Dubs 2018 - Troubling Signs

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I wouldn't be confident this year atall.

The vibes from the camp are not good. The Connolly situation is a tragedy for football, and football fans. It's hard to see him coming back now. What a loss to Dublin and to football. Added to that the departure of 4 other members of the squad in the last few days, and you may say "ah they wouldn't start so let them off" but that totally flies in the face of previous JG squads and their ethos.
Shane Carthy in particular played a lot for Dublin in recent times and young Reddan would certainly have been looking at game time this summer.
Something just doesn't feel right this summer.

4/5 years ago we were going into summer with a forward 6 of
Connolly Flynn Kilkenny
Brogan Brogan Andrews/McMenamin

We certainly don't have that anymore. Fine players like Scully are just that, fine players, but do opposing managers look at a Dubs team with Niall and Brian Howard and even Deano and fear them they way they did previous units?

Perhaps our one saving grace will be how incredibly strong we are from 1-9, but past that, there are worrying signs.

If EF can sort out Kerry's 1-9. you would have to like them this year. Dubs are not what we were"
"The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

The camp that between league nd championship has lost 2 games in 50+ ?

The camp that is going into the summer as still the team to beat going for 4 all Irelands in a row.

The camp that has won 5 or 6 national league titles under current mgmt.

The camp that is currently in transition and evolving while still remaining not only competitive but winning national titles.

5 of the 7 forwards you mentioned are still around but some have been unfortunate with injuries in (Flynn on the way back, Brogan out for another while, that's just bad luck), Connolly decided not to commit, And since Alan retired post Donegal 2014 weve won the all Ireland every year

A few fellas on the fringes have decided to go away for the year just like Mannion did (went to China for a year), Just like Jack McCaffrey did, and just like others will im sure n Liam from his gaff in Limerick thinks the Dubs are showing troubling signs despite have just won the league again and sent out a statement of intent in their first championship game.

You have to be on the wind up.

This Dublin team is still the team to beat and can win sam, And even if we don't, we aren't going anywhere.

The media will jump all over us when we do lose, Don't need clowns claiming to be Dublin fans, posting on a national forum that vibes in the camp are bad and we are on the decline.

As the saying goes, with friends like you, who needs enemies.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/06/2018 10:51:59    2108620

Replying To waynoI:  ""The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

The camp that is going into the summer as still the team to beat going for 4 all Irelands in a row.

The camp that is currently in transition and evolving while still remaining not only competitive but winning national titles.

5 of the 7 forwards you mentioned are still around but some have been unfortunate with injuries in (Flynn on the way back, Brogan out for another while, that's just bad luck), Connolly decided not to commit, And since Alan retired post Donegal 2014 weve won the all Ireland every year

A few fellas on the fringes have decided to go away for the year just like Mannion did (went to China for a year), Just like Jack McCaffrey did, and just like others will im sure n Liam from his gaff in Limerick thinks the Dubs are showing troubling signs despite have just won the league again and sent out a statement of intent in their first championship game.

This Dublin team is still the team to beat and can win sam, And even if we don't, we aren't going anywhere.

The media will jump all over us when we do lose, Don't need clowns claiming to be Dublin fans, posting on a national forum that vibes in the camp are bad and we are on the decline.

As the saying goes, with friends like you, who needs enemies."
I agree waynol. Dublin being the capital with all its resources, population and wonderful footballers does not need such a disingenuous statement.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1823 - 08/06/2018 11:04:10    2108624

The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 12611 - 08/06/2018 10:51:59

2 Points if I may

1. "and just like others will im sure n Liam from his gaff in Limerick thinks the Dubs are showing troubling signs"........Don't you live in Meath?
2. "As the saying goes, with friends like you, who needs enemies." - Wayne, we are not friends...........buddy

Now, do one you irritant

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/06/2018 12:10:13    2108647

Replying To waynoI:  ""The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

As the saying goes, with friends like you, who needs enemies."
Well said wayno.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/06/2018 12:12:42    2108651

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Aren't you great now altogether not to be putting Kerry's name on Sam just yet. Jesus , but you really are laughable. Why on earth would anyone think you might be about to. I certanly haven't said that. But off you go there now lad with that idea.
You know , if indeed you do actually know anything about football and are not just a stool watcher , that Dublin winning the AI this year is going to be extremely difficult. When you have won 3 on the trot and several leagues it becomes more likely that you will loose that edge and that combined with transition is likely to mean someone else will lift Sam.
We will be favounites and that's understandable but it's highly unlikely."
Look I get it precious, you don't particularly like me. As as I've told you before, I don't really care - so can we move on?
And maybe you can resist the temptation to go out of your way to write a post about how much you don't like this or that poster as your first contribution to a topic. I mean at the end of the day what does anyone care? You are a stranger on a message board as am I.

You can also paint Dublin up to be on their last legs, only waiting for some one's coup de grace all you want. You are raging hot favorites to retain the AI again so go off and enjoy Sunday.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/06/2018 12:26:38    2108654

Replying To TheHermit:  "Look I get it precious, you don't particularly like me. As as I've told you before, I don't really care - so can we move on?
And maybe you can resist the temptation to go out of your way to write a post about how much you don't like this or that poster as your first contribution to a topic. I mean at the end of the day what does anyone care? You are a stranger on a message board as am I.

You can also paint Dublin up to be on their last legs, only waiting for some one's coup de grace all you want. You are raging hot favorites to retain the AI again so go off and enjoy Sunday."
Sure thing sweet cakes.
I could reply by quoting you your own post pretty much word for word and insert Kerry.
I hope to enjoy Sunday and I hope Longford supporters enjoy the day too as their team earned it. Yes we are favourites, that's a given, but nothing clear cut by any means.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/06/2018 13:03:56    2108669

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

2 Points if I may

1. "and just like others will im sure n Liam from his gaff in Limerick thinks the Dubs are showing troubling signs"........Don't you live in Meath?
2. "As the saying goes, with friends like you, who needs enemies." - Wayne, we are not friends...........buddy

Now, do one you irritant"
I live in Meath, correct, im not the one coming on here claiming there are negative vibes coming out of the camp.

What you could have said, (and id have agreed) Is that Dublin are going through a transition period, A period where they are integrating fresh young talent like Con O'Callaghan, like Niall Scully, like colly Basquel, like Brian Howard, and mixing them with young players who've played a few years now, who have experience of winning, while not in their prime, will reach their prime in the next couple of years, Like Ciaran Kilkenny, like Brian Fenton, Like John Small. You could also have said injuries to players like Bernard Brogan, Paul Flynn, Cian O'Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey, coupled with Diarmuid not being available means our bench is weaker on paper, and that was one of our big strengths. You could have said you aren't confident based on that.

Instead you start bringing bad vibes from the camp and things not being right cause fellas want to go abroad for the summer and that not being the ethos bla bla bla. Will ye ever cop on you know nothing about the camp from where you are and similarly I don't know, but starting a thread talking about negative vibes and sh77e coming from the all Ireland champions who are going for a 4th all Ireland in a row while transitioning is just ridiculous. Dublin are in a seriously healthy position.

I don't get the logic of you starting the thread in that tone.

As for the friends being enemies, that wasn't me claiming to be your friend lol, the point I was getting at was more .. with supporters like you, who needs enemies .. My mistake.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/06/2018 13:30:29    2108679

Replying To waynoI:  "
Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

2 Points if I may

I live in Meath, correct, im not the one coming on here claiming there are negative vibes coming out of the camp.

What you could have said, (and id have agreed) Is that Dublin are going through a transition period, A period where they are integrating fresh young talent like Con O'Callaghan, like Niall Scully, like colly Basquel, like Brian Howard, and mixing them with young players who've played a few years now, who have experience of winning, while not in their prime, will reach their prime in the next couple of years, Like Ciaran Kilkenny, like Brian Fenton, Like John Small. You could also have said injuries to players like Bernard Brogan, Paul Flynn, Cian O'Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey, coupled with Diarmuid not being available means our bench is weaker on paper, and that was one of our big strengths. You could have said you aren't confident based on that.

Instead you start bringing bad vibes from the camp and things not being right cause fellas want to go abroad for the summer and that not being the ethos bla bla bla. Will ye ever cop on you know nothing about the camp from where you are and similarly I don't know, but starting a thread talking about negative vibes and sh77e coming from the all Ireland champions who are going for a 4th all Ireland in a row while transitioning is just ridiculous. Dublin are in a seriously healthy position.

As for the friends being enemies, that wasn't me claiming to be your friend lol, the point I was getting at was more .. with supporters like you, who needs enemies .. My mistake."
U want to tell me what i can think or post on HS do you?
From this day on I will refer to you as Kim Jong Wayne
Get off your high horse Kim Jong Wanye, are you worried someone else will catch you in your pursuit of a green thumbs record or something? Don't worry Kim Jung Wayne, we all love you, you are great.
THUMBS UP!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/06/2018 13:45:31    2108686

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "
Replying To waynoI:  "[quote=Liamwalkinstown:  "The vibes from the camp are not good...….. "

2 Points if I may

As for the friends being enemies, that wasn't me claiming to be your friend lol, the point I was getting at was more .. with supporters like you, who needs enemies .. My mistake."
U want to tell me what i can think or post on HS do you?
From this day on I will refer to you as Kim Jong Wayne
Get off your high horse Kim Jong Wanye, are you worried someone else will catch you in your pursuit of a green thumbs record or something? Don't worry Kim Jung Wayne, we all love you, you are great.
THUMBS UP!"]...and don't you forget who reigns king around here, my subject.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/06/2018 14:22:36    2108702

Righto Kim Jong Wayne! We will leave it there so..............

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/06/2018 14:44:15    2108713

Hold up lads I'm getting the popcorn ready, this could go 12 rounds.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 08/06/2018 18:14:01    2108768

Replying To TheFlaker:  "You lost me at tragedy for football describing Connolly, never have I seen such OTT comments in relation to a bit part player from the last couple of years. I am sure the Dubs will be beat at some stage, maybe it will be this year, maybe Kerry can step up because unless Mayo make a few changes in personnel that work I can only see Kerry stopping the Dubs."
Yes, agree, Dublin don't need Connolly.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 08/06/2018 18:55:44    2108779

27 minutes in an Dublin are only beating Longford 2-10 to 4 points. Yup, worrying signs indeed. I'd really worry for them against Laois in the final; there might be all sorts of nasty sprains and concussions in the race to score.

With the basketball masquerading as football in Ulster, the one horse race in Leinster, and the two horse race in Munster, football is dying a death. Connacht at least is competitive internally but it remains to be seen how all three will fare at national level.

Meath, Kildare, Cork, come back! All is forgiven!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 10/06/2018 16:46:03    2109454

Replying To festinog:  "27 minutes in an Dublin are only beating Longford 2-10 to 4 points. Yup, worrying signs indeed. I'd really worry for them against Laois in the final; there might be all sorts of nasty sprains and concussions in the race to score.

With the basketball masquerading as football in Ulster, the one horse race in Leinster, and the two horse race in Munster, football is dying a death. Connacht at least is competitive internally but it remains to be seen how all three will fare at national level.

Meath, Kildare, Cork, come back! All is forgiven!"
Eh hello there is a one horse race in Munster ,nothing has changed there in 100 years , you do know that Kerry have won 79 Munster titles ??

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/06/2018 22:56:10    2109644

Replying To superbluedub:  "Eh hello there is a one horse race in Munster ,nothing has changed there in 100 years , you do know that Kerry have won 79 Munster titles ??"
Sure look it, if you want to be a complete pedant, when it boils down to silverware at the business end of the championship it's Dublin in Leinster, Kerry in Munster, Galway in Connacht and take your pick in Ulster (bar Fermanagh or Antrim).

All makes for the same point at the end of the day.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 11/06/2018 02:40:53    2109685

Troubling signs indeed

Cian O'Sullivan back
Jack McCaffrey getting game time

No john small at all.

Midfield options with Flynn coming back and Michael Dara in the best shape and form ive seen him in for some time.

And a 19 point win, another provincial final, and the super 8s almost upon us.

If only we could catch a break...…

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/06/2018 13:45:46    2109937

OK, who paid the Longford lad to do Cluxton, Kerry or Mayo? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 11/06/2018 14:36:05    2109970

Replying To realdub:  "OK, who paid the Longford lad to do Cluxton, Kerry or Mayo? :D"
Wasnt us anyway;). We need the few quid we have to keep the grass cut in Fitzgeralds staduim and a bit of kit for the lads

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/06/2018 16:52:32    2110087

Replying To waynoI:  "Troubling signs indeed

Cian O'Sullivan back
Jack McCaffrey getting game time

No john small at all.

Midfield options with Flynn coming back and Michael Dara in the best shape and form ive seen him in for some time.

And a 19 point win, another provincial final, and the super 8s almost upon us.

If only we could catch a break...…"
Your county men trying the "yerra" poor mouth has failed. Leave it to the experts down in the kingdom

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 12/06/2018 20:36:37    2110740

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Wasnt us anyway;). We need the few quid we have to keep the grass cut in Fitzgeralds staduim and a bit of kit for the lads"
Wasn't us either! We have the pope coming and every spare cent is going towards the whitewashing. Could be them Galway lads, your man with the burgers seems to be fairly flush!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 12/06/2018 21:47:45    2110777