Dublin In Parnell Park Or Croke Park?

I think Dublin should be taking a long hard look at themselves that they haven't got a proper home ground that can accomodate a decent crowd.

With all the millions being given to them each year by their cronies in HQ you'd think they could throw a few quid in the direction of Parnell Park to give the mighty ones a home they can be proud of.

When I look at some of the sneering that a number of Dubs engage in re Newbridge a quick look in the mirror wouldn't go amiss.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/06/2018 11:08:39    2116332

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Should Dublin demand to play all their home games in Parnell Park from here on?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 18248 - 27/06/2018 21:43:24

Nope. Croke Park suits Dublin's needs, the needs of both sets of fans and the commercial benefits to the GAA. I realise you're very much talking with tongue in cheek here, though.

I want the dubs out of crokepark... I want them getting the same money as the rest of us...

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 7215 - 28/06/2018 01:22:57

The "rest of us"? Are you seriously comparing Kerry's finances to Leitrim's, Wicklow's etc.? Dublin may be getting a larger slice of the pie but Kerry are hardly dining on scraps that fall from the table.

With regard to the Leinster championship Dublin have had a number of chances to vote to move out of Croker over the last few years so clearly the Dublin County Board are happy with the current arrangement...

razor425 (Roscommon) - Posts: 40 - 28/06/2018 09:41:27

Dublin have one vote on the Leinster council. The last vote on the subject was defeated 10-2. If Dublin were part of the 10 (it was an anonymous vote) and changed their mind, the motion would still be defeated 9-3. How have Dublin "had a number of chances to vote to move out of Croker" on this basis?"
Two excellent rebuttals

Just watch them getting ignored

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2018 11:15:14    2116338

I agree with many of our country cousins, Croke Park is Dublins home ground. Playing Dublin there you are the away team, it just has that feel to it, other supporters visiting occasionally. Its comfortable for the Dublin team and its supporters, its part of the City and our day to day lives, we grow up around it, Croke Park is part of Dublin and Dublin is part of Croke Park, both Croke Park and PP will always be a spirtual home for Dublin as opposed to any other county despite any success they have in it, they are just passing through really.

I think that gives Dublin both advantages and disadvantages really, if the DCB had sense they would develop their own ground really, huge funds to be made out a self developed ground something like Nowlan Park.

So what does that mean for fairness, i agree with many Dublin shouldn't have two home games in the S8's at home in Croke Park. Parnell Park would be great and romantic, but its a non runner really, not that i would be opposed to it mind it would focus a few minds financially. Id be open to a neutral venue, Nolan Park would be great craic again, please not Port Laoise again.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/06/2018 11:20:44    2116342

Replying To MesAmis:  "I would love to see our home game played in Parnell Pk. It'd make for a brilliant atmosphere!

Either that or the 'neutral' game in Clones, Breffni, Newry, Castlebar or somewhere random. It'd be great. As two Croke Pk games goes against the point of the Super 8s imo.

I think Kildare (Ros too) have shown counties the way, if something is unfair, don't pointlessly complain like we've seen from Laois, Carlow and Wicklow over the last few years. Do something about it and make it abundantly clear what you intend to do about it."
The recent enough Kilkenny game was fantastic

I'm sick of the whinging

I know it makes zero commercial/financial sense but I'd be willing to ignore blatant logic and see the GAA and tax payer fork out millions to go towards a 30-40 thousand stadium in Dublin... anything to stop the whinging!

Screw logic and reasoning !!

Back to Parnell Park sod being the cash cow for the grass roots! Sick of the Leinster councils greed and being rolled out by the GAA so they can cash in... fecking dictating money men!! Them up in HQ.. the bullies!!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2018 11:31:37    2116346

Replying To jimbodub:  "The recent enough Kilkenny game was fantastic

I'm sick of the whinging

I know it makes zero commercial/financial sense but I'd be willing to ignore blatant logic and see the GAA and tax payer fork out millions to go towards a 30-40 thousand stadium in Dublin... anything to stop the whinging!

Back to Parnell Park sod being the cash cow for the grass roots! Sick of the Leinster councils greed and being rolled out by the GAA so they can cash in... fecking dictating money men!! Them up in HQ.. the bullies!!!"
No need to go to that extreme jimbo. Just let HQ accept the fact that Croke Park is Dublin's home ground & play the "neutral" Super 8's game somewhere else.
A packed Clones or Thurles would make for a far better occasion than a half empty CP any day of the week & it would do you boys no harm at all to get the smell of silage in your nostrils once a year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/06/2018 12:03:44    2116367

I'm sick of the whinging

Back to Parnell Park sod being the cash cow for the grass roots! Sick of the Leinster councils greed and being rolled out by the GAA so they can cash in... fecking dictating money men!! Them up in HQ.. the bullies!!!"
Well jim the gaa president is a dub also the new director general is afilliated to a dublin club so ye should have no problem getting all that sorted.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/06/2018 12:17:38    2116374

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "No need to go to that extreme jimbo. Just let HQ accept the fact that Croke Park is Dublin's home ground & play the "neutral" Super 8's game somewhere else.
A packed Clones or Thurles would make for a far better occasion than a half empty CP any day of the week & it would do you boys no harm at all to get the smell of silage in your nostrils once a year."
Gladly watch Dublin beating Donegal anywhere !!

It's been fixed for CP at present

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2018 12:24:32    2116376

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I think Dublin should be taking a long hard look at themselves that they haven't got a proper home ground that can accomodate a decent crowd.

With all the millions being given to them each year by their cronies in HQ you'd think they could throw a few quid in the direction of Parnell Park to give the mighty ones a home they can be proud of.

When I look at some of the sneering that a number of Dubs engage in re Newbridge a quick look in the mirror wouldn't go amiss."
That argument can only be used as a rebuttal to a minority who have chastised Kildare and other county boards for not getting their home ground in order. However, it is not a valid criticism of the actions of a county board who are looking to make the best decisions for the county within their remit.

Croke Park is within Dublin county, is readily available for an affordable fee and it meets all feasible / relevant requirements from a players / fans point of view. Should the county board ignore this facility, which is on their doorstep, and pour tens of millions of euros into a new facility (Spawell) or into upgrading an existing facility (PP - though this is not a viable option given the limitations of its location) on the basis of aesthetic criticism from opposing fans, parochial considerations that border on vanity or even in the interest of perceived "fairness"? That would be just crazy and make no economic or even strategic sense. Don't get me wrong - I would absolutely love if the Spawell project went ahead and Dublin had a new shiny 25-30K capacity stadium to host league games, early championship games, games at a neutral venue for other counties etc.. However, I'm aware that this is just not logical given the hugh sums of money required and when Croke Park is available just down the road.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 28/06/2018 12:24:49    2116377

A County's home pitch is were they train, were a free taker practices free kicks, a goal keeper practices kick outs , players get used to every blade of grass on the pitch.
Dublin do not train/practice on Croke Park it is not their home pitch never has being or never will be.
I loved watching the Hurlers this year in Parnell with a great crowd and atmosphere , League matches for the footballers in a half empty Croke Park this year was a bit of a turn off.

AthloneDub (Westmeath) - Posts: 51 - 28/06/2018 12:29:27    2116380

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "No need to go to that extreme jimbo. Just let HQ accept the fact that Croke Park is Dublin's home ground & play the "neutral" Super 8's game somewhere else.
A packed Clones or Thurles would make for a far better occasion than a half empty CP any day of the week & it would do you boys no harm at all to get the smell of silage in your nostrils once a year."
Sure they get that every time they start talking, MuckrossHead.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 28/06/2018 12:32:38    2116384

It would be a great idea for the dubs to play in parnell park for their home games...

Provided other counties can nominate a second home stadium as well and stand up to the GAA when the Croke park Dublin fixtures comes around. ie Kerry playing Dublin in Tralee rather than Croke park if it is the Croke park fixture.
Or a stadium of their choosing outside of Killarney. Same with all the other counties. Makes sense in terms of fairness.

The best solution of course would be to pick a neutral venue with a good capacity and take it from there.

But there is zero chance of this happening

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/06/2018 12:40:29    2116387

I'm sick of the whinging

Why would the tax payer and Gaa have to pay for it? Could Dublin County board not fund it, They have excellent sponsorship deals and with the yearly millions more they get handed to them from Croke Park surely they have a decent amount in the bank?

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 28/06/2018 13:16:34    2116400

Dublin will play where the other 31 counties dictate to them to play.

Kildare and Roscommon of late have shown that with a bit of backbone things can be accomplished.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 28/06/2018 13:21:46    2116403

Replying To AthloneDub:  "A County's home pitch is were they train, were a free taker practices free kicks, a goal keeper practices kick outs , players get used to every blade of grass on the pitch.
Dublin do not train/practice on Croke Park it is not their home pitch never has being or never will be.
I loved watching the Hurlers this year in Parnell with a great crowd and atmosphere , League matches for the footballers in a half empty Croke Park this year was a bit of a turn off."
I saw the cuala boys getting ready to go training in crokepark the day we played ye in the league so I'd say yer footballers probably get to train there a bit, and isn't dean rocks uncle one of the head men over crokepark?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/06/2018 13:26:49    2116406

Replying To AthloneDub:  "A County's home pitch is were they train, were a free taker practices free kicks, a goal keeper practices kick outs , players get used to every blade of grass on the pitch.
I loved watching the Hurlers this year in Parnell with a great crowd and atmosphere , League matches for the footballers in a half empty Croke Park this year was a bit of a turn off."
No county team trains on their home pitch anymore AthloneDub. That's very old hat.

We're all in Centre's of Excellence now don't you know. Don't tell me Dublin haven't one of those either!

Good God man, where have you been spending all that money Croke Park has been giving you?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/06/2018 13:33:09    2116410

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Should Dublin demand to play all their home games in Parnell Park from here on?

Nope. Croke Park suits Dublin's needs, the needs of both sets of fans and the commercial benefits to the GAA. I realise you're very much talking with tongue in cheek here, though.

I want the dubs out of crokepark... I want them getting the same money as the rest of us...

The "rest of us"? Are you seriously comparing Kerry's finances to Leitrim's, Wicklow's etc.? Dublin may be getting a larger slice of the pie but Kerry are hardly dining on scraps that fall from the table.

With regard to the Leinster championship Dublin have had a number of chances to vote to move out of Croker over the last few years so clearly the Dublin County Board are happy with the current arrangement...

Dublin have one vote on the Leinster council. The last vote on the subject was defeated 10-2. If Dublin were part of the 10 (it was an anonymous vote) and changed their mind, the motion would still be defeated 9-3. How have Dublin "had a number of chances to vote to move out of Croker" on this basis?"
I was talking about central funding not the money counties make off their own backs.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/06/2018 14:45:26    2116428

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "

I was talking about central funding not the money counties make off their own backs."
Well, you certainly didn't make that clear.

Did Leitrim get €1m off the GAA and €1m off their provincial council for a centre of excellence?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 28/06/2018 15:05:55    2116432

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "
No county team trains on their home pitch anymore AthloneDub. That's very old hat.

We're all in Centre's of Excellence now don't you know. Don't tell me Dublin haven't one of those either!

Good God man, where have you been spending all that money Croke Park has been giving you?"
Games development for school children

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2018 15:06:50    2116433

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "Should Dublin demand to play all their home games in Parnell Park from here on?

I was talking about central funding not the money counties make off their own backs."

Did Leitrim get €1m off the GAA and €1m off their provincial council for a centre of excellence?"]Your missing a 7mill Irish Sports Council Grant for the facility in Tralee IT as well.

In actual fact Dublin arent even getting the most in GDF per head of population these days:

Ill just leave this here, based on 2017 games devlopment funding (source below):

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro.

Page 67. http://www.gaa.ie/mm/Document/GaaIe/...18_English.pdf

Note the additional allocation given to the provinces at the top of the page, this is divided by the provincial council to all the teams in the province for coaching. The only team not to get this is Dublin.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/06/2018 15:57:51    2116448

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=Kurt_Angle:  "Should Dublin demand to play all their home games in Parnell Park from here on?

Did Leitrim get €1m off the GAA and €1m off their provincial council for a centre of excellence?"]Your missing a 7mill Irish Sports Council Grant for the facility in Tralee IT as well.

In actual fact Dublin arent even getting the most in GDF per head of population these days:

Ill just leave this here, based on 2017 games devlopment funding (source below):

Population of Dublin: 1.345 million, Games Development Funding: 1.298 million, Ratio per head of population: 96 cent

Population of Kerry: 140.600k, Games Development Funding 197.600k, Ratio per head of population: 1.40 euro.

Population of Mayo: 130k, Games Devlopment Funding: 127.98k, Ratio per head of population: 98 cent.

Population of Donegal: 158k, Games Devlopment Funding: 132.000K Ratio per head of population: 83 cent.

Population of Galway: 258,552, Games Development Funding: 178.400k Ratio per head of Population: 69 cent.

Population of Tyrone: 177.986k, Games Developmet Funding: 119k, Ratio per head of population: 66 cent.

Population of Monghan: 60,483k Games Devlopment Funding: 122.500k, Ratio per head of population: 1.99 euro.

Population of Cork: 542,196k, Games Development Funding: 249k, Ratio per head of population: 45 cent.

Population of Kildare: 222,130, Games Developemnt Funding: 226.428k, Ratio per head of population: 1 euro.

Population of Meath: 194,942, Games Development Funding: 267.421k, Ratio per head of population: 1.37 euro.

Page 67. http://www.gaa.ie/mm/Document/GaaIe/...18_English.pdf

Note the additional allocation given to the provinces at the top of the page, this is divided by the provincial council to all the teams in the province for coaching. The only team not to get this is Dublin."]How on earth is that fair?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2018 16:03:22    2116450