Kildare V Mayo

Looks like Kildare will host the match after all in Newbridge...
My view is that the ground is very small for such an important fixture... the GAA has has had as its core the principle of trying to ensure that as many patrons as possible should be able to see the match live - you can't beat being there- ...

How is it possible for all Kildare and Mayo fans to fit in Newbridge...?

I remember following Eire Og from Carlow in numerous club Leinster games and Newbridge was the perfect venue - small and compact- almost no seating room- yet perfect for the 60 min match back in the 90's.

The venue has not come on since then. Tullamore and Portlaoise are superb provincial venues and I am disappointed that these were not been suggested by Kildare

If I want to go to the game as a neutral - can I get a ticket? The Kildare fan who has missed no match or the Mayo person? What about those? The limit is around 8,000 - how are the tickets going to be given out... who will have first call on them... will Mayo get half...

Kildare may have 'right' on their side but they have conveniently used the rules to bolster their chance of defeating Mayo and have said - forget about the fans... that is my interpretation as a neutral.

I think that the first consequence of this decision is that central Council will address the rules governing such fixtures in the future and ensure that counties will either nominate grounds apart from their own or that competition committees will have sole power in fixing venues.

And what about the players... has Kildare thought about those players who have not ye had the chance of playing in Croke Park - and for most players it is a definite highlight to play at headquarters.

Some commentators have suggested that this reflects a battle between the 'powers that be ' in Croke Park and the country Gael... believing that Croke Park does things for the sake of money and for Sky. Those people are deluded in my opinion. The reality is that the people in Croke Park - made up mind you of committees with particular responsibility for different sectors - are the very same as anybody else in the GAA - there for the betterment of the Association. I would fear if it were any different.

Kildare may have won the battle but I fear that they will definitely lose the war.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 27/06/2018 12:08:57    2115880

Replying To the_walls:  "How do you know what I would or would not do?

You've gone off on a bit of a ramble that doesn't have much relevance to the discussion. I fully agree that Kildare should be allowed play in Newbridge, but you were making the point that Mayo should be the ones to risk their Championship involvement but you didn't mention anything about any other county having to "do the right thing" and also stand by Kildare. If you do concede that every other county should boycott their games in solidarity then fair enough, that is a consistent position, but you didn't make that clear, you simply singled out Mayo, who are a totally innocent party in this debacle."
Totally innocent party ,well why didn't they agree to play in Newbridge and none of this debate would have happened 'anyway The powers that be at Croke Park have come to realise that rules r rules .I am so pleased for Kildare for fighting for their rights ,no matter how the game goes good luck to both teams .

gaanervous (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 27/06/2018 12:09:41    2115882

Congrat's to Kildare. Now go out and beat Mayo.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 27/06/2018 12:10:02    2115884

Bit of a mess alright but Croker are to blame here for their poor communication.

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 27/06/2018 12:17:44    2115889

Replying To carlowman:  "Looks like Kildare will host the match after all in Newbridge...
My view is that the ground is very small for such an important fixture... the GAA has has had as its core the principle of trying to ensure that as many patrons as possible should be able to see the match live - you can't beat being there- ...

How is it possible for all Kildare and Mayo fans to fit in Newbridge...?

I remember following Eire Og from Carlow in numerous club Leinster games and Newbridge was the perfect venue - small and compact- almost no seating room- yet perfect for the 60 min match back in the 90's.

The venue has not come on since then. Tullamore and Portlaoise are superb provincial venues and I am disappointed that these were not been suggested by Kildare

If I want to go to the game as a neutral - can I get a ticket? The Kildare fan who has missed no match or the Mayo person? What about those? The limit is around 8,000 - how are the tickets going to be given out... who will have first call on them... will Mayo get half...

Kildare may have 'right' on their side but they have conveniently used the rules to bolster their chance of defeating Mayo and have said - forget about the fans... that is my interpretation as a neutral.

I think that the first consequence of this decision is that central Council will address the rules governing such fixtures in the future and ensure that counties will either nominate grounds apart from their own or that competition committees will have sole power in fixing venues.

And what about the players... has Kildare thought about those players who have not ye had the chance of playing in Croke Park - and for most players it is a definite highlight to play at headquarters.

Some commentators have suggested that this reflects a battle between the 'powers that be ' in Croke Park and the country Gael... believing that Croke Park does things for the sake of money and for Sky. Those people are deluded in my opinion. The reality is that the people in Croke Park - made up mind you of committees with particular responsibility for different sectors - are the very same as anybody else in the GAA - there for the betterment of the Association. I would fear if it were any different.

Kildare may have won the battle but I fear that they will definitely lose the war."
bolster their chance of defeating Mayo?

How dare those nasty so and so's have their own interests at heart to try and do their best to beat Mayo.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/06/2018 12:21:53    2115892

I really feel for all the supporters, particularly from Mayo who won't get to see their team play now.

Also we can only pray that none of the few supporters who do get to go will get seriously injured in that terrible venue.

This is an accident waiting to happen and responsibility will lie soley with kildare!!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 27/06/2018 12:24:27    2115894

right it's back in NB

happy days..

well done kildare for standing their ground.

now let's talk about the game itself.

kildare after fighting tooth and nail for home advantage will want to show the same fight on the pitch. They will give it everything but despite mayos injuries I fully expect them to win comfortably

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2018 12:26:20    2115896

Fair play to Kildare, Mayo co board are ye listening, grow a pair and stand up for your county, where were ye in 2014 and again 2017 when Mayo supporters were complaining about travelling 3-4 hrs for a game in Limerick while the opposition travelled 1 hour and this was classed as a neutral venue halfway between both counties. Ennis in Co Clare is halfway. Where was the Mayo co board? Sitting on their arse doing sweet damn all as always, no wonder nobody supports them, only a small number of people buy match day programmes in Castlebar, or buy anything in the shops, why? Because the co board only look after themselves, they blackmail clubs every time Mayo reach an All Ireland Final, clubs get 100, 80, 60 tickets or is it 80 60 40 depending on whether you are senior, inter or junior club and if you want more tickets you have to fundraise thousands so you (the club) can buy 20 more tickets. It's the likes of the Kildare management and co board that every county needs to stand up for their rights

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 27/06/2018 12:29:46    2115900

I wonder will this act as major motivation now for Kildare?

The Kildare fans are unified and raring to go...

A large vocal home support could be big factor especially if Kildare get off to a good start, I think that'll be vital for them and the team could grow in confidence.

Mayo will need to start well to dull the home support.

It's become an even more difficult game for Mayo. They were bog average for 3/4 of the game against Tipp.. think if Mayo produce more of the same that Kildare could build up speed and it won't be easy to stop that momentum

Kildare fans you have a huge part to play coming up..

Now it's time to vent that frustration or are yiz only good behind a keyboard?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/06/2018 12:34:57    2115904

Replying To gaanervous:  "Totally innocent party ,well why didn't they agree to play in Newbridge and none of this debate would have happened 'anyway The powers that be at Croke Park have come to realise that rules r rules .I am so pleased for Kildare for fighting for their rights ,no matter how the game goes good luck to both teams ."
Thanks for your completely disingenuous "good luck to both teams". You also clearly have some axe to grind. Mayo were 100% innocent in all of this, none of this was any of their doing. Using your logic, if Mayo weren't innocent because they didn't say they were going to Newbridge in defiance of HQ, then, bar Kildare, there isn't a single innocent county in the country, including Donegal. Not a single county came out to officially support Kildare. Not a single county came out and said that they would not fulfill their next fixture unless justice prevailed and Kildare would get to host Mayo in Newbridge. For some bizarre reason you felt that Mayo and only Mayo had an obligation to support Kildare and now, even more bizarrely, feel that Mayo are not an innocent party. Once again, you didn't once call on the Donegal county board to stand by Kildare. If you had anything about yourself at all you would acknowledge your nonsense and retract your statement.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/06/2018 12:36:27    2115907

Replying To gaanervous:  "Totally innocent party ,well why didn't they agree to play in Newbridge and none of this debate would have happened 'anyway The powers that be at Croke Park have come to realise that rules r rules .I am so pleased for Kildare for fighting for their rights ,no matter how the game goes good luck to both teams ."
And of course the debate would have happened. The match still wouldn't have been sanctioned by HQ and there would have been a risk of Mayo being chucked out, along with Kildare.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/06/2018 12:37:34    2115908

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "I really feel for all the supporters, particularly from Mayo who won't get to see their team play now.

Also we can only pray that none of the few supporters who do get to go will get seriously injured in that terrible venue.

This is an accident waiting to happen and responsibility will lie soley with kildare!!"
I'm assuming this is tongue in cheek. Otherwise, I'd recommend checking the dosage of whatever it is you've been prescribed.

How is letting 8K people watch a match in a ground that's declared safe to host that number an accident waiting to happen?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2042 - 27/06/2018 12:43:57    2115911

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "I really feel for all the supporters, particularly from Mayo who won't get to see their team play now.

This is an accident waiting to happen and responsibility will lie soley with kildare!!"
Kildare CB will be extra vigilant and hopefully there will be additional stewards and officials available on the day

Apparently the Gardai and H&S authorities only signed off on the game being played there if strict guidelines are adhered to. Let's hope all that is in place and that all supporters do their part.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/06/2018 12:44:12    2115912

Right guys I have it from a man in the know...the game KILDARE v MAYO will now be at NEWBRIDGE following legal advice given to the GAA. A Kildare businessman was prepared to foot the bill of Court action this Friday if GAA HQ didn't comply with the rules. Well done to Kildare Co GAA !!

BigToeJoe (Fermanagh) - Posts: 186 - 27/06/2018 12:47:44    2115915

This weekend won't be the first time Newbridge has hosted big games with a full house and there has never been anyone seriously hurt or any issue wirh the health and safety at All, as far as I'm aware anyway. It if really was health and safety etc then the GAA wouldn't have agreed to move it back, that was just a nonsense excuse to cover their tracks.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/06/2018 12:48:01    2115916

Do you have information that Mayo refused to play the game in Newbridge. It was my belief that Mayo had stated they would play the game wherever they were asked to. In which case Mayo were just collateral damage in this little spat between Kildare and the Gaa. On a separate note I was one of the approximately nine thousand Mayo fans who made the six hour round trip to Thurles at the weekend to support our team. How many of those fans, and indeed Kildare fans will be able to support their teams in Newbridge. There is a lot of talk about season ticket holders as if the thousands of fans, who have been unable to buy season tickets for several years, are somehow lesser supporters. In all the talks of "principles" and "putting it up to the Gaa" it is the fans of both teams who are the real losers.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 27/06/2018 12:50:26    2115919

Well done Kildare, hugely proud of you. (Now there's a sentence I never thought I'd write ) lol.
Anyway this is not only a victory for Kildare, it is a victory for all ordinary members of the gaa .
Well done Kildare for showing true bottle. Got to say that took some courage to stand up for what was right. I'm particularly grateful to O'Neill. And the fact that they refused the Croke Park money to shut them up.
Well done again, and I hope you go on now and win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2018 12:53:56    2115924

I was just thinking ,could Croke Park organise a concert or Maybe an American baseball or something else for Saturday to make up the money they might lose by switching the game or games .Any suggestions welcomed .

gaanervous (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 27/06/2018 12:56:36    2115928

Just got an email there as i had bought tickets for the double header in Croker, all tickets will be refunded and opportunity through a link to buy a limited number of tickets for the game in Newbridge, four per person max.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/06/2018 13:02:43    2115931

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder will this act as major motivation now for Kildare?

The Kildare fans are unified and raring to go...

A large vocal home support could be big factor especially if Kildare get off to a good start, I think that'll be vital for them and the team could grow in confidence.

Mayo will need to start well to dull the home support.

It's become an even more difficult game for Mayo. They were bog average for 3/4 of the game against Tipp.. think if Mayo produce more of the same that Kildare could build up speed and it won't be easy to stop that momentum

Kildare fans you have a huge part to play coming up..

Now it's time to vent that frustration or are yiz only good behind a keyboard?"
Tbh I can't see too many kildare fans there to play their part on Saturday ,5000 mayo season ticket holders including cairde mayo members have to be sorted before any else and that doesn't leave a lot of tickets for the rest of kildare and mayo fans

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 27/06/2018 13:02:54    2115932