Kildare V Mayo

Replying To kildare73:  "It's grand honestly! We just surround the place with our cars and turn on the headlights full! Sure we've done it before!!"
Old school, I like it !! wishing Kildare all the best Sat evening.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 27/06/2018 22:49:51    2116211

Replying To carlowman:  "And... All counties will have less money from GAA as a result. That's how it works ! Kildare got their way... Legal heads had Croker over a barrel. Now what is the result... No game in Croke Park at all... Fewer fans in Newbridge... So less money... I think people need to move on and look at the big picture... And what about the fans... How many will be able to get a ticket for Newbridge ? If the match was in Croke Park I could go... Not a chance of me getting one for Newbridge !"
The bigger picture is that the GAA is the 8th wonder of the world in what it has achieved as a deeply community based, egalitarian, volunteer organisation and its whole system and values are under threat from a growing cohort of direct and indirectly paid individuals that have lost touch with the Association's ideals.

I would cheerfully sacrifice less money if it means we have an Association that returns to its roots, revokes the Sky deal, shows respect for the CPA and its clubs and stops the bullying of County Boards on venues such as we have seen in Waterford / Wicklow/ Roscommon and Kildare this year.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 27/06/2018 23:14:09    2116219

100% behind Kildare though I still believe an Ulster side like Tyrone or Armagh WOULDN'T have received the same amount of support, sympathy and understanding from many Gaels OR many on here.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 27/06/2018 23:17:18    2116221

Although I am delighted for the outcome on grounds of principle, I feel there will be repercussions from this debacle.

The GAA may very well add a subtle clause into future Qualifier draws forever more which will eliminate cases like this week.

For example:

First team drawn out of the bowl will have home advantage *

* if the home stadium is capable of safely accommodating a fixture estimated in excess of 20,000 persons.

That will put the argument to bed unfortunately

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 27/06/2018 23:42:39    2116233

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Old school, I like it !! wishing Kildare all the best Sat evening."
Haha thanks mate. Tough luck on Paddy McBrearty by the way. Fantastic player.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2018 23:46:36    2116236

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Kildare have won the battle alright but they won't win the war.
Heard a former GAA president on the radio yesterday evening saying they should fulfill the fixture in Croke Park or there might be consequences down the road for Kildare. Ooh , now you've gone and done it."
It is sport and not a war. Anyone, anyone , that says Kildare are culpable in this fiasco is no better that this official threatening consequences because the rules are going to be followed as they themselves set out. Gaa top brass want to make rules as they go along. (Trump like). The danger is that rank and file are going to agree with them as we see from some posters on here. Democracy has disappeared long ago from the GAA and the words of this former president is proof of it. The one that said it is going to be played in Croke Park and that is final must be now hiding under a rock with egg all over his face.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 27/06/2018 23:49:55    2116237

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Kildare have won the battle alright but they won't win the war.
Heard a former GAA president on the radio yesterday evening saying they should fulfill the fixture in Croke Park or there might be consequences down the road for Kildare. Ooh , now you've gone and done it."
It is sport and not a war. Anyone, anyone , that says Kildare are culpable in this fiasco is no better that this official threatening consequences because the rules are going to be followed as they themselves set out. Gaa top brass want to make rules as they go along. (Trump like). The danger is that rank and file are going to agree with them as we see from some posters on here. Democracy has disappeared long ago from the GAA and the words of this former president is proof of it. The one that said it is going to be played in Croke Park and that is final must be now hiding under a rock with egg all over his face.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 27/06/2018 23:50:24    2116238

Replying To Canuck:  "What does all this say about the shafting Waterford got this year with home venue. Kildare are right not to allow the rules be bent when it suits the top brass."
I agree completely, you were shafted not once, not twice but the third time with the ghost goal. However we now see that if ye had insisted on playing your home games in Walsh Park the suits might have gave in eventually.

No point in bringing this up now, the horse has bolted and the ordinary Waterford punter should put pressure on their club delegates to round on your County Board come your Annual Convention.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 28/06/2018 00:34:42    2116253

Fair play to all in Kildare for putting those bufoons in Croke Park in their place with no thanks to the Cavan board who are now heading with their tails between their legs to Enniskillen..

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 28/06/2018 00:58:33    2116255

Replying To mayo_123:  "after all this now I do think big pressure on cian o neill and kildare to perform or this could come back to haunt them here's looking forward to a great game"
What could come back to haunt him? The game will be the game. Win or lose, he'll know that he gave his team a better chance of being successful by getting the game played at home.
Mayo are still strong favourites and that won't change.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 28/06/2018 01:00:21    2116256

The answer to one question round 4 of the qualifiers will be neutral venues.
Mayo would beat Kildare if in Croke Park but in Newbridge it's a hard one to call, Mayo seem to hate playing in any county venue unless it's a large venue like Limerick, Thurles or Croke Park, we have struggled in Salthill, Ennis and Castlebar in the past so I expect the same on Saturday

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 28/06/2018 09:29:33    2116291

Got to say this is an interesting fixture. I thought that Kildare had their mojo back in the last 2 games.

I feel that they could have pulled a big result here, and still can. But this pitch affair has mixed things up, particularly the fact that mayo backed Kildare on the home venue issue.

That may give them a good psychological edge. Hard to say for sure, but I feel this will swing the game in mayo's favour.

I am looking forward to this one as these are 2 teams I always like to watch in the championship because of the drama they bring.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/06/2018 09:45:51    2116298

Kildare need to use all of this hoo-ha as motivation, adopt a siege mentality and treat this game like it's an All Ireland final.

And if they do the latter then there's every chance that it will be Mayo that won't show up for the fixture.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 28/06/2018 10:27:05    2116313

Are we expecting Mayo supporters to outnumber, Kildare supporters here. There must be 5k Mayo fans with Season tickets and whoever comes on tickets on general sale. after all the talk of home advantage seems a bit weird that away team may actually have more supporters at the game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 28/06/2018 11:10:20    2116334

Replying To MillerX:  "I agree completely, you were shafted not once, not twice but the third time with the ghost goal. However we now see that if ye had insisted on playing your home games in Walsh Park the suits might have gave in eventually.

No point in bringing this up now, the horse has bolted and the ordinary Waterford punter should put pressure on their club delegates to round on your County Board come your Annual Convention."
Waterford County board had no part in the ghost goal or the four games in a row but could have some b-lls about where they would and will play our home games.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 28/06/2018 13:48:41    2116412

Replying To Royalio11:  "Although I am delighted for the outcome on grounds of principle, I feel there will be repercussions from this debacle.

The GAA may very well add a subtle clause into future Qualifier draws forever more which will eliminate cases like this week.

For example:

First team drawn out of the bowl will have home advantage *

* if the home stadium is capable of safely accommodating a fixture estimated in excess of 20,000 persons.

That will put the argument to bed unfortunately"
'The GAA' is actually us members! The only way that they can do that is if a motion is passed at congress. Up to counties to make sure doesnt happen.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 28/06/2018 14:12:36    2116416

Replying To TheUsername:  "Are we expecting Mayo supporters to outnumber, Kildare supporters here. There must be 5k Mayo fans with Season tickets and whoever comes on tickets on general sale. after all the talk of home advantage seems a bit weird that away team may actually have more supporters at the game."
3,500 Mayo season tickets and 1,500 tickets to be distributed to Mayo clubs. That's 5,000 Mayo fans out of the 8,200 capacity straight away!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 28/06/2018 14:34:50    2116425

Facethepuckout I am with you. OUR association is embracing the corporate model line hook and sinker. We know the price of everything now and the value of nothing in the immortal words of Oscar wilde.

Principles, morals values are with o Leary in the grave to paraphrase W B Years.

handpassking (Galway) - Posts: 433 - 28/06/2018 15:09:04    2116435

Replying To the_walls:  "3,500 Mayo season tickets and 1,500 tickets to be distributed to Mayo clubs. That's 5,000 Mayo fans out of the 8,200 capacity straight away!"
What's the story with the cairde maigheo members which I think is basically the mayo version of the parnell pass do they get tickets aswell ? I read somewhere there is over a thousand of them

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 28/06/2018 15:22:11    2116438

It'll be more like a Mayo home game by the sounds of ticket allocations

Looking at the numbers could be as high 6 thousand Mayo fans

It'll be more Castlebar than Newbridge

Ah well sure Mayo fans were always going to outnumber Kildare fans either way.. but a little more jarring seeing as Kildare are at home.

Probably many of the Kildare players first ever experience playing a senior championship game there and they look up to see mostly green and red..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/06/2018 15:57:16    2116445