Kildare V Mayo

Kildare seriously need to grow up here and turn up at croke park to take their beating.

The key point of this is that Kildare's home venue is a dump. They need to sort that out first themselves before they start threatening to give walkovers when the advantage is taken from them. This is entirely kildare's own fault and the GAA are 100% correct.

Kildare gaa should be embarrassed with their home ground and their tough guy actions...

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 27/06/2018 10:58:57    2115798

Replying To the_walls:  "And Donegal should do the honourable thing and tell HQ that they will not fulfill their next fixture unless the Kildare v Mayo is fixed for Newbridge. Mayo have done absolutely nothing wrong but for some reason there is lads like yourself who want Mayo to wade into a dispute that is not in any ways Mayo's making, to show solidarity with Kildare but don't seem to think that the burden of solidarity should rest with anyone else, least of all their own county. So are you, or are you not, calling on all other counties, including Donegal, to stand by Kildare?"
Yes I am ,I come back to the rules and what's good for the goose is good for the gander,and as u r referring to Donegal the Ulster Champions the only game shown on RTÉ was the final involving Donegal and the game was also shown on BBC ,but unlike RTÉ they didn't switch over almost immediately to Dublin and Laois .As regards Kildare and Cavan it will always be a disadvantage to play Tyrone and Mayo in Croke Park as both r playing there more often .I am not a follower but I admire their bravery in standing up to the powers in the GAA when they break their own rules .No their is no pieces to that ruling that when your team is picked out first it is automatically a home venue regardless of the ground,'s capacity .It also happened in the Donegal championship a few years ago ,so rules r rules otherwise Neil McGee could have played for Donegal last Sunday and if it happened to your County u would be the first one to be protesting .

gaanervous (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 27/06/2018 11:01:27    2115800

Replying To Solo_Run:  "For the umpteenth time.

Not sure if you are following the thread - its in there. Not inclined to post it again.

There are TWO contradictory statements in the rules. Kildare picked the one the wanted and ignored the other. So they are 50% right, not 100%. Its open to interpretation. You cant quote one rule and not the other.

No doubt about it they have a case. But they are NOT automatically entitled to home venue because the rules are flawed/contradictory. My main point was they way the went about it when it was open to interpretation was at best clumsy.

(By the way - any questioning of Kildare is not support for the big bad corporates against the "grassroots" that some on here would have everyone believe). Its a sporting organisation we belong to not a cult."
What are the tow contradictory statements. I know the one in S.6 28 about Round 3 fixtures but what contradicts that?

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 27/06/2018 11:06:45    2115805

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Kildare seriously need to grow up here and turn up at croke park to take their beating.

The key point of this is that Kildare's home venue is a dump. They need to sort that out first themselves before they start threatening to give walkovers when the advantage is taken from them. This is entirely kildare's own fault and the GAA are 100% correct.

Kildare gaa should be embarrassed with their home ground and their tough guy actions..."
That's a disgraceful remark to say about any County ,would u like someone to say that about Clare ,somehow I doubt it .

gaanervous (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 27/06/2018 11:11:56    2115807

Anyone know the makup of the CCCC. I do know that the four provincial secretaries are members automatically.
The Connacht secretary is John Prenty
The same person that was instruemental in trying to move the Connacht final out of Hyde Park to Castlebar.
Presumeably he would have excused himself from any part in the CCCC decision on Monday?

Wouldnt he?

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 27/06/2018 11:13:01    2115810

Replying To TurnipHead.:  "Many are describing Kildare are showing great courage by digging their heels in over the venue for Saturday's Qualifier against Mayo but I see it differently. I think that the Lilywhites by refusing to travel to Croke Park shows a lack of respect for the GAA bosses at HQ. The decision reached to have the Kildare v Mayo at the larger Croke Park capacity venue provides more opportunity for both sets of fans to gain entry rather than at the inadequate provision of the Kildare stadium. In addition, Croke Park facilitates better the GAA major contributor, Sky Sports for their screening of both games on that evening.

I say, that the GAA HQ should stick their heels in and sit this impasse out and let Kildare forfeit the game if they wish. Maybe if that outcome happened then that would teach the Lilywhites and indeed others in the future that the GAA's decisions have to take precedence for the greater good."
I agree with you Turnip on your take on this saga. I believe Kildare has lost the plot on this one as it is extremely unlikely that the GAA will backdown as that would show weakness from the top. I think Kildare is using this 'standoff' as a distraction knowing full well that my neighbouring team will eliminate them from the c'ship come Saturday evening. I have nothing personal against Kildare but my view is simply rational thinking.

WestRules (Galway) - Posts: 269 - 27/06/2018 11:14:04    2115813

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Kildare seriously need to grow up here and turn up at croke park to take their beating.

Kildare gaa should be embarrassed with their home ground and their tough guy actions..."
O the KEY point here is Kildare were first out of the hat and that means home advantage. Especially as the powers that be didn't condem their ground before the draw was made.
What does it matter if the ground holds 8500 or 85000?
What I sincerely hope happens is that Kildare stick to their guns.
Mayo turn up and kick the ball wide wouldn't that be interesting????

Inaroundehouse (Cavan) - Posts: 975 - 27/06/2018 11:15:50    2115814

Match set for Newbridge on Saturday at 7pm

Fair play to Kildare.

The law was on their side.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 27/06/2018 11:18:32    2115815

Replying To Inaroundehouse:  "O the KEY point here is Kildare were first out of the hat and that means home advantage. Especially as the powers that be didn't condem their ground before the draw was made.
What does it matter if the ground holds 8500 or 85000?
What I sincerely hope happens is that Kildare stick to their guns.
Mayo turn up and kick the ball wide wouldn't that be interesting????"
I believe Newbridge it is a good decision.
I like your last line Inandaroundehouse!

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 27/06/2018 11:22:36    2115820

Confirmed for Newbridge at 7pm now

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 27/06/2018 11:23:13    2115822

GAA has a only hours left to do the right thing here before terminal damage is done, let the game go ahead anyplace in Kildare that meets the standards, Mayo will crush them anyway.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 27/06/2018 11:24:26    2115824

People power has won the day, game is in Newbridge

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 27/06/2018 11:25:19    2115825

Ha delighted for Kildare, the GAA have made an absolute show of themselves here. To be so gung ho and then back down is hilarious.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 27/06/2018 11:26:35    2115828

Looks like Kildare have their home game. Delighted that common sense has prevailed and fair dues to them for sticking to their guns

shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 118 - 27/06/2018 11:27:25    2115829

Newbridge at 7pm confirmed. Brilliant news and well done Kildare GAA for standing your ground.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 27/06/2018 11:27:46    2115830

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Stand yer ground KIldare, We did it.
Its yer home game not to be dictated by politics and money."
kildare match confirmed for newbridge, cavan are going to insist their match is in kingscourt, rachel wyse is on google maps as we speak trying to find kingscourt.

cousinjohnjoe (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 27/06/2018 11:27:50    2115831

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Stand yer ground KIldare, We did it.
Its yer home game not to be dictated by politics and money."
kildare match confirmed for newbridge, cavan are going to insist their match is in kingscourt, rachel wyse is on google maps as we speak trying to find kingscourt.

cousinjohnjoe (Cavan) - Posts: 34 - 27/06/2018 11:28:31    2115832

Hurling expert, have you been to Cusack Park Ennis recently? Now that was a H & S risk the day of the Clare v Limerick match.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 27/06/2018 11:30:37    2115834

Replying To Manstein:  "Anyone know the makup of the CCCC. I do know that the four provincial secretaries are members automatically.
The Connacht secretary is John Prenty
The same person that was instruemental in trying to move the Connacht final out of Hyde Park to Castlebar.
Presumeably he would have excused himself from any part in the CCCC decision on Monday?

Wouldnt he?"
I wouldn't go as far to say instrumental in trying to move the Connacht final out of Hyde Park.

Roscommon Co board have known for a long time 3 years even that the grounds are not up to the standard to hold such a fixture and have done nothing about it.
instead of spending money on the fancy new bus it would have been more in their interests to make the ground suitable for holding a Connacht final.
Anyways Roscommon after all the fuss still lost to a poor Galway team on the day.

Hunter077 (Roscommon) - Posts: 52 - 27/06/2018 11:32:00    2115836

Good stuff

Well done!!

Now back to football and hopefully Kildares preparations haven't been badly impacted

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/06/2018 11:34:20    2115838