Ulster Team Allege Sectarian Abuse.

Replying To extranjero:  "I just read Joe's article. Particularly loved this bit....

"My father, a veteran republican, fluent Irish speaker and traditional musician steeped in all things Gaelic quipped to me during the week, " Don't be too hard on the southerners Joe, some of them are almost as Irish as we are." "

You've just gotta love anyone who co-opts specific aspects of a culture to infer their superiority over others, eh?"
109% agreed. So what if he speaks fluent Irish so what if the lad came into dressing room to give speech in Irish. What the bloody big deal. I can speak French a little and also Italian am I a better person than joes father? Time to get rid of the chip on shoulder lads. It ain't working. And only leaves you looking pathetic and needy. As for the incident itself, disgrace, however these are kids, and kids say hurtful things to other kids, perhaps it's their parents who let them down by obviously saying these type of things in first place.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 07:54:47    2112487

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very well said.

It's the same way the loyalists carry on up there..

They try so hard to be British. Ultra British!! Banging drums and marching about the place.. Look at me! Look at me!

It's a very similar thing the other way around. There's many a super-duper Irishman up north and they make sure to let us know how great they are.. Look at me! I'm ohh so Irish...

Well done you think you're more Irish.. I couldn't care less. I don't particularly think it's anything to be proud of..

Personally I don't like nationalism. It's an enclosed world and I grew out of that nonsense many moons ago. It just doesn't make sense. It's a big world and there's many aspects of other cultures that are superior to our own."
I could have written this myself. Well said.
Time some people got over themselves.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 07:56:04    2112488

Replying To Wicklowman:  "Any language of that nature towards young kids especially is not on. Having said that I got the same as a kid in reverse up north. We played Down in All Ireland Minor Hurling B Championship around 1996-1997. We were called Free State this that and the other. I remember not knowing how to react to it especially as I have a lot of relations up North and would have been especially sympathetic to the lot of Northern Nationalists. I don't think many of our team even replied much to what we were called, we didn't really know what to say in return. We would have considered the Down players as Irish as we were."
Really............sorry to burst your bubble but Down didn't play in the All Ireland minor B until very recently ..........what I do know is that Down senior hurlers had a number of incidents with Wicklow players referring to them as Brits etc as recently as last year, interestingly some of the same Wicklow players ran to players in the past 12 months claiming they received 'verbal abuse' in a separate game

Would be amazed if any Down team in the 90s was at that behaviour as vast majority of lads then would have been from the Ards and from mixed marriages, communities mixed with other side of community etc so your story doesn't hold up and to be honest seems like a deflection tactic given behaviour of your senior players in recent years.....

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 18/06/2018 08:17:49    2112493

Replying To royaldunne:  "I could have written this myself. Well said.
Time some people got over themselves."
Exactly.
And maybe they could read up a little bit on the history of the middle east before another Ulster team's fans turns Navan into some sort of disgusting ISIS rally with all the Palestinian flags...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 18/06/2018 16:23:58    2112712

Hoganstand have allowed this to be turned into an anti Northern rant. Shame on you!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 18/06/2018 16:46:43    2112729

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Hoganstand have allowed this to be turned into an anti Northern rant. Shame on you!"
Hmmm. Wonder how the thread even started .....

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/06/2018 17:29:35    2112749

Replying To Crinigan:  "Exactly.
And maybe they could read up a little bit on the history of the middle east before another Ulster team's fans turns Navan into some sort of disgusting ISIS rally with all the Palestinian flags..."
Also agree with this. That was shameful. And these the same people who complain about cork using the south flag.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/06/2018 18:17:48    2112764

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Really............sorry to burst your bubble but Down didn't play in the All Ireland minor B until very recently ..........what I do know is that Down senior hurlers had a number of incidents with Wicklow players referring to them as Brits etc as recently as last year, interestingly some of the same Wicklow players ran to players in the past 12 months claiming they received 'verbal abuse' in a separate game

Would be amazed if any Down team in the 90s was at that behaviour as vast majority of lads then would have been from the Ards and from mixed marriages, communities mixed with other side of community etc so your story doesn't hold up and to be honest seems like a deflection tactic given behaviour of your senior players in recent years....."
It most certainly did happen. It may have been an under 16 match. You're getting bogged down in semantics and small detail. I'm 39 now so it may have been 1994 not 1996. I didn't hurl past Minor for the county so I can't speak of senior level. I worked for Bank of Ireland from 200-2002 and I had a work colleague call me a Free State bastard when Rathnew won the Leinster Club Championship v Na Fianna in 2001. He wasn't best pleased that a small Wicklow village beat Glasnevin, their Armagh contingent (the McGeeney's, Dessie Macken, there was another one too) and the rest of their League of Nations team.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1138 - 18/06/2018 18:29:38    2112769

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Hoganstand have allowed this to be turned into an anti Northern rant. Shame on you!"
... ahh here

Don't you have tin-whistle lessons to get to..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/06/2018 19:19:46    2112792

Says the poster who has actually used discriminatory language on this site....

*shakes head slowly*

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/06/2018 19:23:28    2112795

Dry your eyes

As if ye are somehow above criticism without having to cry foul

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/06/2018 19:36:24    2112804

Replying To royaldunne:  "Also agree with this. That was shameful. And these the same people who complain about cork using the south flag."
Same flags out in Omagh. Ridiculous.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 18/06/2018 20:37:03    2112833

Can I have a burger please Ulsterman to go with the huge chip on your shoulder!! Been reading your same crying for years!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/06/2018 21:46:06    2112884

... I'm only guessing here, but I'd imagine there has been several posts disagreeing with your viewpoint that admin have blocked aswell...

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/06/2018 21:56:43    2112891

I would have expected that the Garda should have more important things to deal with than arresting a guy holding up a flag considering all the robberies with old folk being attacked in their homes.

jimbodub does not even know his history - poor chap

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/06/2018 00:35:22    2112942

Replying To royaldunne:  "Also agree with this. That was shameful. And these the same people who complain about cork using the south flag."
Anti-Palestine but pro-slavery Royaldunne.

Interesting idea of yourself you put out there.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 19/06/2018 08:10:11    2112954

Replying To Crinigan:  "Exactly.
And maybe they could read up a little bit on the history of the middle east before another Ulster team's fans turns Navan into some sort of disgusting ISIS rally with all the Palestinian flags..."
So one Palestinian flag equates to an ISIS rally?

And you're the one telling others to read up on the history of the middle east.

The mind boggles how people enjoy showing the world their ignorance with pride.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 19/06/2018 08:12:48    2112956

Replying To browncows:  "I would have expected that the Garda should have more important things to deal with than arresting a guy holding up a flag considering all the robberies with old folk being attacked in their homes.

jimbodub does not even know his history - poor chap"
Please explain to me how I don't know our history..

How far back do you want to go? Last ice-age? Ancient Irish? The Celts? Viking invasion/influence? Anglo-Norman conquest... I mean what are you talking about exactly?

What aspect or time frame are you referring to? This bit of dirt we're floating around on goes back a long way..

Please educate me. (Seriously doubt your ability to do so but go on give her a go)

This should be good :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/06/2018 10:18:28    2112975

Replying To Wicklowman:  "It most certainly did happen. It may have been an under 16 match. You're getting bogged down in semantics and small detail. I'm 39 now so it may have been 1994 not 1996. I didn't hurl past Minor for the county so I can't speak of senior level. I worked for Bank of Ireland from 200-2002 and I had a work colleague call me a Free State bastard when Rathnew won the Leinster Club Championship v Na Fianna in 2001. He wasn't best pleased that a small Wicklow village beat Glasnevin, their Armagh contingent (the McGeeney's, Dessie Macken, there was another one too) and the rest of their League of Nations team."
good man wicklowman - I never knew Rathnew won the Leinster Club Championship. A great part of the country, I go down to wicklow/wexford several times a year for holidays and no finer people could you meet. I always leave flowers at the monument.

North men, south men comrades all, Dublin, Belfast, Cork agus Donegal...

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 19/06/2018 10:50:17    2112986

Interesting article here about Gaeilgephobia.
http://www.broadsheet.ie/2018/06/18/elite-peasants-and-the-weird-world-of-gaeilgephobia/

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 19/06/2018 11:36:54    2113000