Galway V Kerry And World Cup Final

Ah Linden Village, god be with the days :D
Regarding the WC final, all I can say is, ooh ah up the Gah!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 04/07/2018 22:05:03    2118667

If Cork manage to win on Sunday then our game could be switched to 16.00. No one from Cork will be going anyway. Good chance it would be Roscommon so good chance for GAA to show those cheeky buggers who is boss.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 05/07/2018 08:39:49    2118722

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy genuine question here not slagging or having a dig;

Why for a mad footballing county like Kerry that are the best at Gaelic football is you're support for the Kerry team so poor I accept Travelling to Croker in games you know your going to win is too much for you with such a distance and cost and all but even for the Munster final it was poor Cork a hurling county totally out numbered you's , like even close championship games to Kerry you're support is poor why is this? Like getting to play Kerry in all Ireland final is great cause we know there'll be loads of tickets available."
Ya clon like west Kerry said our fans can be complacent and the old line of waiting for the final gets touted a lot.

It's hard to blame lads though with 4 to 5 hours to Dublin depending on what part of the county you're from it used to be about 7 hours years ago before the motorway.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2018 10:57:03    2118762

As someone who now lives in London, if england get to the world cup final then I can't think of anything better than dressing the kids in maroon and marching them down to the Irish pub to cheer on the Tribesmen & completely ignoring the soccerball.

Well played the GAA.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 05/07/2018 11:28:04    2118773

Replying To realdub:  "Ah Linden Village, god be with the days :D
Regarding the WC final, all I can say is, ooh ah up the Gah!"
Ah the good stuff realdub :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/07/2018 11:52:14    2118783

I would have scheduled Super 8 weekend as follows:

Sat 14th Croke Park Triple Header
2pm
Fermanagh/ Kildare v Laois/Monaghan
4pm
Cork/Tyrone v Roscommon/Armagh
6pm
Kerry v Galway

Sun 15th
2pm
Dublin v Donegal

I could see an attendance of max 60,000 for the Saturday above.
Kildare v Monaghan and Tyrone v Armagh would bring the biggest draw if those teams prevail.
Roscommon would also bring a good crowd.
Can't see Kerry v Galway bringing a big crowd to Croke Park at this stage of the Championship.

The Hurling Quarter Finals are also scheduled for that weekend.
Galway will be involved if they lose this weekends replay to Kilkenny so don't know how that will interact with the Super 8 scheduling.

There will be 6 major games that are all supposed to be shown live (?) to be squeezed into 5 TV time slots (3 on Saturday, 2 on Sunday) one of which is going up against the biggest sporting event in the World.

In fairness, the World Cup final has never been at such an awkward time for the GAA.
It has been either a Sunday evening kickoff ('94, '98, '06, '10, '14) or on a Sunday morning (2002).
It's also a big headache for Wimbledon this year as Men's Final is due to start at 2pm on Sun 15th.

GloryHunter (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 05/07/2018 11:53:37    2118785

Replying To GloryHunter:  "I would have scheduled Super 8 weekend as follows:

Sat 14th Croke Park Triple Header
2pm
Fermanagh/ Kildare v Laois/Monaghan
4pm
Cork/Tyrone v Roscommon/Armagh
6pm
Kerry v Galway

Sun 15th
2pm
Dublin v Donegal

I could see an attendance of max 60,000 for the Saturday above.
Kildare v Monaghan and Tyrone v Armagh would bring the biggest draw if those teams prevail.
Roscommon would also bring a good crowd.
Can't see Kerry v Galway bringing a big crowd to Croke Park at this stage of the Championship.

The Hurling Quarter Finals are also scheduled for that weekend.
Galway will be involved if they lose this weekends replay to Kilkenny so don't know how that will interact with the Super 8 scheduling.

There will be 6 major games that are all supposed to be shown live (?) to be squeezed into 5 TV time slots (3 on Saturday, 2 on Sunday) one of which is going up against the biggest sporting event in the World.

In fairness, the World Cup final has never been at such an awkward time for the GAA.
It has been either a Sunday evening kickoff ('94, '98, '06, '10, '14) or on a Sunday morning (2002).
It's also a big headache for Wimbledon this year as Men's Final is due to start at 2pm on Sun 15th."
This actually makes loads of sense but I'd say SKY and RTE wouldn't be happy with it, they will want double headers to show live. I can't see many going to the games on Sunday, be lucky if Croke Park is half full.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 05/07/2018 12:10:55    2118794

why cant the soccer be changed?has tom ryan got on to gianni infantino yet?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 05/07/2018 14:12:56    2118832

Replying To Green_Gold:  "This actually makes loads of sense but I'd say SKY and RTE wouldn't be happy with it, they will want double headers to show live. I can't see many going to the games on Sunday, be lucky if Croke Park is half full."
Agree. That's a logical solution. I'm "hoping" Mon will be involved that weekend. If we are ... and if we are on at 2pm on Sunday ... I'd be out the gate fairly lively after it.

This is a typical Croke Park decision ... following on last weeks mess and it's what really turns me off. We are not in 1960 here. Ireland soccer team actually played in Croker. Sky a factor for sure. Getting into bed with them possibly the worst decision the GAA has made in the last 30 years.

As said previously, Kerry won't travel ..... Galway normally would but this will keep many at home. There might end up being about 15,000 in Croker.

I'd watch a Monaghan Junior B game in the rain before that Super Sunday rubbish in the Premiership .... but this is different. They need to cop on and change it ... as suggested above.

Mon79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 81 - 05/07/2018 14:50:40    2118845

Galway v Kerry will be a far better game than the world cup final.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 05/07/2018 15:06:09    2118846

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Kingdomboy genuine question here not slagging or having a dig;

Why for a mad footballing county like Kerry that are the best at Gaelic football is you're support for the Kerry team so poor I accept Travelling to Croker in games you know your going to win is too much for you with such a distance and cost and all but even for the Munster final it was poor Cork a hurling county totally out numbered you's , like even close championship games to Kerry you're support is poor why is this? Like getting to play Kerry in all Ireland final is great cause we know there'll be loads of tickets available."
When you don't have a million and a half people, are one of the poorest counties in the country and the most isolated it's not easy draw big crowds to travel 10-12 hr round trip multiple times a ear

Ye could only draw 30k for the League Final 40k for the Leinster Final and less than 12K for a handy spin down to Portlaoise all of which are extermely poor numbers given the enormous population and strength of economy

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 05/07/2018 15:54:28    2118860

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "When you don't have a million and a half people, are one of the poorest counties in the country and the most isolated it's not easy draw big crowds to travel 10-12 hr round trip multiple times a ear

Ye could only draw 30k for the League Final 40k for the Leinster Final and less than 12K for a handy spin down to Portlaoise all of which are extermely poor numbers given the enormous population and strength of economy"
Get the Healy Rae's onto it pronto, I hear they're not short of a few bob or two. They can bank roll the supporters transport and accommodation costs I'm sure......

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 05/07/2018 20:06:47    2118924

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "When you don't have a million and a half people, are one of the poorest counties in the country and the most isolated it's not easy draw big crowds to travel 10-12 hr round trip multiple times a ear

Ye could only draw 30k for the League Final 40k for the Leinster Final and less than 12K for a handy spin down to Portlaoise all of which are extermely poor numbers given the enormous population and strength of economy"
There aware 39k registered club members in Dublin, to have the best attendances and biggest support based on those figures in that context is outstanding.

We do, what we do.

Leave everyone else to their own.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/07/2018 20:27:03    2118929

See Kerry Juniors v Kildare fixed for Navan Sat at 4 45 what a joke

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 05/07/2018 21:44:18    2118948

The total lack of planning by the GAA authorities & CCCC who seem intent on going from one disaster to another, is mind boggling. Their decisions smack of arrogance, ignorance, lack of planning & consultation & a distinct lack of common sense. Now they decide to set the Galway V Kerry game in direct competition to the World Cup final. The stupidity of this decision is another indicator that these guys are not tuned in, most GAA fans are general sports fans who would like to watch that game. They didn't fix the Dubs for this date & time as they knew there would be a massive backlash & a massive reduction in the gate which is their obvious priority, instead they just dump the Galway/Kerry game there because the attendance of that wouldn't be enough to break even anyways. GAA leadership are a laughing stock.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 05/07/2018 21:52:16    2118951

Replying To Wests_Awake:  "As someone who now lives in London, if england get to the world cup final then I can't think of anything better than dressing the kids in maroon and marching them down to the Irish pub to cheer on the Tribesmen & completely ignoring the soccerball.

Well played the GAA."
Will you be able to find a TV to watch it on though?

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 05/07/2018 22:03:20    2118956

I've had to miss horse racing , tennis , choose between which son to go and watch , choose between hurlers and footballers, I've missed stag weekends because of a game
Being a fan is not supposed to be easy
So there's s World Cup so what , what places it ahead of the olympics , the Irish derby , I know there are thousands out there make same or bigger sacrifices every week
If Ireland from a national perspective Were playing I could understand

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/07/2018 12:41:56    2119325

Venues, fixtures, schedules... Is it me or are people this year more obsessed with the minutiae of the championship than the championship itself?

If you'd rather stay home and watch France beat England in a thrilling 1-0 game in the World Cup final instead of going to a watch Galway vs Kerry live and in the flesh, there's something wrong with you.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 07/07/2018 19:08:24    2119405

Replying To Damothedub:  "I've had to miss horse racing , tennis , choose between which son to go and watch , choose between hurlers and footballers, I've missed stag weekends because of a game
So there's s World Cup so what , what places it ahead of the olympics , the Irish derby , I know there are thousands out there make same or bigger sacrifices every week
If Ireland from a national perspective Were playing I could understand"
The World Cup final is the biggest sporting occasion in the world this year, and there would be a lot more fans of both sports than there would follow GAA and horse racing or tennis or what have you. A clash was easily avoidable with a small bit of foresight and planning. It's downright disrespectful to both teams from the GAA in my opinion, and it's easy to preach knowing the GAA would never dare do such a thing to your own team.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/07/2018 20:50:20    2119424

Replying To Damothedub:  "I've had to miss horse racing , tennis , choose between which son to go and watch , choose between hurlers and footballers, I've missed stag weekends because of a game
If Ireland from a national perspective Were playing I could understand"
Will you make the Linster minor shield final v Longford

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 07/07/2018 21:06:10    2119429