Kildare V Mayo

Kildare seems to have got one over on Croke Park this time. I wonder though will they pay the price for it in the long run when they need to look for funding etc.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 28/06/2018 17:27:30    2116475

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "What's the story with the cairde maigheo members which I think is basically the mayo version of the parnell pass do they get tickets aswell ? I read somewhere there is over a thousand of them"
Yeah they are all being looked after too but I don't know if that is part of the 1,500 or not

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 28/06/2018 17:36:07    2116480

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "What's the story with the cairde maigheo members which I think is basically the mayo version of the parnell pass do they get tickets aswell ? I read somewhere there is over a thousand of them"
Cairde members all looked after (im one myself). I know a good few who got tickets online, the lHuge passionate Mayo crowd will be in Newbridge on Sat eve...can't wait

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 28/06/2018 17:45:58    2116484

Replying To handpassking:  "Hats off to o Neill the players and the county bd. They stood United and not an inch given. Right over might. I applaud ye Kildare. Same attitude and even with yet respective limitations ye can prevail.

This stance has put manners on the self righteous, arrogant bullies in croke park. Power to the people!"
It hasn't I believe, as such self-inflated egos will be plotting ways to ensure their decisions, however ludicrous, are not challenged in the future. What this stance hopefully will do though is to give other counties maybe a kick-up the arse so that in future they will stand up for their rights and make the GAA somewhat like a democratic association again.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 28/06/2018 17:55:06    2116489

Replying To Royalio11:  "Although I am delighted for the outcome on grounds of principle, I feel there will be repercussions from this debacle.

The GAA may very well add a subtle clause into future Qualifier draws forever more which will eliminate cases like this week.

For example:

First team drawn out of the bowl will have home advantage *

* if the home stadium is capable of safely accommodating a fixture estimated in excess of 20,000 persons.

That will put the argument to bed unfortunately"
Not really. You want to punish a team for not having a big enough stadium. What happens if 10,000 is all that shows at the 20,000 stadium. This was the case with the Waterford Tipp game in Limerick. Walsh Park has a capacity of 14,000 and could have safely handled the 10,000 that went to Limerick. Home games are to facilitate the home supporters and not the opposition.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 28/06/2018 18:09:26    2116492

Replying To jimbodub:  "It'll be more like a Mayo home game by the sounds of ticket allocations

Looking at the numbers could be as high 6 thousand Mayo fans

It'll be more Castlebar than Newbridge

Ah well sure Mayo fans were always going to outnumber Kildare fans either way.. but a little more jarring seeing as Kildare are at home.

Probably many of the Kildare players first ever experience playing a senior championship game there and they look up to see mostly green and red.."
I think we have your thoughts on it by now Jimbo. Time to let it go. You plainly don't agree with the stance we took but don't really want to come out and say it. We fought for the decision, are proud of the outcome, we own it whatever happens. Mayo were favourites before any of it, still are. But the victory Kildare had this week won't be forgotten regardless. I'm sure there will be plenty of keyboard warriors hovering over their laptops on Saturday evening to trot out their prepared script telling us how wrong we were to insist on Newbridge should we loose. Not all victories are won on football pitches though. Might do a couple on here no harm to remember that.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/06/2018 18:43:11    2116498

Replying To kildare73:  "I think we have your thoughts on it by now Jimbo. Time to let it go. You plainly don't agree with the stance we took but don't really want to come out and say it. We fought for the decision, are proud of the outcome, we own it whatever happens. Mayo were favourites before any of it, still are. But the victory Kildare had this week won't be forgotten regardless. I'm sure there will be plenty of keyboard warriors hovering over their laptops on Saturday evening to trot out their prepared script telling us how wrong we were to insist on Newbridge should we loose. Not all victories are won on football pitches though. Might do a couple on here no harm to remember that."
I've seen and heard plenty of people say that Kildare might have won the battle but Mayo will win the war when they beat us on Saturday.

Personally I'd say it's the other way round.

Chances are Mayo would be beating us if the game was played in Cian O'Neills back garden.

For years fans of all counties have been giving out about the GAA and some of the decisions they make.

Messing around with age grades, keeping the top tier of hurling a closed shop, poor fixture planning, favouring some counties over others, inconsistencies in the rule book, the Sky deal, ticket prices and much, much more.

But how many county boards or fans stood up to them? Or tried to make their voices heard in standing up for what they believed in?

Kildare; the county board, team management and the fans did just that.

Hopefully others see that you don't always have to toe the line and that there are times when smaller counties can stand up and be counted.

That's the war that's there to be fought.

The match on Saturday is just a small battle.

Yet no doubt certain columnists are already getting ready to stick the boot into us in Sunday's papers. Each of them sticking to same HQ approved script.

Kildare; bad. Counties who bend over and do what they're told; good.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 28/06/2018 19:40:56    2116513

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "I've seen and heard plenty of people say that Kildare might have won the battle but Mayo will win the war when they beat us on Saturday.

Chances are Mayo would be beating us if the game was played in Cian O'Neills back garden.

For years fans of all counties have been giving out about the GAA and some of the decisions they make.

Messing around with age grades, keeping the top tier of hurling a closed shop, poor fixture planning, favouring some counties over others, inconsistencies in the rule book, the Sky deal, ticket prices and much, much more.

But how many county boards or fans stood up to them? Or tried to make their voices heard in standing up for what they believed in?

Hopefully others see that you don't always have to toe the line and that there are times when smaller counties can stand up and be counted.

Yet no doubt certain columnists are already getting ready to stick the boot into us in Sunday's papers. Each of them sticking to same HQ approved script.

Kildare; bad. Counties who bend over and do what they're told; good."
Well said!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/06/2018 19:55:48    2116517

Kildare lads, what pubs would you recommend for a few pints before the match?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 29/06/2018 09:42:48    2116603

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "I've seen and heard plenty of people say that Kildare might have won the battle but Mayo will win the war when they beat us on Saturday.

Kildare; bad. Counties who bend over and do what they're told; good."
Excellent post.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 29/06/2018 10:20:35    2116613

Replying To the_walls:  "Kildare lads, what pubs would you recommend for a few pints before the match?"
Be careful down there man. Its not recommended to go down to Newbridge and trying to mingle with the locals with the anticipated crowd trouble and riots set to take place around the ground

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 29/06/2018 10:24:48    2116616

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Be careful down there man. Its not recommended to go down to Newbridge and trying to mingle with the locals with the anticipated crowd trouble and riots set to take place around the ground"
And that's only on a Tuesday!:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 10:43:01    2116624

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Be careful down there man. Its not recommended to go down to Newbridge and trying to mingle with the locals with the anticipated crowd trouble and riots set to take place around the ground"
Coffeys Main Street opposite st conleths is a famous GAA pub

EddieL (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 29/06/2018 11:40:46    2116643

Replying To the_walls:  "Kildare lads, what pubs would you recommend for a few pints before the match?"
Coffeys naturally. On the Main St just accross from the pitch. A great sports pub..GAA nad horses naturally.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 29/06/2018 11:49:59    2116646

Replying To jimbodub:  "It'll be more like a Mayo home game by the sounds of ticket allocations

Looking at the numbers could be as high 6 thousand Mayo fans

It'll be more Castlebar than Newbridge

Ah well sure Mayo fans were always going to outnumber Kildare fans either way.. but a little more jarring seeing as Kildare are at home.

Probably many of the Kildare players first ever experience playing a senior championship game there and they look up to see mostly green and red.."
How childis. Having a p*ssing contest over who has the most fans. If the match was in Croker there would be at least 15,000 Mayo fans and orobably 3000 Kildare. Kildare support is a fraction of what it was ion the late 90s. As will mayo's oe day when this Golden generation of players are gone.
Kildare know they have a better chance of beating Mayo in Newbridge rather than Croke Park irrespective of who has the biggest crow. That said Mayo will still win and its 100% guaranteed they will be playing in Salthill next weekend.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 29/06/2018 11:57:13    2116648

Is there truth in this talk of a complete Mayo takeover at St Conleth's?
They've done this before with talk of 'taking the Hill' when playing the Jacks at HQ.

If talk could win All Ireland's...

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 29/06/2018 12:36:05    2116660

Replying To Manstein:  "How childis. Having a p*ssing contest over who has the most fans. If the match was in Croker there would be at least 15,000 Mayo fans and orobably 3000 Kildare. Kildare support is a fraction of what it was ion the late 90s. As will mayo's oe day when this Golden generation of players are gone.
Kildare know they have a better chance of beating Mayo in Newbridge rather than Croke Park irrespective of who has the biggest crow. That said Mayo will still win and its 100% guaranteed they will be playing in Salthill next weekend."
A lot of waffle in here. To say Kildare would bring 1/5 of Mayo's support to Croker is lunacy and to give them a 100% chance of winning is as much. Personally I don't see Mayo winning this one..

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 29/06/2018 14:00:17    2116682

Replying To Sweetspot:  "A lot of waffle in here. To say Kildare would bring 1/5 of Mayo's support to Croker is lunacy and to give them a 100% chance of winning is as much. Personally I don't see Mayo winning this one.."
Mayo better win it. There's a handful (thankfully) of lads on here with their "what did playing at home do for now?" scripts written already. Be awful to disappoint them!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 29/06/2018 14:11:01    2116690

Replying To kildare73:  "Mayo better win it. There's a handful (thankfully) of lads on here with their "what did playing at home do for now?" scripts written already. Be awful to disappoint them!!"
Very true. Don't think any Kildare man thinks playing in Croker is for the better though, don't mind them after that.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 29/06/2018 14:46:15    2116702

Replying To Wests_Awake:  "Is there truth in this talk of a complete Mayo takeover at St Conleth's?
They've done this before with talk of 'taking the Hill' when playing the Jacks at HQ.

If talk could win All Ireland's..."
I'm sure if and when you lads finally get to play a couple of games in Croker there will be plenty of guff out of you too.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 29/06/2018 15:33:04    2116720