No Palestinian Flags

Replying To Richieq:  "Well flying their native flag on a terrace in Navan or any other GAA ground isn't going to do much good for them!!!! I was in Pairc Tailteann when that man was arrested, it happened in front of me and the behaviour of him was atrocious, his lack of respect towards other spectators and members of An Garda Siochana was awful, trust me if Palestine wants him as an allie then they are welcome to him and his camera phone loving friends too who were only too happy to record a supposedly controversial moment and slap it up on social media. The then over the top reaction by some on social media looking for statements of explanation from Meath GAA or the "free state police force" whoever the hell they are, had been ridiculous. As far as I'm concerned GAA grounds are for GAA county flags and the tricolour, after that no Palestinian, Conferderate, Skull and Crossbones or any other type of flag should be in the place, I'm sick to death of hearing about the North and flags and now not only are they up in arms about flying the tricolour and union jack but the Palestinian flag is stuck in the middle of all. By all means show your support for the Palestinian people if you wish but keep it away from GAA grounds where people go to enjoy games in a social atmosphere and not be reminded of the worlds troubles, Christ almighty we get enough of it all on the news and social media at least give us 70 minutes free of reminders of what's wrong elsewhere."
The world's troubles "? The wee six wasn't a million miles away , so quite not surprised by your post .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:28:33    2112825

Replying To Longford1:  "I disagree. I don't see it as political at all. It's a human rights issue.
I think it is great to see that GAA people have empathy for others!
Have zero problems with it!!"
What about the rights of Israelis to live without the threat of terrorists like Hamas? Let's leave the politics outside the GAA fields. There's 2 sides to every story no matter what our Northern friends tell us.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 20:30:59    2112827

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The hypocrisy stinks to the high heavens. For decades Cork fans have flown the Confederate flag and no one batted an eyelid. The Union Jack and GSTQ are flown and played in Croke Park and again not much said. Now that she are expressing sympathy with an oppressed people the outrage and fury kicks off. There is a lot of intolerance on this site whether it be Palestine or the North."
Well said ulsterman couldn't agree more
Free free Palestine #FlyTheFlag

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:34:59    2112829

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hamas are a brutal regime, and have been the main cause of many of Palestinian people conditions.
However it is not human rights. And a sporting event is no place for that either. Many who were on the loosing side of referendum believe wholeheartedly that they standing for human rights, is it ok if they bring large posters or banners or flags to games? No sport is sport , politics is politics. Keep both separate. That includes confederate flag."
Administrators, I will take you to task on this. If GAA stadia are not the place to publicly protest the atrocities that are happening in the hell-hole that is Gaza (as you have given this individual the space to advocate), then surely this forum is not the space she should have to call a democratically elected government a brutal regime. Or does that ethos extend to Sinn Fein, fundamentally linked to the IRA, also? A bit of fair play, please!

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 18/06/2018 20:35:10    2112830

Totally agree. political or human rights issues have their own place. Not at GAA matches where people are going to enjoy a game.
Weather we agree or disagree on political or human rights issues their should be no flags or banners.

Lightroom (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 18/06/2018 20:35:16    2112831

Yes leave the political stuff out, there's a time and a place for it.

Regarding what happened in Navan, I just saw your man getting brought out the gate so can't really comment on his behaviour. But I'd be pretty confident that he wasn't kicked out for nothing and the flag wavers used this as an ideal opportunity to engineer a bit of sympathy by taking a video. You know the story = the big bad free state police force kicking out an innocent, harmless man just trying to stand up for a noble cause, loada BS.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 18/06/2018 20:35:36    2112832

Replying To ta32:  "The world's troubles "? The wee six wasn't a million miles away , so quite not surprised by your post ."
If Palestine would just have 70mins of freedom of no house demolitions and shoot to kill of nurses doctors, hospitals and UN shelters flattened no Apartheid for 70mins for freedom of movement

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:37:39    2112835

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "What about the rights of Israelis to live without the threat of terrorists like Hamas? Let's leave the politics outside the GAA fields. There's 2 sides to every story no matter what our Northern friends tell us."
Have you spoken to Israelis currently living in Ireland? Perhaps you should.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 18/06/2018 20:37:57    2112836

I don't care what flags people bring just like I don't care what they wear either. I'm not into banning stuff unless it's an obvious danger to others such as explosives or whatever. Common sense should prevail.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2126 - 18/06/2018 20:39:45    2112837

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Administrators, I will take you to task on this. If GAA stadia are not the place to publicly protest the atrocities that are happening in the hell-hole that is Gaza (as you have given this individual the space to advocate), then surely this forum is not the space she should have to call a democratically elected government a brutal regime. Or does that ethos extend to Sinn Fein, fundamentally linked to the IRA, also? A bit of fair play, please!"
Israel created Hamas to cause a split within the Palestinian parties, how much do you actually know that is factual , try reading a little more om the occupation rather than hasbara . What was Israels excuse before 1993 ? The Nakba continues

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:41:03    2112838

Replying To ta32:  "The world's troubles "? The wee six wasn't a million miles away , so quite not surprised by your post ."
Yeah and both sides there done a fair job of killing innocents and doing bank raids in the name of "war", don't give me that tripe. And for your information I never considered anyone from Ulster as a "black northerner" but all my Ulster friends, and I have many both sides of the border, want leadership and an end to the petty, selfish and childish carry on we have up there at the minute, more in the line to focus on Northern Ireland and getting the place running properly again instead of worrying about Palestinian flags.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 20:41:37    2112840

Administrators, unless this thread is purely for the purpose of a facrical political agenda please allow all view-points to be represented.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 18/06/2018 20:41:56    2112841

Replying To Richieq:  "Well flying their native flag on a terrace in Navan or any other GAA ground isn't going to do much good for them!!!! I was in Pairc Tailteann when that man was arrested, it happened in front of me and the behaviour of him was atrocious, his lack of respect towards other spectators and members of An Garda Siochana was awful, trust me if Palestine wants him as an allie then they are welcome to him and his camera phone loving friends too who were only too happy to record a supposedly controversial moment and slap it up on social media. The then over the top reaction by some on social media looking for statements of explanation from Meath GAA or the "free state police force" whoever the hell they are, had been ridiculous. As far as I'm concerned GAA grounds are for GAA county flags and the tricolour, after that no Palestinian, Conferderate, Skull and Crossbones or any other type of flag should be in the place, I'm sick to death of hearing about the North and flags and now not only are they up in arms about flying the tricolour and union jack but the Palestinian flag is stuck in the middle of all. By all means show your support for the Palestinian people if you wish but keep it away from GAA grounds where people go to enjoy games in a social atmosphere and not be reminded of the worlds troubles, Christ almighty we get enough of it all on the news and social media at least give us 70 minutes free of reminders of what's wrong elsewhere."
Totally agree. Nothing mentioned about the abuse hurled at unpaid stewards that day by same Palestinian flag wavers. Or the abuse at our gardai.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 20:45:45    2112844

Replying To MiAmigaVERONICA:  "Have you spoken to Israelis currently living in Ireland? Perhaps you should."
Haha Zionist shills Ireland4israel Williams lol ok
Have you spoken to miko peled, son of a Israeli general and who's grandfather was one of the signatures of the state of Israel, the Nakba . Be interesting if you could have his take on it . You may be enlightened.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:47:01    2112845

Replying To yew_tree:  "Your story doesent suit the narrative that the poor man was just an innocent trying to fly a flag...if your bothering or blocking the view of fellow spectators during a game then you deserve to be ejected"
The narrative was a disgrace, people who paid in asked him to lower it to watch match. Stewards asked same, and got dogs abuse. Garda asked politely too but got shocking abuse. The gardai did us proud that day. They tried everything to appease him in the end they rightfully ejected him.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 20:49:57    2112846

If people wanna bring in Palestinian flags to GAA matches go ahead. It does not bother me in the slightest. At the end of the day they are making a statement and highlighting what's going on in the region. It's a bit ironic what the Jews are doing to the Palestinian's considering what Hitler did to them during World War 2. They have short memories. Remember in the 1980,s Irish people standing up against the South Africans and boycotting their goods because of the apartheid movement. Even when the South African rugby team came over to Dublin there were anti apartheid rallies outside the old Landsdown Rd.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/06/2018 20:50:41    2112847

Replying To Htaem:  "Yes leave the political stuff out, there's a time and a place for it.

Regarding what happened in Navan, I just saw your man getting brought out the gate so can't really comment on his behaviour. But I'd be pretty confident that he wasn't kicked out for nothing and the flag wavers used this as an ideal opportunity to engineer a bit of sympathy by taking a video. You know the story = the big bad free state police force kicking out an innocent, harmless man just trying to stand up for a noble cause, loada BS."
Htaem
To be fair the Garda haven't covered themselves in glory the last few years have they?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/06/2018 20:50:50    2112848

Replying To royaldunne:  "Totally agree. Nothing mentioned about the abuse hurled at unpaid stewards that day by same Palestinian flag wavers. Or the abuse at our gardai."
"Our gardai" I wonder if Maurice McCabe and his family think off them as "our gardai"

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/06/2018 20:53:02    2112849

Replying To ta32:  "Have we forgotten our own history , if you want to put it like that and say no Palestine flags!. Maybe the Chocdaw nation were discussing how they are sick of hearing Ireland suffer and we shouldn't send no money for Aid no they stood on the right side of history and remembered for it Palestine is a issue for all of us, the Apartheid issue in Africa many in Ireland fought to have it dismantled and rightly so , we should and will fly Palestine flags , in solidarity with a people being eradicated by the state of Israel, some of the comments actually don't surprise me , as we northern counties were black northerners !. Do the decent and moral thing and fly the Palestine flag , the GAA have made a grave mistake in fighting this trying to ban the flag . Free Palestine"
Then where's the tebit flag,? the Ukraine flag? The Chechen flag? The Catalonia flag? Where does it end. Fly whatever flag outside your house. It's not welcome at gaa games. End of

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 20:54:24    2112850

Replying To royaldunne:  "The narrative was a disgrace, people who paid in asked him to lower it to watch match. Stewards asked same, and got dogs abuse. Garda asked politely too but got shocking abuse. The gardai did us proud that day. They tried everything to appease him in the end they rightfully ejected him."
Was Maurice McCabe one of the guards?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/06/2018 20:54:54    2112851