Galway Vs Killkenny

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You can like what you want, but remember you're in Leinster because you were invited; you're a guest. If you don't like the status quo, you're free to leave."
The heat must be getting to you pal...thats a fairly cranky response to a harmless post.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 02/07/2018 21:34:55    2117913

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "You can like what you want, but remember you're in Leinster because you were invited; you're a guest. If you don't like the status quo, you're free to leave."
Think you will find the invitation ended last year. We are there because of the revised format, and on the basis of being the current champions of the old Leinster championship. No Invite given or required for 2018 "Connacht-Leinster Championship"
Seems like a reasonable suggestion from my compatriot for the competition to be given it's proper name. Only a matter of time when the name is officially changed anyway.
Next year's final possibly be played in Athenry.

SmurfPaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 02/07/2018 21:35:03    2117914

Invited, you should be thankful we joined up and saved Leinster hurling.It looks like the only reason you want us to leave is because we are now top team in Leinster .Get a grip man.

sixtyfive (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2018 21:41:49    2117918

Replying To SmurfPaddy:  "Think you will find the invitation ended last year. We are there because of the revised format, and on the basis of being the current champions of the old Leinster championship. No Invite given or required for 2018 "Connacht-Leinster Championship"
Seems like a reasonable suggestion from my compatriot for the competition to be given it's proper name. Only a matter of time when the name is officially changed anyway.
Next year's final possibly be played in Athenry."
I agree.

This year's Connacht-Leinster replay should actually have been played in Pearse Stadium..its the only stadium in the Connacht-Leinster Championship that can cater for the replay.

If the Leinster council can stage all Dublin matches in Croke Park due to demand....I don't see why they shouldn't follow the same criteria here and hold the Connacht-Leinster Championship replay in Salthill !!

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 02/07/2018 22:00:19    2117926

Replying To county man:  "
Replying To SmurfPaddy:  "Think you will find the invitation ended last year. We are there because of the revised format, and on the basis of being the current champions of the old Leinster championship. No Invite given or required for 2018 "Connacht-Leinster Championship"
I agree.

This year's Connacht-Leinster replay should actually have been played in Pearse Stadium..its the only stadium in the Connacht-Leinster Championship that can cater for the replay.

If the Leinster council can stage all Dublin matches in Croke Park due to demand....I don't see why they shouldn't follow the same criteria here and hold the Connacht-Leinster Championship replay in Salthill !!"
Touche

sixtyfive (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 02/07/2018 22:34:59    2117942

Replying To endgame:  "Agree with o lot of that post.Cork the best team on view today.They have a big chance of winning the All-Ireland this year.Agree that Galway were sloppy today.An obvious case of them believing the hype in the media about how great a team they are rather than playing today's game on it's merits.As always,Cody had Kilkenny ready and their attitude and intensity were spot on. Can't agree though with the hype on rte radio about Cody building a new team.Killkenny's best players today were their established players who are still carrying the team- Padraig Walsh,Paul Murphy, Cillian Buckley, T.J Reid.The new players were mostly taken off-Keoghan,Leahy,Billy Ryan all substituted today."
Was James Maher, Enda Morrissey, Paddy Deegan who are all new players hurled very well yesterday john Donnelly , Ritchie Hogan hurled very well when they came on the couple of lads that went off three of them scored one of them had a very bad day at the office .

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 03/07/2018 00:38:25    2117977

Replying To endgame:  "Agree with o lot of that post.Cork the best team on view today.They have a big chance of winning the All-Ireland this year.Agree that Galway were sloppy today.An obvious case of them believing the hype in the media about how great a team they are rather than playing today's game on it's merits.As always,Cody had Kilkenny ready and their attitude and intensity were spot on. Can't agree though with the hype on rte radio about Cody building a new team.Killkenny's best players today were their established players who are still carrying the team- Padraig Walsh,Paul Murphy, Cillian Buckley, T.J Reid.The new players were mostly taken off-Keoghan,Leahy,Billy Ryan all substituted today."
Was James Maher, Enda Morrissey, Paddy Deegan who are all new players hurled very well yesterday john Donnelly , Ritchie Hogan hurled very well when they came on the couple of lads that went off three of them scored one of them had a very bad day at the office .

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 03/07/2018 00:44:57    2117978

Very disappointed in Galway yesterday. Underperformed all over with the exception of Burke at full back. I felt Galway management didn't know how to react to what was happening. Management need to be more ruthless in making changes or certain changes. Johnny Glynn coming on is fine and whilst he fielded a few high balls it had little impact overall. No other forward was consistently winning high ball all day so really I wondered why stick with the same approach. Cody brought on subs and fresh legs with 15-20 mins to go. Galway brought on Johnny, Concannon with less than 10 and it was merely insulting to Flynn bringing him on after 69 minutes. Midfield were wiped out. Coen had his worst day by a country mile. A lot to sort out before Sunday. However, despite all that Galway to learn a lot more than Kilkenny I feel. I hope it's a wake up call they needed.

KaiserChief (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 03/07/2018 01:36:23    2117983

From 1998 - 2008, before Galway entered the Leinster championship, KK had won 10 out of 11 Leinster finals! That was some status quo! One miserly win for Wexford in 2004. It was a joke. Good riddance to your miserly welcome!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 03/07/2018 07:59:21    2117988

I agree.

If the Leinster council can stage all Dublin matches in Croke Park due to demand....I don't see why they shouldn't follow the same criteria here and hold the Connacht-Leinster Championship replay in Salthill !!"
Very good point.

Personally, I would have loved this game to be in Tullamore.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/07/2018 08:31:09    2117993

Replying To KaiserChief:  "Very disappointed in Galway yesterday. Underperformed all over with the exception of Burke at full back. I felt Galway management didn't know how to react to what was happening. Management need to be more ruthless in making changes or certain changes. Johnny Glynn coming on is fine and whilst he fielded a few high balls it had little impact overall. No other forward was consistently winning high ball all day so really I wondered why stick with the same approach. Cody brought on subs and fresh legs with 15-20 mins to go. Galway brought on Johnny, Concannon with less than 10 and it was merely insulting to Flynn bringing him on after 69 minutes. Midfield were wiped out. Coen had his worst day by a country mile. A lot to sort out before Sunday. However, despite all that Galway to learn a lot more than Kilkenny I feel. I hope it's a wake up call they needed."
It's a fair point Kaiserchief, it's something that has been levelled at many Galway managers down through the years in that they're very slow to make changes. However as an All Ireland winning manager only last year, probably a wee bit early to start raining on Michael Donohue's parade, however I do agree that several changes should have been made a lot earlier, not to mention it was insulting to bring on a player of Jason Flynn's class after 69 mins, seriously what was that about? One other point is that I feel that Joe Canning should have been taken off frees, in a game that was so tight, you can't have your main free taker missing five or six scoreable frees, Conor Cooney is also an excellent free taker, and Jason Flynn should have been on the pitch a lot earlier. All in all a lot for Galway to learn from, if they learn from their mistakes they should win on Sunday, but as always with Brian Cody and the Cats, you just never know with them, and they are rarely beaten.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 03/07/2018 10:46:06    2118026

I agree.

I would have Nowlan Park above Pearse Stadium as a venue by a distance. The state of the pitch for the previous game was shocking. Hardly much better after all the sun in recent weeks.

Speaking of pitches, Thurles was poor on Sunday. They should be watering it every day in this weather. Surely they could be harvesting rain water on the roofs of these stadiums for the summer months.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 03/07/2018 14:30:56    2118099

Poor management from Micheál Donoghue. He brought on Jason Flynn too late- he should have been on instead of Johnny Glynn. What is the link with Glynn? He seems to be in favour of the mangement team, though he has done nothing to justify it imho. Anyway Galway need goals to beat this KK team.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 03/07/2018 16:13:59    2118134

Replying To baire:  "From 1998 - 2008, before Galway entered the Leinster championship, KK had won 10 out of 11 Leinster finals! That was some status quo! One miserly win for Wexford in 2004. It was a joke. Good riddance to your miserly welcome!"
And since 2009, Kilkenny have won it 6 times, the rest 3. As I said, you're free to leave, but won't (after your silly threats last year); because you know Munster won't have you.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 03/07/2018 18:46:27    2118176

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "And since 2009, Kilkenny have won it 6 times, the rest 3. As I said, you're free to leave, but won't (after your silly threats last year); because you know Munster won't have you."
Sure we're playing in Munster next Sunday! I didn't hear ye asking Antrim or Kerry to leave! Ye'll never get the cream as handy again, cockney! 15 out of 18 Leinsters in Cody's time and ye were still moaning!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 03/07/2018 22:23:34    2118233

Athenry is way too big has to be Ahascragh more appropriate for a game of this size surely?

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 03/07/2018 23:07:57    2118258

Replying To arock:  "
Athenry is way too big has to be Ahascragh more appropriate for a game of this size surely?"
Can't be done, already booked for a rock concert!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1806 - 04/07/2018 09:18:04    2118318

Replying To gilly2308:  "It's a fair point Kaiserchief, it's something that has been levelled at many Galway managers down through the years in that they're very slow to make changes. However as an All Ireland winning manager only last year, probably a wee bit early to start raining on Michael Donohue's parade, however I do agree that several changes should have been made a lot earlier, not to mention it was insulting to bring on a player of Jason Flynn's class after 69 mins, seriously what was that about? One other point is that I feel that Joe Canning should have been taken off frees, in a game that was so tight, you can't have your main free taker missing five or six scoreable frees, Conor Cooney is also an excellent free taker, and Jason Flynn should have been on the pitch a lot earlier. All in all a lot for Galway to learn from, if they learn from their mistakes they should win on Sunday, but as always with Brian Cody and the Cats, you just never know with them, and they are rarely beaten."
It was just too late bringing in Flynn. But my main disappointment was not late changes but I question the changes. I could be wrong here (it's just my view) bringing on Glynn imo was not the right call. I am not saying he didn't win a few balls but the game plan if it was even that of pumping mostly high ball down on top of our forwards wasn't working all day and the managements solution was to bring on Glynn and continue that and hope Johnny would win. He did to his credit so maybe they were right but instead of changing how we played we stuck with the same 'gameplan'. I felt that no matter what way the game was going Glynn was always going to be the first forward sub first Coming on and I fear we could become one dimensional Doing that. With that said Glynn might start the next day and to his credit might be a better option to start and may be a confidence boost to win the first few arial battles.

I agree we had a second class free taker on the field in Conor Cooney and Canning should have not remained on the frees. He had a very poor game by his standards. Cooney himself had a low key game but I feel he would have settled the game and not have missed some that Joe did.

I think Galway can do it the next day. However, I fear TJ & Walsh will not be as quiet again! Brian Cody is a genius to be fair. Never write off KK

KaiserChief (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 06/07/2018 11:15:10    2119077

All the pressure is on Galway and it remains to be seen how that plays out. KK, the league winners, in a Leinster final at a venue more to their liking than ours. All to play for.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 06/07/2018 19:14:57    2119193

Replying To festinog:  "All the pressure is on Galway and it remains to be seen how that plays out. KK, the league winners, in a Leinster final at a venue more to their liking than ours. All to play for."
Galway Up against it all right! Dual County, Division 1 B, Playing KK, Playing League Champions, Recovering from AI Win. All we can do is our best. Proud of this team and the great year they have given us. If they do lose Sunday, so be it. They will be beaten by the Best.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 06/07/2018 21:13:34    2119221