Kildare V Mayo

RTE reporting the rumor that it will be confirmed for Newbridge.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/06/2018 11:34:21    2115839

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Wrong.. There is and agreement between the Connaght Counties that only the Hyde,Salthill and McHale can hold Finals going back donkeys years rightly or wrongly. So when Sligo reached the final they were never due home advantage they were given the option of which of the three grounds they wanted to play game in. They have no reason to upgrade their venue at present until they want to change the rule preventing them holding home finals should they reach them"
Nothing to do with finals, if Sligo or Leitrim or Longford ever make the super 8s then they will gave to forfeit their home venue if they were drawn to play the likes of Dublin, counties with large support, the GAA came up with an idea to cash in on TV rights so super 8 came up, now if a smaller county makes it then we are right back to the Newbridge situation again, if Kildare make the super 8 will they be allowed to play Dublin or Donegal in Newbridge. Every county deserves to have top class venues, if Mayo had to play Donegal in a neutral venue why wouldn't Sligo be a perfect place if it was a bigger venue

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 27/06/2018 11:34:21    2115840

Common sense prevailing if true.

Wouldn't expect McGill or Quinn to backtrack on their comments though so hopefully Saturday in Newbridge doesn't resemble Hillsborough or a Millwall - West Ham game...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/06/2018 11:34:42    2115842

Never been more proud to be a Kildare man!!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 27/06/2018 11:36:14    2115845

Replying To gaanervous:  "Yes I am ,I come back to the rules and what's good for the goose is good for the gander,and as u r referring to Donegal the Ulster Champions the only game shown on RTÉ was the final involving Donegal and the game was also shown on BBC ,but unlike RTÉ they didn't switch over almost immediately to Dublin and Laois .As regards Kildare and Cavan it will always be a disadvantage to play Tyrone and Mayo in Croke Park as both r playing there more often .I am not a follower but I admire their bravery in standing up to the powers in the GAA when they break their own rules .No their is no pieces to that ruling that when your team is picked out first it is automatically a home venue regardless of the ground,'s capacity .It also happened in the Donegal championship a few years ago ,so rules r rules otherwise Neil McGee could have played for Donegal last Sunday and if it happened to your County u would be the first one to be protesting ."
How do you know what I would or would not do?

You've gone off on a bit of a ramble that doesn't have much relevance to the discussion. I fully agree that Kildare should be allowed play in Newbridge, but you were making the point that Mayo should be the ones to risk their Championship involvement but you didn't mention anything about any other county having to "do the right thing" and also stand by Kildare. If you do concede that every other county should boycott their games in solidarity then fair enough, that is a consistent position, but you didn't make that clear, you simply singled out Mayo, who are a totally innocent party in this debacle.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 27/06/2018 11:38:17    2115850

Kildare have stood up to the GAA and things need to change from now on. All delegates need to be careful what they agree from Autumn onwards as the GAA will not take this kindly. I suspect they will attempt to revisit the legal text to ensure they are not put in this position again and have the scope to do as they please. Saturday will be some match, very tough game for Mayo as Kildare will be flying for this game now.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 27/06/2018 11:38:40    2115851

No problem missing out on tickets for this one.

Don't think we'd beat Mayo regardless of where the game is played but this feels like a massive win already and Newbridge is guaranteed to be rocking.

Tickets.ie no longer have tickets available for the Cavan - Tyrone game so I'm sure there'll be a lot of fun refunding people for that and trying to organise tickets for another venue in 3 days.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 27/06/2018 11:38:44    2115852

Whatever chance we have of winning the game it's the first time I've seen our county board and management show real strength in doing what was right.
It's a good day for the GAA.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 27/06/2018 11:39:03    2115853

Ye have to go out now and beat Mayo.. prove this whole saga was worth standing for....

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 27/06/2018 11:40:58    2115854

Fair play to Kildare for standing up to the bullies that are GAA administrators and getting just reward. Kildare broke no rules, they simply adhered to the rules the GAA set out, it was them that broke there own rules! The next battle on the horizon is the venues for the Super 8's! A similar protest is needed to stop Dublin getting TWO games in Croke park while everyone else gets one! It will be interesting to see if say Tyrone draw Dublin at home, will the poor Dubs have to slum it up in Healy Park!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 27/06/2018 11:42:59    2115855

Replying To gaanervous:  "That's a disgraceful remark to say about any County ,would u like someone to say that about Clare ,somehow I doubt it ."
Cusack Park is hardly a luxury venue either.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 27/06/2018 11:47:27    2115859

All I can say is well done kildare gaa. I really couldn't see either side backing down..I think it's the right decision

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 27/06/2018 11:49:28    2115861

An offaly man here at work just said getting to newbridge on sat and trying to find parking will resemble trying to get to Pearce stadium during the Galway races ,surely it will be sound or else the guards wouldn't of said it would be ?
Couple of mayo lads here at work just said will be grand sure will just leave a good but earlier the typical irish response ha.
So glad with the outcome of this well done kildare for not backing down

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 27/06/2018 11:49:39    2115862

Replying To cousinjohnjoe:  "kildare match confirmed for newbridge, cavan are going to insist their match is in kingscourt, rachel wyse is on google maps as we speak trying to find kingscourt."
Is Rachel Wyse heading for Kingscourt? Hasnt been a finer woman in that town since Susan McCann played Murtaghs lounge in 1995

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 27/06/2018 11:49:51    2115863

Can they install more seating I know Connacht have done this for big matches

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 27/06/2018 11:57:40    2115868

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Fair play to Kildare for standing up to the bullies that are GAA administrators and getting just reward. Kildare broke no rules, they simply adhered to the rules the GAA set out, it was them that broke there own rules! The next battle on the horizon is the venues for the Super 8's! A similar protest is needed to stop Dublin getting TWO games in Croke park while everyone else gets one! It will be interesting to see if say Tyrone draw Dublin at home, will the poor Dubs have to slum it up in Healy Park!"
Only a Meath man could shoehorn the Dubs into a thread about Kildare v Mayo ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/06/2018 12:00:47    2115870

Replying To kildare73:  "Never been more proud to be a Kildare man!!!"
every right to be, fair play to all concerned, good day for GAA.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 27/06/2018 12:02:48    2115872

Clearly HQ's legal team didn't fancy their chances if this issue escalated to court!

Delighted for Kildare, hopefully it's a great game now.

I'd say Headquarters will be holding a grudge against Kildare over this one for a while, every referee will be instructed to screw the Lilys ;)

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 27/06/2018 12:07:03    2115876

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "An offaly man here at work just said getting to newbridge on sat and trying to find parking will resemble trying to get to Pearce stadium during the Galway races ,surely it will be sound or else the guards wouldn't of said it would be ?
Couple of mayo lads here at work just said will be grand sure will just leave a good but earlier the typical irish response ha.
So glad with the outcome of this well done kildare for not backing down"
That Offaly man is taking out of his hat. Nobody drives through or parks in Newbridge who is going racing in the Curragh.

Fantastic stuff if this is true. Well done Cian & The Board. There's a few on here left with a sour taste in their mouth. Be interesting to see which of them are big enough to hold their hands up & apologise.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 27/06/2018 12:07:53    2115878

It's not often the GAA listen, so well done to Kildare!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/06/2018 12:08:00    2115879