Fermanagh V Monaghan

Replying To jimbodub:  "Ulster football..

That's the style of football that has made the province weaker and made talented players walk away from representing their county. It stifles individual skill and puts off talent. Why would you commit so much of your younger years to play a rotten version of the sport. That is why many are walking away. If you were born with a natural flare and a gift of individual talent.. then that version of football is not for you.

It's no doubt weakening Ulster and players are becoming disillusioned.

It was an appalling example of the game of football and really portrays the Ulster championship in a very poor state of affairs.

I won't say well done Fermanagh as to do so is complimenting that muck and I hope Dublin get a chance to absolutely dismantle that standard of Ulster rubbish just like last year."
Jimbodub parrots what Brolly says without any understanding of Ulster football or any facts to back up what he is saying.

Well done Fermanagh, did what they had to do, rolled the dice and it came off in style!

Best of luck in the final.

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 04/06/2018 12:42:08    2107257

Replying To lambofgod:  "Defending your teams tactics to gain a result is one thing but trying to call that game entertaining is another. It was horrible! Bring back Tyrone, all is forgiven!

As for Monaghan, I said it before, they are a slightly above average team and that is it. Its not like Fermanagh reinvented the wheel or anything. They did exactly what everyone expected them to do and a full strength Monaghan team couldn't live with them."
You should understand that it is about winning- pleasing the media or viewers is irrelevant. Ye beat them in Castlebar a couple of years back with some terrible decisions from the Ref and a bit of diving.- -not many complained

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/06/2018 12:46:21    2107259

That's the style of football that has made the province weaker and made talented players walk away from representing their county. It stifles individual skill and puts off talent. Why would you commit so much of your younger years to play a rotten version of the sport. That is why many are walking away. If you were born with a natural flare and a gift of individual talent.. then that version of football is not for you.

It was an appalling example of the game of football and really portrays the Ulster championship in a very poor state of affairs.

I won't say well done Fermanagh as to do so is complimenting that muck and I hope Dublin get a chance to absolutely dismantle that standard of Ulster rubbish just like last year."
Christ, talk about painting with a wide brush!

Yes, yesterdayd game was a poor spectacle but where were you when Donegals first two games of the championship this year have yielded a total of 4-68, thats a score every two minutes. Or what about the Monaghan Tyrone game which was a great 70 minutes.

If you are going to come on with the same tired oul bellyache about "Ulster football" then it behoves you to acknowledge the good football that is part & parcel of that same championship.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/06/2018 12:53:25    2107263

Replying To gotmilk:  "Jimbo i couldn't give a **** what you think about yesterdays game. As a Fermanagh man i'm sick to my teeth of moral victories and patronising pats on the head. If Fermanagh go out and beat the winners of Donegal v Down 0-01 - 0-00 you wont see a happier man than me. I don't care that you think it was an appalling example of a game of football, I don't care that you think it portrayed the ulster championship in a poor manner, I don't care that you think the best players are walking away. All I care about is Fermanagh playing in an ulster final on the 24th of June. All I care about is Fermanagh hopefully winning that Ulster Final on the 24th of June. Not everyone is Dublin, Fermanagh are playing to their strengths and you know what, I don't care that it's awful to watch."
100% correct you have to play a way thats best suits the players and gives you the best chance of winning, there is 2 lads in my club from fermanagh and there over the moon and I'm delighted for them.
Nobody has to watch it they have a choice i find these people really fu..ing annoying, enjoy the build up the buzz around fermanagh will be unreal the next few weeks.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 04/06/2018 12:58:17    2107265

Replying To kildare73:  "Seems then you missed my point. I'd sooner watch a game with 3-24 scored in it and a bit of football played. I don't particularly care who is involved in it. We'll just have to agree to disagree but at least we are ..........mates:)"
Sure Kildare mate ... time to stop digging and focus on Derry in Dungiven. Good luck !

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 04/06/2018 13:11:02    2107271

Well done Fermanagh, had a feeling Gallagher would have something up his sleeve

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/06/2018 13:12:18    2107272

jimbodub-A bit of a rich statement- I do not think anyone in Fermanagh cares what you think. Facts -some of your clubs have 5 times the pick that their entire county have and more than 20 time the resources. Ye even have a number of vans to take your equipment around Dublin-I was going to say around the country but then I realised that ye do not play outside Dublin very often!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/06/2018 13:13:17    2107274

Replying To gotmilk:  "Just went back and saw it RD. Thanks buddy. I'm still on a high here. What a day!!!!!!"
Ahh fair play. I was shouting you on. I don't get why people so annoyed over the quality of football, it wouldn't have done Fermanagh any good to go out and shoot the lights out and get beat. They knew what they had to do (and Monaghan did exactly same thing). I am been 100 % genuine , I hope and pray that Fermanagh wins ulster. And who will care once that is achieved . No one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/06/2018 14:08:31    2107292

Replying To Curlew66:  "Sure Kildare mate ... time to stop digging and focus on Derry in Dungiven. Good luck !"
Digging?? Not sure how wanting to see a decent football game is "digging" but whatever you are having yourself.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 04/06/2018 14:36:42    2107299

Fermanagh are trying to win the Anglo-Celt Cup not Ulster's got Talent. They're well capable of winning it. It's old news that Rory Gallagher is a top coach. There can't be too many counties with a lower playing pool so he's cutting his cloth to measure. While it mightn't always be pretty it's definitely effective for them. There's loads of ways to win a football match but there's no scoreboard for entertainment value.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 04/06/2018 15:14:36    2107311

This is a ridiculous comment. In my opinion, the Dublin Wicklow game was an appalling example of gaelic football.... did anyone have an opinion/comment on that game when it finished? Did anyone have an interest in the game with 20 minutes to go? The fermanagh game was edge of seat stuff until the final whistle. that is what sport is all about. Kerry Clare had over 40 scores but no one is talking about it today because it was so one sided. Who wants to watch that? if every team played the same, it would be boring... now if fermanagh come up against Dublin or Kerry down the road, it will be very interesting. I am sure they will be beaten, but not by 20 points.

NYCcavanman (USA) - Posts: 204 - 04/06/2018 15:33:58    2107319

And we in Fermanagh wept.

RedRum (Fermanagh) - Posts: 278 - 04/06/2018 15:38:54    2107322

Replying To gotmilk:  "Lads and ladies. I've been drinking and celebrating all day. All I want to say is poor Old Fermanagh, half the county is Protestant and the other half of the county is under water have just beaten the third best side in Ireland. What a day!!!!
I see a lot of posters giving out about the quality of football. To those of you criticising the game. I couldn't give a fiddlers **** what you think. Fermanagh beat monaghan and that's all that matters. If they managed to win by a point to score today I wouldn't care and I would do the same on the 24th of June.
I've had a few pints at this stage but who cares. What a day to be a fermanagh man. Who knows we might even win the ulster final. Fermanagh for Sam!!!!!!"
Glad you had a good day but I'm fairly sure all 4 counties west of the Bann have a Catholic and nationalist majority! Not that it matters. I'd dearly love to see more Protestants involved with the Gaa. It might be a little easier to be involved on the other side of the border and who wouldn't care to have a player the likes of Drew Wylie on the team. He was great yesterday as he nearly always is. There was a lad by name of Graham I think playing with Fermanagh a few years back but I think he packed it in cos of the usual name calling and sectarian jibes from certain people. Not what you want to see and hear in the game and I'm sure Sam Maguire himself would not be happy with it either! Anyway was an exciting game even if it wasn't a pure joy to watch but it was better than the games in Kerry and the West that's for sure. Those games remind me of the Germany v Brazil World Cup 2014 were the Germans are 5-0 ahead at half time. The teams take to the field at start of second half and the whole world is stunned at the first half train wreck they have just watched. Everybody knows it's over already and are just wondering how to not watch the next 45 mins but you just have to! The Germans stick 2 more in the net a to make it 7 and the Brazilians tap 1 in at the end but sure wasn't it a great game to watch? No off course it wasn't it was a snore fest for most of the game same as Kerry and Galway games yesterday and many Dublin games over last few years also.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/06/2018 16:04:49    2107329

Jim, you are a genius - but a flawed one. Away back to watching Leinster football

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/06/2018 17:52:37    2107370

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Glad you had a good day but I'm fairly sure all 4 counties west of the Bann have a Catholic and nationalist majority! Not that it matters. I'd dearly love to see more Protestants involved with the Gaa. It might be a little easier to be involved on the other side of the border and who wouldn't care to have a player the likes of Drew Wylie on the team. He was great yesterday as he nearly always is. There was a lad by name of Graham I think playing with Fermanagh a few years back but I think he packed it in cos of the usual name calling and sectarian jibes from certain people. Not what you want to see and hear in the game and I'm sure Sam Maguire himself would not be happy with it either! Anyway was an exciting game even if it wasn't a pure joy to watch but it was better than the games in Kerry and the West that's for sure. Those games remind me of the Germany v Brazil World Cup 2014 were the Germans are 5-0 ahead at half time. The teams take to the field at start of second half and the whole world is stunned at the first half train wreck they have just watched. Everybody knows it's over already and are just wondering how to not watch the next 45 mins but you just have to! The Germans stick 2 more in the net a to make it 7 and the Brazilians tap 1 in at the end but sure wasn't it a great game to watch? No off course it wasn't it was a snore fest for most of the game same as Kerry and Galway games yesterday and many Dublin games over last few years also."
Think my post went over your head. You never hear the joke that the reason Fermanagh have won nothing is that half of it is under water and the other half is protestant?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 04/06/2018 19:31:18    2107397

Replying To browncows:  "You should understand that it is about winning- pleasing the media or viewers is irrelevant. Ye beat them in Castlebar a couple of years back with some terrible decisions from the Ref and a bit of diving.- -not many complained"
Yes but that was a very entertaining game of football. Yesterdays game was muck.

I take exception to this statement that winning is all that matters. That attitude is what is destroying our game. Forget about the paying fans or the enjoyment of the players. As long as somebody wins eh!

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 04/06/2018 19:34:46    2107399

Replying To lambofgod:  "Yes but that was a very entertaining game of football. Yesterdays game was muck.

I take exception to this statement that winning is all that matters. That attitude is what is destroying our game. Forget about the paying fans or the enjoyment of the players. As long as somebody wins eh!"
Teams enter competitions with the intention of trying to win as many games as possible. No player, or indeed fan, gets any enjoyment out of losing. Players are not paid entertainers with an obligation to entertain fans who, of their own volition, choose to go to watch games.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/06/2018 19:53:14    2107403

I can't over all the negative comments about yesterday's game. As far as I'm concerned it was the game of the championship so far. It was fascinating stuff and there was no way I could take my eyes of it. Well done Fermanagh on a great win. Hard luck Monaghan - you'll be one to watch in the qualifiers that's for sure.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 04/06/2018 20:30:57    2107422

Replying To JDF:  "Well done Fermanagh and if you're from Fermanagh you couldn't give a monkeys what style of football they played.

I expect Donegal to beat Down and unless Donegal change their tactics I think Fermanagh have a great chance of winning the Ulster Final."
Interesting post.........like to expand on that? What way do Donegal need to change the way they are playing at the moment to counteract the ultra defensive tactics they will face if Donegal beat Down?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 04/06/2018 20:47:06    2107428

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Fermanagh are trying to win the Anglo-Celt Cup not Ulster's got Talent. They're well capable of winning it. It's old news that Rory Gallagher is a top coach. There can't be too many counties with a lower playing pool so he's cutting his cloth to measure. While it mightn't always be pretty it's definitely effective for them. There's loads of ways to win a football match but there's no scoreboard for entertainment value."
That isn't entirely true as Rory used the exact same tactics with Donegal for 3 years, he stacks all his players behind the ball, frustrates the opposition, forceing turnovers and breaking at speed. Don't get me wrong it can get you some good results but ultimately you run out of steam as it is such a hard game to maintain, it requires extreme levels of fitness as players need to sprint back once they lose the ball. It was a great result for Fermanagh yesterday and although it wasn't a great game I enjoyed it and the last 5 minutes were really exciting.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/06/2018 20:48:49    2107432