Kildare V Mayo

Well done to Kildare for toughing it and grinding out the win. You have to feel sorry for this Mayo squad. They will go down as the best collection of players never to win an All Ireland and that's sad. They were a very talented side but just didn't have the belief, nasty bite or street savvy to get over the line. They will always be remembered as the Jimmy White team of Gaelic football, so near and yet so far.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 01/07/2018 00:06:56    2117027

Replying To greysoil:  "Bit of an identity crisis there mayotyroneman?"
no identity crisis at all...mayo man living in tyrone...and appreciate the fact that both counties are among the leading teams in the country and will remain among the top 6 or 7 teams for many a year yet

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/07/2018 00:57:29    2117040

Replying To waynoI:  "alright man calm down.. it was a qualifier.. the way you're going on you'd swear they won an all ireland .."
kildare will be doing very well to even reach an all-ireland semi-final...forget about winning an all-ireland

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/07/2018 00:59:24    2117042

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Nobody could have looked foolish after that Game. Two teams who played in sweltering heat and scores 21...19... Points. Fair play to both teams. Shows the importance of Home Venue to Kildare.. at least 3..4 points. What have the Dubs beaten Mayo by in last few all Irelands at home??"
Good point Sammy; and that was with home advantage!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/07/2018 01:08:19    2117043

Well done Kildare. Thats what the Gaa is all about. A run is a run and long may it continue. Just what it is needed for everyone bar Dublin. Well done and good luck.

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 01/07/2018 02:35:53    2117045

Well done Kildare, best team on the day and deservedly won, wishing all the best in the rest of the championship.
Mayo on the other hand looked tired, playing without vision, didn't look like they had the heart to play, only 2 players deserved to wear the jersey Diarmuid O'Connor and Patrick Durcan yesterday, yet again like in the past few years our 6 forwards aren't even on the pitch never mind getting into the game, 5 of our 6 backs were very poor. Some are saying 3 may retire, it's too early yet, let them decide in their own time but for me there could be 8 or 9 that seriously need to look at their future, some may go because of age or mileage, others because they aren't good enough. We started without our 1st choice midfielders due to injury but we had 2 other on the bench Barry Moran and Danny Kirby what are they on the panel for if you aren't going to use them. It is beyond time for the management to go, the disaster of the goalie change in the All Ireland Final replay in 2016, losing to Galway 3 years in a row in Connacht, pulling our experienced players off in the 2017 All Ireland Final when the game was in the balance in the closing stages, 6 players were taken off as well as the red card meant we had inexperienced players on the pitch trying to win an All Ireland title, bad substitutions, no game plan, no new players coming through all are making their position as management untenable. Yesterday Mayo brought on at least 4 subs and only Eoin O'Donnaghue showed us something, the rest came on and marked space, done nothing, too many poor performances by players and management, time for management to resign

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/07/2018 08:02:22    2117050

News coming through this morning, apparently the pope has refused to say mass in knock. He is quoted as saying it's Newbridge or nowhere. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2018 08:53:57    2117055

Well done Kildare
at last they have come up with a performance
they have some fine footballers
they have had lots of good u21 teams over the years
a lot of these guys played against galway the year we won the u21 allireland
and to be honest they should have beaten us but didn't have believe or composure
if they can build on this now and go forward they have the players

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 01/07/2018 08:55:20    2117057

Replying To mightydubs:  "Can't say how happy i am to see mayo caught out, they where cleaned out in midfield and bar durcan and moran they where hopeless, hopefully that'll be that with that team. Where was Keegan tonight"
That statement is very blunt but i kind of know what you mean. We are all tired of watching Mayo make the final year in year out and fail to do the business. They are brilliant up to that point and knock out many a team who would give the final a better go. They are not out to pasture and perhaps thats what Mayo need, time to regroup and take a long look at things.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 01/07/2018 09:02:16    2117059

Replying To jimbodub:  "Of course I meant Pairc Tailteann Dear oh dear I've PP on the brain or the cyber knife radio surgery I had last month fried a few more neurons than expected ?

Anyway well done Kildare"
Aye, I'd say you were there alright.
Not easy to forget what county you were in .

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/07/2018 09:20:24    2117066

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "That statement is very blunt but i kind of know what you mean. We are all tired of watching Mayo make the final year in year out and fail to do the business. They are brilliant up to that point and knock out many a team who would give the final a better go. They are not out to pasture and perhaps thats what Mayo need, time to regroup and take a long look at things."
Make the final and compete toe to toe with the best team to ever play the game!?! Compare this to your own county who pulled 60 thousand plus to Croke Park, had the country convinced we would have a game and it's over after 5 minutes. Yes previous Mayo teams have somehow scraped into the All Ireland final, mainly due to shocks elsewhere and it's been a disaster. The Mayo team of the last three years were different, they gave us real battles to enjoy, and were geniunely unlucky against a team that will win five in a row. Kerry will come close this year but are not quite ready imo, as for the rest they won't be within 10 points of Dublin. Dublin will be delighted Mayo are gone, and will be careful of Kerry but the rest are nowhere near the level required.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 01/07/2018 09:53:13    2117078

Well done Kildare a massive win for Kildare football hopefully for them this gives them the confidence that they've been missing for years cause they've always had talented players just mentally weak imo but that all changed last night , Cork Fermanagh Roscommon or Laois absolutely no one there to fear for this Kildare team.

Hard luck to Mayo half of me is delighted to see them out the other half is going to miss them and the games we've had over the years, the championship is definitely a lesser place without them. You can never write them off but it's going to be hard with their great players getting older and even Aidan O Shea/lee Keegan are 29 next year with a lot mileage in their legs but you never know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/07/2018 10:03:14    2117082

Congrats to Kildare, now go make the super 8's.

As for us...you get the feeling it's the end of an era butbMayi football is not dead..:we will
Be back. Up Mayo forever and keep the faith

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 01/07/2018 10:13:23    2117088

Replying To riverboys:  "Well done Kildare, best team on the day and deservedly won, wishing all the best in the rest of the championship.
Mayo on the other hand looked tired, playing without vision, didn't look like they had the heart to play, only 2 players deserved to wear the jersey Diarmuid O'Connor and Patrick Durcan yesterday, yet again like in the past few years our 6 forwards aren't even on the pitch never mind getting into the game, 5 of our 6 backs were very poor. Some are saying 3 may retire, it's too early yet, let them decide in their own time but for me there could be 8 or 9 that seriously need to look at their future, some may go because of age or mileage, others because they aren't good enough. We started without our 1st choice midfielders due to injury but we had 2 other on the bench Barry Moran and Danny Kirby what are they on the panel for if you aren't going to use them. It is beyond time for the management to go, the disaster of the goalie change in the All Ireland Final replay in 2016, losing to Galway 3 years in a row in Connacht, pulling our experienced players off in the 2017 All Ireland Final when the game was in the balance in the closing stages, 6 players were taken off as well as the red card meant we had inexperienced players on the pitch trying to win an All Ireland title, bad substitutions, no game plan, no new players coming through all are making their position as management untenable. Yesterday Mayo brought on at least 4 subs and only Eoin O'Donnaghue showed us something, the rest came on and marked space, done nothing, too many poor performances by players and management, time for management to resign"
I hope not, a short summer could be what Mayo need this year, they have been going full tilt now for six years, they have played a lot of ball for a long time. They have also had terrible luck with injuries this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/07/2018 10:20:18    2117094

Fair play Kildare, better team won and I hope ye bring the conviction gained by all the events this week into the rest of the championship. Cian O'Neill played a blinder!

Mayo have intentionally sailed close to the wind at this time of the year under Rochford and the gamble was one the squad accepted. I wouldn't judge him on not delivering a provincial title as Mayo learned under the previous regimes that they couldn't sustain form from May to September.

Cacs, your statement is way off the mark. This team were just a break away from winning either of the last two finals. Don't ask Sean Cavanagh, ask any of the Dubs players or anyone close to the squad. I wish Tyrone well for the rest by the way, ye look to have improved from last year.

I don't think all of the older players will hang on for another year. I think Boyler for one doesn't have the legs. Our best performers yesterday were two younger players, Durcan and DOC, with Jason Doherty and AOS also putting in decent shifts. Andy also did a good job showing for the ball, but hadn't brought the shooting boots. Conditions were tough and both teams should be congratulated for the effort they put into a good game of football.

Lastly I think we should rededicate St Conleth to be the patron saint of U-turns! Good luck Kildare and keep the summer interesting.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 01/07/2018 10:49:51    2117105

Replying To Pericles:  "Fair play Kildare, better team won and I hope ye bring the conviction gained by all the events this week into the rest of the championship. Cian O'Neill played a blinder!

Mayo have intentionally sailed close to the wind at this time of the year under Rochford and the gamble was one the squad accepted. I wouldn't judge him on not delivering a provincial title as Mayo learned under the previous regimes that they couldn't sustain form from May to September.

Cacs, your statement is way off the mark. This team were just a break away from winning either of the last two finals. Don't ask Sean Cavanagh, ask any of the Dubs players or anyone close to the squad. I wish Tyrone well for the rest by the way, ye look to have improved from last year.

I don't think all of the older players will hang on for another year. I think Boyler for one doesn't have the legs. Our best performers yesterday were two younger players, Durcan and DOC, with Jason Doherty and AOS also putting in decent shifts. Andy also did a good job showing for the ball, but hadn't brought the shooting boots. Conditions were tough and both teams should be congratulated for the effort they put into a good game of football.

Lastly I think we should rededicate St Conleth to be the patron saint of U-turns! Good luck Kildare and keep the summer interesting."
Agreed this day was coming we rode our luck too many times. That will probably be rochford gone and he should have won an all Ireland but for mistakes in each final. If he was to stay on he would have to change his philosophy a bit. Hopefully we can all have a rest and recharge all our batteries for another big push next year. Good luck to Kildare better team on the day and hope that ye keep going and have a good run and in the future start to compete at the highest levels in the future.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 01/07/2018 11:09:57    2117116

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "sure where are mayo going?...such a cliche to write off a team...sure won't they be back like every other county taking part in the championship...or are they taking a break for a few years...maybe heading over to play in the asian football championship??"
If you don't know what I meant by that post or in particular the line you requoted then obviously you don't have a true understanding of the what team games work, after a result like yesterday's a few players could retire a few more might take a break from the game with the result that it might deplete the squad for a year or two. I seriously hope this doesn't happen this Mayo as I have already stated I have serious respect for them and I think the rest of the championship will be poorer by their absence but well done to Kildare for getting the win and best of luck to them for the remainder of the championship!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 01/07/2018 11:13:36    2117119

Replying To yew_tree:  "Congrats to Kildare, now go make the super 8's.

As for us...you get the feeling it's the end of an era butbMayi football is not dead..:we will
Be back. Up Mayo forever and keep the faith"
Very unlucky with injuries this year

You lost Keegan/O'Connor for an extended period and they didn't look like their previous best

Then Parsons horror injury and then off the back of that losing S O'Shea.. that's your starting midfield. That can't be underestimated and Mayo have a good panel but not enough to absorb the loss of those lads

Still think 2019 will see one final big push as long as you hold onto most of the current panel

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/07/2018 11:21:07    2117124

An absolutely brilliant game, easily the best game of the championship so far. The effort of both teams was incredible, the players a credit to their counties. Diarmaid O'Connor playing on with cramp summed it up. Its a pity there had to be a loser.

Kildare were terrific especially Paul Cribbin and Kevin Feely. If Kildare can keep this going they could be a match for anyone. I fancy them to get to the Super 8s as I don't think any of the provincial losers are up to much except Roscommon.

I felt for Mayo, they actually played well but just weren't efficient enough in front of goals. I still feel Mayo will be one of the top sides in the next few years but could do with a few more younger lads to come through. Surely its time to give the likes of Conor Loftus and Evan Regan an extended run in the team. This Mayo team are the most entertaining team in the history of the GAA, they have been involved in some classic games.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 01/07/2018 11:22:26    2117125

Finished earlier this year than normal. Tipp would have bate youse last day but for a flukey goal. Perennial underachievers and probably the County most of Ireland root for each year.

Nothing to do with injuries. Can't put me finger on it but the lapses over the decades are telling a story. And saying 'great Dublin, Kerry, Meath teams ba'te us just doesn't cut it.

Something has to change or expect more of the same. Great football but...........................

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 01/07/2018 11:32:31    2117129