Kildare V Mayo

can they put in extra seating

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 27/06/2018 13:03:47    2115933

I can also confirm that the Cavan v Tyrone has been moved to Brewster Pk Enniskillen

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 27/06/2018 13:05:55    2115934

Replying To BigToeJoe:  "Right guys I have it from a man in the know...the game KILDARE v MAYO will now be at NEWBRIDGE following legal advice given to the GAA. A Kildare businessman was prepared to foot the bill of Court action this Friday if GAA HQ didn't comply with the rules. Well done to Kildare Co GAA !!"
Perhaps the business man could give the Kildare CB a few quid to build a proper stadium

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 27/06/2018 13:06:56    2115935

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder will this act as major motivation now for Kildare?

The Kildare fans are unified and raring to go...

A large vocal home support could be big factor especially if Kildare get off to a good start, I think that'll be vital for them and the team could grow in confidence.

Mayo will need to start well to dull the home support.

It's become an even more difficult game for Mayo. They were bog average for 3/4 of the game against Tipp.. think if Mayo produce more of the same that Kildare could build up speed and it won't be easy to stop that momentum

Kildare fans you have a huge part to play coming up..

Now it's time to vent that frustration or are yiz only good behind a keyboard?"
I'd say you'd be epic at delivering the Al Pacino rally from Any Given Sunday... get down to Newbridge Saturday to deliver it ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/06/2018 13:17:20    2115938

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Do you have information that Mayo refused to play the game in Newbridge. It was my belief that Mayo had stated they would play the game wherever they were asked to. In which case Mayo were just collateral damage in this little spat between Kildare and the Gaa. On a separate note I was one of the approximately nine thousand Mayo fans who made the six hour round trip to Thurles at the weekend to support our team. How many of those fans, and indeed Kildare fans will be able to support their teams in Newbridge. There is a lot of talk about season ticket holders as if the thousands of fans, who have been unable to buy season tickets for several years, are somehow lesser supporters. In all the talks of "principles" and "putting it up to the Gaa" it is the fans of both teams who are the real losers."
It's not Kildare's fault that Mayo have sold 3500 season tickets. Nor is it Kildare's fault Mayo have a huge following. Kildare are competing in a Championship and have the right to seek the advantage which they got through the rules. Kildare are also entitled to look after the local community who are vital in allowing Kildare GAA to compete. In no other sport does a team lose home advantage in a big game due to capacity concerns. Yes if there are health and safety concerns and the ground cannot facilitate the game fair enough. Newbridge is fit to host this game and Kildare should make no apology to Mayo GAA or the GAA itself at being unable to cater for the 9000 Mayo fans who went to Thurles. Kildare's priority is rightly their own community by rewarding them with a home game which will bring all sorts of benefits to the local area. Of course in a sporting context, remember this is a football match they want the best chance of getting through to round 4. Kildare will be very hard to beat in a passionate Newbridge.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 27/06/2018 13:18:10    2115939

It's a pity the Waterford county board did not have balls like Kildare and insist on their right to play their home games at home. Double standards again on display from the GAA.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 27/06/2018 13:33:13    2115947

Fair play to Kildare for sticking to their guns, as for the result I think Mayo will beat them wherever the game was played, at least this knocked the suits in croker back on their heels, grab all association.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2749 - 27/06/2018 13:35:05    2115949

Replying To sam1884:  "It's not Kildare's fault that Mayo have sold 3500 season tickets. Nor is it Kildare's fault Mayo have a huge following. Kildare are competing in a Championship and have the right to seek the advantage which they got through the rules. Kildare are also entitled to look after the local community who are vital in allowing Kildare GAA to compete. In no other sport does a team lose home advantage in a big game due to capacity concerns. Yes if there are health and safety concerns and the ground cannot facilitate the game fair enough. Newbridge is fit to host this game and Kildare should make no apology to Mayo GAA or the GAA itself at being unable to cater for the 9000 Mayo fans who went to Thurles. Kildare's priority is rightly their own community by rewarding them with a home game which will bring all sorts of benefits to the local area. Of course in a sporting context, remember this is a football match they want the best chance of getting through to round 4. Kildare will be very hard to beat in a passionate Newbridge."
I actually agree with all of that except for the end. When you refer to a passionate Newbridge I presume you are referring to passionate in favour of Kildare? Well that won't be the case. It looks like all Mayo season tickets holders (including Cairde Maigh Eo) will be sorted. I've gotten an email and there is no indication that any season tickets holders won't be looked after. That's the guts of 5,000. I'd imagine I'm being generous here but lets say Kildare have 1,000 season ticket holders. That's 2,300 left for general sale. I would imagine Mayo fans will get their hands on half of them. That means 2,150 Kildare fans in a crowd of 8,300.

I applaud Kildare on sticking to their guns and getting the game moved back to Newbridge, where it should rightfully be if that is what Kildare want as they were drawn as the home team. But if anyone thinks this will result in a noisy, partisan home support, they are wrong.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/06/2018 13:39:05    2115952

Replying To the_walls:  "I actually agree with all of that except for the end. When you refer to a passionate Newbridge I presume you are referring to passionate in favour of Kildare? Well that won't be the case. It looks like all Mayo season tickets holders (including Cairde Maigh Eo) will be sorted. I've gotten an email and there is no indication that any season tickets holders won't be looked after. That's the guts of 5,000. I'd imagine I'm being generous here but lets say Kildare have 1,000 season ticket holders. That's 2,300 left for general sale. I would imagine Mayo fans will get their hands on half of them. That means 2,150 Kildare fans in a crowd of 8,300.

I applaud Kildare on sticking to their guns and getting the game moved back to Newbridge, where it should rightfully be if that is what Kildare want as they were drawn as the home team. But if anyone thinks this will result in a noisy, partisan home support, they are wrong."
Also have to take into account the number of tickets, players ,officials from each county board ,sponsors etc get so that could be even a smaller number of kildare people at the game and also seen that the people who bought tickets through gaa website for croke park have an option to buy tickets for this game and let's be honest the mayo people that bought them will take up that option and not many if any kildare fans would of bought them for the croke park game.
They will be gold dust but that's not the point and I'm sure kildare county board and the kildare fans will know that ,the important thing here is fairness won today and a lesson has been sent to the gaa that people can't and will not be bullied ,fair play kildare for standing your ground ,I'm looking forward to a few pints watching this game on sat

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 27/06/2018 13:46:27    2115959

Replying To Belclare1:  "Ye have to go out now and beat Mayo.. prove this whole saga was worth standing for...."
Rubbish! It was worth standing for regardless. Nobody should allow themselves to be pushed around by the bigwigs in Croke Park. You can't rewrite a rule two minutes after a draw. The game is a different issue. Now let the best team win.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2018 13:48:22    2115962

Replying To sam1884:  "It's not Kildare's fault that Mayo have sold 3500 season tickets. Nor is it Kildare's fault Mayo have a huge following. Kildare are competing in a Championship and have the right to seek the advantage which they got through the rules. Kildare are also entitled to look after the local community who are vital in allowing Kildare GAA to compete. In no other sport does a team lose home advantage in a big game due to capacity concerns. Yes if there are health and safety concerns and the ground cannot facilitate the game fair enough. Newbridge is fit to host this game and Kildare should make no apology to Mayo GAA or the GAA itself at being unable to cater for the 9000 Mayo fans who went to Thurles. Kildare's priority is rightly their own community by rewarding them with a home game which will bring all sorts of benefits to the local area. Of course in a sporting context, remember this is a football match they want the best chance of getting through to round 4. Kildare will be very hard to beat in a passionate Newbridge."
Sam if Kildares priority is their own community they should have provided them with a proper stadium and then all these other things would follow

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 27/06/2018 13:56:08    2115968

Kildare have won the battle alright but they won't win the war.
Heard a former GAA president on the radio yesterday evening saying they should fulfill the fixture in Croke Park or there might be consequences down the road for Kildare. Ooh , now you've gone and done it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/06/2018 13:57:26    2115969

Replying To riverboys:  "Fair play to Kildare, Mayo co board are ye listening, grow a pair and stand up for your county, where were ye in 2014 and again 2017 when Mayo supporters were complaining about travelling 3-4 hrs for a game in Limerick while the opposition travelled 1 hour and this was classed as a neutral venue halfway between both counties. Ennis in Co Clare is halfway. Where was the Mayo co board? Sitting on their arse doing sweet damn all as always, no wonder nobody supports them, only a small number of people buy match day programmes in Castlebar, or buy anything in the shops, why? Because the co board only look after themselves, they blackmail clubs every time Mayo reach an All Ireland Final, clubs get 100, 80, 60 tickets or is it 80 60 40 depending on whether you are senior, inter or junior club and if you want more tickets you have to fundraise thousands so you (the club) can buy 20 more tickets. It's the likes of the Kildare management and co board that every county needs to stand up for their rights"
Travel for one hour from the Gaelic ground and you still haven't left Limerick.
I've relations in Glenbeigh(2 hrs), Caherciveen(2.5 hrs), Portmagee(3 hrs).

Time to let that one go, and hey, never let facts get in the way of a good rant.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 27/06/2018 13:58:47    2115971

Tickets no longer available on tickets.ie

Be interesting to know how many they had available but hopefully enough Kildare fans got sorted.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/06/2018 14:04:02    2115976

At ease men, as you were

Mayo by 2 after extra time. Is there floodlights in Newbridge

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/06/2018 14:04:16    2115977

Replying To the_walls:  "I actually agree with all of that except for the end. When you refer to a passionate Newbridge I presume you are referring to passionate in favour of Kildare? Well that won't be the case. It looks like all Mayo season tickets holders (including Cairde Maigh Eo) will be sorted. I've gotten an email and there is no indication that any season tickets holders won't be looked after. That's the guts of 5,000. I'd imagine I'm being generous here but lets say Kildare have 1,000 season ticket holders. That's 2,300 left for general sale. I would imagine Mayo fans will get their hands on half of them. That means 2,150 Kildare fans in a crowd of 8,300.

I applaud Kildare on sticking to their guns and getting the game moved back to Newbridge, where it should rightfully be if that is what Kildare want as they were drawn as the home team. But if anyone thinks this will result in a noisy, partisan home support, they are wrong."
The capacity is just over 8 thousand, I'm sure Kildare don't care at this stage as they have won the right to host the game in Newbridge. There is no chance any of these tickets will go on general sale. Mayo have around 3500 season ticket holders. I strongly expect their allocation will be slightly higher than that figure but not 5000. It will be upto Mayo GAA to decide how they distribute those tickets, bearing in mind season ticket holders are not guaranteed a ticket if the capacity doesn't allow it. Kildare GAA will likely receive over 4000 tickets to distribute through their clubs etc which would be the minimum expectation. As for tickets bought for Croke Park, expect a refund and the ticket becoming null and void. These tickets will be distributed almost in the same way as an All Ireland final. Kildare will have at the very least half of the tickets and there will be no problem selling them after this week, and with Mayo's support expect some atmosphere.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 27/06/2018 14:06:25    2115978

Replying To carlowman:  "Looks like Kildare will host the match after all in Newbridge...
My view is that the ground is very small for such an important fixture... the GAA has has had as its core the principle of trying to ensure that as many patrons as possible should be able to see the match live - you can't beat being there- ...

How is it possible for all Kildare and Mayo fans to fit in Newbridge...?

I remember following Eire Og from Carlow in numerous club Leinster games and Newbridge was the perfect venue - small and compact- almost no seating room- yet perfect for the 60 min match back in the 90's.

The venue has not come on since then. Tullamore and Portlaoise are superb provincial venues and I am disappointed that these were not been suggested by Kildare

If I want to go to the game as a neutral - can I get a ticket? The Kildare fan who has missed no match or the Mayo person? What about those? The limit is around 8,000 - how are the tickets going to be given out... who will have first call on them... will Mayo get half...

Kildare may have 'right' on their side but they have conveniently used the rules to bolster their chance of defeating Mayo and have said - forget about the fans... that is my interpretation as a neutral.

I think that the first consequence of this decision is that central Council will address the rules governing such fixtures in the future and ensure that counties will either nominate grounds apart from their own or that competition committees will have sole power in fixing venues.

And what about the players... has Kildare thought about those players who have not ye had the chance of playing in Croke Park - and for most players it is a definite highlight to play at headquarters.

Some commentators have suggested that this reflects a battle between the 'powers that be ' in Croke Park and the country Gael... believing that Croke Park does things for the sake of money and for Sky. Those people are deluded in my opinion. The reality is that the people in Croke Park - made up mind you of committees with particular responsibility for different sectors - are the very same as anybody else in the GAA - there for the betterment of the Association. I would fear if it were any different.

Kildare may have won the battle but I fear that they will definitely lose the war."
What an absolute load of rubbish. 1. If they GAA were so worried about people getting to see the game, why is it behind a pay wall on SKY? They don't seem too worried about people who won't see it there!
2. I went to every single match in 1998 but I couldn't get a ticket for the All Ireland final. I may never ever see Kildare in an All Ireland final in my lifetime again but thems the breaks following your county. You may not get a ticket every single time.
3. Of course you fight for home venue to improve your chances of beating the other team. That's gone on since sport began, are you expecting us to apologise for it?? Maybe your county should have done the same last year when playing Dublin. There was a strong principle at stake here and we stood up to for ourselves and we are very grateful for the support of the majority of the country for rowing in behind us. Democracy won its day as it always should.
4. Don't worry about our lads or the Mayo lads playing in Croke Park, both have played there many times before. Not to much success for our lads I will concede. But playing there is nothing new to either.
5. If "the powers that be" clean up their rules after this then so be it. Everyone will know where they stand good and early and no more making it up as you go along. If the people in Croke Park are so worried about the greater good, why were they so intent on going against what the vast vast majority of the country was telling them? Polls on any platform you like were giving Kildare 80-90% support nationally. Do Croke Park know what is better for us than we do?
6. With the support of the country we won the battle AND the feckin war!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2018 14:09:30    2115981

Regardless of law (and the GAA forgetting to put an asterick beside ''home advantage'') were kildare not contacted and asked to nominate an alternative ground which they didn't before the 12pm deadline?

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 27/06/2018 14:14:28    2115982

Well done Kildare. Ba mhaith liom chomhgardeas a dhéanamh go dtí CLG Cill dara.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 27/06/2018 14:15:28    2115984

Well done Kildare. Ba mhaith liom chomhgardeas a dhéanamh go dtí CLG Cill dara.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 27/06/2018 14:15:28    2115985