor return from chances created. Goalkeepers day.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/07/2018 17:20:54    2119363

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Tyrone poor return from chances created. Goalkeepers day."
Don't want to be crirical as there enough football bashers out there but very poor game so far, basic skill level is very low, like a challenge match between two club sides. Hopefully it improves in the second half.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 07/07/2018 17:34:11    2119366

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Don't want to be crirical as there enough football bashers out there but very poor game so far, basic skill level is very low, like a challenge match between two club sides. Hopefully it improves in the second half."
Absolutely, it is what it is and right now it's not up to much.
Cork are really poor and just shows the standard in Munster too when our consider they beat Tipp well.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/07/2018 17:42:24    2119368

Very poor game...Cork poor but Tyrone very sloppy big contrast between 2 games in omoore park first game very enjoyable..No better team than Tyrone to clear a stadium...big difference in atmosphere as well not helped by the poor attendance from the rebel fans.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 07/07/2018 17:53:17    2119370

Replying To bronxirish:  "You had me till the Waterford comment."
My apologies. You were right.

bronxirish (USA) - Posts: 17 - 07/07/2018 18:29:49    2119386

Omagh here we come.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 07/07/2018 18:47:02    2119395

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Absolutely, it is what it is and right now it's not up to much.
Cork are really poor and just shows the standard in Munster too when our consider they beat Tipp well."
Just proved Kerry aren't up to much.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/07/2018 18:56:35    2119400

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Very poor game...Cork poor but Tyrone very sloppy big contrast between 2 games in omoore park first game very enjoyable..No better team than Tyrone to clear a stadium...big difference in atmosphere as well not helped by the poor attendance from the rebel fans."
Yeh sure who would get any joy out of watching a complete pasting like that......same as every Dublin game in Leinster. Must be empty stadiums everywhere Dublin go. Oh that's right yez rarely go anywhere but Croke Park. There will be plenty to see you in Omagh now so don't be worrying about an empty stadium for that game.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/07/2018 19:08:23    2119404

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Very poor game...Cork poor but Tyrone very sloppy big contrast between 2 games in omoore park first game very enjoyable..No better team than Tyrone to clear a stadium...big difference in atmosphere as well not helped by the poor attendance from the rebel fans."
Would the pure ineptitude of Cork not of been the main reason the stadium cleared. Now I don't believe this Tyrone team are any great shakes but Corks effort was simply pathetic and embarrassing

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 07/07/2018 19:11:28    2119406

I was wrong, it wasn't just a capitulation to Kerry; Cork really are under-performing.

Oh, and Tyrone score 3:20; but they get slated anyway. Ever since about 2003, Tyrone have been the most unpopular team in the country; that won't change, irrespective of how they play. What a bitter little country we live in.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 07/07/2018 19:12:38    2119408

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Just proved Kerry aren't up to much."
Sure it's always been that way for ye boys.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/07/2018 19:23:45    2119409