No Palestinian Flags

I'm getting sick to death of the Palestinian flags been brought to gaa games. I don't care if you agree with it or not. Gaa is not the place for displaying political messages, particularly not from another region (that has questionable human rights issues of its own people) . I'm not pro Israel either. I just want to go to a game and the only flags that should be allowed are those of the counties participating.
David gaugh wasn't allowed to wear a bracelet, micky harte got hell over his stance on referendum.
I ask all stewards to confiscate these flags on entrance or immediately when spotted. The gaa is not here for anyone's political views. Join a political party and stop going to games if that's all you go for.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 18:37:52    2112771

Totally agree. They were trying to put up a Palestinian banner in Ennis yesterday aswell. Who's behind this I wonder? Has to be some left wing group I suppose. I like that the guards are taking a hard stand against it.

PeggyShippen (Limerick) - Posts: 300 - 18/06/2018 18:49:34    2112778

I have to agree...wear your county colors...bring Your county flag and roar your county on...that's the only statement you should be making at a GAA game.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 18/06/2018 18:50:23    2112779

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'm getting sick to death of the Palestinian flags been brought to gaa games. I don't care if you agree with it or not. Gaa is not the place for displaying political messages, particularly not from another region (that has questionable human rights issues of its own people) . I'm not pro Israel either. I just want to go to a game and the only flags that should be allowed are those of the counties participating.
David gaugh wasn't allowed to wear a bracelet, micky harte got hell over his stance on referendum.
I ask all stewards to confiscate these flags on entrance or immediately when spotted. The gaa is not here for anyone's political views. Join a political party and stop going to games if that's all you go for."
I agree. An announcement should be made ahead of time that politically motivated flags are not allowed and therefore subject to confiscation. If you don't like it don't come.

bronxirish (USA) - Posts: 17 - 18/06/2018 18:54:58    2112781

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'm getting sick to death of the Palestinian flags been brought to gaa games. I don't care if you agree with it or not. Gaa is not the place for displaying political messages, particularly not from another region (that has questionable human rights issues of its own people) . I'm not pro Israel either. I just want to go to a game and the only flags that should be allowed are those of the counties participating.
I ask all stewards to confiscate these flags on entrance or immediately when spotted. The gaa is not here for anyone's political views. Join a political party and stop going to games if that's all you go for."
What about Cork and the confederate flags, you started any threads on that? Maybe these folk who are living in squalor , have few facilities and have access to water and electricity for short periods during the day appreciate folks making an effort to highlight their plight. They are squeezed into a tiny area of their own land, one taken by Israel illegally. They are attacked almost daily by one of the best equipped armies on the planet, their plight is usually ignored by the right wing media, only mentioned when a poorly made mortar is fired towards Israel.
Do you even know the history of the GAA???

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 18/06/2018 18:59:27    2112784

Replying To sean og:  "What about Cork and the confederate flags, you started any threads on that? Maybe these folk who are living in squalor , have few facilities and have access to water and electricity for short periods during the day appreciate folks making an effort to highlight their plight. They are squeezed into a tiny area of their own land, one taken by Israel illegally. They are attacked almost daily by one of the best equipped armies on the planet, their plight is usually ignored by the right wing media, only mentioned when a poorly made mortar is fired towards Israel.
Do you even know the history of the GAA???"
There are other avenues outside the GAA to advance those views.

There should be no confederate flags in GAA grounds either.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 18/06/2018 19:10:50    2112786

I disagree. I don't see it as political at all. It's a human rights issue.
I think it is great to see that GAA people have empathy for others!
Have zero problems with it!!

anlongfort (Longford) - Posts: 101 - 18/06/2018 19:13:21    2112787

The hypocrisy stinks to the high heavens. For decades Cork fans have flown the Confederate flag and no one batted an eyelid. The Union Jack and GSTQ are flown and played in Croke Park and again not much said. Now that she are expressing sympathy with an oppressed people the outrage and fury kicks off. There is a lot of intolerance on this site whether it be Palestine or the North.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 18/06/2018 19:17:58    2112789

Replying To sean og:  "What about Cork and the confederate flags, you started any threads on that? Maybe these folk who are living in squalor , have few facilities and have access to water and electricity for short periods during the day appreciate folks making an effort to highlight their plight. They are squeezed into a tiny area of their own land, one taken by Israel illegally. They are attacked almost daily by one of the best equipped armies on the planet, their plight is usually ignored by the right wing media, only mentioned when a poorly made mortar is fired towards Israel.
I actually said the confederate flags shouldn't be brought (even though they weren't been used for political reasons) , and there was a thread on it last year.
Can anyone then bring a Israeli flag in solidarity with the daily rocket attacks against them?? I'm just wondering using your logic we could all find a cause to bring different flags. What about the isis flag?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 19:27:27    2112797

Well flying their native flag on a terrace in Navan or any other GAA ground isn't going to do much good for them!!!! I was in Pairc Tailteann when that man was arrested, it happened in front of me and the behaviour of him was atrocious, his lack of respect towards other spectators and members of An Garda Siochana was awful, trust me if Palestine wants him as an allie then they are welcome to him and his camera phone loving friends too who were only too happy to record a supposedly controversial moment and slap it up on social media. The then over the top reaction by some on social media looking for statements of explanation from Meath GAA or the "free state police force" whoever the hell they are, had been ridiculous. As far as I'm concerned GAA grounds are for GAA county flags and the tricolour, after that no Palestinian, Conferderate, Skull and Crossbones or any other type of flag should be in the place, I'm sick to death of hearing about the North and flags and now not only are they up in arms about flying the tricolour and union jack but the Palestinian flag is stuck in the middle of all. By all means show your support for the Palestinian people if you wish but keep it away from GAA grounds where people go to enjoy games in a social atmosphere and not be reminded of the worlds troubles, Christ almighty we get enough of it all on the news and social media at least give us 70 minutes free of reminders of what's wrong elsewhere.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 19:27:35    2112798

Replying To Whammo86:  "There are other avenues outside the GAA to advance those views.

There should be no confederate flags in GAA grounds either."
Totally agree. Countyflags. ONLY.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 19:28:27    2112799

Replying To Longford1:  "I disagree. I don't see it as political at all. It's a human rights issue.
I think it is great to see that GAA people have empathy for others!
Have zero problems with it!!"
Hamas are a brutal regime, and have been the main cause of many of Palestinian people conditions.
However it is not human rights. And a sporting event is no place for that either. Many who were on the loosing side of referendum believe wholeheartedly that they standing for human rights, is it ok if they bring large posters or banners or flags to games? No sport is sport , politics is politics. Keep both separate. That includes confederate flag.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 19:31:42    2112801

I'm curious to know. If after the Manchester attacks etc or the London bridge. Would you have objections to someone bringing a Union Jack in solidarity with those people??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 19:33:27    2112803

Have any of ye read the GAA Official Guide? The Association has always been a politically-driven one.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/06/2018 19:41:36    2112807

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The hypocrisy stinks to the high heavens. For decades Cork fans have flown the Confederate flag and no one batted an eyelid. The Union Jack and GSTQ are flown and played in Croke Park and again not much said. Now that she are expressing sympathy with an oppressed people the outrage and fury kicks off. There is a lot of intolerance on this site whether it be Palestine or the North."
Croke Park was being used as a home venue for the Irish rugby team, England were a visiting team, in an international contest the opposition flag and anthem are played, what's the issue??? 82'300 people had no issue with the opposition flag or anthem being played on those occasions and neither did the majority of the country, it's because of a mindset like that, from both sides of the divide, that the people of Northern Ireland have disgracefully had no political leadership or devolved government for over a year!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 19:41:42    2112808

Replying To Richieq:  "Well flying their native flag on a terrace in Navan or any other GAA ground isn't going to do much good for them!!!! I was in Pairc Tailteann when that man was arrested, it happened in front of me and the behaviour of him was atrocious, his lack of respect towards other spectators and members of An Garda Siochana was awful, trust me if Palestine wants him as an allie then they are welcome to him and his camera phone loving friends too who were only too happy to record a supposedly controversial moment and slap it up on social media. The then over the top reaction by some on social media looking for statements of explanation from Meath GAA or the "free state police force" whoever the hell they are, had been ridiculous. As far as I'm concerned GAA grounds are for GAA county flags and the tricolour, after that no Palestinian, Conferderate, Skull and Crossbones or any other type of flag should be in the place, I'm sick to death of hearing about the North and flags and now not only are they up in arms about flying the tricolour and union jack but the Palestinian flag is stuck in the middle of all. By all means show your support for the Palestinian people if you wish but keep it away from GAA grounds where people go to enjoy games in a social atmosphere and not be reminded of the worlds troubles, Christ almighty we get enough of it all on the news and social media at least give us 70 minutes free of reminders of what's wrong elsewhere."
Your story doesent suit the narrative that the poor man was just an innocent trying to fly a flag...if your bothering or blocking the view of fellow spectators during a game then you deserve to be ejected

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 18/06/2018 19:45:11    2112809

Yep county flags only. Tricolours unnecessary but optional. I hear the jailor man coming with his lock and key!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 18/06/2018 19:58:20    2112815

Replying To realdub:  "Yep county flags only. Tricolours unnecessary but optional. I hear the jailor man coming with his lock and key!"
When I say the tricolour I should clarify I mean only the one flying on a flagpole that we turn too for the National Anthem, that poor flag often gets abused at sporting occasions such as wrapped around that flute of a Conor McGregor.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 18/06/2018 20:06:08    2112819

I am not bringing Palestinian flags to GAA games but I have no problem with those that do. Maybe you should just close your eyes and look away. It might come quite easily to you, I think. And I will have you remember the origins of the GAA are purely political.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 302 - 18/06/2018 20:21:05    2112821

Have we forgotten our own history , if you want to put it like that and say no Palestine flags!. Maybe the Chocdaw nation were discussing how they are sick of hearing Ireland suffer and we shouldn't send no money for Aid no they stood on the right side of history and remembered for it Palestine is a issue for all of us, the Apartheid issue in Africa many in Ireland fought to have it dismantled and rightly so , we should and will fly Palestine flags , in solidarity with a people being eradicated by the state of Israel, some of the comments actually don't surprise me , as we northern counties were black northerners !. Do the decent and moral thing and fly the Palestine flag , the GAA have made a grave mistake in fighting this trying to ban the flag . Free Palestine

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 18/06/2018 20:24:59    2112823