Roscommon Vs Galway

The Roscommon lads are doing lots of blabbing on here but not many of them are making predictions on who they think will win Sunday and by how much.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 16/06/2018 00:18:55    2112017

Galway by 3 points. Should be a good match.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 16/06/2018 02:11:56    2112025

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "What a ridiculous comment. What has the same sex marraige referendum got to do with the current connaght final. Grow up."
What's more embarrassing, the results of that or Roscommons championship performance 2011-2017?

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 16/06/2018 08:01:00    2112033

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Ah Royaldunne as a Westmeath man now would you not like to see your neighbours win. We cpuod be your second team now that Meath are out again early"
As I said I look forward to the game. And no complaints about the ref. Perhaps paddy could drop down and actually see what a real ref looks like??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/06/2018 08:50:50    2112041

Replying To katser:  "The Roscommon lads are doing lots of blabbing on here but not many of them are making predictions on who they think will win Sunday and by how much."
Says the boys who will be in the all Ireland final.
Let's just get it on.
As for predictions for scores.
I don't know by how much wether it's tomorrow or Saturday week but we will beat ye.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 16/06/2018 09:24:20    2112043

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Thanks hardtimes now worry about down we will take on galway"
Thanks yourself rossie but this is the national forum and I'll make whatever predictions I please.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 16/06/2018 09:29:45    2112045

There's posters on here more qualified than me to make a judgement on galway but have they really improved as much as what the public and media are saying?
They had an excellent league campaign but is that purely what they're being judged on? Did they not struggle to beat a below par and below full strength mayo team with 14 men?
I think in the GAA we tend to loose the run of ourselves! Early last season you had people saying Tipp were unbeatable in the hurling and they've hardly won a cship game since. Similarly with Galway hurlers this year (and I'm guilty on that too)
Dublin have won 3 of their all Ireland's by a point and they're untouchable..
It remains to be seen but I think this galway team are slightly over hyped. Huge improvements no doubt but a long way to go to be nailed on for Connacht titles or all Ireland contenders

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/06/2018 09:33:23    2112046

Never seen a bunch of fans as cocky as the Galway lads on here. Hopefully we can bring them back down to earth tomorrow

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 16/06/2018 10:50:37    2112055

Replying To tiobraid:  "There's posters on here more qualified than me to make a judgement on galway but have they really improved as much as what the public and media are saying?
They had an excellent league campaign but is that purely what they're being judged on? Did they not struggle to beat a below par and below full strength mayo team with 14 men?
I think in the GAA we tend to loose the run of ourselves! Early last season you had people saying Tipp were unbeatable in the hurling and they've hardly won a cship game since. Similarly with Galway hurlers this year (and I'm guilty on that too)
It remains to be seen but I think this galway team are slightly over hyped. Huge improvements no doubt but a long way to go to be nailed on for Connacht titles or all Ireland contenders"
It amuses me that in the build up to the Mayo game you had Andy Moran stating "We love big games" "we have pencilled in May 13th for a long time " On the pitch before the game Lee Keegan interviewed by RTE stating " We are ready no excuses this year" and then they get beaten again and all the Mayos and other posters stating they were below par and not ready and an August team and Galway are poor etc etc. Galway beat them again for the 5th time in a row.. Give them some credit..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 16/06/2018 10:53:03    2112056

Replying To tiobraid:  "There's posters on here more qualified than me to make a judgement on galway but have they really improved as much as what the public and media are saying?
It remains to be seen but I think this galway team are slightly over hyped. Huge improvements no doubt but a long way to go to be nailed on for Connacht titles or all Ireland contenders"
Good post and good point.In fact Dublin have won 4 of their 5 All-Ireland titles since 2011 by a single point.( one after a replay).Still the media have the Dubs as untouchable and the greatest team of all time.League form can be deceptive.2 years ago Roscommon were the best team in the country in February but were gone out of the championship by July.Galway are entitled to be favourites tomorrow but Roscommon are not without hope.Hyde Park will be a sea of primrose and blue tomorrow.I'm definitely looking forward to this match.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 16/06/2018 11:14:23    2112063

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Never seen a bunch of fans as cocky as the Galway lads on here. Hopefully we can bring them back down to earth tomorrow"
In fairness Cuckoo judging by your comments on this thread, you're not exactly modest yourself.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 16/06/2018 11:26:13    2112065

Replying To Ailteoir:  "In fairness Cuckoo judging by your comments on this thread, you're not exactly modest yourself."
Actually thats a lie. Show me any post on this thread where i have been cocky.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 16/06/2018 12:19:51    2112070

Nail on head. Mayo had 14 men since the 28th minute no Lee Keegan for that game either and lost Parsons to injury and Cillian O'Connor only played 20 mins. The goal and match winner didn't arrive until the 74th minute.

Moving back to Sundays game it seems a few have forgotten the likes of Seán Andy Ó' Ceallaigh,Johnny Heaney,Eamonn Brannigan,Ian Burke,Damien Comer,Shane Walsh have all played in a number of underage games against Roscommon for the last number of years some they won some they lost but each and every game was competitive because they were up against similar quality players in the likes of David Murray,Niall McInerney,Cathal Compton,Ciarán Murtagh,Enda Smith,Donie Smith,Diarmuid Murtagh

So here's hoping tomorrow is another good competitive contest between two young talented sides and may the best side on the day win.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 16/06/2018 12:21:43    2112072

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Never seen a bunch of fans as cocky as the Galway lads on here. Hopefully we can bring them back down to earth tomorrow"
There are lots of Galway fans on here, no more than Roscommon fans, who haven't commented one way or another on the game. You're comment is quite disparaging. Who are these cocky Galway fans? Fans are the same in every county, the good, the bad and the indifferent. Those fans who claim to be better than others are often the most arrogant.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1801 - 16/06/2018 12:42:33    2112074

Tbh cocky is anover cooking it. Some Rossies very sensitive. Few trolls as well more talking about pints in Ballygar than the game itself. Any knowledgeable football person knows this should be close. As for Ros not being given a chance well Galway folk are not saying that. If ye feel ye have got no credit for 2017 equally we have got zero credit for beating the 2nd best team in the country for 3 successive years. Both teams tomorrow feel this is very winnable and IMO 50/50.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 16/06/2018 12:44:52    2112076

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Actually thats a lie. Show me any post on this thread where i have been cocky."
How about this:
Good ye wont be full of excuses this year so should ye lose unlike last year were every excuse under the sun was thrown out to make sense of the hammering ye got

Not to mention the dung you've been aiming at posters from other counties. Do yourself a favour and give it a rest.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 16/06/2018 12:52:26    2112079

Replying To Ailteoir:  "How about this:
Good ye wont be full of excuses this year so should ye lose unlike last year were every excuse under the sun was thrown out to make sense of the hammering ye got

Not to mention the dung you've been aiming at posters from other counties. Do yourself a favour and give it a rest."
So saying "should ye lose" is me been cocky.i thibk you should learn the meaning of the word.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 16/06/2018 13:09:53    2112085

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Says the boys who will be in the all Ireland final.
Let's just get it on.
As for predictions for scores.
I don't know by how much wether it's tomorrow or Saturday week but we will beat ye."
There is no one talking about All Irelands but ye seem to be talking about last year and years before that which has nothing to do with Sundays match. I'd say ye don't know what to expect from Roscommon on Sunday or what sort of a team will turn up on the day. Are they going to be inconsistent are they going to bottle it or are they going to win but at least ye know what to expect from Galway...which is that they will be coming to the Hyde with one thing on their mind and that is to blow Roscommon completely out of the water

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 16/06/2018 13:44:56    2112092

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "
Replying To Ailteoir:  "How about this:

Not to mention the dung you've been aiming at posters from other counties. Do yourself a favour and give it a rest."
So saying "should ye lose" is me been cocky.i thibk you should learn the meaning of the word."
Try reading your own sentence back in full that I quoted and the cockiness should be apparent, even to you.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 16/06/2018 14:03:15    2112094

Ye boys would want to grow up and concentrate on a good game of football ...hopefully a good atmosphere..plenty of colour and craic...and that both teams represent the province well going forward.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 16/06/2018 14:14:42    2112096