Munster Final Kerry Or Cork?

I expected a 10 point win by Kerry but in hindsight what have Cork done in recent years not to expect tonight's embarrassing outcome. Languishing in Division 2, could have even made the drop to Div 3!!!! No success at underage level compared to Kerry's unreal Minor successes . Even Nemo's spectacular collapse in the club series. Amazed by some commentary on tonight's whitewash. Kerry got plenty of criticism in Kerry from their own supporters in recent years but they are entitled to have a lean period with their history. Again, the underage successes are now showing fruition and the rest of the country should be very afraid. Finally, it is definitely true Kerry is a football county in a Hurling Provence!

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 23/06/2018 21:37:02    2114018

no need to bash Galway and Connacht football now, Mayo were the big winners today, Munster is gone.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 23/06/2018 21:48:02    2114023

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "no need to bash Galway and Connacht football now, Mayo were the big winners today, Munster is gone."
Cork would still probably give Galway and Mayo a good game..probably beat them. That's the sad thing

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 23/06/2018 22:19:02    2114044

Replying To MesAmis:  "Foregone conclusion it certainly isnt.
KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 669 - 23/06/2018 14:59:42

You expecting Laois to canter home to victory tomorrow too?"
I did say i expected us to win if you want were fair enough to show the full post.

Why dont you contact the bookmakers to complain then who had the handicap at -4. If you think thats a foregone conclusion then good man.

Laois on the other hand are -15 and playing away from home. Easy for you to be a know it all after the match is over.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 23/06/2018 22:27:21    2114046

Depressing match. Honestly as bad as I can remember as a Cork supporter. We are now in one of those cyclical dark periods in Cork football that can go on for a decade or more before a critical mass of good players (due to sheer player numbers) rescues us from stone age mismanagement at county board level. Cork are probably better than they showed today and not as good as the Tipperary game suggested. We are a lower level division 2 team ranked about 10th in the country. This young Kerry team looks ominous as their transition period may well be ending. Cork look like they will be lost for another 5-10 years. One silver lining is that due to the softness of Munster a half decent Cork team can be a regular fixture in the super 8s over the coming years. But they will have serious work to do and players to find to be a half decent team...

findra (Cork) - Posts: 40 - 23/06/2018 23:01:28    2114058

Not embarrassed by this result. I predicted it. Take no joy in that. If we win the hurling next week against Clare, then this result will be whitewashed in the memory of Cork GAA folk. And Cork football will continue into the abyss.

These players, though many nó where near good enough, have given up loads to play for Cork. Many other players who perform better in county championships just don't bother. I don't blame them.

Kerry have better players. They have a better system and culture. Darren O'Sullivan gives up his job to play with Kerry full time. David Clifford gets 'persuaded' not to go to Australia... Cork players get...

Someone asked 'if this is the best Cork have?'.. Well it isn't. But it's not embarrassing either. It is just inter County football and after tomorrow, nobody will even be talking about it here.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/06/2018 23:16:46    2114064

There is no real surprise in this result. Cork had a shocking league and were luck to retain their status in division 2. Kerry and Dublin are at the same level. Cork and Meath are at the same level. Dublin would inflict a similar assault to Meath as Cork received from Kerry this evening.

There is serious blame at the hands of this and the previous management teams over the past few years in their failure to transform successive relatively successfully minor and U21 teams into a competitive senior side. Billy Morgan initial tenure delivered 2 All-Ireland's which should have been 3 except for Tommy Sugrue. His seconds tenure laid the foundations for the All-Ireland in 2010.

The only inspiration Cork Football can take is from Galway who were struggling for several years but appear to finally be on the right path through good, well respected and organised management.

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 23/06/2018 23:19:41    2114068

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Cork would still probably give Galway and Mayo a good game..probably beat them. That's the sad thing"
Probably beat them? Cork would be 4th best team in Connacht, and I wouldn't put much money on them beating Sligo either.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2043 - 23/06/2018 23:33:31    2114076

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "I expected a 10 point win by Kerry but in hindsight what have Cork done in recent years not to expect tonight's embarrassing outcome. Languishing in Division 2, could have even made the drop to Div 3!!!! No success at underage level compared to Kerry's unreal Minor successes . Even Nemo's spectacular collapse in the club series. Amazed by some commentary on tonight's whitewash. Kerry got plenty of criticism in Kerry from their own supporters in recent years but they are entitled to have a lean period with their history. Again, the underage successes are now showing fruition and the rest of the country should be very afraid. Finally, it is definitely true Kerry is a football county in a Hurling Provence!"
Ya we are in a hurling province and we're trying to do the best we can in hurling to get ourselves up to the level to take on the big boys in Munster hurling, so what's ye'r excuse in football?

I'm not giving out to you but Cork have the footballers to win an allireland and I can gaurentee you that, but ye haven't got a manager to get ye there.

If ye had a jim mcguinness a James horan or a pat gilroy or even a jack O'Connor ye'd win an allireland .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2018 02:01:06    2114091

Cork are one game away from the S8's.

Lets just take that in.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 24/06/2018 09:44:24    2114118

Replying To TheUsername:  "Cork are one game away from the S8's.

Lets just take that in."
A trip down to Pairc Ui Chaoimh for our away game would be brilliant, excellent city for a night or two away.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/06/2018 10:05:32    2114123

Lets just take that in."
What's the story with that? Whelo was saying on the Saturday game last night that if Cork win their next game they have us down in PUC, is that correct?

I know the provincial winners play each other next in the the super 8's but I didn't realize there's a path made out for the qualifier teams aswell, I just thought it would be an open draw for the 4 qualifier teams that make it to the super 8's?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2018 10:07:58    2114126

Lets just take that in."
So are Laois, Fermanagh (division 4 and 3 respectively).

Also there is not a 'super 8'..

With that in mind, what is your point?

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/06/2018 10:20:50    2114134

Sad to see the hindsight heroes out in force, 'Ah Cork are terrible, I knew they'd win by that amount' which fails to take into account the handicap was 3 points before the game yet I bet these 'heroes' didn't put their money where their mouth was

While the 2nd half of the game was bitty and scrappy - Modern Football if you will, the 1st half particularly the first 25 minutes was absolutely exhilarating and thrilling to watch. Free flowing, open attacking man on man Football from both teams it was Manna from heaven for the pure Footballing traditionalists!!!! I'm glad the commentators enjoyed it and hope neutrals did too!

That first 25 minutes was akin to the legendary Hagler Hearns fight in 1985 - fast, furious , breathless the only pity from the spectator point of view was that Cork didn't take all their goal chances the excitement would have lasted much longer if they had

Furthermore lets be open and honest they got a number of very bad calls against them (including their best player in those 25 minutes) and lets not forget they were missing Powter their best player as well as their top 4 forwards not fit to start. The hindsight heroes would do well to realise any team bar maybe you know who would struggle to survive with those impediments , we certainly would have

I know you'll have people saying ''Oh the Kerry defence is terrible, gives up too many goal chances'' which is fine but I'd rather play the Kerry way rather than resort to defensive and cynical play which we tried before and failed dismally as it's just not in our DNA to do so.

We should just play the Kerry Way and if it leads to success marvellous and if not keep trying to play the honourable way and not be forced into 'modern football' 'sweepers' and 'tactics' because it's a self defeating cycle

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 24/06/2018 10:27:36    2114137

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "Cork would still probably give Galway and Mayo a good game..probably beat them. That's the sad thing"
wow, if Cork are as good as that they will get the chance to beat those counties really soon as they have to win only one game to get to playoffs. Best to Cork football.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 24/06/2018 11:14:09    2114149

Replying To clondalkindub:  "What's the story with that? Whelo was saying on the Saturday game last night that if Cork win their next game they have us down in PUC, is that correct?

I know the provincial winners play each other next in the the super 8's but I didn't realize there's a path made out for the qualifier teams aswell, I just thought it would be an open draw for the 4 qualifier teams that make it to the super 8's?"
The provincial runners up can't be in the same group as the winners of their province so Cork (or the team that beats them) will be in the same group as the two that emerge from Dublin / Laois / Fermanagh / Donegal.

Similarly the runners up from Leinster and Ulster or the teams that beat them will be in with Galway and Kerry.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/06/2018 11:41:09    2114159

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Sad to see the hindsight heroes out in force, 'Ah Cork are terrible, I knew they'd win by that amount' which fails to take into account the handicap was 3 points before the game yet I bet these 'heroes' didn't put their money where their mouth was

While the 2nd half of the game was bitty and scrappy - Modern Football if you will, the 1st half particularly the first 25 minutes was absolutely exhilarating and thrilling to watch. Free flowing, open attacking man on man Football from both teams it was Manna from heaven for the pure Footballing traditionalists!!!! I'm glad the commentators enjoyed it and hope neutrals did too!

That first 25 minutes was akin to the legendary Hagler Hearns fight in 1985 - fast, furious , breathless the only pity from the spectator point of view was that Cork didn't take all their goal chances the excitement would have lasted much longer if they had

Furthermore lets be open and honest they got a number of very bad calls against them (including their best player in those 25 minutes) and lets not forget they were missing Powter their best player as well as their top 4 forwards not fit to start. The hindsight heroes would do well to realise any team bar maybe you know who would struggle to survive with those impediments , we certainly would have

I know you'll have people saying ''Oh the Kerry defence is terrible, gives up too many goal chances'' which is fine but I'd rather play the Kerry way rather than resort to defensive and cynical play which we tried before and failed dismally as it's just not in our DNA to do so.

We should just play the Kerry Way and if it leads to success marvellous and if not keep trying to play the honourable way and not be forced into 'modern football' 'sweepers' and 'tactics' because it's a self defeating cycle"
I don't really understand this. After about 9 mins the game was over as a contest. I really felt for Cork watching it. Just like in Leinster this level of dominance is not healthy. Kerry are potentially gonna do a Dublin and just win every Munster title at a canter for the next 10 to 15 years.

Also Kerry did play with a blanket defence. It was only when they got caught out early on that they didn't have numbers back. When Cork had the ball Kerry left the full forward line up on their own and everyone else came back to setup a blanket defence.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 24/06/2018 12:09:06    2114163

Cork management will have to take a lot of the blame for this fiasco.

I listened (through gritted teeth) for the first 25 minutes to Martin Carney on RTE waxing lyrical about how open the game was, free-flowing, etc and how great that was. Meanwhile I was watching a Cork team who were being carved open with every Kerry attack and who couldn't manage to get the ball over the halfway line.

To go out to play a team as good as Kerry, a team far far superior in football skill terms, by trying to out shoot them was mental. It was like watching two armies go into battle, one (Kerry) with tanks and every other modern military advantage and the other (Cork) armed with swords and old muskets. To win, or to have any chance in last night's game, Cork needed to be (a) more organised than Kerry, (b) stop Kerry scoring (meaning have some kind of defensive system better than man to man), (c) work harder than Kerry, (d) more disciplined than Kerry, (e) make the game be played on their own terms and (f) still rely on a good amount of good fortune to win. Cork did none of these.

I saw someone mention how it was like Hagler v Hearns. It was nothing of the sort. It was Mike Tyson in his heyday against Barry McGuigan, and McGuigan had decided he'd stand in front of Tyson and try to knock him out. After a couple of early punches, Tyson inevitably beat the living hell out of him. To have any chance to win, the inferior opponent must play the game on their own terms and not on the terms of the superior team. Make the game about things you can win and then outwork the superior team to do better. Standing in front of a bigger, stronger, better opponent and taking them on at their own game? There's only one result there.

Sure, Kerry are a better team. Sure, they'd most likely have won no matter the Cork tactics on the night. But to go out and play man-on-man against the most skilful set of forwards in the country? In one way it's kinda brave, but is so stupid that it almost amounts to not trying. The Cork management had lost their marbles last night and were on the receiving end of a walloping they deserved.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 24/06/2018 13:03:00    2114173

Unfortunately for them it will be a long time until Cork win anything substantial at football.

But sure really that's nothing new. Kerry to dominate Munster. Can easily see a 10 in a row

Hurling their best bet for the considerable future.

That was embarrassing stuff but let's see if they can bounce back.

Kerry and Galway will be great games and looking forward to them. Enjoyed the football Kerry produced last night and they will no doubt take some serious beating.

They've some of the best forwards in the country but have to be honest I still see top teams scoring against them.

Dublin equally as talented up front, Kilkenny playing in closer now and in O'Callaghan and Basquel two top end additions on par with Clifford/OShea but for me Dublin are no doubt superior defensively. Especially now with Small, McCaffrey and O'Sullivan back. Lowndes playing great stuff. Then you have the main stay lads and support cover.

Kerry aren't there defensively yet and I think Galway will prove very difficult. Comer running directly at Kerry.. can see massive issues there

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/06/2018 13:15:04    2114178

Like most people, I thought that Cork would put up a better show than they did or were allowed to do. One thing for certain, the Kerry game plan will be well picked apart before the Super 8s begin. That of course doesn't mean they should change it (the Dubs don't), and if the players are that good no one will live with them anyway.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 24/06/2018 13:26:58    2114180