Fermanagh V Monaghan

Fermanagh probably have a stronger midfield than Monaghan and also have a decent scoring threat if the Quigleys are up for it. They have every right to pack the defence and play the game on their own terms when needed- feck the begrudgers. It will then be up to Monaghan to show discipline in possession, which to be fair the did very well against Tyrone. Monaghan used recycling of the ball then quick transfers and angles of running to open up Tyrone's massed defence, rather than taking on riskier long range points. That will be a different challenge for Fermanagh to cope with but Gallagher will have them prepared no doubt.
Not sure Fermanagh have the power to transition from turnovers to attack quickly given the strength of Monaghan's half backs and wing forwards- that has me thinking a tally of 13 to 15 points max for them. From the start they will have to gamble on every goal chance that arises to build momentum- and don't worry about the missed chances. It is a big ask to hold this Monaghan team to <15 points for the win. Being entertaining while doing it is probably not an option.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 31/05/2018 12:38:22    2105942

Replying To gotmilk:  "I imagine that Fermanagh will bring bodies back and make it hard for Monaghan. Any score monaghan get on Sunday will be earned (so long as we don't lose concentration). Fermanaghs biggest problem will be moving the ball up the field when we turn it over. The fitness levels of the Fermanagh squad atm is something serious. Eoin Donnelly has a body fat % of 8%. 8%!!!! Brad Pitt was 6% in fight club so that gives you an indication of where he is."
Have you the stats on Sean Quigley? It would save me doing my own.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 31/05/2018 13:09:41    2105953

Monaghan were very impressive against Tyrone and I see them going on to win Ulster. Blanket defences can work especially if you are only up against one top class forward but Monaghan look to have scores throughout the team and I would take them to win by 5 plus.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 31/05/2018 13:31:34    2105966

Replying To gotmilk:  "I imagine that Fermanagh will bring bodies back and make it hard for Monaghan. Any score monaghan get on Sunday will be earned (so long as we don't lose concentration). Fermanaghs biggest problem will be moving the ball up the field when we turn it over. The fitness levels of the Fermanagh squad atm is something serious. Eoin Donnelly has a body fat % of 8%. 8%!!!! Brad Pitt was 6% in fight club so that gives you an indication of where he is."
In Rory's time in charge of Donegal we always started the championship well but faded out by the time the ulster final came around in July. It's just very hard to sustain the running game that Rory likes over the whole summer, requires extraordinary fitness. However I can't see that being a factor for the game on Sunday and I'd say Fermanagh will be a very hard nut for Monaghan to crack. As you say, the difficulty is transitioning the ball to the forward line fast enough to give your forwards a chance. Fermanagh have a terrific midfield in Eoin Donnelly and Ryan Jones and good up front with the Quigley's and Thomas Corrigan.

Another stat from Rory's spell in charge of Donegal was that we were averaging just about 11-12 points per game, when you play the big teams you needs goals to supplement that points tally. Hard to imagine that Monaghan won't kick at least 15 points. It's going to be a really interesting game and I am really looking forward to it.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 31/05/2018 14:01:34    2105980

Is Thomas Corrigan still part of the Ernemen squad?

saulgael (Down) - Posts: 553 - 31/05/2018 16:24:59    2106030

Replying To saulgael:  "Is Thomas Corrigan still part of the Ernemen squad?"
He is. Can't see him starting though

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/05/2018 17:05:34    2106043

Replying To gotmilk:  "He is. Can't see him starting though"
Why won't Corrigan start ?

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 31/05/2018 17:36:14    2106054

Only one winner here, if anything else other than a straight Monaghan win occurs, it would be a massive shock.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 01/06/2018 00:16:46    2106137

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Why won't Corrigan start ?"
He's played very little this year. Was injured for the start of the league but came off the bench in a few games towards the end of the league. Didn't do much, he doesn't seem to be a Gallagher type player.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/06/2018 09:09:30    2106166

Replying To gotmilk:  "He's played very little this year. Was injured for the start of the league but came off the bench in a few games towards the end of the league. Didn't do much, he doesn't seem to be a Gallagher type player."
What a shame as Corrigan is a fantastic player. Rory does favour players with speed to play the running game he likes, lads who can get up and down the pitch. He tends to pick small fast players in the half forward line so possibly corrigan doesn't fit this profile. I am actually shocked he has stuck with the Quigley's as I didn't think they would be his type of player either but I guess he has to keep a couple of players up front who can stick the ball over the bar.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 01/06/2018 10:04:35    2106180

fermanagh will be so defensive that will not get the scores to trouble monaghan, monaghan proved they can adapt to defensive football and also possess the best forward in gaelic football at present in mcmanus, monaghan by at least 4/5 points

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 01/06/2018 12:26:05    2106232

Replying To Green_Gold:  "What a shame as Corrigan is a fantastic player. Rory does favour players with speed to play the running game he likes, lads who can get up and down the pitch. He tends to pick small fast players in the half forward line so possibly corrigan doesn't fit this profile. I am actually shocked he has stuck with the Quigley's as I didn't think they would be his type of player either but I guess he has to keep a couple of players up front who can stick the ball over the bar."
In fairness the first game Sean started was the league final. Every other game prior to that came from the bench. I don't see it myself with Corrigan. Good freetaker but from open play not as prolific, tendency to carry the ball into trouble or take the wrong option. Reminds me of Cillian O'Connor a bit.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/06/2018 12:55:02    2106243

On paper Monaghan but I say Fermanagh, Gallagher may have something up his sleeve to topple the Farney men

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/06/2018 22:54:02    2106379

Replying To gotmilk:  "In fairness the first game Sean started was the league final. Every other game prior to that came from the bench. I don't see it myself with Corrigan. Good freetaker but from open play not as prolific, tendency to carry the ball into trouble or take the wrong option. Reminds me of Cillian O'Connor a bit."
Good freetaker but from open play not as prolific, tendency to carry the ball into trouble or take the wrong option. Reminds me of Cillian O'Connor a bit. Who are you referring to ...S Quigley or Corrigan ?

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 01/06/2018 23:23:28    2106383

Monaghan by 5 at least , No weak links from no 1 to 20 , as shown in the Tyrone game .

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 02/06/2018 09:33:00    2106408

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Good freetaker but from open play not as prolific, tendency to carry the ball into trouble or take the wrong option. Reminds me of Cillian O'Connor a bit. Who are you referring to ...S Quigley or Corrigan ?"
Corrigan

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 02/06/2018 14:53:58    2106472

Replying To gotmilk:  "In fairness the first game Sean started was the league final. Every other game prior to that came from the bench. I don't see it myself with Corrigan. Good freetaker but from open play not as prolific, tendency to carry the ball into trouble or take the wrong option. Reminds me of Cillian O'Connor a bit."
If Corrigan was as good as Cillian O'Connor you'd be very fortunate indeed !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 02/06/2018 21:04:40    2106562

Should be a good game for the analysts this one, two teams that are trying to perfect the right balance between defence and attack. There are only a handful of teams that are adept at breaking down modern "defence first" football while at the same time implementing it. These two can at different levels, but I think, and hope, Monaghan are further ahead than Fermanagh in this regard. Possession will be vital (as it is now in modern day football) and the patience to break down the defensive system, Beggan can be key here. I think and hope it will be a hard earned Monaghan win. BBC for me today though

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 03/06/2018 13:34:57    2106740

Is it possible RTE will ever see sense and get rid of Brolly and Spillane? switching over to BBC2 in a few minutes, think Monaghan will win this handy enough.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 03/06/2018 13:42:41    2106743

Ulster final Donegal v Fermanagh!! it would be some craic against RG.!! Fermanagh are playing well.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 03/06/2018 14:08:45    2106750