SFC Qualifiers round 1 draw

Derry v Kildare & Meath v Tyrone are the two biggies.
I fancy Derry to beat Kildare. Even though Derry were beat by us yesterday they probably were expecting it and they actually performed very well. If their shooting had been better they would have been much closer. I'd expect James Kielt to be on from the start the next day as he added that long range scoring threat. Kildare would have expected to win and with their current run of defeats they need an easier draw. Derry by 3/4

Tyrone are very vulnerable at present and Meath have a great chance at home. We just got out of Navan last year with a few to spare. It's a very passionate crowd in Pairc Tailteann and Meath needed a big name county to focus the minds. Tyrone are without Peter Harte and question marks over Mark Bradley, Lee Brennan, Colm Cavanagh and Tiernan Mc Cann would be a worry for them. There is also a lot of negativity coming from former senior players and this is unusual from Tyrone as they always have shown a united front. Mickey Harte's "they're all against us" Siege Mentality doesn't seem to cut it any more. If the four mentioned above don't play I wouldn't be surprised to see a shock exit by Tyrone.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 28/05/2018 22:49:22    2105101

Replying To royaldunne:  "I that's very true. I wonder why??"
Mayo have been one of the top four counties over the last number of years so it's not really a surprise that a lot of their matches are televised. If Kerry or the Dubs were careless enough to find themselves in the qualifiers then they would also feature prominently in the television schedule. The Limerick, Mayo game will not be televised thankfully.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/05/2018 22:50:04    2105102

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Kildare v Derry two sides desperately low on confidence. If either side gets a good start you would imagine they would push on & win from there."
Think if kildare win this they could get a run going .....not sure that they'll win it though which is the problem for them !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 28/05/2018 23:18:05    2105109

Replying To PeggyShippen:  "There won't be more than 7 or 8 hundred at that match from Limerick. It should be on in Newcastlewest where you might get more for the novelty of championship being on there. Hurling , Rugby and soccer are covering the bases in Limerick. The muck that is Gaelic Football at the moment just can't get people interested"
Why comment on a football thread if you have no interest. Ya the league of ireland or ail really has people interest!!

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 29/05/2018 07:07:23    2105140

I'd be worried for Tyrone right now, they have lost focus, have too many key players with injuries and despite last seasons chastening defeat to Dublin, we apparently still haven't tactically figured out a plan B. I don't know much about this Meath team, and whilst they don't have the aura of old, they will still be a formidable force on their own patch. I am going to go for a narrow win for Meath.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/05/2018 08:31:44    2105148

Replying To yew_tree:  "What can Newcastle west hold? Don't forget Mayo always bring a big traveling support."
Not sure but I was thinking 4k from Mayo and 1k from Limerick. I recall Limerick playing some league games there in the past. Championship different I appreciate. Being honest might give them a little bit more chance but reality is that chance is very slim as is. I guess my point is the so called weaker counties should be using everything to their advantage. I mean Cavan going to Aughrim will be no walk in the park. Perfect home venue with it's tight confines etc.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 29/05/2018 08:40:29    2105150

A lot of evenly matched games in the draw, should make for an interesting round.

Tyrone and Mayo would have just wanted to avoid each other and that they did, I'd imagine Mayo will get back on track against Limerick. I don't think Meath are not without hope against Tyrone, we will start as underdogs, we'll need to put in a good performance and get the rub of the green but I think a win is very possible.

Derry and Kildare are both at a very low ebb at present, Derry took the plunge into Div4 and incredibly Kildare have lost 12 games in a row since beating Meath last year. A win here will be a huge relief for either team but the loser will be devastated, have a feeling Kildare might just finally put this horror run to bed.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/05/2018 08:51:03    2105151

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Derry v Kildare & Meath v Tyrone are the two biggies.
I fancy Derry to beat Kildare. Even though Derry were beat by us yesterday they probably were expecting it and they actually performed very well. If their shooting had been better they would have been much closer. I'd expect James Kielt to be on from the start the next day as he added that long range scoring threat. Kildare would have expected to win and with their current run of defeats they need an easier draw. Derry by 3/4

Tyrone are very vulnerable at present and Meath have a great chance at home. We just got out of Navan last year with a few to spare. It's a very passionate crowd in Pairc Tailteann and Meath needed a big name county to focus the minds. Tyrone are without Peter Harte and question marks over Mark Bradley, Lee Brennan, Colm Cavanagh and Tiernan Mc Cann would be a worry for them. There is also a lot of negativity coming from former senior players and this is unusual from Tyrone as they always have shown a united front. Mickey Harte's "they're all against us" Siege Mentality doesn't seem to cut it any more. If the four mentioned above don't play I wouldn't be surprised to see a shock exit by Tyrone."
Got out of navan with one point
To spare. From a brilliant McBrearty performance.
If this game was anywhere else I wouldn't give Meath much of a chance. But in navan it's 50/50

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/05/2018 09:48:49    2105173

Replying To kiloughter:  "Not sure but I was thinking 4k from Mayo and 1k from Limerick. I recall Limerick playing some league games there in the past. Championship different I appreciate. Being honest might give them a little bit more chance but reality is that chance is very slim as is. I guess my point is the so called weaker counties should be using everything to their advantage. I mean Cavan going to Aughrim will be no walk in the park. Perfect home venue with it's tight confines etc."
I think more than 4K will travel from Mayo despite the mood since the Galway game which has been very low, I sense a more upbeat feeling since the draw was made.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 29/05/2018 10:01:20    2105179

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think more than 4K will travel from Mayo despite the mood since the Galway game which has been very low, I sense a more upbeat feeling since the draw was made."
Can only see the Gaelic Grounds being the venue on that basis. I know this particular Mayo team has garnered huge support since 2012 but if ye get north of 5k for a routine qualifier fair play. I know some of your away league support can be big but speaking with some Mayo folk they would find it more attractive to go to a Div 1 away game than a qualifier where they believe it is routine.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 29/05/2018 12:21:57    2105229

Tyrone Meath should be close but I'd expect Meath to win since

Tyrone won't push up on kickouts
Tyrone don't have a free taker
Meath at home
Injurires to Bradley, Brennan and possibly others
Suspension to Harte
Mc Curry has left the panel
Tyrone won't have a full forward line

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 29/05/2018 13:26:25    2105265

A tricky one for Tyrone for sure. Meath will be sticky opponents in Navan. If Tyrone were to bow out at this early stage would that spell the end for Mickey Harte?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/05/2018 15:43:01    2105324

Replying To brendtheredhand:  "I'd be worried for Tyrone right now, they have lost focus, have too many key players with injuries and despite last seasons chastening defeat to Dublin, we apparently still haven't tactically figured out a plan B. I don't know much about this Meath team, and whilst they don't have the aura of old, they will still be a formidable force on their own patch. I am going to go for a narrow win for Meath."
Plan B? We are still working on a plan A.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2144 - 29/05/2018 16:02:54    2105336

Replying To seadog54:  "Plan B? We are still working on a plan A."
Haha. Very good.
I'm expecting a tight game, Meath in 2016 probably deserved a draw in Healy park. Against Donegal last year could of went either way. Both teams coming off bad defeats so confidence wouldn't be high. With Tyrone having players out and Meath at home it could go either way.
I see the time isn't confirmed. Is that because they want to confirm a time with Sky to televise it?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 29/05/2018 17:08:30    2105357

Replying To tyroneed:  "Tyrone Meath should be close but I'd expect Meath to win since

Tyrone won't push up on kickouts
Tyrone don't have a free taker
Meath at home
Injurires to Bradley, Brennan and possibly others
Suspension to Harte
Mc Curry has left the panel
Tyrone won't have a full forward line"
Being honest I don't think we will win, and if we did it would just be papering over a lot of cracks at the moment. I understand where you are coming from with potentially a lot of top players being unavailable but our panel is very thread bare. Lots of defections since the end of the league which has robbed us of options off the bench. The fact we beeen knocked out of the qualifiers EVERY year since (and including) 2013 by Ulster opposition shows we still cannot deal with the blanket. Our game plan is totally hit and miss, we played some good stuff against Westmeath but against Longford we were head scratching trying to figure out what the game plan was. Our defensive shape wasn't actually too bad at times on Sunday, but our lack of aggression was alarming.

While it is in us to produce a big performance ala Donegal last year, I expect Tyrone to come through by 5 or 6 in the end. After all, they did swat away all aside in Ulster 12 months ago and Monaghan only pulled away late on in Omagh.

royalfan4life (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 29/05/2018 17:16:52    2105363

Replying To royalfan4life:  "Being honest I don't think we will win, and if we did it would just be papering over a lot of cracks at the moment. I understand where you are coming from with potentially a lot of top players being unavailable but our panel is very thread bare. Lots of defections since the end of the league which has robbed us of options off the bench. The fact we beeen knocked out of the qualifiers EVERY year since (and including) 2013 by Ulster opposition shows we still cannot deal with the blanket. Our game plan is totally hit and miss, we played some good stuff against Westmeath but against Longford we were head scratching trying to figure out what the game plan was. Our defensive shape wasn't actually too bad at times on Sunday, but our lack of aggression was alarming.

While it is in us to produce a big performance ala Donegal last year, I expect Tyrone to come through by 5 or 6 in the end. After all, they did swat away all aside in Ulster 12 months ago and Monaghan only pulled away late on in Omagh."
Tyrone are an efficient team at beating teams like Meath, but they've stagnated a bit under Mickey Harte in recent times. However Harte knows he doesn't have to come up with anything new or special to win this game, more of the same should get the job done as we're all but guaranteed to struggle unless we can adapt.

So the onus is on us to produce a performance and rattle Tyrone, which in spite of a poor showing against Longford, I still believe is possible. The odds are against us, which is expected but surely there has to be a performance in this team at some stage, even if it happens by mistake, surely to jaysus Meath football has some pulse left in it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/05/2018 18:26:49    2105379

Good that all Ulster teams avoided each other for a change.

Pity none of these games will be televised!!

1 put of 18 football championship games televised so far!! Not good enough,during the league bes 3 live games every weekend!

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1098 - 29/05/2018 21:00:11    2105417

I noticed on the gaa website that in the event of teams finishing level a shoot out would take place to decide the winner.
Surely a massive advantage to the teams from the 6 counties right there. Most of us this side of the border don't even have guns.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 29/05/2018 22:30:56    2105430

Replying To Greenfield:  "I noticed on the gaa website that in the event of teams finishing level a shoot out would take place to decide the winner.
Surely a massive advantage to the teams from the 6 counties right there. Most of us this side of the border don't even have guns."
Hahaha. Very good.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2018 07:27:20    2105465

Replying To Greenfield:  "I noticed on the gaa website that in the event of teams finishing level a shoot out would take place to decide the winner.
Surely a massive advantage to the teams from the 6 counties right there. Most of us this side of the border don't even have guns."
Need to spend a little more time in the gym then.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 30/05/2018 16:32:22    2105672