Kildare V Mayo

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They quit !"
After a slight nudge?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/06/2018 21:31:52    2116946

Just home and I'd say fans and players are still on the field. Longest 7 minutes of my life wherever the hell he got them. Hard luck Mayo.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 30/06/2018 21:38:23    2116950

Replying To jimbodub:  "Sounds like some game

Didn't see it as was in Parnell Park watching the lads beat Meath :)

Mayo losing their starting midfield pairing was always going to be hugely difficult to get over and I expected them to come under big pressure once they met a good team..

Happy for Kildare and happy they got rid of Mayo. That's a compliment!! Sick of the sight of Mayo.. unreal team.

Not a bad night at all.

Mayo were on some journey abut tbh I don't think much of Rochford and his record but his job was made even more difficult losing Parsons and S O'Shea.. there was a Cavan man on here thinking it was no big deal.. dear oh dear

They can't be underestimated.. huge gaping hole left by their absense

Well done Kildare. Well done indeed."
Of course I meant Pairc Tailteann Dear oh dear I've PP on the brain or the cyber knife radio surgery I had last month fried a few more neurons than expected ?

Anyway well done Kildare

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/06/2018 21:43:05    2116951

Well done Cian O'Neill and Kildare, great night for Leinster football but respect to that Mayo team I hope that's not the last of them they've given us some great games of football over the last few years and will definitely go down as one of the great teams never to win an all Ireland!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 30/06/2018 21:44:19    2116953

Congratulations to Kildare, great game. Super result.

Commiserations to Mayo, as a county you have had some great days on this team, they own yee nothing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2018 21:48:29    2116957

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "After a slight nudge?"
Indeed. But I think they should have called the players bluff who said they'd go on strike.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 30/06/2018 21:56:30    2116960

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Well done Cian O'Neill and Kildare, great night for Leinster football but respect to that Mayo team I hope that's not the last of them they've given us some great games of football over the last few years and will definitely go down as one of the great teams never to win an all Ireland!"
sure where are mayo going?...such a cliche to write off a team...sure won't they be back like every other county taking part in the championship...or are they taking a break for a few years...maybe heading over to play in the asian football championship??

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/06/2018 22:01:31    2116962

Delighted for Kildare they were much the better team and should have won by more. Phantom point Mayo got thankfully didnt have an imput.
I have to say Kildare county board and Cian O'Neil played a blinder this week. I honestly have no doubt dispite how well Kildare were today but if that game was in croker Mayo would have won. Thankfully kildare stood up to the bully money driven boys got fair play and gave a performance to back up the fuss they caused all week. Mayo will probably be back once they get a proper manager in

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 30/06/2018 22:02:01    2116963

A lot of cowards on this thread and elsewhere this week saying if Kildare lost they would look foolish. In other words waiting for the result of the game to judge. Irrespective of the result tonight it was the right course of action by Kildare. The victory merely underlines that.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 766 - 30/06/2018 22:09:46    2116967

Well done Kildare and hard luck Mayo. Far too many of the Mayo team didn't play well at all and were very flat all the way through, D O Connor was my man of the match and ran himself into the ground, Aidan O Shea played well and Patrick Durcan kicked 4 great points. It was nearly left to Andy Moran to do anything good up front in the second half and Mayo still only lost by 2 points. It looks very much the end of the road for this mayo team and its hard to see too many of the younger lads making the step up to compete for all Irelands over the next few years so a bit of a sad day for Mayo football

galwayfootball1 (Galway) - Posts: 251 - 30/06/2018 22:13:38    2116970

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Delighted for Kildare they were much the better team and should have won by more. Phantom point Mayo got thankfully didnt have an imput.
I have to say Kildare county board and Cian O'Neil played a blinder this week. I honestly have no doubt dispite how well Kildare were today but if that game was in croker Mayo would have won. Thankfully kildare stood up to the bully money driven boys got fair play and gave a performance to back up the fuss they caused all week. Mayo will probably be back once they get a proper manager in"
Fair play to Kildare. I actually think Kildare would have probably won more handy in Croke Park. Mayo had to win out West, the qualifier route almost cost them last year, and that route this year had banana skins all over the place. Unfortunately they picked up some injuries on the way. But for a very lucky goal last week against Tipp they'd have probably already seen the exit door. Mayos squad is pushing on, they've been on the road a while and haven't really blooded any new forwards of Cillian/Andy's standard. That and injuries they were always gonna get caught. The Super 8's would have been just as tough for them. If the Super 8 format is the preferred format, any team going through qualifiers will need a massive squad. If you are in the qualifiers, you probably dont have one.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 30/06/2018 22:18:35    2116975

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "sure where are mayo going?...such a cliche to write off a team...sure won't they be back like every other county taking part in the championship...or are they taking a break for a few years...maybe heading over to play in the asian football championship??"
Bit of an identity crisis there mayotyroneman?

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 30/06/2018 22:18:58    2116976

Congratulations to Kildare. Vindication !!!!

Tough luck Mayo but the better team won. Would love to see Kildare make the Super 8s now.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 30/06/2018 22:23:50    2116981

Well done Kildare hard luck to mayo, just goes to show how important home advantage is.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/06/2018 22:25:46    2116983

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "sure where are mayo going?...such a cliche to write off a team...sure won't they be back like every other county taking part in the championship...or are they taking a break for a few years...maybe heading over to play in the asian football championship??"
Of course they'll be competing but there are a couple of key players like Moran, Boyle and Higgins who are coming to the end. These are some of the best players Mayo have ever produced and won't be easily replaced. They have been contenders for 6-7 years now with more or less the same team without winning the big prize. I think Mayo will still be strong for a while yet but realistically their chance of an All Ireland is gone for the foreseeable future IMO.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 30/06/2018 22:31:57    2116987

Replying To mightydubs:  "Can't say how happy i am to see mayo caught out, they where cleaned out in midfield and bar durcan and moran they where hopeless, hopefully that'll be that with that team. Where was Keegan tonight"
It's a shame after such a great contest, that there are still so called GAA fans that can spout this sort of nonsense.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 30/06/2018 22:47:47    2116993

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well done Kildare. Ye took the bs from the columnist today. (Ose again embarrassing himself with his lack of knowledge outside of Kerry) Delighted for you. And I don't say that often lol. Lillywhite1 my old friend, I couldn't be happier for you. This day has been a long time coming. Finally Kildare have arrived."
alright man calm down.. it was a qualifier.. the way you're going on you'd swear they won an all ireland ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/06/2018 22:51:16    2116994

Replying To Malonemagic:  "A lot of cowards on this thread and elsewhere this week saying if Kildare lost they would look foolish. In other words waiting for the result of the game to judge. Irrespective of the result tonight it was the right course of action by Kildare. The victory merely underlines that."
Nobody could have looked foolish after that Game. Two teams who played in sweltering heat and scores 21...19... Points. Fair play to both teams. Shows the importance of Home Venue to Kildare.. at least 3..4 points. What have the Dubs beaten Mayo by in last few all Irelands at home??

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/06/2018 22:55:18    2116997

Fully vindicated

EddieL (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 30/06/2018 23:09:17    2117001

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Delighted for Kildare they were much the better team and should have won by more. Phantom point Mayo got thankfully didnt have an imput.
I have to say Kildare county board and Cian O'Neil played a blinder this week. I honestly have no doubt dispite how well Kildare were today but if that game was in croker Mayo would have won. Thankfully kildare stood up to the bully money driven boys got fair play and gave a performance to back up the fuss they caused all week. Mayo will probably be back once they get a proper manager in"
So nearly everybody agrees about the importance of getting a Home Venue! But 31 Counties are still willing to travel to Dubs Home Venue to play them in All Irelands and Semis for the last 100 years and they are afraid to say anything??

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 30/06/2018 23:17:20    2117004